Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Environmental and Workplace Health

Drinking Water In The Great Canadian Outdoors

Is the water safe to drink?

Waters in the great Canadian outdoors are generally of excellent quality, but to ensure an enjoyable experience, be prepared to boil or disinfect all drinking water. Filtration prior to disinfection will provide additional protection.

No surface water can be considered safe for human consumption without treatment. Even the cleanest looking spring water could be polluted. Untreated water may be contaminated with bacteria, viruses and protozoa.

How do I choose my drinking water source?

Choose your water source carefully to reduce the risk of exposure to disease-causing organisms and to increase the effectiveness of your water treatment. On short trips, use water from home or another safe source.

Generally, the chances of finding safe drinking water in the mountains increase as you gain altitude. Intense sunlight at high altitudes kills undesirable bacteria and viruses but harmful cysts are unaffected.

Runoff water from streams below glaciers is often cloudy with silt and should be filtered.

Well water, fast-moving rivers and the deepest parts of lakes are the best locations to obtain water. Avoid stagnant water, shoreline water, and water close to human habitations and campsites.

During the winter, it is best to use an open water source or obtain water through a hole in the ice. Check the safety of the ice first! Melting ice and snow consumes fuel and takes extra time. Eating snow or ice directly can lead to chilling and hypothermia and could also cause stomach cramps and headaches. Beware of coloured snow - it indicates the presence of algae that could cause diarrhea if ingested. Even in winter, all water should be purified.

How can I purify my water?

Each method of water treatment has its advantages and disadvantages. Choose a treatment method that suits your camping style and follow the directions carefully. Use only treated or boiled water for drinking, brushing teeth, or washing fruits and vegetables that will be eaten raw.

Boiling

Heat is the oldest, safest and most effective method of purifying water. Bring the water to a boil for at least one minute (adding one more minute for each 300 m (1000 ft.) above sea level. If the water is cloudy, filter it before boiling. Boiling will give your water a flat taste that can be remedied by pouring the water quickly back and forth from one clean container to another, by letting the water cool, or by adding a pinch of salt per litre of water.

Chemical Purification

When boiling is not practical because of time and lack of a heat source, disinfection with chlorine or iodine compounds may be effective.

Use two water containers: one for treating water and the other for carrying purified water. After disinfection, shake the container vigorously. Wait five minutes. Shake it again with the lid loose so some water leaks out to cleanse the mouth of the container.

Disinfection alone may not kill some protozoa. Pass the water first through a filter with a pore size of 0.5 micron (absolute) or less to remove protozoa then disinfect it to kill viruses and bacteria.

Disinfection will give the water a peculiar taste. If you find it unpleasant, try using flavoured drink crystals or concentrated citrus juice to mask the taste of the disinfectant. Add drink powders or juice only after the treatment time has elapsed.

E=effective
M=may be effective (see text)
N=not effective

Table 1: Summary of Water Purification Methods
  Boiling Chlorine Iodine Filters
Bacteria

E

E

E

M

Viruses

E

E

E

N

Protozoa

E

M

M

M

Chemicals

M

N

N

N

Chlorine

Under most conditions, chlorine is a suitable disinfectant for raw water. However, it may not be as effective under certain conditions such as water that is extremely cold, alkaline or full of organic matter.

Chlorine loses its effectiveness with age, exposure to air and extreme heat. If the odour of chlorine (swimming pool smell) is not noticeable in the water, increase the dosage. Chlorine and iodine are effective against most protozoa, with exception of Cryptosporidium.

Chlorine bleach

Household bleach (4 or 5% sodium hypochlorite) is effective. Carry the bleach in a small bottle sealed inside a plastic bag to guard against leaks. For maximum effectiveness, use a new vial of bleach every few months.

Add two drops (0.1 mL) of household bleach to 1L of water, shake with the cap loose, and allow the mixture to stand for 30 minutes. Double the amount of bleach and the time if the water is cold, cloudy or odourous.

Chlorine tablets

Chlorine tablets are inexpensive and readily available in stores. After adding the chlorine tablets, let the water stand for 30 minutes before use. Consider dosages listed on the instruction sheet as the minimum recommended. For maximum effectiveness, store the tablets as directed and replace them every few months.

Iodine

With the proper iodine concentration and a 30-minute contact time in moderately turbid water that is maintained at 200C or higher, all harmful bacteria and most viruses will be destroyed. In cold or cloudy water (5 to 15ºC), the contact time should be increased up to several hours before drinking. In very cold, cloudy water, iodine will be more effective if you warm the water first.

Follow these contact times with all the methods listed below.

Because of potential health concerns (thyroid problems or iodine sensitivity), iodine use is recommended for no more than three weeks per season. Caution must be exercised with the use of crystalline iodine, which is readily available at outdoor equipment shops.

Both the iodine crystals and the iodine solution are toxic and should be kept out of the reach of children. Children and pregnant women are particularly sensitive to iodine so they should avoid it.

Tincture of iodine

Six drops (0.3 ml) of 2% tincture of iodine, the kind commonly sold at pharmacies, will purify 1 L of clear untreated water. Let stand for at least 30 minutes before drinking. For cloudy or cold water add 10 drops iodine per litre of water and increase the contact time up to several hours before drinking.

Iodine tablets

One iodine tablet will purify 1L of water. Let stand for at least 15 minutes before drinking. For cold or cloudy water use two tablets per litre of water and let stand for 20 minutes. A bottle of tablets should be discarded every few months after being opened.

Iodine crystals

To use this method, place 4 to 8 g of iodine crystals in a 35 mL glass bottle with a leak-proof cap. Add 30 mL of water and shake for one minute to produce a saturated solution. Allow the remaining crystals to settle. From the saturated iodine solution, use 15 ml/L of untreated water and let stand for 15-20 minutes.

For cloudy or cold water add 20 ml/L of water and let stand for 20 minutes. Because the iodine crystals are toxic, do not allow the solid crystal iodine remaining in the bottom of the bottle to be transferred to your drinking container.

The crystals remaining in the bottle can be re-used. Top up the 35mL bottle with water, shake and use it again as described earlier. As long as crystals are still visible at the bottom of the bottle, there will be enough iodine to act as a disinfectant. Keep the bottle warm, at body temperature, to ensure optimum effectiveness of the iodine.

Filtration

Water filters for use in the wilderness are available but be wary when making your choice. Avoid filters that allow particles larger than 0.5 microns to pass. Filters with a pore size of 0.1 to 0.3 micron can remove protozoa and bacteria, but may not remove viruses. Filtration alone is insufficient to purify water; hence it should be combined with disinfection to remove viruses. Follow the operating and maintenance instructions carefully.

Filter units that effectively remove suspended materials and associated contaminants employ a hand pump and special filter. The pump forces water through the filter leaving an array of debris trapped behind. One litre of water can be produced in about 90 seconds.

One type of purifier has a replaceable glass fibre filter that should be changed frequently if it is used in heavily contaminated water. Another type has a ceramic cartridge that is cleaned with a brush. If the ceramic filter cracks, the unit should not be used until the ceramic filter is replaced.

What should I do if I feel sick?

Some water-borne diseases are difficult to diagnose. If you are not feeling well and have recently drunk water from a source in the wild, inform your doctor that you may have consumed untreated water.

How can I minimize my impact on the environment?

With more people using the back country every year, it is everyone's responsibility to minimize their impact on the environment and to help preserve the quality of waters in the outdoors. Many parks and protected areas have regulations regarding wilderness practices.

Need more information?

For more information, contact Health Canada

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail

Boire de l'eau en plein air au canada

L'eau est-elle potable?

L'eau en plein air au Canada est habituellement d'excellente qualité, mais il faut être prêt à la faire bouillir ou à la désinfecter avant de la boire pour rendre sa consommation agréable. Filtrer l'eau avant de la désinfecter vous protégera davantage.

À moins d'être traitées, les eaux de surface ne peuvent pas être considérées sans danger pour la consommation humaine. Même l'eau de source la plus propre en apparence peut être polluée. L'eau non traitée peut être contaminée par des bactéries, des virus et des protozoaires.

Comment choisir la source de l'eau que je bois?

Choisissez avec soin la source de l'eau que vous buvez pour réduire le risque d'exposition aux agents pathogènes et accroître l'efficacité du traitement de votre eau. Lors de courts voyages, utilisez de l'eau qui provient de la maison ou d'une autre source sécuritaire.

Habituellement, les possibilités de trouver de l'eau potable salubre en montagne augmentent avec l'altitude. Le rayonnement solaire intense en altitude détruit les bactéries et virus nuisibles, sans toutefois agir sur les kystes dangereux.

Il faut filtrer l'eau de ruissellement des cours d'eau sous les glaciers, souvent trouble à cause de la vase.

Les puits, les rivières au cours rapide et les parties les plus profondes des lacs sont les meilleurs endroits où se procurer de l'eau. Évitez l'eau stagnante, l'eau des rivages et l'eau à proximité des habitations et des aires de camping.

L'hiver, il est indiqué d'utiliser une source d'eau ouverte ou de se procurer de l'eau par un trou dans la glace. Vérifiez toutefois d'abord si la glace est sécuritaire! La glace et la neige fondantes demandent de l'énergie et davantage de temps. La consommation directe de la neige ou de la glace peut entraîner un refroidissement et une hypothermie, de même que des crampes d'estomac et des maux de tête. Prenez garde à la neige colorée; elle contient des algues qui, si elles sont ingérées, peuvent causer la diarrhée. Même l'hiver, l'eau doit être purifiée.

Comment purifier l'eau que je bois?

Chaque méthode de traitement de l'eau comporte des avantages et des inconvénients. Optez pour une méthode de traitement qui convient à vos pratiques de camping et suivez les indications données scrupuleusement. N'utilisez que de l'eau traitée ou bouillie pour boire, pour vous brosser les dents et pour laver les fruits et les légumes qui seront mangés crus.

Ébullition

La chaleur est la méthode de purification d'eau la plus ancienne, la plus sécuritaire et la plus efficace. Faites bouillir l'eau pendant au moins une minute (ajoutez une minute de plus pour chaque 300 m (1000 pi) d'altitude). Si l'eau est trouble, filtrez-la avant de la faire bouillir. L'ébullition donne à l'eau un goût fade auquel vous pouvez pallier en la transvasant rapidement plusieurs fois d'un contenant propre à un autre, en la laissant refroidir, ou en y ajoutant une pincée de sel par litre.

Purification chimique

La désinfection à l'aide de composés de chlore ou d'iode peut se révéler efficace dans les cas où l'ébullition n'est pas possible, faute de temps ou de source de chaleur.

Utilisez deux contenants d'eau : l'un pour le traitement de l'eau et l'autre pour le transport de l'eau purifiée. Après la désinfection, agitez le contenant vigoureusement. Attendez cinq minutes. Desserrez le couvercle puis agitez le contenant de nouveau, de façon à laisser échapper un peu d'eau pour nettoyer le goulot.

La désinfection seule ne permet pas de détruire certains protozoaires. Commencez donc par verser l'eau dans un filtre de 0,5 micromètres (absolu) de diamètre de pore ou moins pour vous débarrasser des protozoaires, puis désinfectez-la pour détruire les virus et les bactéries. La désinfection donnera à l'eau un goût particulier. Si ce goût ne vous plaît pas, vous pouvez le masquer en diluant dans l'eau des cristaux de boisson aromatisée ou des jus d'agrumes concentrés. N'ajoutez les cristaux ou les jus concentrés qu'après l'écoulement du temps de traitement.

E=Efficace
P=Peut être efficace (voir texte)
N=Non efficace

Tableau 1 : Sommaire des méthodes de purification d'eau
  Ébullition   Chlore Iode Filtres
Bactéries

E

E

E

M

Virus

E

E

E

N

Protozoaires

E

M

M

M

Produits chimiques

M

N

N

N

Chlore

En règle générale, le chlore est un bon désinfectant pour l'eau brute. Toutefois, son efficacité peut être réduite si l'eau est extrêmement froide, alcaline ou pleine de matières organiques.

Le chlore perd de son effic acité avec le temps, l'exposition à l'air et la chaleur extrême. Il faut augmenter la dose de chlore si son odeur (odeur de piscine) ne peut être décelée dans l'eau. Le chlore et l'iode sont efficaces contre la plupart des protozoaires, à l'exception du Cryptosporidium.

Comment purifier l'eau que je bois?

L'eau de javel

L'eau de javel à usage ménager (à 4 ou 5 % d'hypochlorite de sodium) est efficace. Transportez l'eau de javel dans une petite bouteille scellée, à l'intérieur d'un sac de plastique, afin de prévenir les fuites. Pour une efficacité maximale, renouvelez l'eau de javel après quelques mois.

Ajoutez deux gouttes (0,1 ml) d'eau de javel à usage ménager pour un litre d'eau, desserrez la capsule puis agitez et laissez reposer pendant 30 minutes. Doublez la quantité d'eau de javel et la durée si l'eau est froide, trouble ou nauséabonde.

Les comprimés de chlore

Les comprimés de chlore sont d'un prix abordable et faciles à trouver en magasin. Après avoir ajouté les comprimés de chlore à l'eau, laissez reposer pendant 30 minutes avant utilisation. Respectez les doses prescrites sur la feuille de directives, en les considérant comme le minimum recommandé. Pour une efficacité maximale, rangez les comprimés tel qu'indiqué et remplacez-les après quelques mois.

L'iode

Une concentration adéquate d'iode dans une eau relativement trouble à 20° C ou plus, pendant 30-minutes, permettra de détruire toutes les bactéries dangereuses et la plupart des virus. Si l'eau est froide ou trouble (5 à 15° C), il faut laisser agir plus longtemps, jusqu'à plusieurs heures, avant de boire. L'efficacité de l'iode sera plus grande si vous faites chauffer d'abord l'eau qui est très froide et trouble.

Conformez-vous à la durée indiquée pour toutes les méthodes énumérées ci-dessous.

En raison de risques potentiels pour la santé (problèmes thyroïdiens ou sensibilité à l'iode), il est recommandé de ne pas utiliser l'iode pendant plus de trois semaines par saison. Il faut se servir avec précaution de l'iode en cristaux, facile à trouver dans les boutiques d'articles de plein air.

Les cristaux d'iode et la solution iodée sont toxiques et doivent être gardés hors de la portée des enfants. Les enfants et les femmes enceintes sont particulièrement sensibles à l'iode et doivent donc l'éviter.

Teinture d'iode

Six gouttes (0,3 ml) de teinture d'iode 2 %, communément vendue en pharmacie, purifieront 1 litre d'eau claire non traitée. Laissez reposer pendant au moins 30 minutes avant de boire. Pour l'eau trouble ou froide, ajoutez 10 gouttes d'iode par litre d'eau et augmentez la durée du traitement à plusieurs heures avant de boire.

Les comprimés d'iode

Un comprimé d'iode purifie 1 litre d'eau. Laissez reposer pendant au moins 15 minutes avant de boire. Pour l'eau froide ou trouble, utilisez deux comprimés pour chaque litre d'eau et laissez reposer pendant 20 minutes. Une fois ouverte, la bouteille de comprimés doit être jetée après quelques mois.

Les cristaux d'iode

Déposez de 4 à 8 g de cristaux d'iode dans une bouteille en verre de 35 ml avec bouchon étanche. Ajoutez 30 ml d'eau et agitez pendant une minute jusqu'à l'obtention d'une solution saturée. Laissez le reste des cristaux se déposer. Utilisez 15 ml de cette solution d'iode saturée pour chaque litre d'eau non traitée et laissez reposer pendant 15 à 20 minutes.

Pour l'eau trouble ou froide, ajoutez 20 ml pour chaque litre d'eau et laissez reposer pendant 20 minutes. Étant donné la toxicité des cristaux d'iode, prenez garde de ne pas verser les restes de cristaux d'iode solides qui se trouvent au fond de la bouteille dans votre contenant à boire.

Les cristaux qui restent dans la bouteille peuvent être réutilisés. Rajoutez 35 ml d'eau dans la bouteille, agitez puis utilisez de nouveau tel que décrit ci-haut. L'iode agira comme désinfectant, en quantité suffisante, dans la mesure où des cristaux demeurent visibles au fond de la bouteille. Conservez la bouteille au chaud, à la température du corps, pour assurer l'efficacité optimale de l'iode.

Filtration

Des filtres à eau à utiliser en milieu sauvage sont disponibles sur le marché, mais il faut les choisir avec précaution. Évitez les filtres qui laissent passer les particules de plus de 0,5 micromètre. Les filtres dont le diamètre de pore est de 0,1 à 0,3 micromètre vous débarrasseront des protozoaires et des bactéries, mais pas des virus. La filtration seule ne suffit pas à purifier l'eau; d'où la nécessité de la combiner à la désinfection pour éliminer les virus. Suivez les directives de fonctionnement et d'entretien attentivement.

Les ensembles de filtration qui permettent de se débarrasser efficacement des matières en suspension et des contaminants liés comportent une pompe manuelle et un filtre spécial. La pompe refoule l'eau vers le filtre, qui bloque le passage des débris. La filtration d'un litre d'eau prend environ 90 secondes.

Un des types de purificateurs comporte un filtre remplaçable en fibre de verre qu'il faut changer périodiquement si l'eau utilisée est fortement contaminée. Un autre type comporte un filtre en céramique qui se nettoie à l'aide d'une brosse. Si ce filtre se fissure, il faut le remplacer avant de réutiliser l'ensemble.

Que faire si je suis malade?

Certaines maladies d'origine hydrique sont difficiles à diagnostiquer. Si vous ne vous sentez pas bien peu après avoir bu l'eau d'une source en pleine nature, signalez-le à votre médecin.

Comment minimiser les retombées de ma présence sur l'environnement?

Vu le nombre croissant de gens qui visitent l'arrière-pays chaque année, il incombe à chacun de minimiser les retombées de sa présence sur l'environnement et de contribuer à préserver la qualité des eaux en plein air. Les activités en milieu sauvage de bon nombre de parcs et de zones protégées font l'objet d'une réglementation.

Pour plus d'information:

Contactez Santé Canada