Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Environmental and Workplace Health

Cosmic Radiation Exposure and Air Travel

What is cosmic radiation?

Cosmic radiation consists of energetic charged particles, such as protons and Helium ions, moving through space. They originate from events beyond our solar system and from the sun. When these particles enter the Earth's atmosphere they collide with, and disrupt, atoms in our atmosphere, producing secondary, less intense, radiation. By the time cosmic radiation reaches the ground its intensity has been considerably reduced.

How important is cosmic radiation compared to other sources of radiation?

On the ground, cosmic radiation makes up on average about 17% of the natural background radiation to which we are all exposed. The rest consists of radon gas (50%), radiation from minerals in the soil (20%), and radiation in our bodies from food and water (13%). These proportions do vary, as does the total exposure, depending on geographic location because of differences in soil composition and altitude.

What determines the intensity of cosmic radiation?

The amount, or intensity, of cosmic radiation depends on altitude and latitude, as well as the stage of the solar cycle. The Earth's atmosphere provides considerable protection from cosmic radiation. At commercial aircraft altitudes the protective layer of the Earth's atmosphere is much thinner than it is on the ground and the intensity of cosmic radiation is approximately 100 times greater at these altitudes than it is on the ground.

The Earth's magnetic field can deflect some of the cosmic radiation away from the Earth. The shielding ability of the magnetic field is most effective over the equator and least effective over the poles. The intensity of cosmic radiation at aircraft altitudes around the equator is about three times less than at the poles.

The sun's magnetic field can also deflect cosmic radiation away from the Earth. The strength of the sun's magnetic field varies with the approximate 11 year cycle of rise and decline of solar activity (solar cycle). When solar activity is low (solar minimum), the magnetic field is less effective in deflecting cosmic radiation; cosmic radiation reaching the Earth will be more intense during solar minimum. The effect of solar activity on intensity of cosmic radiation is much smaller than that caused by altitude or latitude. There is about a 40% decrease in intensity from solar minimum to solar maximum conditions.

The Sun ejects energetic particles, such as protons (solar flares), which may also contribute to the intensity of cosmic radiation. However, only on very infrequent occasions would solar flares have sufficient energy to increase the intensity of cosmic radiation at commercial aircraft altitudes.

How much exposure to cosmic radiation is there while flying at commercial aircraft altitudes?

The amount of exposure to cosmic radiation while flying depends on the time spent flying, in addition to the factors mentioned above - altitude, latitude and solar activity. Solar flares contribute very little to the overall exposure from cosmic radiation.

For occasional flyers the exposure to cosmic radiation is very small. For those who fly frequently, such as aircrew and some business travelers, the annual exposure may be comparable with, or even exceed, that of radiation workers in ground-based industries.

At commercial aircraft altitudes cosmic radiation is much more intense than on the ground. Even though exposure can be a hundred times greater at these altitudes than it is on the ground, it is still fairly small. It would take about 100 one-way flights between Toronto and Vancouver to obtain the same exposure as we get in one year from other sources of natural background radiation.

What are the potential health implications attributed to cosmic radiation exposure at commercial aircraft altitudes?

The only effect that is known to be possible at this level of exposure is a very slight increase in the chance of a cancer occurring many years, even decades after the exposure.

In theory, small exposures to radiation can start off chains of events that may lead to cancer many years later. The body's repair mechanisms are usually able to fix the damage that is done before a cancer develops. While no level of exposure to radiation can be described as safe, at the same time, no level is uniformly dangerous. The chance of a cancer occurring is generally believed to be proportional to the level of radiation exposure: the lower the exposure, the lower the risk.

For example, the chance of a fatal cancer occurring would be approximately 1% following 30 years of flying, at 1000 hours per year. Most people fly much less and the chance of a fatal cancer occurring would also be much less. As we all have about a 25% chance of getting a fatal cancer, cosmic radiation represents a small addition to the underlying cancer risk from all causes.

Can cosmic radiation exposure at commercial aircraft altitudes harm an unborn child?

It is uncertain whether this level of exposure is sufficient to cause any harm to an unborn child. It is possible that this level of exposure may result in a slight increase in the chance of a cancer, such as leukemia, occurring in childhood, or later.

It is known that the unborn child is very sensitive to the effects of radiation and other agents. This is partly because the cells are rapidly dividing and growing into specialized cells and tissues. Interference in the process of development by any agent could result in birth defects or certain illnesses such as cancer. Birth defects are not expected to result from cosmic radiation at commercial aircraft altitudes because much higher levels of radiation exposure are needed to produce birth defects.

Most studies of unborn children exposed to low levels of radiation do not show any increase in the chance of a childhood cancer occurring. However, there is one large study which suggested a 0.1% chance of a childhood cancer occurring as a result of the radiation exposure. In comparison, the chance of a childhood cancer occurring from all causes is about 0.2-0.3%. The exposure in this study was roughly equivalent to flying 2000 hours. This level of exposure from cosmic radiation would not be very likely during pregnancy.

Because of the uncertainty concerning the magnitude of the risk at low levels of exposure, radiation protection authorities have recommended that the additional exposure to an unborn child be kept to a level which is similar to the variation in natural background radiation. This would equate to about 200 hours of flying. At this level of exposure no observable health effects are expected.

What are Health Canada's recommendations?

Pregnant women who expect to fly more than 200 hours over the course of their pregnancy should seek further information from the Radiation Protection Bureau, Health Canada on the radiation risks for unborn children.

Information may be obtained by calling (613) 941-3320 or writing to the
Radiation Protection Bureau,
775 Brookfield Road
Locator 6302 C4,
Ottawa K1A 1C1.


  • B.J. Lewis et al, Cosmic radiation Exposure on Canadian-Based Commercial Airline Routes, Radiation Protection Dosimetry 86(1):7-24, 1999
  • European Radiation Dosimetry Group, Exposure of aircrew to cosmic radiation, EURADOS report 1996-01, European Commission,1996
  • Health Canada, 2000 Report on Occupational Radiation Exposures in Canada, 2000
  • International Commission on Radiological Protection. ICRP Publication 84: Pregnancy and Medical Radiation, Pergamon Press, 2000
  • United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation, Sources and Effects of Atomic Radiation: UNSCEAR 2000 Report to the General Assembly, United Nations, 2000

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail

Exposition au rayonnement cosmique et voyages en avion

Qu'est-ce que le rayonnement cosmique?

Le rayonnement cosmique est constitué de particules énergétiques, par exemple des protons et des ions d'hélium, qui se déplacent dans l'espace. Ces particules proviennent de phénomènes qui surviennent au-delà de notre système solaire et du Soleil. Lorsqu'elles pénètrent dans l'atmosphère terrestre, elles entrent en collision avec les atomes de notre atmosphère, et les brisent, ce qui produit un rayonnement secondaire, d'intensité moindre. Au moment où les rayons cosmiques atteignent le sol, leur intensité a considérablement diminué.

Quelle est l'importance du rayonnement cosmique par rapport aux autres sources de rayonnement?

Au sol, le rayonnement cosmique représente en moyenne environ 17 % du rayonnement naturel, ou de fond, auquel nous sommes tous exposés. Pour le reste, on trouve du radon (50 %), le rayonnement provenant des minéraux du sol (20 %) et le rayonnement à l'intérieur de notre organisme provenant des aliments et de l'eau et (13 %). Ces proportions, tout comme l'exposition totale, varient en fonction du lieu géographique à cause des différences dans la composition du sol et de l'effet de l'altitude.

Qu'est-ce qui détermine l'intensité du rayonnement cosmique ?

La quantité, ou l'intensité, du rayonnement cosmique dépend de l'altitude et de la latitude, ainsi que du stade du cycle solaire. L'atmosphère terrestre fournit une importante protection contre les rayons cosmiques. Aux altitudes où se déplacent les aéronefs commerciaux, la couche protectrice fournie par l'atmosphère terrestre est beaucoup plus mince qu'au sol; l'intensité du rayonnement cosmique est environ 100 fois supérieure à ces altitudes qu'au sol.

Le champ magnétique de la Terre peut faire dévier une partie du rayonnement cosmique. C'est à la hauteur de l'équateur que cet effet de blindage est le plus marqué et au niveau des pôles qu'il l'est le moins. L'intensité du rayonnement cosmique aux altitudes des vols commerciaux est environ trois fois moins élevée à la hauteur de l'équateur qu'aux pôles.

Le champ magnétique du Soleil peut également dévier de la Terre le rayonnement cosmique. La force du champ magnétique du Soleil varie en fonction de l'élévation et de la baisse de l'activité solaire, laquelle suit un cycle d'environ 11 ans. Lorsque l'activité solaire est basse (minimum de l'activité solaire), le champ magnétique perd de sa capacité à détourner le rayonnement cosmique; les rayons qui atteignent la Terre à ce stade du cycle sont plus intenses. On observe une diminution d'environ 40 % de l'intensité du rayonnement cosmique entre le minimum et le maximum de l'activité solaire. L'effet de l'activité solaire sur l'intensité du rayonnement cosmique est par ailleurs beaucoup moins important que celui de l'altitude et de la latitude.

Le Soleil émet des particules énergétiques, par exemple les protons (éruptions solaires), qui peuvent également contribuer à l'intensité du rayonnement cosmique. Toutefois, il est très rare que les éruptions solaires dégagent suffisamment d'énergie pour augmenter l'intensité du rayonnement cosmique aux altitudes des vols commerciaux.

Quel est le degré d'exposition au rayonnement cosmique pendant les vols commerciaux?

Le degré d'exposition au rayonnement cosmique pendant les vols dépend du temps passé en avion, en plus des facteurs indiqués plus haut : altitude, latitude et activité solaire. Les éruptions solaires n'ont qu'un effet minime sur l'exposition totale au rayonnement cosmique.

Pour les gens qui ne prennent l'avion qu'à l'occasion, l'exposition au rayonnement cosmique est très faible. Par contre, pour les membres de l'équipage des avions et les gens qui prennent souvent l'avion par affaire, l'exposition annuelle peut se comparer à celle des travailleurs sous rayonnements dans les industries au sol, et même la dépasser.

Aux altitudes des vols commerciaux, le rayonnement cosmique est beaucoup plus intense qu'au sol. Cependant, même si l'exposition peut être cent fois plus élevée en altitude qu'au sol, elle demeure relativement faible. Il faudrait 100 vols (allers seulement) entre Toronto et Vancouver pour obtenir un degré d'exposition annuelle équivalent à celui qui est causé par les autres sources de rayonnement de fond.

Quels peuvent être les effets sur la santé de l'exposition au rayonnement cosmique lors des vols commerciaux?

Le seul effet possible connu de ce degré d'exposition est une très faible augmentation des risques de survenue d'un cancer de nombreuses années, voire des décennies, après l'exposition.

En théorie, de faibles expositions au rayonnement peuvent déclencher une chaîne de phénomènes pouvant causer un cancer de nombreuses années plus tard. Les mécanismes de réparation de l'organisme peuvent habituellement réparer les lésions causées avant qu'un cancer ne se développe. Bien qu'aucun niveau d'exposition au rayonnement ne puisse être considéré comme sans danger, aucun degré n'est par ailleurs uniformément dangereux. Les risques de survenue d'un cancer sont généralement considérés comme proportionnels au degré d'exposition au rayonnement : plus l'exposition est faible, moins les risques sont élevés.

Par exemple, le risque de survenue d'un cancer fatal serait approximativement de 1 % après 30 ans de vol, à un rythme de 1 000 heures par année. Étant donné que la plupart des gens font beaucoup moins d'heures de vol, le risque de cancer fatal est également bien moindre. Comme le risque de cancer fatal est de 25 % pour tous, le rayonnement cosmique ne représente qu'un faible excédent par rapport au risque initial de cancer dû à toutes les causes.

L'exposition au rayonnement cosmique aux altitudes des vols commerciaux peut-elle nuire au développement du foetus?

On ne sait pas avec certitude si ce degré d'exposition peut causer du tort au foetus. Il est possible que ce degré d'exposition puisse causer une légère augmentation du risque de cancer, par exemple la leucémie, pendant l'enfance ou après.

On sait que le foetus est très sensible aux effets du rayonnement et d'autres agents. Ce phénomène est dû au fait que les cellules se divisent et croissent rapidement pour se transformer en cellules et tissus spécialisés. Toute interférence dans ce processus par quelque agent que ce soit peut entraîner des anomalies congénitales ou des maladies comme le cancer. Cependant, on ne croit pas que le rayonnement cosmique aux altitudes des vols commerciaux puisse entraîner des anomalies congénitales car il faut des niveaux de radioexposition beaucoup plus élevés pour causer de telles anomalies.

La plupart des études sur les foetus exposés à de faibles niveaux de rayonnement n'indiquent aucune augmentation du risque de survenue d'un cancer pendant l'enfance, à l'exception d'une étude de grande envergure selon laquelle le risque qu'un cancer se développe pendant l'enfance par suite d'une radioexposition serait de 0,1 % . Par contre, les risques de survenue pendant l'enfance d'un cancer dû à toutes les causes est d'environ 0,2 à 0,3 %. L'exposition utilisée aux fins de cette étude équivalait à environ 2 000 heures de vol. Ce degré d'exposition au rayonnement cosmique a peu de chances de se produire pendant la grossesse.

Étant donné l'incertitude quant à l'importance du risque à des faibles niveaux d'exposition, les responsables de la radioprotection ont recommandé que l'exposition supplémentaire du foetus se limite à un niveau équivalent à la variation du rayonnement de fond. Ce niveau équivaudrait à 200 heures de vol à l'intérieur de cette limite. Aucun effet observable sur la santé n'est prévu.

Quelles sont les recommandations de Santé Canada?

Les femmes enceintes qui prévoient faire plus de 200 heures de vol pendant leur grossesse devraient s'adresser au Bureau de la radioprotection, Santé Canada, pour obtenir davantage d'information sur les risques posés par le rayonnement pour l'enfant à naître.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, il suffit de téléphoner au (613) 941-3320 ou d'écrire au
Bureau de la radioprotection,
775, chemin Brookfield
Indice de l'adresse 6302 C4
Ottawa K1A 1C1.

Bibliographie

  • B.J. Lewis et al, Cosmic radiation Exposure on Canadian-Based Commercial Airline Routes, Radiation Protection Dosimetry 86(1):7-24, 1999
  • European Radiation Dosimetry Group, Exposure of aircrew to cosmic radiation, EURADOS report 1996-01, European Commission ,1996
  • Santé Canada, Rapport sur les radioexpositions professionnelles au Canada 2000, 2000.
  • International Commission on Radiological Protection. ICRP Publication 84: Pregnancy and Medical Radiation, Pergamon Press , 2000
  • United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation, Sources and Effects of Atomic Radiation: UNSCEAR 2000 Report to the General Assembly, United Nations , 2000