Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Environmental and Workplace Health

How to Test for Radon?

Radon testing is relatively simple and inexpensive. Radon test devices can be purchased by phone or over the internet and are available at some home improvement retailers across Canada. For more information on do- it-yourself radon test kits contact Health Canada's Radiation Protection Bureau at radon@hc-sc.gc.ca or 613-946-6384.

You can also hire a certified radon measurement professional to come and test your home. Health Canada recognizes the Canadian certification program, Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian National Radon Proficiency Program (C-NRPP) offered through the American Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists (AARST), 1 800 269-4174. Lists of certified Canadian measurement and mitigation professionals are available through the Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian National Radon Proficiency Program.

The most popular long term radon detectors are the electret ion chamber and the alpha track detector. These devices are exposed to the air in a home for a specified period of time, and then sent to a laboratory for analysis. Radon is measured in units called "becquerels per cubic meter" (Bq/m³). It is not uncommon to see radon levels in a house change by a factor of two to three or more over a one-day period. Seasonal variations can be even more dramatic with the highest levels usually experienced during the fall and winter months when air circulation and ventilation is decreased. Since the radon concentration inside a home varies over time, measurements gathered over a longer period of time are generally considered to give a more accurate picture of the radon exposure. Health Canada recommends that homes be tested for a minimum of three months, ideally during the winter months as the radon concentrations are usually representative at this time.

When conducting the radon test yourself observe the manufacturer's instructions and the guidelines below when placing a radon detector in your home:

  • Make the measurement in the lowest lived-in area of your home. By lived-in we mean; where you or a member of your family spends more than 4 hours per day in that area.
  • Avoid taking measurements in the kitchen. The exhaust fan as well as humidity and airborne particles from cooking may affect the accuracy of some types of radon detectors. Also, avoid bathrooms since relatively little time is spent in this room.
  • Place the detector where it will not be disturbed during the measurement period but avoid small enclosed areas, such as a cupboard or closet.
  • Do not place the detector close to an outside wall or near a sump or floor drain.
  • Avoid locating the detector in drafts from heating or air conditioning vents, near windows or doors, or sources of heat, such as stoves, fireplaces or strong sunlight.
  • Place the detector a minimum of 50cm from any floor, wall or ceiling and more than 20cm from other objects.

Health Canada has developed standard protocols for radon testing in homes, schools and other large buildings. These protocols provide detailed instructions and guidance to radon testing companies and homeowners on how to perform a radon test. Health Canada recommends that homes be tested for a minimum of three months, ideally in the fall / winter timeframe. The cost of radon testing is approximately $50 to $100.

As part of the National Radon Program, Health Canada has completed a Cross-Canada residential radon survey in an effort to gain a better understanding of radon concentrations in homes across Canada.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé de l'environnement et du milieu de travail

Comment puis-je mesurer la concentration de radon?

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Le test de radon est relativement simple et peu coûteux. Les détecteurs de radon peuvent être achetés par téléphone ou sur Internet. Ils sont aussi offerts dans certaines quincailleries et centres de rénovation à travers le Canada. Pour plus d'information sur les détecteurs soi-même contactez le bureau de la radioprotection de Santé Canada à radon@hc-sc.gc.ca ou au 613-946-6384.

Vous pouvez également faire appel à un fournisseur de services de mesure du radon certifié. Santé Canada reconnaît le programme canadien de certification, le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Programme national de compétence sur le radon au Canada (PNCR-C) - disponible en anglais seulement 1-855-722-6777. Une liste des professionnels canadiens certifiés de la mesure du radon est disponible au Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Programme national de compétence sur le radon au Canada.

Les détecteurs à long terme de radon couramment utilisés sont les suivants :

  • Le détecteur de traces alpha
  • La chambre d'ionisation avec electret

Ces appareils sont exposés à l'air de l'habitation pendant une période de temps donnée, puis envoyés à un laboratoire d'analyse. Le radon est mesuré en becquerels par mètre cube (Bq/m³). Il n'est pas rare de voir les concentrations de radon d'une habitation varier du double ou même du triple au cours d'une même journée. Les variations saisonnières peuvent être encore plus importantes, les concentrations de radon étant généralement les plus élevées en automne et en hiver lorsque la circulation d'air et la ventilation diminuent. Comme la concentration de radon dans une habitation varie en fonction du temps, les mesures recueillies pendant une longue période de temps brossent généralement un tableau plus précis de l'exposition au radon. Santé Canada recommande une période de test d'au moins trois mois pour les habitations, idéalement en hiver, les concentrations de radon étant alors plus représentatives.

Lorsque vous effectuez vous-même un test de radon, il est important de bien suivre les instructions du fabricant et les directives suivantes pour installer le détecteur de radon dans votre maison :

  • Prendre les mesures dans l'aire occupée (désigne tout endroit où un membre de votre famille passe plus de quatre heures par jour) du plus bas niveau de la maison.
  • Éviter de prendre des mesures dans la cuisine. Le ventilateur d'extraction, l'humidité et les particules en suspension dans l'air causées par la cuisson peuvent affecter la précision de certains types de détecteurs de radon. Éviter aussi les salles de bains, car elles sont relativement peu fréquentées.
  • Installer le détecteur à l'abri des perturbations, mais éviter les endroits fermés et exigus tels que les placards et les armoires.
  • Ne pas installer le détecteur près d'un mur extérieur, d'un puisard ou d'un siphon de sol.
  • Tenir le détecteur loin des courants d'air causés par les conduits de chauffage ou de climatisation, des fenêtres ou des portes, ou des sources de chaleur telles que les cuisinières, les cheminées ou la lumière directe du soleil.
  • Installer l'appareil à au moins 50 cm d'un plancher, d'un mur ou d'un plafond, et à plus de 20 cm d'autres objets.

Santé Canada a élaboré, des protocoles normalisés pour la mesure du radon dans les habitations, les écoles et d'autres grands bâtiments. Ces protocoles offrent aux entreprises et aux propriétaires de maison effectuant des mesures du radon des instructions détaillées et des directives concernant la méthodologie à utiliser. Santé Canada recommande une période de mesure d'au moins trois mois pour les habitations, idéalement en automne et en hiver. Le coût d'un test de radon varie entre 50 $ et 100 $ environ.

Dans le cadre du Programme national sur le radon, Santé Canada a effectué une enquête pancanadienne sur le radon résidentiel afin de mieux comprendre les concentrations de radon dans les habitations du Canada.