Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Food and Nutrition

Notice of Modification to the List of Permitted Sweeteners to Enable the Use of Steviol Glycosides as a Table-Top Sweetener and as a Sweetener in Certain Food Categories - Document Reference Number NOM/ADM-0002

Notice of Modification - Lists of Permitted Food Additives
Document Reference Number: [NOM/ADM-0002]

November 30, 2012

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Summary

Further to Health Canada's technical consultation published on July 31, 2012, entitled Information and Consultation Document on Health Canada's Proposal to Allow the Use of the Food Additive Steviol Glycosides as a Table-Top Sweetener and as a Sweetener in Certain Food Categories, Health Canada is modifying the Lists of Permitted Food Additives as indicated in the table below.

Food additives are regulated in Canada under the Food and Drug Regulations and Marketing Authorizations (MAs) issued by the Minister of Health. Approved food additives and their permitted conditions of use are set out in the Lists of Permitted Food Additives that are incorporated by reference in the MAs. A petitioner can request that Health Canada approve a new additive or a new condition of use for an already-approved food additive by filing a food additive submission with the Department's Food Directorate. Health Canada uses this premarket approval process to determine whether the scientific data support the safety of food additives when used under specified conditions in foods sold in Canada.

Health Canada received three separate food additive submissions that together seek approval for the use of steviol glycosides as a table-top sweetener and a sweetener in a variety of unstandardized foods. The results of Health Canada's evaluation of available data support the safety and efficacy of steviol glycosides when used as described. Therefore, Health Canada has enabled the following use(s) of the food additive steviol glycosides by modifying the List of Permitted Sweeteners by adding the following entries to the list:

Modification to the List of Permitted Sweeteners
Item No. Column 1
Additive
Column 2
Permitted in or upon
Column 3
Maximum Level of Use and Other Conditions
S.1.2 Steviol glycosides (1)
Table-top sweeteners
(1)
Good Manufacturing Practice
(2)
Breakfast cereals; Confectionery glazes for snack foods; Nut spreads; Peanut spreads; Sweetened seasonings or coating mixes for snack foods; Unstandardized chocolate confectionery; Unstandardized chocolate confectionery coatings; Unstandardized fruit spreads; Unstandardized purÚes; Unstandardized salad dressings; Unstandardized sauces; Unstandardized table syrups
(2)
0.035% (calculated as steviol equivalents)
(3)
Unstandardized beverage concentrates; Unstandardized beverages; Unstandardized beverages mixes
(3)
0.02% (calculated as steviol equivalents) in beverages as consumed
(4)
Baking mixes; Filling mixes; Fillings; Topping mixes; Toppings; Unstandardized bakery products; Unstandardized dessert mixes; Unstandardized desserts; Yogurt
(4)
0.035% (calculated as steviol equivalents) in products as consumed
(5)
Breath freshener products; Chewing gum
(5)
0.35% (calculated as steviol equivalents)
(6)
Unstandardized condiments
(6)
0.013% (calculated as steviol equivalents)
(7)
Unstandardized confectionery (except unstandardized chocolate confectionery); Unstandardized confectionery coatings (except unstandardized chocolate confectionery coatings)
(7)
0.07% (calculated as steviol equivalents)

Notification

Health Canada's Information and Consultation Document on Health Canada's Proposal to Allow the Use of the Food Additive Steviol Glycosides as a Table-Top Sweetener and as a Sweetener in Certain Food Categorieswas published for a 75 day comment period beginning on July 31, 2012 and ending on October 14, 2012. During the course of this consultation, Health Canada received a number of comments which are summarized below.

Summary of Comments Received

In total, 27 comments were received citing support of Health Canada's proposal to enable the use of steviol glycosides as a table-top sweetener and as a sweetener in certain food categories. Comments were received primarily from food industry associations. One patient group also indicated support.

In several instances, respondents requested that the common names "purified stevia extract" and "stevia leaf extracts" be permitted for use on labels. Some respondents also requested general clarification of the permitted use(s) of steviol glycosides and asked technical questions, all of which have either been directly responded to by the Food Directorate's Bureau of Chemical Safety, or referred to the most appropriate Government of Canada resource. In the case of the common names that would be acceptable for use on food labels, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency can be consulted to obtain information on labelling requirements for food additives.

It should be noted that some comments were received requesting the use of steviol glycosides in additional food categories. It has been clarified in these instances that any requests for additional food additive use(s) of steviol glycosides outside of what has been proposed through Health Canada's recent online consultation can be addressed through the provision of a food additive submission pursuant to section B.16.002, Division 16 of the Food and Drug Regulations. Please refer to the following detailed information which provides guidance on the completion of a food additive submission.

After due consideration of the overall weight of scientific evidence supporting the safety of Health Canada's proposal, as well as the comments received through Health Canada's corresponding consultation, the Department has modified the List of Permitted Sweeteners to enable the use(s) of steviol glycosides as outlined in the table above.

Implementation and Enforcement

The above modification came into force the day on which it is published in the List of Permitted Sweeteners.

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency is responsible for compliance and enforcement of the Food and Drugs Act and its associated regulations with respect to foods.

Contact Information

For additional information or to submit information related to this modification to the List of Permitted Sweeteners, please contact the Food Directorate's Bureau of Chemical Safety.

Bureau of Chemical Safety
251 Sir Frederick Banting Driveway
Tunney's Pasture, PL: 2202C
Ottawa, Ontario áK1A 0L2
E-mail: bcs-bipc@hc-sc.gc.ca

If communicating by e-mail, please use the words "steviol glycosides" in the subject box of your e-mail.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Avis de Modification à la Liste des édulcorants autorisés visant à permettre le recours aux glycosides de stéviol à titre d’édulcorants de table et d'édulcorants dans certaines catégories d'aliments - Numéro de référence du document NOM/ADM-0002

Avis de modification - Listes des additifs alimentaires autorisés
Numéro de référence du document : [NOM/ADM-0002]

30 novembre 2012

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Résumé

Pour faire suite à la consultation technique de Santé Canada, publiée le 31 juillet 2012, intitulée Consultation technique sur la proposition de Santé Canada visant à autoriser le recours aux glycosides de stéviol en tant qu'additifs alimentaires à titre d'édulcorants de table et d'édulcorants dans certaines catégories d'aliments, Santé Canada modifie les Listes des additifs alimentaires autorisés comme indiqué dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Au Canada, les additifs alimentaires sont régis en vertu du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues et les Autorisations de mise en marché (AM) délivrées par la ministre de la Santé. Les additifs alimentaires autorisés et les conditions d'utilisation acceptées sont établis dans les listes des additifs alimentaires autorisés, lesquelles sont incorporées par renvoi dans les AM. Un demandeur peut solliciter l'approbation par Santé Canada d'un nouvel additif ou de nouvelles conditions d'utilisation d'un additif alimentaire déjà autorisé en déposant une demande de mise en marché d'un additif alimentaire auprès de la Direction des aliments du Ministère. Santé Canada recourt à ce processus d'approbation préalable à la mise en marché afin de veiller à ce que les données scientifiques appuient la salubrité des additifs alimentaires lorsqu’utilisés dans les aliments vendus au Canada selon des conditions préétablies.

Santé Canada a reçu trois demandes de mise en marché d'additif alimentaire distinctes qui, ensemble, sollicitent l'autorisation de recourir aux glycosides de stéviol à titre d'édulcorants de table et d'édulcorants dans un éventail d'aliments non normalisés. Les résultats de l'évaluation, par Santé Canada, des données publiées soutiennent l'innocuité et l'efficacité des glycosides de stéviol lorsqu'ils sont utilisés conformément à la demande. Par conséquent, Santé Canada a autorisé les utilisations suivantes des glycosides de stéviol à titre d'additif alimentaire en modifiant la Liste des édulcorants autorisés, soit en y ajoutant les articles suivants :

Tableau 1 : Modification de la Liste des édulcorants autorisés
Article Colonne 1
Additifs
Colonne 2
Permis dans ou sur
Colonne 3
Limites de tolérance et autre conditions
S.1.2 Glycosides de stéviol (1)
Édulcorants de table
(1)
Bonnes pratiques industrielles
(2)
Assaisonnements sucrés ou mélanges pour enrobage des grignotines; céréales à déjeuner; confiseries de chocolat non normalisées; enrobages de confiserie de chocolat non normalisés; glaçages à confiserie pour grignotines; purées non normalisées; sauces à salade non normalisées; sauces non normalisées; sirops de table non normalisés; tartinades d'arachides; tartinades de fruits à écale; tartinades de fruits non normalisées
(2)
0,035 % (calculée comme équivalents de stéviol)
(3)
Boissons non normalisées; concentrés de boissons non normalisés; mélanges pour boissons non normalisés
(3)
0,02 % (calculée comme équivalents de stéviol) dans les boissons, sous leur forme consommable
(4)
Desserts non normalisés; garnitures; glaçages; mélanges pour desserts non normalisés; mélanges pour garnitures; mélanges pour glaçages; mélanges pour pâtisseries; produits de boulangerie non normalisés; yogourt
(4)
0,035 % (calculée comme équivalents de stéviol) dans les produits, sous leur forme consommable
(5)
Gomme à mâcher; rafraîchisseurs d'haleine
(5)
0,35 % (calculée comme équivalents de stéviol)
(6)
Condiments non normalisés
(6)
0,013 % (calculée comme équivalents de stéviol)
(7)
Confiseries non normalisées (sauf les confiseries de chocolat non normalisées); enrobages de confiserie non normalisés (sauf les enrobages de confiserie de chocolat non normalisés)
(7)
0,07% (calculée comme équivalents de stéviol)

Notification

Le document intitulé Document d'information et de consultation sur la proposition de Santé Canada visant à autoriser le recours aux glycosides de stéviol en tant qu'additifs alimentaires à titre d'édulcorants de table et d'édulcorants dans certaines catégories d'aliments a été publié le 31 juillet 2012 aux fins d'une période de commentaires de 75 jours s'étant terminée le 14 octobre 2012. Pendant cette consultation, Santé Canada a reçu plusieurs commentaires, lesquels sont résumés ci-dessous.

Sommaire des commentaires reçus

Au total, 27 commentaires ont été transmis en faisant état d'un soutien à la proposition de Santé Canada visant à autoriser le recours aux glycosides de stéviol à titre d'édulcorants de table et d'édulcorants dans certaines catégories d'aliments. La majorité des commentaires ont été transmis par des associations de l'industrie alimentaire. Un groupe de patients a également manifesté son appui.

Dans plusieurs cas, les répondants ont demandé que l'utilisation des noms usuels suivants soit autorisée sur l'étiquette : extrait de stevia purifié et extraits de feuille de stevia. Certains répondants ont aussi demandé des clarifications d'ordre général sur l'utilisation ou les utilisations autorisées des glycosides de stéviol ainsi qu'ils ont posé des questions techniques. Toutes ont reçu une réponse du Bureau d'innocuité des produits chimiques de la Direction des aliments ou ont été acheminées vers la ressource du gouvernement du Canada la plus apte à clarifier chaque question. En ce qui concerne les noms communs acceptables qui peuvent être utilisés sur les étiquettes, les intervenants peuvent contacter l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments afin d’obtenir les renseignements sur les exigences concernant l’étiquetage des additifs alimentaires.

Il convient de noter que quelques personnes ayant transmis des commentaires ont demandé d'autoriser le recours aux glycosides de stéviol dans des catégories additionnelles d'aliments. Dans le cas de toute demande d'autorisation d'utilisations des glycosides de stéviol différentes de celles qui ont été proposées au moyen de la récente consultation en ligne de Santé Canada, le fait qu'une telle demande doit être formulée au moyen d'une demande de mise en marché d'un additif alimentaire conformément à l'article B.16.002 du titre 16 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues a été clarifié. Veuillez vous reporter à la page Additifs alimentaires - Préparation d'une demande d'autorisation pour obtenir tous les renseignements requis au sujet d'une telle demande.

Après avoir mûrement pris en compte le poids global de la preuve scientifique soutenant l'innocuité de l'objet de la proposition de Santé Canada de même que les commentaires reçus par l'entremise de la consultation correspondante de Santé Canada, le Ministère a modifié la Liste des édulcorants autorisés afin de permettre le recours aux glycosides de stéviol tel que décrit dans le tableau ci-dessus.

Mise en œuvre et entrée en vigueur

La modification ci-dessus entre en vigueur le jour de sa publication dans la Liste des édulcorants autorisés.

L'Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments est responsable de veiller à la conformité avec la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et ses règlements connexes en matière d'aliments ainsi qu'à l'application de ceux-ci.

Coordonnées

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements ou pour transmettre des informations au sujet de cette modification à la Liste des édulcorants autorisés, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau d'innocuité des produits chimiques de la Direction des aliments.

Bureau d'innocuité des produits chimiques
251, promenade Sir Frederick Banting
Pré Tunney, IA : 2202C
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0L2
Adresse électronique : bcs-bipc@hc-sc.gc.ca

En communiquant par courrier électronique, veuillez inscrire glycosides de stévioldans le champ du sujet de votre message.