Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Food and Nutrition

Notice of Modification to the List of Permitted Preservatives to Enable the Use of Potassium Lactate and Sodium Lactate as Preservatives in Unstandardized and Certain Standardized Marine and Fresh Water Animal Products - Document Reference Number: NOM/ADM-0064

Background

Health Canada's Food Directorate completed a detailed safety assessment of a food additive submission seeking approval for the use of potassium lactate and sodium lactate as antimicrobial preservatives in unstandardized marine and fresh water animal products and certain standardized marine and fresh water animal products.

Potassium lactate and sodium lactate are already permitted for use in Canada as preservatives in the List of Permitted Preservatives.

The results of Health Canada's evaluation of available scientific data support the safety and efficacy of potassium lactate and sodium lactate when used as requested by the petitioner. Therefore, Health Canada has modified the List of Permitted Preservatives, effective January 8 2016.

The purpose of this communication is to publically announce the Department's decision in this regard and to provide the appropriate contact information for any inquiries or for those wishing to submit any new scientific information relevant to the safety of this food additive.

Information Document

To obtain an electronic copy of the Notice of Modification to the List of Permitted Preservatives to Enable the Use of Potassium Lactate and Sodium Lactate as Preservatives in Unstandardized and Certain Standardized Marine and Fresh Water Animal Products - Document Reference number: NOM/ADM-0064, please contact our publications office or send an e-mail to publications@hc-sc.gc.ca with the subject heading "hpfb BCS nom-adm-0064-eng".

Contact Information

Health Canada's Food Directorate is committed to reviewing any new scientific information on the safety in use of any food additive, including potassium lactate and sodium lactate. Anyone wishing to submit new scientific information on the use of this food additive or to submit any inquiries may do so in writing, by regular mail or electronically. If you wish to contact the Food Directorate electronically, please use the words "potassium lactate and sodium lactate" in the subject line of your e-mail.

Bureau of Chemical Safety, Food Directorate

Supporting Information

Food Additives

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Avis de modification à la Liste des agents de conservation autorisés afin de permettre l'utilisation de lactate de potassium et de lactate de sodium à titre d'agents de conservation dans des produits non-normalisés et certains produits normalisés d'animaux marins et d'animaux d'eau douce - Numéro de référence du document: NOM/ADM-0064

Contexte

La Direction des aliments de Santé Canada a terminé une évaluation approfondie de l'innocuité, en tant qu'additifs alimentaires, d'une demande sollicitant l'autorisation de l'utilisation de lactate de potassium et de lactate de sodium à titre d'agents de conservation antimicrobiens dans des produits non-normalisés et certains produits normalisés d'animaux marins et d'animaux d'eau douce.

L'utilisation de lactate de potassium et de lactate de sodium est déjà autorisée au Canada à titre d'agents de conservation dans la Liste des agents de conservation autorisés.

Les résultats de l'évaluation, par Santé Canada, des données scientifiques disponibles soutiennent l'innocuité et l'efficacité de lactate de potassium et de lactate de sodium lorsqu'elle est utilisée tel que demandé par le requérant. Par conséquent, Santé Canada a modifié la Liste des agents de conservation autorisés, valide le 8 janvier 2016.

L'objectif de cette communication est d'annoncer publiquement la décision du Ministère à cet égard et de fournir les coordonnées pour toute demande de renseignements ou pour ceux qui souhaitent transmettre toute nouvelle information scientifique pertinente à l'innocuité de ces additifs alimentaire.

Document d'Information

Pour obtenir une copie électronique du présent document Avis de modification à la Liste des agents de conservation autorisés afin de permettre l'utilisation de lactate de potassium et de lactate de sodium à titre d'agents de conservation dans des produits non-normalisés et certains produits normalisés d'animaux marins et d'animaux d'eau douce - Numéro de référence du document: NOM/ADM-0064, communiquez avec notre bureau des publications ou envoyer un courriel électronique à publications@hc-sc.gc.ca avec les mots « hpfb BCS nom-adm-0064-fra » dans la rubrique.

Coordonnées

La Direction des aliments de Santé Canada s'engage à examiner toute nouvelle information scientifique sur l'innocuité de tout additif alimentaire, y compris de lactate de potassium et Lactate de sodium. Toute personne désirant soumettre de nouvelles données scientifiques sur l'utilisation de ces additifs ou présenter toute demande de renseignements sur cette proposition peut le faire par écrit, soit par voie électronique, soit par la poste. Les personnes souhaitant contacter la Direction des aliments par courrier électronique sont priées d'inscrire les mots « lactate de potassium et lactate de sodium » dans le champ du sujet de leur courriel.

Bureau d'innocuité des produits chimiques

Information à l'appui

Additifs alimentaires