Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

We're revising Canada's food guide. Participate in the consultation process (link will open in a new window) to help revise Canada's food guide.
Food and Nutrition

ARCHIVED - Novel Food Information

Warning This content was archived on June 24 2013.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Glyphosate Tolerant Alfalfa Events J101 and J163

Health Canada has notified Monsanto Canada Inc that it has no objection to the food use of alfalfa from glyphosate tolerant alfalfa lines containing events J101 and J163. The Department conducted a comprehensive assessment of these lines according to its Guidelines for the Safety Assessment of Novel Foods. These Guidelines are based upon internationally accepted principles for establishing the safety of foods with novel traits.


The following provides a summary of the notification from Monsanto, and the evaluation by Heath Canada and contains no confidential business information.

1. Introduction

Monsanto has developed alfalfa (Medicago sativa L.) lines based upon transformation events J101 and J163. Alfalfa varieties containing these events express the CP4 5-enolpyruvylshikimate-3-phosphate (cp4-epsps) gene which confers tolerance to glyphosate herbicides (trade name, Roundup«). Health Canada has previously indicated no objection to the sale of glyphosate tolerant corn (NK603, Mon 802, Mon 832), cotton (1445), canola (GT 200, GT 73) and soybean (GTS 40-3-2) lines for human food applications in Canada. Like alfalfa events J101 and J163 these lines express the CP4 EPSPS enzyme which confers tolerance to glyphosate herbicides

The safety assessment performed by Food Directorate evaluators was conducted according to Health Canada's Guidelines for the Safety Assessment of Novel Foods. The assessment considered: how alfalfa events J101 and J163 were developed; how the composition and nutritional quality of alfalfa varieties containing these events compare to non-modified alfalfa varieties; and what the potential is for alfalfa derived from lines containing these events to be toxic or cause allergic reactions.

The Food Directorate has a legislated responsibility for pre-market assessment of novel foods and novel food ingredients as detailed in Division 28 of Part B of the Food and Drug Regulations (Novel Foods). Foods derived from alfalfa lines containing events J101 and J163 are considered novel foods under the following part of the definition of novel foods: "c) a food that is derived from a plant, animal or microorganism that has been genetically modified such that

  1. the plant, animal or microorganism exhibits characteristics that were not previously observed in that plant, animal or microorganism"

2. Development of the Modified Plant

Roundup Ready alfalfa events J101 and J163 were developed through Agrobacterium-mediated transformations. Glyphosate tolerant callus was selected for the Roundup Ready trait through the addition of glyphosate to the plant culture media, and then cultured in tissue culture medium for plant regeneration. The cp4 epsps gene expression cassette is fused to a chloroplast transit peptide (CTP2) sequence that targets the CP4 EPSPS protein to the chloroplasts, the site of aromatic amino acid synthesis. Constitutive expression of cp4 epsps was controlled by inclusion of the figwort mosaic virus promoter FMV (e35S), the petunia hsp70 heat shock protein to stabilize the level of gene transcription, and the E9 3' polyadenylation sequence from pea.

3. Characterization of the Modified Plant

Southern blot and PCR analysis of alfalfa containing the events J101 and J163 demonstrated the insertion of one copy of the T-DNA of PV-MSHT4 in the alfalfa genome. Southern blot analysis also demonstrated the integrity of the cp4-epsps gene and regulatory elements, as well as the absence of plasmid-derived sequences outside of the T-DNA region.

Stability of the inserted cp4-epsps gene cassette was evaluated in different alfalfa genetic backgrounds over multiple generations of conventional breeding at various locations. The results obtained demonstrate the stability of the events J101 and J163 at the genomic level in different environments.

4. Product Information

Alfalfa events J101 and J163 differ from their traditional counterparts by the addition of the cp4-epsps gene sequence into the genome, and the expression of the CP4 EPSPS protein. The protein encoded by this gene is expressed at different levels throughout the plant tissue and throughout the life of the plant.

No significant differences were observed on the reproductive and survival biology of alfalfa events J101 and J163 where it was determined that stand establishment, growth, vigor or stand longevity; susceptibility to plant pests and diseases; forage and seed yield; and seed dormancy were within the normal range of these traits currently displayed by commercial alfalfa varieties.

5. Dietary Exposure

Alfalfa is used primarily as an animal feed, with only minor uses as a human food or dietary supplement. Monsanto does not intend to introduce Roundup Ready alfalfa into the food supply, either as compressed leaf material or as sprouts. Roundup Ready alfalfa will be sold solely to producers of forage for use as animal feed.

6. Nutrition

The analysis of nutrients from Roundup Ready alfalfa events J101 and J163 and control and conventional alfalfa did not reveal any significant differences in the levels of protein, fat, ash, moisture, fibre, carbohydrates, amino acids, minerals, vitamins and anti-nutrients. In each case the level of each respective component was comparable to the control and within the reported range for conventional alfalfa. The consumption of products from alfalfa events J101 and J163 will have no significant impact on the nutritional quality of the Canadian food supply.

7. Toxicology

The potential for toxicity for CP4 EPSPS protein expressed in alfalfa lines containing events J101 and J163 was considered remote. This conclusion was based on the low amount of CP4 EPSPS protein found in the edible part of the plant, the absence of demonstrated acute toxicity to CP4 EPSPS in mice at doses orders of magnitude greater than the range associated with proteins, the lack of sequence homology between CP4 EPSPS protein and known toxins, and the likelihood that the protein will be degraded under conditions similar to those in the human gastrointestinal tract. There were no additional health concerns regarding endogenous toxins from the product derived from alfalfa containing events J101 and J163 when compared to non-transgenic varieties.

The possibility that the CP4 EPSPS protein would be an allergen in alfalfa containing events J101 and J163 was also considered unlikely. This was based on the lack of sequence homology between CP4 EPSPS protein and known allergens, and CP4 EPSPS protein's likely digestion in simulated gastric and intestinal fluids. These results suggest that products derived from alfalfa lines containing events J101 and J163 would not pose any greater allergenic risk than non-transgenic alfalfa.

At the expected level of consumption, there was no greater concern with alfalfa lines containing events J101 and J163 than non-transgenic alfalfa, with respect to its potential for toxicity or allergenicity.


Health Canada's review of the information presented in support of the food use of glyphosate tolerant alfalfa lines containing events J101 and J163 concluded that the food use of alfalfa lines containing this event does not raise concerns related to safety. Health Canada is of the opinion that alfalfa lines containing events J101 and J163 are as safe and nutritious as current commercial alfalfa varieties.

Health Canada's opinion deals only with the food use of glyphosate tolerant alfalfa lines containing events J101 and J163. Issues related to its use as animal feed have been addressed separately through existing regulatory processes in the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

This Novel Food Information document has been prepared to summarize the opinion regarding the subject product provided by the Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch, Health Canada. This opinion is based upon the comprehensive review of information submitted by the petitioner according to the Guidelines for the Safety Assessment of Novel Foods.

(╔galement disponible en franšais)

For further information, please contact:

Novel Foods Section
Food Directorate
Health Products and Food Branch
Health Canada
Tunney's Pasture
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L2
Telephone: (613) 941-5535
Facsimile: (613) 952-6400

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

ARCHIVÉE - INFORMATION SUR LES ALIMENTS NOUVEAUX - BIOTECHNOLOGIE ALIMENTAIRE

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 24 juin 2013.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Lignées de luzerne J101 et J163 tolérant le glyphosate

Santé Canada a informé Monsanto Canada inc. qu'il ne s'oppose pas à l'utilisation alimentaire de la luzerne produite à partir des lignées de luzerne J101 et J203 tolérant le glyphosate. Le Ministère a effectué une évaluation détaillée de ce produit conformément à ses Lignes directrices relatives à l'évaluation de l'innocuité des aliments nouveaux. Ces lignes directrices sont fondées sur des principes internationaux d'évaluation de l'innocuité des aliments qui présentent des caractères nouveaux.

Contexte :

Le texte qui suit résume l'avis que Monsanto Canada inc. a donné à Santé Canada, ainsi que l'évaluation effectuée par le Ministère, et ne contient aucun renseignement commercial confidentiel.

1. Introduction

Monsanto Canada inc. a mis au point, par transformation, les lignées de luzerne (Medicago sativa L.) J101 et J163. Les variétés de luzerne contenant ces lignées expriment le gène CP4 5-enolpyruvylshikimate-3-phosphate (cp4-epsps), lequel leur confère une tolérance aux herbicides contenant du glyphosate, et plus spécifiquement le Roundup®. Santé Canada a précédemment indiqué qu'il ne s'oppose pas à la vente des produits de maïs (NK603, Mon 802, Mon 832), de coton (1445), de canola (GT 200, GT 73) et de soja (GTS40-3-2) tolérant le glyphosate, aux fins d'alimentation humaine au Canada. Tout comme les lignées de luzerne J101 et J163, ces lignées expriment l'enzyme CP4 EPSPS qui confère une tolérance aux herbicides contenant du glyphosate.

Le personnel de la Direction des aliments a procédé à une évaluation d'innocuité détaillée de ce produit, conformément à ses Lignes directrices relatives à l'évaluation de l'innocuité des aliments nouveaux. L'évaluation a permis d'examiner les éléments suivants : le processus de mise au point des lignées de luzerne J101 et J163, la comparaison de la composition et de la qualité nutritionnelle des variétés de luzerne ontenant ces lignées avec celui des variétés de luzerne non modifiées et les possibilités de toxicité et de réactions allergiques causées par les produits de luzerne contenant ces lignées.

La Direction des aliments a une responsabilité légale à l'égard de l'évaluation pré commercialisation des aliments nouveaux et des ingrédients des aliments nouveaux, tel que stipulé dans le titre 28 de la partie B du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (Aliments nouveaux). Les aliments dérivés des lignées de luzerne contenant les lignées J101 et J163 sont considérés comme des aliments nouveaux aux termes de la portion suivante de la définition de l'expression aliments nouveaux : « c) aliment dérivé d'un végétal, d'un animal ou d'un micro-organisme qui, ayant été modifié génétiquement, selon le cas

  1. présente des caractères qui n'avaient pas été observés auparavant dans le végétal, l'animal ou le micro-organisme »

2. Mise au point de la plante modifiée

Le requérant a mis au point les lignées de luzerne J101 et J103 « Roundup Ready » par transformation médié via l'organisme Agrobacterium. Le cal tolérant le glyphosate a été sélectionné pour la caractéristique « Roundup Ready » en ajoutant le glyphosate au milieu de culture de la plante, puis en l'ensemençant dans un milieu de culture de tissus, aux fins de régénération de la plante. La cassette d'expression du gène cp4 epsps est fusionnée à la séquenced'un peptide chloroplastique de transport (CTP2) qui cible la protéine CP4EPSPS vers les chloroplastes, soit le site de synthèse aromatique des acides aminés. L'expression constitutive du gène cp4 epsps a été contrôlée par l'incorporation du promoteur du virus de la mosaïque de la scrofulaire - VMS (e35S), la protéine de choc thermique hsp70 du pétunia pour stabiliser le niveau de transcription génique et le signal de polyadénylation E9 3' du pois.

3. Caractérisation de la plante modifiée

Une analyse par transfert de Southern et une analyse de réaction en chaîne de la polymérase (PCR) effectuées sur la luzerne contenant les lignées J101 and J163 ont démontré l'insertion d'une copie de l'ADN-T du PV-MSHT4 dans le génome de la luzerne. Une analyse par transfert de Southern a également confirmé l'intégrité du gène cp4-epsps et ses éléments de régulation, ainsi que l'absence de toute séquence dérivée d'un plasmide à l'extérieur de la région ADN-T.

La stabilité de l'incorporation de la cassette du gène cp4-epsps a été évaluée dans différents fonds génétiques de la luzerne et ce, sur plusieurs générations de culture conventionnelle à divers endroits. Les résultats obtenus révèlent la stabilité des lignées J101 et J163 au niveau du génome dans différents milieux.

4. Information concernant le produit

Les lignées de luzerne J101 et J163 diffèrent de leurs homologues parentaux en raison de l'addition des séquences nouvelles de gènes cp4-epsps dans le génome et de l'expression de la protéine CP4 EPSPS. La protéine encodée par ce gène est exprimée à différents niveaux dans les tissus de la plante tout au long de sa vie.

Aucune différence significative n'a été observée sur la biologie de reproduction et de survie des lignées de luzerne J101 et J163; il a été déterminé que l'établissement du peuplement, sa croissance, sa vigueur ou sa longévité, sa susceptibilité aux phytoravageurs et aux maladies des plantes, ses propriétés fourragères et son rendement en grains, ainsi que son repos végétatif cadraient dans l'écart normal des caractéristiques démontrées par les variétés commerciales de luzerne.

5. Exposition alimentaire

La luzerne est utilisée principalement à titre de provende et, dans de faibles pourcentages, comme aliment ou supplément alimentaire. Monsanto Canada inc. n'a pas l'intention d'introduire la luzerne « Roundup Ready » dans la chaîne alimentaire, ni à titre de feuillu comprimé, ni à titre de germe. La luzerne « Roundup Ready » sera vendue uniquement aux producteurs de fourrage aux fins d'utilisation comme provende.

6. Nutrition

L'analyse des éléments nutritifs des lignées de luzerne J101 et J163 « Roundup Ready », des échantillons de contrôle et de luzerne conventionnelle n'ont révélé aucune différence appréciable dans les niveaux de protéines, de gras, de cendres, d'humidité, de fibres, de glucides, d'acides aminés, de minéraux, de vitamines et de substances antinutritionnelles. Dans chaque situation, le niveau de chaque composante respective était comparable au contrôle et se situait dans les fourchettes déclarées concernant la luzerne conventionnelle. La consommation de produits contenant les lignées de luzerne J101 et J163 n'aura aucune incidence appréciable sur la qualité nutritionnelle de la chaîne alimentaire canadienne.

7. Toxicologie

La possibilité de toxicité de la protéine CP4 EPSPS exprimée dans les produits de luzerne contenant les lignées J101 et J163 est considérée comme très faible. Cette conclusion est fondée sur la concentration peu élevée de protéine CP4 EPSPS détectée dans la portion consommable de la plante, l'absence de toxicité aigue de la protéine CP4 EPSPS démontrable dans les souris selon une posologie beaucoup plus élevée que la posologie associée aux protéines, le manque d'homologie de séquence entre la protéine CP4EPSPS et les toxines connues et la possibilité de dégradation de la protéine dans des conditions semblables à celles des voies gastro-intestinales humaines. Une comparaison des produits de luzerne contenant les lignées J101 et J 163 avec d'autres variétés non transgéniques ne montre aucune autre préoccupation pour la santé en ce qui a trait aux toxines endogènes.

La possibilité que la protéine CP4 EPSPS soit allergène dans la luzerne contenant les lignées J101 et J163 est également considérée peu probable, en raison du manque d'homologie de séquence entre la protéine CP4 EPSPS et les allergènes connus et la digestion probable de la protéine CP4 EPSPS dans les liquides gastriques et intestinaux simulés. Ces résultats suggèrent que les produits dérivés de la luzerne contenant les lignées J101 et J163 ne devraient pas poser un risque allergène supérieur à que celui de la luzerne non transgénique.

À un niveau normal de consommation, le taux de préoccupation relatif à la possibilité toxique ou allergénique est le même pour les produits de luzerne contenant les lignées J101 et J163 et la luzerne non transgénique.

Conclusion :

Après avoir étudié les renseignements présentés à l'appui de l'utilisation alimentaire des produits de luzerne contenant les lignées J101 et J163, Santé Canada a conclu que l'utilisation alimentaire de ces lignées de luzerne ne pose pas de préoccupation liée à l'innocuité. Santé Canada est d'avis que les produits de luzerne contenant les lignées J101 et J163 sont aussi sécuritaires et nutritifs que les variétés actuelles de luzerne sur le marché.

L'avis de Santé Canada ne porte que sur l'utilisation alimentaire des produits de luzerne tolérant le glyphosate et contenant les lignées J101 et J163. Les processus réglementaires de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments ont été appliqués aux enjeux liés à son utilisation comme provende.


Le présent document d'information sur des aliments nouveaux résume l'avis donné sur le produit visé par la Direction des aliments, Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments, Santé Canada. Cet avis est fondé sur l'analyse détaillée des renseignements fournis par le pétitionnaire conformément aux Lignes directrices relatives à l'évaluation de l'innocuité des aliments nouveaux.

(Also available in English)

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Bureau de la biotechnologie alimentaire
Direction des aliments
Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments
Santé Canada
Pré Tunney
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L2
Téléphone : (613) 941-5535
Télécopieur : (613) 952-6400