Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

Health Canada and Canadian Food Inspection Agency statement on the SÚralini et al. (2012) publication on a 2-year rodent feeding study with glyphosate formulations and GM maize NK603

Food Directorate
Health Products and Food Branch
Health Canada

Animal Feed Division
Animal Health Directorate
Canadian Food Inspection Agency

Pest Management Regulatory Agency
Health Canada

October 25, 2012

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Some of the hyperlinks provided are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Next link will take you to another Web site Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

In September 2012, the scientific team headed by Dr. Gilles-Eric Séralini at the University of Caen in France published the results of a long term toxicity study of Roundup Ready Maize NK603 and the herbicide Roundup (glyphosate-containing products) in the journal Food and Chemical Toxicology [G.-E. Séralini et al. Long term toxicity of a Roundup herbicide and a Roundup-tolerant genetically modified maize Food Chem. Toxicol. (2012)].

Following a review of the published data, scientists from Health Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) have identified significant shortcomings in the study design, implementation and reporting. The methodology used was inadequately described, the full data set was not presented, and the data that was reported was not presented in a transparent manner. Furthermore, the statistical methods used by the authors to analyse the data were judged to be inappropriate. These limitations make the validity of the study results difficult to determine.

In reviewing the study by G.-E. Séralini et al., Health Canada and CFIA scientists considered both industry supplied regulatory safety dossiers as well as published scientific literature with respect to NK603 corn and the herbicide glyphosate. Based on Health Canada and CFIA’s review of this information, the authors’ conclusions concerning the long term safety of NK603 corn and glyphosate are not supported. As a result, Health Canada and CFIA scientists have concluded that no change to the existing authorization of Roundup Ready Maize NK603 or the herbicide glyphosate would be recommended at this time. To permit further comprehensive analysis, Health Canada and the CFIA have requested the complete set of raw data from the study authors.

Reviews of this paper have also been published by the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR)Footnote 1i, the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)Footnote 2ii, Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ)Footnote 3iii, and the Agence nationale de sécurité sanitaire de l’alimentation, de l’environnement et du travail (ANSES)Footnote 4iv. All of these reviews concluded that study design, the presentation and interpretation of the data are flawed. As such, all four agencies concluded that it was not possible to give weight to the study results and concluded that there was no reason to revisit the safety evaluation of NK603. These food safety assessment bodies also requested that the authors of the study provide them with raw data for further analysis.

Roundup Ready Maize NK603 is a herbicide tolerant maize variety first approved for Canadian food and feed use in 2001. Health Canada and the CFIA evaluated an extensive array of molecular, toxicological, nutritional and chemical testing data on NK603 prior to authorizing its use in Canada. Roundup Ready maize NK603 is also currently permitted for use as a food and feed in many countries and its safety has been carefully examined by health authorities around the world. The herbicide glyphosate and products containing glyphosate (e.g., Roundup) are registered pesticides in Canada supported by extensive scientific data that meet strict health and environmental standards.

The overwhelming body of scientific evidence continues to support the safety of NK603, genetically modified food and feed products in general, and glyphosate containing herbicides. However, whenever new information concerning the safety of an authorized product arises, this new data is carefully reviewed. Should any risks of concern be identified from the consumption of NK603 or exposure to glyphosate, Health Canada and the CFIA will take appropriate action.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Position de Santé Canada et de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments concernant la publication d'une étude toxicologique de longue durée portant sur le maïs NK603 Roundup Ready et l'herbicide Roundup par Séralini et coll. (2012)

Direction des aliments
Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments
Santé Canada

Division des aliments pour animaux
Direction des produits animaux
Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments

Direction de l'évaluation sanitaire
Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire
Santé Canada

Octobre 25, 2012

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

En septembre 2012, l'équipe scientifique de l'Université de Caen en France, dirigée par le Dr Gilles-Eric Séralini, a publié, dans la revue Food and Chemical Toxicology, les résultats d'une étude toxicologique de longue durée portant sur le maïs NK603 Roundup Ready et l'herbicide Roundup (produits contenants du glyphosate). [G.-E. Séralini et coll. « Long term toxicity of a Roundup herbicide and a Roundup-tolerant genetically modified maize ».Food Chem. Toxicol. (2012)].

À la suite d'un examen des données publiées, les scientifiques de Santé Canada et de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) ont identifié des lacunes significatives dans le plan de l'étude, dans sa réalisation et dans sa présentation. La description de la méthode employée est insuffisante, la totalité des données n'a pas été présenté et pour celles qui l'ont été, la transparence fait défaut à leur présentation. Qui plus est, ils ont estimé que les méthodes statistiques auxquelles les auteurs ont eu recours pour l'analyse des données sont inappropriées. Pour ces raisons, la validité de l'étude est difficile à déterminer.

Dans l'examen de l'étude produite par G.-E. Séralini et coll., les scientifiques de Santé Canada et de l'ACIA ont tenu compte des dossiers réglementaires sur l'innocuité déposés par l'industrie ainsi que de la documentation scientifique publiée au sujet du maïs NK603 et de l'herbicide glyphosate. Selon l'examen de ces renseignements par Santé Canada et l'ACIA, les conclusions auxquelles sont parvenus les auteurs au sujet de l'innocuité à long terme du maïs NK603 et du glyphosate ne sont pas étayées. Par conséquent, les scientifiques de Santé Canada et de l'ACIA ont déterminé qu'actuellement, aucun changement n'est recommandé aux autorisations existantes dont font l'objet le maïs NK603 Roundup Ready et l'herbicide glyphosate. Dans le but de permettre l'approfondissement de leur analyse, Santé Canada et l'ACIA ont demandé aux auteurs de l'étude l'ensemble complet des données brutes issues de leurs travaux.

L'Institut fédéral allemand d'évaluation des risques (BfR)Note de bas de page 1i, l'Autorité européenne de sécurité des aliments (EFSA)Note de bas de page 2ii, la Food Standards Australia New ZealandNote de bas de page 3iii et l'Agence nationale de sécurité sanitaire de l'alimentation, de l'environnement et du travail (ANSES)Note de bas de page 4iv ont également publié des examens de ce document. Tous ont conclu que la présentation et l'interprétation des données ainsi que le plan de l'étude sont imparfaits. Par conséquent, ces quatre organismes ont jugé qu'il est impossible de donner du poids aux résultats de l'étude, lesquels ne justifient aucunement le réexamen de l'évaluation de l'innocuité du maïs NK603. Souhaitant également poursuivre l'analyse, ces organismes chargés de l'évaluation de l'innocuité des aliments ont aussi demandé aux auteurs de l'étude de leur fournir leurs données brutes.

Le maïs Roundup Ready NK603 est une variété de maïs tolérant aux herbicides dont l'utilisation dans les aliments destinés à la consommation humaine et animale a d'abord été autorisée au Canada en 2001. Avant d'en autoriser l'utilisation au pays, Santé Canada et l'ACIA ont évalué une série exhaustive de données issues d'analyses moléculaires, toxicologiques, nutritionnelles et chimiques dont il a fait l'objet. Plusieurs autres pays autorisent actuellement le recours au maïs Roundup Ready NK603 à titre d'aliment destiné à la consommation humaine et animale, et des autorités sanitaires de partout dans le monde en ont rigoureusement examiné l'innocuité. L'herbicide glyphosate et les produits qui en contiennent (p. ex., le Roundup) constituent des pesticides homologués au Canada sur la base de données scientifiques complètes qui satisfont des normes strictes en matière sanitaire et environnementale.

De très nombreuses preuves scientifiques appuient toujours l'innocuité du maïs NK603, des autres produits alimentaires génétiquement modifiés destinés à la consommation humaine et animale approuvés jusqu'à date, ainsi que des herbicides contenant le glyphosate. Toutefois, dès que de nouvelles données concernant l'innocuité d'un produit homologué sont publiées, celles-ci sont examinées minutieusement. S'il était établi que la consommation du maïs NK603 ou l'exposition au glyphosate comportent des risques préoccupants, Santé Canada et l'ACIA interviendraient comme il se doit.