Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

The Use Of Food Allergen Precautionary Statements On Prepackaged Foods

March 2012

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Health Canada's policy for enhancing the protection of food-allergic consumers in Canada is based on two guiding principles:

  1. prevent the inadvertent consumption of undeclared allergens by sensitive consumers; and
  2. enable a variety of safe and nutritious food choices for the allergic consumer.

The policy supports the appropriate use of food allergen precautionary statements on pre-packaged foods, as a risk management tool, where warranted.

A food allergen precautionary statement is a declaration on the label of a prepackaged food of the possible inadvertent presence of an allergen in the food. Precautionary statements are made by food manufacturers and importers on a voluntary basis above and beyond the basic ingredient and nutrition labelling requirements stipulated in the Food and Drug Regulations (FDR) and other related legislation. There is no regulatory requirement for, or prohibition of, precautionary labelling. However, like all labelling statements, precautionary statements are subject to section 5(1) of the Food and Drugs Act (FDA).

The current policy on the use of food allergen precautionary statements was set in 1994 by Health Canada's Food Directorate. When used, precautionary statements aim to: (1) alert the consumer to the possible presence of an allergen in a food, and (2) prevent the consumption of products labelled with a precautionary statement by persons having a food allergy. Health Canada's policy has been non-prescriptive with respect to the wording of precautionary statements, requiring only that such statements be truthful, clear and non-ambiguous, and that they not be a substitute for Good Manufacturing Practices.

Health Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) have committed to reviewing the current policy, because:

  1. The use of food allergen precautionary statements on pre-packaged foods has substantially increased since the mid-1990s.
  2. A variety of statements are being employed, some of which are no longer providing food allergic consumers with meaningful information on the potential presence of allergens in pre-packaged foods hence misleading consumers on the possible occurrence, levels and risks associated with allergens in foodFootnote 1.

To inform and support policy development, the Food Directorate's Bureau of Chemical Safety (BCS) has partnered with research teams at McGill University, McMaster University, the Network of Centres of Excellence (AllerGen), and consumer associations representing Canadians having food allergies and sensitivities, to assess Canadian consumers' current attitudes toward precautionary labelling. Research of this kind has also been conducted in the United StatesFootnote 2 and the United KingdomFootnote 3 where general circumstances surrounding the use of precautionary labelling are similar to those in Canada.

In addition to research that has been undertaken, Health Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency conducted Canada-wide on-line and face-to-face consultations in 2009-2010 to seek feedback from a wide range of stakeholders, and engage them in discussion of proposed actions to improve food allergen precautionary labelling. These research activities and public consultations each confirm that Canadian allergic consumers currently perceive themselves to be at risk because of the overuse of food allergen precautionary labelling by the food industry; also, these same consumers find it difficult to interpret the level of risk posed by a product due to the variety of precautionary statements being used. Consultations indicate that the vast majority of stakeholders support the use of a single, preferred precautionary statement over multiple precautionary statements.

Conditions for the Use of Food Allergen Precautionary Statements and Future Directions:

Health Canada still considers the use of allergen precautionary statements to be a useful tool in mitigating adverse reactions to priority food allergens if the statements are used appropriately. Precautionary labelling should only be used when, despite all reasonable measures, the inadvertent presence of allergens in food is unavoidable. It must not be used when an allergen or allergen-containing ingredient is deliberately added to a food. Furthermore, the use of a precautionary statement where there is no real risk of an allergen being present in the food is contrary to the Department's goal of enabling a variety of safe and nutritious food choices for the allergic consumer.

There is consensus among the various stakeholders that further guidance is needed regarding the use of allergen precautionary labelling. To address the potential risks associated with mis-use or misinterpretation of food allergen statements, Health Canada is recommending a single food allergen precautionary statement.

Health Canada and the CFIA are therefore recommending that, food manufacturers and importers begin to use only one precautionary statement on food labels:

"may contain [X]"

where X is the name by which the allergen is commonly known.

Health Canada continues to collaborate with food allergy consumer groups and the food industry with the aim of publishing a revised policy and guideline for the use of food allergen precautionary statements on pre-packaged foods, upon completion of current research activities.

Annex I

Health Risk Assessments in Support of Mitigating Food Allergy Incidents in Canada:

Other information

Health Canada is reviewing its policy on the use of food allergen precautionary statements on prepackaged foods.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The Bureau of Chemical Safety's Food Research Division (FRD) recently surveyed chocolate bars and granola bars for precautionary statements and analysed for the presence of certain allergens such as peanut and tree nuts. According to the survey results, the most commonly used statement was "may contain trace(s) of . . .", which implies that the amount of allergen present, if any, is very small. Analytical results generated by Health Canada and CFIA's laboratories for such products have shown that levels of an allergen have reached up to 6,500 parts per million (ppm) or 0.65% in a chocolate product with a precautionary statement that the product may contain only "traces" of the allergen.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Hefle SL, Furlong TJ, Niemann L, Lemon-Mule H, Sicherer S, Taylor SL. Consumer attitudes and risks associated with packaged foods having advisory labeling regarding the presence of peanuts. Article in Press. J Allergy Clin Immunol.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Food Standards Agency. 2002. Nut allergy labelling: report of research into the consumer response. http://www.foodstandards.gov.uk/multimedia/pdfs/nutallergyresearch.pdf

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

L'utilisation des mises en garde relatives aux allergènes alimentaires sur l'étiquette des aliments préemballés

Mars 2012

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

La politique de Santé Canada visant à renforcer la protection des consommateurs atteints d'allergies alimentaires est basée sur les deux principes directeurs suivants :

  1. éviter que les consommateurs sensibles consomment, par inadvertance, des allergènes alimentaires dont la présence n'est pas déclarée; et
  2. permettre aux consommateurs allergiques de choisir parmi une variété d'aliments à la fois nutritifs et sans danger pour eux.

La politique soutient l'utilisation appropriée des mises en garde relatives aux allergènes alimentaires sur l'étiquette des aliments préemballés en guise d'outil de gestion des risques lorsqu'une telle mesure est justifiée.

Une mise en garde concernant un allergène alimentaire consiste en une déclaration figurant sur l'étiquette d'un aliment préemballé signalant la possibilité d'une présence accidentelle d'un allergène dans l'aliment. Les fabricants et les importateurs de produits alimentaires sont libres d'intégrer les mises en garde à l'étiquetage, car celles-ci ne comptent pas au nombre des exigences de base relatives aux ingrédients et à la valeur nutritive stipulées dans le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (RAD) et dans d'autres lois pertinentes. Il n'existe ni exigence réglementaire ni interdiction à l'égard des mentions préventives sur l'étiquette des produits alimentaires. Cependant, comme toutes les mentions sur les étiquettes, les mises en garde sont régies par l'article 5(1) de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues (LAD).

La politique actuelle sur l'utilisation des mises en garde relatives aux allergènes alimentaires a été établie en 1994 par la Direction des aliments de Santé Canada. Les mises en garde ont pour objectif : 1) d'éveiller l'attention des consommateurs sur la présence possible d'un allergène dans un aliment et 2) d'éviter la consommation des produits où figure une mise en garde par les personnes atteintes d'allergies alimentaires. La politique de Santé Canada n'est pas normative en ce qui a trait au libellé des mises en garde. Celle-ci se limite à exiger que de telles mises en garde soient exactes, claires et dénuées d'ambiguïtés et que leur utilisation n'ait pas pour objectif d'éviter l'observation des bonnes pratiques de fabrication.

Santé Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) se sont engagés à revoir la politique en vigueur parce que :

  1. L'utilisation des mises en garde relatives aux allergènes alimentaires sur l'étiquette des aliments préemballés a connu une augmentation substantielle depuis le milieu des années 1990.
  2. Une variété de mises en garde sont utilisées, dont certaines ne procurent plus de renseignements significatifs sur la présence potentielle d'allergènes dans les aliments préemballés aux consommateurs atteints d'allergies alimentaires. Par conséquent, celles-ci les induisent en erreur quant aux possibilités de la présence d'allergènes de même que quant à leur teneur dans les aliments et aux risques qui y sont associésNote de bas de page 1.

Afin d'éclairer et d'appuyer l'élaboration de la politique, le Bureau d'innocuité des produits chimiques (BIPC) de la Direction des aliments s'est associé aux équipes de recherche de l'Université McGill, de l'Université McMaster et des Réseaux de centres d'excellence (AllerGen) ainsi qu'à des associations de consommateurs représentant les Canadiens atteints d'allergies et de sensibilités alimentaires afin d'évaluer les attitudes actuelles des consommateurs canadiens à l'égard de l'étiquetage préventif . Des enquêtes de même type ont aussi été menées aux États-UnisNote de bas de page 2 et au Royaume-UniNote de bas de page 3 où les circonstances générales entourant l'utilisation des mentions préventives sur les étiquettes sont semblables à celles que l'on observe au Canada.

En plus de la recherche entreprise, Santé Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments ont tenu, en 2009 et 2010, des consultations en ligne et en personne à l'échelle du Canada afin d'obtenir la rétroaction d'un vaste éventail d'intervenants et de discuter avec eux des interventions proposées dans le but d'améliorer l'étiquetage préventif relatif aux allergènes alimentaires. Ces activités de recherche et ces consultations publiques ont toutes confirmé qu'au Canada, les consommateurs allergiques sont d'avis que l'utilisation abusive de l'étiquetage préventif relatif aux allergènes alimentaires par l'industrie fait en sorte qu'ils courent des risques. Ils estiment aussi qu'en raison des nombreuses mises en garde utilisées, il est difficile d'interpréter le degré de risque qu'un produit alimentaire donné comporte pour eux. Le résultat des consultations indique qu'une vaste majorité d'intervenants préfèrent le recours à une seule mise en garde à l'utilisation de divers libellés préventifs.

Conditions d'utilisation des mises en garde relatives aux allergènes alimentaires et orientations futures :

Santé Canada est d'avis que dans la mesure où les mises en garde relatives aux allergènes sont utilisées correctement, elles demeurent utiles pour l'atténuation des réactions indésirables aux allergènes alimentaires prioritaires. L'étiquetage préventif ne devrait être utilisé que lorsque, malgré l'application de toutes les mesures raisonnables, la présence accidentelle d'allergènes dans les aliments est inévitable. On ne doit pas y avoir recours lorsqu'un allergène ou un ingrédient contenant un allergène y sont ajoutés délibérément. Qui plus est, l'utilisation d'une mise en garde en l'absence d'un risque réel de la présence d'un allergène dans un aliment va à l'encontre de l'objectif du Ministère, lequel consiste à permettre aux consommateurs allergiques d'accéder à une variété d'aliments nutritifs et sans danger pour eux.
Les intervenants conviennent tous du besoin d'orientations plus détaillées au sujet du recours à l'étiquetage préventif relatif aux allergènes. Afin d'éliminer les risques associés au mauvais usage des mises en garde relatives aux allergènes alimentaires ou à leur interprétation erronée, Santé recommande qu'un libellé unique tienne lieu de mise en garde relative aux allergènes alimentaires.

Par conséquent, Santé Canada et l'ACIA recommandent que les fabricants et les importateurs d'aliments commencent à n'utiliser que la mise en garde suivante sur l'étiquette des aliments :

« peut contenir [X] »

où X est le nom usuel de l'allergène alimentaire.

Santé Canada poursuit sa collaboration avec les groupes représentant les consommateurs atteints d'allergies alimentaires et l'industrie alimentaire dans le but de publier une politique et des lignes directrices actualisées sur l'utilisation des mises en garde relatives aux allergènes alimentaires figurant sur l'étiquette des aliments préemballés.

Annexe I:

Évaluations du risque pour la santé à l'appui de la réduction des risques liés aux incidents d'allergies alimentaires au Canada.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Santé Canada réexamine sa politique sur l'utilisation des mises en garde relatives aux allergènes alimentaires qui paraissent sur les aliments préemballés.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

La Division de la recherche sur les aliments (DRA) du Bureau d'innocuité des produits chimiques a récemment fait enquête sur les mises en garde apparaissant sur les barres de chocolat et sur les barres de céréales tout en en analysant le contenu pour y déterminer la présence éventuelle de certains allergènes tels que les arachides et les autres noix. Les résultats de l'enquête ont révélé que la mise en garde la plus fréquemment utilisée est la suivante : « peut contenir des traces de... », ce qui signifie que la quantité de l'allergène présent, le cas échéant, serait très minime. Les résultats analytiques produits par Santé Canada et par les laboratoires de l'ACIA concernant ces produits ont révélé que les taux d'allergène peuvent atteindre jusqu'à 6 500 parties par million (ppm) ou 0,65 % dans un produit de chocolat dont la mise en garde indique que le produit ne peut contenir davantage que des « traces » de l'allergène.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Hefle SL, Furlong TJ, Niemann L, Lemon-Mule H, Sicherer S, Taylor SL. Consumer attitudes and risks associated with packaged foods having advisory labeling regarding the presence of peanuts. Article in Press. J Allergy Clin Immunol.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Food Standards Agency. 2002. Nut allergy labelling: report of research into the consumer response. http://www.foodstandards.gov.uk/multimedia/pdfs/nutallergyresearch.pdf

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer