Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

We're revising Canada's food guide. Participate in the consultation process (link will open in a new window) to help revise Canada's food guide.
Food and Nutrition

Summary of Health Canada's Assessment of a Health Claim about Ground Whole Flaxseed and Blood Cholesterol Lowering

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Bureau of Nutritional Sciences
Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch
Health Canada

January 2014

Background

In March 2012, Health Canada's Food Directorate received an application for a therapeutic claim about ground flaxseed and blood cholesterol lowering. The information below is a summary of Health Canada's review based on the Guidance Document for Preparing a Submission for Food Health Claims.

Health Canada has recently reconsidered the classification of food products with disease risk reduction claims or therapeutic claims in light of clarified principles for the classification of foods at the Food-Natural Health Product interface. Health Canada's position is that when food products are marketed for a disease risk reduction or therapeutic benefit, which comes as a result of the food's normal use as part of the diet, these products may be classified and regulated as foods. In other words, the use of a disease risk reduction claim or a therapeutic claim alone is not sufficient to classify the product as a natural health product.

Scientific Evidence Supporting the Claim

The petitioner provided a literature review up to May 2011 to substantiate the proposed health claim. The petitioner's literature review was updated by Health Canada's Food Directorate to June 2013, bringing the total number of relevant studies to 8.

All relevant studies were clinical trials conducted in normo- and hypercholesterolemic males and females ranging from 8 to 75 years of age. Treatment duration ranged from 4 weeks to 12 months and the quantity of ground flaxseed consumed ranged from 30 g/day to 50 g/day. Ground flaxseed was used in all studies except one (Simbalista et al., 2010), which used partially defatted flaxseed meal at a dose equivalent to 25 g/day of whole seed. The smallest study included 10 subjects, while there were 179 subjects in the largest study. The main endpoints considered were total cholesterol and low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol. These are recognized as risk factors or biomarkers for heart disease.

The direction of effect was highly consistent towards a reduction in total cholesterol (100%) and LDL cholesterol (100%) levels when flaxseed was consumed. However, a very low proportion of studies showed a statistically significant reduction in total cholesterol (25%) and LDL cholesterol (0%) levels. These conclusions were similar when only higher quality studies were taken into account.

The petitioner conducted a meta-analysis which was reproduced and expanded by Heath Canada's Food Directorate. Pooled estimates of both meta-analyses were similar. The estimates from the Food Directorate meta-analysis are reported here. All 8 studies identified as part of the systematic review were included. Baseline and final values for the control and treatment groups were extracted from the studies to calculate the change for each group, except when change was already provided. The pooled effect was -0.21 mmol/L (p=0.0001) for total cholesterol levels and -0.22 mmol/L (p<0.0001) for LDL cholesterol levels.

The only study using partially defatted flaxseed meal was included in the meta-analysis, but it was deemed insufficient to demonstrate a cholesterol lowering effect of partially defatted flaxseed meal because of its high risk of bias (total and LDL cholesterol levels at baseline were statistically different between the control and test groups).

The daily intake of ground whole flaxseed in the studies of higher quality in adults ranged from 38 g (Arjmandi et al., 1998) to 40 g (Bloedon et al., 2008; Dodin et al., 2005; Lucas et al., 2002). This includes the study assigned the most weight (most subjects and least dispersion) in the meta-analysis which administered 40 g of ground whole flaxseed per day (Dodin et al., 2005).

Health Canada's Food Directorate Conclusion

The evidence consistently supports a direction of effect towards a reduction in total and LDL cholesterol levels when ground flaxseed is consumed. A low proportion of studies reached statistical significance, but this was addressed by a meta-analysis which showed a statistically significant reduction in total and LDL cholesterol levels with ground flaxseed consumption.

Health Canada's Food Directorate has concluded that scientific evidence exists to support a claim about ground whole flaxseed and blood cholesterol lowering. The claim is relevant and generally applicable to the Canadian population given that a high proportion of the population (39% of Canadians aged 6 to 79)Footnote 1 has unhealthy total cholesterol levels, putting them at an increased risk for heart disease.

Health Claim

The following statements may be made in the labelling and advertisingFootnote 2 of food products meeting the qualifying criteria.

Primary statementFootnote 3:

[serving size from Nutrition Facts table in metric and common household measures] of (brand name) [name of food] supplies/provides X% of the daily amount [of ground (whole) flaxseed]* shown to help reduce/lower cholesterol.

For exampleFootnote 4:

16 g (2 tablespoons) of ground flaxseed supplies 40% of the daily amount shown to help lower cholesterol.

The "daily amount" referred to in the primary statement is 40 g of ground whole flaxseed. This amount is based on the evidence available concerning the amount of ground whole flaxseed shown to help reduce cholesterol. In this statement, the percentage of the daily amount of ground whole flaxseed provided in one serving should be rounded to the nearest multiple of 5%.

Additional statements:

The following additional statements could be placed adjacent to the primary statement, in letters up to twice the size and prominence of those in the primary statement:

  • Ground (whole) flaxseed helps reduce/lower cholesterol
  • High cholesterol is a risk factor for heart disease
  • Ground (whole) flaxseed helps reduce/lower cholesterol, (which is) a risk factor for heart disease

Conditions for Foods to Carry the Claim:

The following qualifying criteria apply to all food products carrying the above-mentioned health claim.

The food:

  1. contains at least 13 g of ground whole flaxseedFootnote 5
    1. per reference amount and per serving of stated size, or
    2. per serving of stated size, if the food is ground whole flaxseed, whole flaxseed or a prepackaged meal;
  2. contains at least 10% of the weighted recommended nutrient intake (WRNI) of a vitamin or mineral nutrient
    1. per reference amount and per serving of stated size, or
    2. per serving of stated size, if the food is a prepackaged meal;
  3. contains 100 mg or less of cholesterol per 100 g of food;
  4. contains 0.5% or less alcohol;
  5. contains
    1. 480 mg or less of sodium per reference amount and per serving of stated size, and per 50 g if the reference amount is 30 g or 30 mL or less, or
    2. 960 mg or less of sodium per serving of stated size, if the food is a prepackaged meal;
  6. meets the conditions for "free of saturated fatty acids" or "low in saturated fatty acids" (Items 18 and 19, respectively, in the table following section B.01.513 of the Food and Drug Regulations).

References

Arjmandi BH, Khan DA, Shanil Juma, Drum ML, Sreevidya Venkatesh, Sohn E, et al. Whole flaxseed consumption lowers serum LDL-cholesterol and lipoprotein(a) concentrations in postmenopausal women. Nutr Res. 1998;18(7):1203-14.

Bloedon LT, Balikai S, Chittams J, Cunnane SC, Berlin JA, Rader DJ, et al. Flaxseed and cardiovascular risk factors: Results from a double blind, randomized, controlled clinical trial. J Am Coll Nutr. 2008;27(1):65-74.

Cunnane SC, Hamadeh MJ, Liede AC, Thompson LU, Wolever TM, Jenkins DJ. Nutritional attributes of traditional flaxseed in healthy young adults. Am J Clin Nutr. 1995;61(1):62-8.

Dodin S, Lemay A, Jacques H, Legare F, Forest JC, Masse B. The effects of flaxseed dietary supplement on lipid profile, bone mineral density, and symptoms in menopausal women: A randomized, double-blind, wheat germ placebo-controlled clinical trial. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2005;90(3):1390-7.

Lucas EA, Wild RD, Hammond LJ, Khalil DA, Juma S, Daggy BP, et al. Flaxseed improves lipid profile without altering biomarkers of bone metabolism in postmenopausal women. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2002;87(4):1527-32.

Patade A, Devareddy L, Lucas EA, Korlagunta K, Daggy BP, Arjmandi BH. Flaxseed reduces total and LDL cholesterol concentrations in native American postmenopausal women. J Womens Health (Larchmt). 2008;17(3):355-66.

Simbalista RL, Sauerbronn AV, Aldrighi JM, Areas JA. Consumption of a flaxseed-rich food is not more effective than a placebo in alleviating the climacteric symptoms of postmenopausal women. J Nutr. 2010;140(2):293-7.

Wong HRD, Chahal NMN, N.P., Manlhiot CBS, Niedra EBS, McCrindle BW. Flaxseed in pediatric hyperlipidemia: A placebo-controlled, blinded, randomized clinical trial of dietary flaxseed supplementation for children and adolescents with hypercholesterolemia. JAMA Pediatr. 2013;167(8):708-13.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Next link will take you to another Web site Statistics Canada. 2012. Cholesterol levels of Canadians, 2009 to 2011. http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/82-625-x/2012001/article/11732-eng.htm [last accessed on November 15, 2013].

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The information in this document complements the Next link will take you to another Web site labelling information published by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency. It is the responsibility of all manufacturers and importers to ensure that their products comply with all relevant Canadian legislation and regulations.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

[ ] = mandatory; [ ]* = mandatory unless the [name of food] is "ground (whole) flaxseed"; ( ) = optional; / = acceptable alternate wording.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Examples are for illustration purposes only. They do not necessarily reflect acceptable health claims.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Packaged whole flaxseed would be eligible to carry the claim if the label clearly specifies that flaxseeds must be ground before consumption.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Résumé de l'évaluation par Santé Canada d'une allégation santé au sujet des graines de lin entières moulues et de la diminution du cholestérol sanguin

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Bureau des sciences de la nutrition
Direction des aliments, Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments
Santé Canada

Janvier 2014

Contexte

En mars 2012, la Direction des aliments de Santé Canada a reçu une demande d'approbation d'une allégation thérapeutique au sujet des graines de lin moulues et de la diminution du cholestérol sanguin. Les renseignements ci-dessous résument l'examen réalisé par Santé Canada conformément aux Lignes directrices pour la préparation d'une demande d'approbation d'allégations santé relatives aux aliments.

Santé Canada a récemment réexaminé la classification des produits alimentaires qui font l'objet d'allégations de réduction du risque de maladies ou d'allégations thérapeutiques à la lumière d'une clarification des principes de la classification des aliments situés à la frontière entre les aliments et les produits de santé naturels. Santé Canada est d'avis que, lorsque des produits alimentaires sont commercialisés pour leur effet de réduction du risque de maladies ou pour leur bienfait thérapeutique et que ceux-ci découlent d'une consommation normale de l'aliment dans le cadre du régime alimentaire, ces produits peuvent être classifiés et régis à titre d'aliments. Autrement dit, l'utilisation d'une allégation de réduction du risque de maladies ou d'une allégation thérapeutique ne suffirait pas à justifier la classification du produit à titre de produit de santé naturel.

Preuves scientifiques à l'appui de l'allégation

Afin d'appuyer l'allégation santé proposée, le demandeur a présenté une revue de la documentation jusqu'en mai 2011. À son tour, la Direction des aliments de Santé Canada a actualisé, jusqu'en juin 2013, la revue de la documentation fournie par le demandeur, portant le nombre total d'études pertinentes à 8.

Toutes les études pertinentes ont été menées chez des hommes et des femmes âgés de 8 à 75 ans qui étaient normocholestérolémiques ou hypercholestérolémiques. La durée des traitements était de 4 semaines à 12 mois, et les quantités de graines de lin moulues consommées variaient de 30 g/jour à 50 g/jour. Les graines de lin moulues ont été utilisées dans toutes les études sauf une (Simbalista et coll., 2010), laquelle a recouru à la farine de graines de lin partiellement dégraissée en une dose équivalente à 25 g/jour de graines entières. Le nombre de sujets par étude s'échelonnait de 10 à 179. Le cholestérol total et le cholestérol à lipoprotéines de faible densité (LDL) ont constitué les principaux indicateurs de résultat pris en compte. Ils sont reconnus comme étant des facteurs de risque ou des biomarqueurs des maladies du cœur.

La concordance de la direction de l'effet vers une réduction du cholestérol total (100 %) et du cholestérol LDL (100 %) s'est révélée très élevée lorsque des graines de lin étaient consommées. Toutefois, une réduction statistiquement significative des taux de cholestérol total et de cholestérol LDL n'a été observée que dans une très faible part des études (25 % et 0 % respectivement). Les conclusions étaient semblables dans le cas où seules les études de qualité supérieure ont été prises en compte.

Le requérant a mené une méta-analyse, laquelle a été reproduite et élargie par la Direction des aliments de Santé Canada. Les estimations groupées de ces deux méta-analyses se sont révélées semblables. Les estimations issues de la méta-analyse de la Direction des aliments sont présentées ci-dessous. Les huit études retenues dans le cadre de l'examen systématique ont été prises en compte. Les valeurs de référence et les valeurs finales relatives aux groupes témoins et expérimentaux ont été extraites des études afin de calculer le changement observé au sein de chaque groupe, sauf dans les cas où il y figurait déjà. En ce qui concerne les taux de cholestérol total, l'effet groupé a été établi à -0,21 mmol/l (p = 0,0001) et pour les taux de cholestérol LDL, à -0,22 mmol/l (p < 0,0001).

La seule étude ayant utilisé la farine de graines de lin partiellement dégraissée a été prise en compte dans la méta-analyse, mais elle n'a pas suffi à montrer l'effet hypocholestérolémiant de la farine de graines de lin partiellement dégraissée en raison du risque élevé de biais (les taux de cholestérol total et de cholestérol LDL des groupes témoins et expérimentaux étaient statistiquement différents au début de l'étude).

Dans le cadre des études de plus haute qualité chez les adultes, l'apport quotidien en graines de lin entières moulues s'échelonnait de 38 g (Arjmandi et coll., 1998) à 40 g (Bloedon et coll., 2008; Dodin et coll., 2005; Lucas et coll., 2002). Cela inclut l'étude à laquelle le plus de poids (le plus grand nombre de sujets et la dispersion la plus faible) a été accordé dans la méta-analyse et dont les sujets recevaient 40 g de graines de lin entières moulues par jour (Dodin et coll., 2005).

Conclusions de la Direction des aliments de Santé Canada

Les preuves soutiennent invariablement une direction de l'effet vers une réduction des taux de cholestérol total et de cholestérol LDL lors de la consommation de graines de lin. Une faible part des études ont atteint la signification statistique, mais cette situation a été corrigée au moyen d'une méta-analyse montrant que la consommation de graines de lin moulues entraîne une réduction statistiquement significative des taux de cholestérol total et de cholestérol LDL.

La Direction des aliments de Santé Canada a conclu à l'existence de preuves scientifiques soutenant une allégation au sujet des graines de lin entières moulues et de l'abaissement du cholestérol sanguin. L'allégation est pertinente et généralement applicable à la population canadienne compte tenu qu'une proportion élevée de la population (39 % des Canadiens âgés de 6 à 79 ans)Note de bas de page 1 a un taux de cholestérol total nuisible à la santé, ce qui augmente leur risque de maladies du cœur.

Allégation santé

Les énoncés ci-dessous peuvent figurer sur l'étiquette des produits alimentaires qui satisfont aux critères d'admissibilité de même que dans la publicitéNote de bas de page 2 à leur sujet.

Énoncé principalNote de bas de page 3 :

[portion du tableau de la valeur nutritive en mesures métrique et domestique courante] de [nom de l'aliment] (nom de la marque) fournit/procure X % de la quantité quotidienne [de graines de lin (entières) moulues]* aidant à réduire/abaisser le cholestérol.

Par exempleNote de bas de page 4 :

16 g (2 cuillères à soupe) de graines de lin moulues fournit 40 % de la quantité quotidienne aidant à abaisser le cholestérol.

La « quantité quotidienne » mentionnée dans l'énoncé principal est de 40 g de graines de lin entières moulues. Cette quantité a été établie en fonction des données probantes disponibles au sujet de la quantité de graines de lin entières moulues qui contribue à réduire le cholestérol. Dans cet énoncé, le pourcentage de la quantité quotidienne de graines de lin entières moulues dans une portion devrait être arrondi au multiple de 5% le plus proche.

Énoncés supplémentaires :

Les énoncés supplémentaires suivants peuvent être utilisés à proximité de l'énoncé principal, en caractères pouvant atteindre le double de la taille et de la visibilité de ceux utilisés pour l'énoncé principal :

  • Les graines de lin (entières) moulues aident à réduire/abaisser le cholestérol
  • Un taux de cholestérol élevé est un facteur de risque des maladies du cœur
  • Les graines de lin (entières) moulues aident à réduire/abaisser le cholestérol, (lequel est) un facteur de risque des maladies du cœur

Conditions pour les aliments faisant l'objet de l'allégation

Les critères d'admissibilité suivants s'appliquent à tous les produits alimentaires sur lesquels figure l'allégation santé mentionnée ci-dessus.

L'aliment :

  1. contient au moins 13 g de graines de lin entières mouluesNote de bas de page 5
    1. par quantité de référence et par portion déterminée; ou
    2. par portion déterminée, si l'aliment consiste en des graines de lin entières moulues, en des graines de lin entières ou en un repas préemballé;
  2. contient au moins 10 % de l'apport nutritionnel recommandé pondéré (ANRP) d'une vitamine ou d'un minéral nutritifs
    1. par quantité de référence et par portion déterminée; ou
    2. par portion déterminée, si l'aliment est un repas préemballé;
  3. contient 100 mg ou moins de cholestérol par 100 g d'aliment;
  4. contient 0,5 % ou moins d'alcool;
  5. contient
    1. 480 mg ou moins de sodium par quantité de référence, par portion déterminée et, par 50 g si la quantité de référence est d'au plus 30 g ou 30 ml; ou
    2. 960 mg ou moins de sodium par portion déterminée, si l'aliment est un repas préemballé;
  6. satisfait aux conditions pour l'allégation « sans acides gras saturés » ou pour l'allégation « faible teneur en acides gras saturés » (articles 18 et 19, respectivement, du tableau suivant l'article B.01.513 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues).

Références

Arjmandi BH, Khan DA, Shanil Juma, Drum ML, Sreevidya Venkatesh, Sohn E, et coll. Whole flaxseed consumption lowers serum LDL-cholesterol and lipoprotein(a) concentrations in postmenopausal women. Nutr Res. 1998;18(7):1203-14.

Bloedon LT, Balikai S, Chittams J, Cunnane SC, Berlin JA, Rader DJ, et coll. Flaxseed and cardiovascular risk factors: Results from a double blind, randomized, controlled clinical trial. J Am Coll Nutr. 2008;27(1):65-74.

Cunnane SC, Hamadeh MJ, Liede AC, Thompson LU, Wolever TM, Jenkins DJ. Nutritional attributes of traditional flaxseed in healthy young adults. Am J Clin Nutr. 1995;61(1):62-8.

Dodin S, Lemay A, Jacques H, Legare F, Forest JC, Masse B. The effects of flaxseed dietary supplement on lipid profile, bone mineral density, and symptoms in menopausal women: A randomized, double-blind, wheat germ placebo-controlled clinical trial. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2005;90(3):1390-7.

Lucas EA, Wild RD, Hammond LJ, Khalil DA, Juma S, Daggy BP, et coll. Flaxseed improves lipid profile without altering biomarkers of bone metabolism in postmenopausal women. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2002;87(4):1527-32.

Patade A, Devareddy L, Lucas EA, Korlagunta K, Daggy BP, Arjmandi BH. Flaxseed reduces total and LDL cholesterol concentrations in native American postmenopausal women. J Womens Health (Larchmt). 2008;17(3):355-66.

Simbalista RL, Sauerbronn AV, Aldrighi JM, Areas JA. Consumption of a flaxseed-rich food is not more effective than a placebo in alleviating the climacteric symptoms of postmenopausal women. J Nutr. 2010;140(2):293-7.

Wong HRD, Chahal NMN, N.P., Manlhiot CBS, Niedra EBS, McCrindle BW. Flaxseed in pediatric hyperlipidemia: A placebo-controlled, blinded, randomized clinical trial of dietary flaxseed supplementation for children and adolescents with hypercholesterolemia. JAMA Pediatr. 2013;167(8):708-13.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Statistiques Canada. 2012. Taux de cholestérol chez les Canadiens, 2009 à 2011. http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/82-625-x/2012001/article/11732-fra.htm [dernière consultation le 15 novembre 2013]

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Les renseignements présentés dans ce document complètent l'Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web information d'étiquetage publiée par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments. Il incombe à tous les fabricants et importateurs de veiller à ce que leurs produits soient conformes à toute la législation et la réglementation canadienne pertinente.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

[ ] = obligatoire; [ ]* = obligatoire sauf si le [nom de l'aliment] est « graines de lin (entières) moulues »; ( ) = facultatif; / = autre libellé acceptable.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Les exemples ont pour seul but d'illustrer le propos. Ils ne reflètent pas nécessairement des allégations santé acceptables.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

L'allégation pourrait apparaître sur l'emballage de graines de lin entières dans la mesure où leur étiquette indique clairement qu'elles doivent être moulues avant d'être consommées.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5