Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

Oat Products and Blood Cholesterol Lowering

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Summary of Assessment of a Health Claim about Oat Products and Blood Cholesterol Lowering

In January 2007, Health Canada's Food Directorate received a submission from industry requesting the approval for the use of a disease risk reduction claim on oat products. This claim would stipulate a linkage between the consumption of beta-glucan oat fibre (from eligible sources) to a reduced risk of heart disease by lowering blood cholesterol levels. The information below is a summary of the review that was conducted based on Health Canada's Interim Guidance Document, Preparing a Submission for Foods with Health Claims (IGD).

Health Canada has recently reconsidered the classification of food products with disease risk reduction claims or therapeutic claims in light of clarified principles for the classification of foods at the Food-Natural Health Product interface. The current position of Health Canada is that when food products are marketed for a disease risk reduction or therapeutic benefit which comes as a result of the food's normal use as part of the diet, these products may be classified and regulated as foods. In other words, the use of a disease risk reduction claim or a therapeutic claim would not be sufficient in itself to classify the product as a natural health product.

1. Eligible sources of beta-glucan oat fibre

For the purposes of this decision document, Health Canada has determined that the eligible sources of beta-glucan oat fibre are: oat bran, rolled oats (also known as oatmeal), and whole oat flour, either as food themselves (oat bran and rolled oats) or as ingredients (oat bran, rolled oats and whole oat flour) in formulated foods. The specifications for the eligible sources of oat beta-glucan are as follows:

  • Oat bran: oat bran is produced by grinding clean oat groats or rolled oats and separating the resulting oat flour by suitable means into fractions such that the oat bran fraction is not more than 50 percent of the original starting material and provides at least 5.5 percent (dry weight basis (dwb)) beta-glucan soluble fibre and at least 16 percent (dwb) total dietary fibre, and such that at least one-third of the total dietary fibre is soluble fibre.
  • Rolled oats: rolled oats, also known as oatmeal, are produced from 100 percent dehulled, clean oat groats, by steaming, cutting, rolling, and flaking, and provide at least 4 percent (dwb) of beta-glucan soluble fibre, and at least 10 percent (dwb) total dietary fibre.
  • Whole oat flour: whole oat flour is produced from 100 percent dehulled, clean oat groats, by steaming and grinding, such that there is no significant loss of oat bran in the final product, and provides at least 4 percent (dwb) of beta-glucan soluble fibre and at least 10 percent (dwb) total dietary fibre.

2. Scientific evidence supporting the claim

The evidence provided by the petitioner includes the 1995 health claim petition to the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) on oats and coronary heart disease. This claim was approved by the US FDA in its final rule in January 1997. In addition, the petitioner provided a systematic review prepared by the Program in Food Safety, Nutrition and Regulatory Affairs (PFSNRA) of the University of Toronto that spanned the literature published from 1995 to 2006. In the PFSNRA review, 36 human studies were identified which investigated oat beta-glucan fibre and its cholesterol lowering properties. As was done with other health claims approved by the US FDA under the Nutrition Labelling and Education Act, Health Canada decided to accept an update of the literature from the time of the 1997 US approval of the claim, provided that a systematic approach to reviewing the relationship was provided as part of the submission.

LDL-cholesterol and total cholesterol were the endpoints measured in the reviewed studies. These are recognized risk factors for heart disease and are considered relevant for supporting a claim concerning a reduction in the risk of heart disease.

Based on information provided in the petition to the US FDA (1995), regression analyses of a dose-response study suggested that about 3 grams of beta-glucan oat fibre would result in total and LDL-cholesterol reductions of about 5% and 8%, respectively. Overall, in the PFSNRA literature review (2006), an intake of 3 grams of beta-glucan resulted in a physiologically meaningful LDL-cholesterol reduction that was nevertheless quite variable (ranging from 0.15% to 4% LDL-cholesterol reduction on a per gram of beta-glucan basis). No dose-response was observed. Most of the studies were carried out with moderately to highly hypercholesterolemic subjects. The PFSNRA review did not provide any evidence contrary to the previous findings upon which FDA based its final health claim rule on beta-glucan oat fibre and reduced risk of coronary heart disease (by lowering blood cholesterol).

Health Canada has concluded that scientific evidence exists in support of the claim linking the consumption of beta-glucan oat fibre to a reduction of blood cholesterol. The claim is relevant and generally applicable to the Canadian population given that a high proportion of the population (44 to 69%) is hyperlipidemic and that adults with normal or mildly elevated blood cholesterol concentrations could also benefit from increased oat intake.

3. Health Canada's Conclusions

Based on the evidence available, as well as consumer research, preliminary feedback from industry, and consideration of decisions made in other jurisdictions, it is Health Canada's opinion that the health claim statements set out below are substantiated in relation to oat products as food themselves and as ingredients in formulated foods when specific conditions for the food carrying the claim are met.

Health claim

The following statements may be made in the labelling and advertisingFootnote 1 of food products that meet the qualifying criteria. These statements are intended for the general population who want to maintain or lower their blood cholesterol.

Primary statement:

"[serving size from Nutrition Facts table in metric and common household measures]Footnote 2 of (Brand name) [name of food] [with name of eligible fibre source]* supplies/provides [X % of the daily amount] of the fibres shown to help reduce/lower cholesterol."

If the oat fibre source is specified in the brand name (e.g. Quaker Oatmeal), it does not need to be repeated subsequently in the claim. Names of eligible sources of oat fibre are oat bran, rolled oats/oatmeal, and whole oat flour. T he term "oats" may also be used as a synonym or generic name for these sources.

For example:

If the eligible fibre source is a food itself: "1 cup (X g) of Quaker Oatmeal supplies X % of the daily amount of the fibres shown to help reduce cholesterol"

If the eligible fibre source is an ingredient: "1 muffin (X g) with oat bran provides X % of the daily amount of the fibres shown to help lower cholesterol"

The following additional statements, which can be placed, adjacent to the primary statement, in letters up to twice the size and prominence as those of the primary statement:

  1. Oat fibre helps reduce/lower cholesterol
  2. High cholesterol is a risk factor for heart disease
  3. Oat fibre helps reduce/lower cholesterol, (which is) a risk factor for heart disease.

The "daily amount" referred to in the primary statement is 3 grams beta-glucan oat fibre. This amount is based on the evidence available concerning the lowest observed efficacious daily dose for lowering cholesterol. In this statement, the percentage of the daily amount of beta-glucan oat fibre provided in one serving should be expressed to the nearest multiple of 5%.

Conditions for foods to carry the claim

Oat products, whether consumed as food or as ingredients, must meet the specifications for eligible sources of oat beta-glucan described in section 1 of this document. Where the food carrying the claim is a formulated food to which oat products are added as ingredients, the formulated food must not be subject to non-typical or novel treatments. Formulated food products containing the eligible oat products, but processed by non-typical or novel treatments, may require individual authorization in order to carry the claim.

In addition, the food must meet the following qualifying criteria:

  1. Contain at least 0.75 g beta-glucan oat fibreFootnote 3 per reference amount and per serving of stated size from the eligible sources;
  2. Contain at least 10% of the weighted recommended nutrient intake of a vitamin or a mineral nutrient per reference amount and per serving of stated size;
  3. Contain 100 mg or less of cholesterol per 100 g of food;
  4. Contain 0.5% or less of alcohol;
  5. Contain 480 mg or less of sodium per reference amount and per serving of stated size, and per 50 g if the reference is 30 g or less; and
  6. Meet the definition of "free of saturated fatty acids" or "low in saturated fatty acids".

In previous consultation with stakeholders, there was strong support from all sectors that foods carrying a health claim should meet certain nutritional criteria. For example, in the case of health claims about blood cholesterol lowering, it is expected that limits are set on those nutrients associated with risks of high blood cholesterol and heart disease. Conditions 2 to 6 above have already been outlined in section B.01.603 of the Food and Drug Regulations for foods carrying a heart disease risk reduction claim.

Health Canada will propose regulatory amendments to confirm that foods with the above stated health claims are not governed by the provisions of the Food and Drugs Act with respect to drugs; nor do they contravene subsections 3(1) and (2) of the Act.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The information in this document complements the guidance on using health claims on food labels and in advertising in the Next link will take you to another Web site Guide to Food Labelling and Advertising available on the Canadian Food Inspection website (http://www.inspection.gc.ca/english/fssa/labeti/guide/tab8e.shtml). It is the responsibility of all manufacturers and importers to ensure that their products comply with all relevant Canadian legislation.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

[ ] = mandatory; ( ) = optional; [ ]* = mandatory when the eligible source of oat fibre is an ingredient; / = or

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Acceptable methods for measuring beta-glucan oat fibre are methods 992.28 and 995.16 of the Official Methods of Analysis of the Association of Official Analytical Chemists International.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Nous révisons le guide alimentaire du Canada. Participez à la consultation (le lien sera ouvert dans une nouvelle fenêtre) et aidez à réviser le Guide alimentaire canadien.
Aliments et nutrition

Les produits d'avoine et la diminution du taux de cholestérol sanguin

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Résumé de l'évaluation d'une allégation santé au sujet des produits d'avoine et de la diminution du taux de cholestérol sanguin

En janvier 2007, la Direction des aliments de Santé Canada a reçu de la part de l'industrie une demande sollicitant une approbation pour l'utilisation d'une allégation au sujet des produits d'avoine et de la réduction du risque de maladie. Cette allégation établirait un rapport entre la consommation de fibres bêta-glucane de l'avoine (issues de sources admissibles) et la réduction du risque de maladie du coeur par la diminution de la concentration sanguine en cholestérol. L'information présentée ci-dessous est un résumé de l'examen réalisé conformément au Document d'orientation provisoire de Santé Canada : Préparation d'une présentation pour les aliments visés par des allégations santé (DOP).

Dernièrement, Santé Canada a réexaminé la classification des produits alimentaires qui font l'objet d'allégations de réduction du risque de maladie ou d'allégations thérapeutiques à la lumière d'une clarification des principes de la catégorisation des aliments situés à la frontière entre les aliments et les produits de santé naturels. Santé Canada est d'avis que, lorsque les aliments sont commercialisés à des fins de réduction du risque de maladie ou pour le bienfait thérapeutique qui découle de l'utilisation normale de l'aliment en tant qu'élément d'un régime alimentaire, ces produits peuvent être classifiés et réglementés comme aliments. En d'autres termes, l'utilisation d'une allégation de réduction du risque de maladie ou d'une allégation thérapeutique ne suffirait pas en soi à les classifier à titre de produits de santé naturels.

1. Sources admissibles de fibres bêta-glucane de l'avoine

Aux fins de ce document de décision, Santé Canada a établi que les sources admissibles de fibres bêta-glucane de l'avoine sont le son d'avoine, les flocons d'avoine (aussi connus sous le nom de gruau) et la farine d'avoine entière, qu'ils soient considérés comme des aliments en soi (le son d'avoine et les flocons d'avoine) ou comme ingrédients (le son d'avoine, les flocons d'avoine et la farine d'avoine entière) d'aliments composés. Les spécifications relatives aux sources admissibles de bêta-glucane de l'avoine sont les suivantes :

  • Son d'avoine : le son d'avoine est produit en moulant du gruau ou des flocons d'avoine propre et en séparant, en ayant recours à des moyens adéquats, la farine d'avoine ainsi produite en fractions de façon à ce que la fraction de son d'avoine n'excède pas 50 pour cent de la matière de départ et procure au moins 5,5 pour cent (matière sèche) de fibres solubles bêta-glucane ainsi qu'une teneur en fibres totales d'au moins 16 pour cent (matière sèche), de manière à ce qu'au moins un tiers des fibres alimentaires totales soit constitué de fibres solubles. 
  • Flocons d'avoine : les flocons d'avoine, aussi connus sous le nom de gruau, sont produits à partir de gruau d'avoine propre entièrement déglumée en la passant à la vapeur, en la coupant, en la roulant et en la réduisant en flocons, et ils procurent au moins 4 pour cent (matière sèche) de fibres solubles bêta-glucane ainsi qu'une teneur en fibres totales d'au moins 10 pour cent (matière sèche).
  • Farine d'avoine entière : la farine d'avoine entière est produite à partir de gruau d'avoine propre entièrement déglumée en la passant à la vapeur et en la moulant de façon à éviter une perte importante de son d'avoine dans le produit fini, et qu'elle procure au moins 4 pour cent (matière sèche) de fibres solubles bêta-glucane ainsi qu'une teneur en fibres totales d'au moins 10 pour cent (matière sèche).

2. Données scientifiques corroborant l'allégation

Les données probantes fournies par le demandeur comprennent la demande relative à l'allégation santé présentée en 1995 à la Food and Drug Administration des États-Unis (la FDA) au sujet de l'avoine et de la coronaropathie. Cette allégation a été approuvée par la FDA dans sa règle définitive de janvier 1997. Le demandeur a également fourni un examen systématique de la documentation publiée de 1995 à 2006, réalisé par le Program in Food Safety, Nutrition and Regulatory Affairs (le PFSNRA) de l'Université de Toronto. Dans l'examen du PFSNRA, 36 études chez les humains portant sur les fibres bêta-glucane de l'avoine et sur leurs effets de réduction de la cholestérolémie ont été repérées. Comme ce fut le cas pour les autres allégations santé approuvées par la FDA en vertu de la Nutrition Labelling and Education Act , Santé Canada a décidé d'accepter les mises à jour de la documentation publiées depuis l'approbation de l'allégation par la FDA en 1997, à la condition qu'une démarche systématique de réexamen du même lien soit entreprise à titre de volet de la demande.

Dans les études examinées, la LDL et le cholestérol total ont constitué les paramètres mesurés. Ceux-ci sont des facteurs de risque reconnus de la maladie du coeur et leur pertinence est établie lorsqu'il s'agit d'appuyer une allégation portant sur la réduction du risque de maladie du coeur.

A partir des données présentées dans la demande déposée à la FDA des É.-U. (en 1995), des analyses de régression des observations issues d'une étude de la relation dose-effet ont permis de présumer qu'environ 3 grammes de fibres bêta-glucane de l'avoine entraînerait une diminution d'environ 5 % et 8 % de la concentration sanguine respectivement en cholestérol total et LDL. Selon l'examen de la documentation réalisé par le PFSNRA (2006), les résultats ont établi qu'une consommation de 3 grammes de bêta-glucane correspondait à une diminution du cholestérol LDL, variable car s'échelonnant de 0,15 % à 4 % par gramme de bêta-glucane, mais importante sur le plan physiologique. Aucune relation de dose à effet n'a été observée et la plupart des études ont porté sur des sujets atteints d'une hypercholestérolémie variant de modérée à élevée. En conséquence, les résultats provenant de l'examen du PFSNRA n'ont pas contredit les données grâce auxquelles la FDA, dans sa règle définitive, a approuvé l'allégation au sujet des fibres bêta-glucane de l'avoine et de la réduction du risque de coronaropathie (par une diminution du taux de cholestérol sanguin).

Santé Canada a conclu que des observations scientifiques appuient l'allégation établissant un lien entre la consommation de fibres bêta-glucane de l'avoine et la réduction de la cholestérolémie. L'allégation est pertinente et, compte tenu de la proportion élevée de Canadiens et de Canadiennes (de 44 à 69 %) atteints d'hyperlipidémie et du fait que les adultes dont la cholestérolémie est normale ou légèrement élevée pourraient aussi bénéficier d'un apport accru en avoine, elle est valable pour l'ensemble de la population canadienne.

3. Conclusions de Santé Canada

En se basant sur les preuves publiées, la recherche auprès des consommateurs et la rétroaction préliminaire de l'industrie, ainsi qu'en tenant compte des décisions prises dans d'autres pays, Santé Canada est d'avis que, dans la mesure où des conditions précises sont satisfaites, les allégations santé présentées ci-après sont justifiées au sujet des produits d'avoine utilisés en tant qu'aliments en soi ou comme ingrédients d'aliments composés.

Allégations santé

Les allégations suivantes peuvent figurer sur l'étiquette des produits alimentaires qui satisfont aux critères d'admissibilité de même que dans la publicitéNote de bas de page 1 à leur sujet. Ces allégations sont destinées aux membres de la population en général souhaitant maintenir ou abaisser leur cholestérolémie.

Énoncé principal :

« [la portion présentée dans le tableau de la valeur nutritive en mesure métrique et domestique courante]Note de bas de page 2 de [nom de l'aliment] (nom de la marque) [avec le nom de la source de fibres admissible]* fournit/procure [X % de la quantité quotidienne] de fibres dont l'efficacité est démontrée lorsqu'il s'agit de contribuer à réduire/à abaisser le cholestérol. »

Si la source de fibres d'avoine fait partie du nom de la marque (p. ex., Gruau Quaker), elle n'a pas à être répétée par la suite dans l'allégation. Les noms suivants sont les seuls pouvant être utilisés pour désigner des sources admissibles de fibres d'avoine : son d'avoine, flocons d'avoine/gruau et farine d'avoine entière. Le terme avoine peut être utilisé comme synonyme ou nom générique des trois aliments précédents.

Par exemple :

Si la source de fibres admissible constitue un aliment en soi : « 1 tasse (X g) de Gruau Quaker fournit X % de la quantité quotidienne de fibres dont l'efficacité est démontrée lorsqu'il s'agit de contribuer à réduire le cholestérol. »

Si la source de fibres admissible est un ingrédient : « 1 muffin (X g) contenant du son d'avoine fournit X % de la quantité quotidienne de fibres dont l'efficacité est démontrée lorsqu'il s'agit de contribuer à réduire le cholestérol. »

Les énoncés supplémentaires ci-dessous peuvent aussi être utilisés à proximité de l'énoncé principal en caractères pouvant atteindre le double de la taille et de la visibilité de ceux utilisés pour l'énoncé principal :

  • Les fibres d'avoine contribuent à réduire/abaisser le cholestérol.
  • Le cholestérol élevé est un facteur de risque de la maladie du coeur.
  • Les fibres d'avoine contribuent à réduire/abaisser le cholestérol, (lequel est) un facteur de risque de la maladie du coeur.

La « quantité quotidienne » de fibres bêta-glucane de l'avoine dont fait état l'énoncé principal correspond à trois grammes. Cette quantité est fondée sur les données probantes publiées au sujet de la dose minimale avec effet observé de réduction de la cholestérolémie. Dans cet énoncé, le pourcentage de la quantité quotidienne de fibres bêta-glucane de l'avoine fourni en une portion devrait être exprimé au moyen du multiple de 5 % le plus proche.

Conditions auxquelles les aliments doivent satisfaire pour faire l'objet de l'allégation

Les produits d'avoine, qu'ils soient consommés comme aliments ou comme ingrédients, doivent satisfaire aux critères déterminant les sources admissibles de bêta-glucane de l'avoine, lesquels sont décrits dans la partie 1 du présent document. Lorsque l'aliment faisant l'objet d'une allégation est un aliment composé auquel des produits d'avoine sont ajoutés comme ingrédients, l'aliment composé ne doit pas être soumis à des processus atypiques ou nouveaux. Dans le cas des produits alimentaires composés qui contiennent des produits d'avoine admissibles, mais qui sont transformés au moyen de processus atypiques ou nouveaux, une autorisation individuelle peut être requise avant que l'allégation puisse être formulée à leur propos.

Voici les conditions auxquelles les aliments doivent satisfaire pour porter l'allégation :

L'aliment doit :

  1. Contenir au moins 0,75 g de fibres bêta-glucaneNote de bas de page 3 de l'avoine issues de sources admissibles par quantité de référence et par portion déterminée;
  2. Contenir au moins 10 % de l'apport nutritionnel recommandé pondéré d'une vitamine ou d'un minéral nutritif par quantité de référence et par portion déterminée;
  3. Contenir 100 mg ou moins de cholestérol par 100 g de l'aliment;
  4. Contenir 0,5 % ou moins d'alcool;
  5. Contenir 480 mg ou moins de sodium par quantité de référence et par portion déterminée et par 50 g si la quantité de référence est égale ou inférieure à 30 g;
  6. Concorder avec la définition des aliments « sans acides gras saturés » ou « faibles en acides gras saturés ».

Dans le cadre d'une consultation antérieure avec les parties intéressées, tous les secteurs ont exprimé un appui vigoureux au fait que les aliments faisant l'objet d'une allégation santé doivent satisfaire à certains critères nutritionnels. Par exemple, dans le cas des allégations santé au sujet de la réduction de la cholestérolémie, on s'attend à ce que des limites soient établies quant à la teneur des aliments visés en nutriments liés à des risques d'hypercholestérolémie et de maladie du coeur. Pour les aliments faisant l'objet d'une allégation de réduction du risque de maladie du coeur, les conditions 2 à 6 ci-dessus sont déjà exposées à l'article B.01.603 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues.

Santé Canada proposera des modifications réglementaires pour confirmer que les aliments portant les allégations santé présentées ci-dessus ne sont pas régis par les dispositions de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et qu'ils ne contreviennent pas aux paragraphes 3(1) et (2) de la Loi.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

L'information présentée dans ce document complète les directives sur l'utilisation des allégations santé figurant sur l'étiquette des aliments et dans la publicité à leur sujet, lesquelles sont publiées dans le Guide d'étiquetage et de publicité sur les aliments Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments - Guide d'étiquetage et de publicité sur les aliments consultable sur le site Web de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments. (http://www.inspection.gc.ca/francais/fssa/labeti/guide/tab8f.shtml) La responsabilité de faire en sorte que leurs produits soient conformes à toutes les dispositions législatives canadiennes incombe à tous les fabricants et à tous les importateurs.1

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

[ ] = obligatoire; ( ) = facultatif; [ ]* = obligatoire dans le cas où la source admissible de fibre d'avoine est un ingrédient; / = ou.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Les méthodes 992.28 et 995.16 de l'Association of Official Analytical Chemists International constituent les méthodes acceptables pour mesurer les fibres bêta-glucane de l'avoine.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer