Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its food and nutrition web content! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now (link will open in new window).
Food and Nutrition

Regulations and Compliance

Regulations

In December 2002, the Food and Drug Regulations were amended to make nutrition labelling mandatory on most food labels, update requirements for nutrient content claims, and permit the use of diet-related health claims on foods. As a result, nutrition labelling became mandatory for most prepackaged foods in December 2005, with smaller businesses having until December 2007 to comply with the new regulations.

Next link will take you to another Web site Nutrition Labelling Regulations, Canada Gazette II, January 1, 2003 (PDF Version - 8 602 K)

Next link will take you to another Web site Erratum (PDF Version - 2 417 K)

Regulatory Proposal - May 7, 2005

On May 7, 2005, additional amendments were proposed in order to bring more flexibility to the regulatory framework, clarify the intent of these requirements, correct inconsistencies between labelling provisions, and address items that were not included in the previous amendments. These proposed amendments are not expected to have a significant impact on labels that have already been brought into compliance, since most of the amendments would either give more flexibility to the requirements or would not change their intent.

Next link will take you to another Web site Nutrition Labelling amendments, Canada Gazette I, May 7, 2005 (PDF Version - 3 471 K)

Compliance

While it is Health Canada that developed the nutrition labelling regulations, it is the Canadian Food Inspection Agency that is responsible for the enforcement of these regulations. In collaboration with Health Canada, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency has developed many tools to assist industry in complying with the new regulations, including Next link will take you to another Web site Frequently Asked Questions, the Next link will take you to another Web site 2003 Guide to Food Labelling and Advertising, the Compendium of Templates for Nutrition Facts Tables, the Next link will take you to another Web site Nutrition Labelling Compliance Test.

For additional information, please refer to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency's Nutrition Labelling, Nutrition Claims and Health Claims web page.

Guide to Developing Accurate Nutrient Values

Health Canada, in collaboration with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, has prepared the Guide to Developing Accurate Nutrient Values to assist the food industry, private laboratories, academia, health professionals and government agencies in developing accurate nutrient values for a variety of purposes, including nutrition labelling.

Laboratory Methods for Nutrient Content Analysis

A number of laboratory methods have been developed by Health Canada for nutrient content analysis.

Contact

Those interested in nutrition policy and regulations should join the NUTSCI mailing list

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Règlements et conformité

Règlements

Le 12 décembre 2002, des modifications ont été apportées au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, afin de rendre obligatoire l'étiquetage nutritionnel pour la plupart des aliments préemballés, de mettre à jour les allégations relatives à la teneur en éléments nutritifs et de permettre l'utilisation d'allégations relatives à la santé reliées au régime alimentaire. Depuis décembre 2005, l'étiquetage nutritionnel est obligatoire pour la plupart des aliments préemballés. Les petites entreprises devront se conformer au nouveau règlement à partir du 12 décembre 2007.

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Le Règlement sur l'étiquetage nutritionnel, Gazette du Canada, Partie II, le 1er janvier 2003 (Version PDF - 8 602 ko)

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Erratum (Version PDF - 2 417 ko)

Projet de Règlement

Le 7 mai 2005, des modifications supplémentaires ont été proposées afin de rendre le cadre réglementaire plus souple, de clarifier l'intention des exigences, de corriger les incohérences entre les dispositions sur l'étiquetage et de traiter des éléments qui n'étaient pas inclus dans les modifications précédentes. Les modifications proposées ne devraient pas avoir un impact important sur les étiquettes qui ont déjà été rendues conformes, car la plupart des modifications serviraient à assouplir les exigences ou ne modifieraient pas leur intention.

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Modifications au Règlement sur létiquetage nutritionnel, Gazette du Canada, Partie I, le 7 mai 2005 (Version PDF - 3 471 ko)

Conformité

Alors que Santé Canada a élaboré les règlements sur l'étiquetage nutritionnel, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments est responsable de la mise en application de ces règlements. En collaboration avec Santé Canada, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments a élaboré plusieurs outils afin d'aider l'industrie à se conformer aux nouveaux règlements, tel que desLe lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Questions et réponses, Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Weble Guide d'étiquetage et de publicité sur les aliments 2003, le Répertoire de gabarits pour l'étiquetage nutritionnel et le Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Test de conformité de l'étiquetage nutritionnel.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site internet de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments : Étiquetage nutritionnel, allégations nutritionnelles et allégations relatives à la santé.

Guide d'établissement de valeurs nutritives exactes

Santé Canada, de concert avec l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, a préparé le Guide d'établissement de valeurs nutritives exactes pour aider l'industrie alimentaire, les laboratoires privés, les universitaires, les professionnels de la santé et les organismes gouvernementaux dans l'élaboration de valeurs nutritives exactes.

Méthodes de laboratoire pour déterminer la teneur en éléments nutritifs

Santé Canada a développé plusieurs méthodes de laboratoire pour déterminer la teneur en éléments nutritifs.

Veuillez vous joindre à notre liste de correspondants