Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its food and nutrition web content! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now (link will open in new window).
Food and Nutrition

Health Canada's Guidance Document on E. coli O157:H7 and E. coli O157:NM in Raw Beef

Bureau of Microbial Hazards
Food Directorate
Health Products and Food Branch

Issue Date: February 2014

Summary

The document provides guidance on intervention strategies to minimize the prevalence of E. coli O157:H7 and E. coli O157:NM in precursor material, finished raw ground beef products as well as beef products processed for raw consumption in Canada. This document also provides guidance on risk assessment and risk management approaches to reduce the risk of foodborne illness due to products that test positive for E. coli O157.

This document is intended for the beef production industry, provincial/territorial and federal governments. The information contained in this document is based on the current state of scientific evidence.

Food safety enforcement bodies at the federal, provincial and territorial level may use this guidance document as a reference to assess adherence to GMPs by beef processors, distributors, retailers, importers, and others as it relates to the reduction of E. coli O157:H7 and E. coli O157:NM in raw beef.

Thus, this guidance may be used to assess compliance with general requirements of food safety legislation or regulations, in particular, compliance with Sections 4 and 7 of the Le lien suivant vous amne  un autre site Web Food and Drugs Act.

Guidance Document

To obtain an electronic copy of the document, Guidance Document on E. coli O157:H7 and E. coli O157:NM in Raw Beef, please send an e-mail to publications@hc-sc.gc.ca with the subject heading "HPFB BMH Guidance E. coli O157 in raw beef" or contact our publications office.

Contact Information

Bureau of Microbial Hazards, Food Directorate

If you wish to contact the Bureau of Microbial Hazards, Food Directorate electronically, please use the words "E. coli O157 in Raw Beef" in the subject line of your e-mail.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Nous révisons le guide alimentaire du Canada. Participez à la consultation (le lien sera ouvert dans une nouvelle fenêtre) et aidez à réviser le Guide alimentaire canadien.
Aliments et nutrition

Document d'orientation de Santé Canada sur la présence d'E. coli O157:H7 et d'E. coli O157:NM dans le bœuf cru

Bureau des dangers microbiens
Direction des aliments
Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments

Date de diffusion : Février 2014

Sommaire

Le document fournit des orientations sur les stratégies d'intervention pour réduire au minimum la prévalence d'E. coli O157:H7 et E. coli O157:NM dans les matériaux précurseurs, les produits de bœuf hachés crus finis et les produits de bœuf transformés pour être consommés crus au Canada. Le  document offre aussi des indications sur les démarches d'évaluation et de gestion des risques visant à réduire les risques de maladie provoquée par des produits dans lesquels E. coli O157 a été détecté.

Ce document a été rédigé à l'intention de l'industrie de la production de viande de bœuf, du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. Les renseignements figurant dans le présent document sont fondés sur l'état actuel de la preuve scientifique.

Les organismes responsables de l'application du règlement en matière de salubrité alimentaire aux niveaux fédéral, provincial et territorial peuvent y recourir à titre de référence dans le but d'évaluer l'observation des bonnes pratiques de fabrication relatives à la réduction de la présence d'E. coli O157:H7 et E. coli O157:NM dans le bœuf cru.

Ainsi, ces lignes directrices peuvent être utilisées pour évaluer la conformité avec les exigences générales de la loi ou des règlements sur la salubrité des aliments, en particulier les articles 4 et 7 de la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi des aliments et drogues.

Document d'orientation

Pour obtenir une copie électronique du document, Document d'orientation sur la présence d'E. coli O157:H7 et d'E. coli O157:NM dans le bœuf cru, veuillez envoyer un courriel électronique à publications@hc-sc.gc.ca avec les mots «HPFB BMH Guidance Document d'orientation E. coli O157 dans le bœuf cru» dans le champ de l'objet du courriel ou communiquer avec notre bureau des publications.

Coordonnées

Bureau des dangers microbiens, Direction des aliments

Les personnes souhaitant contacter la Direction des aliments par courrier électronique sont priées d'inscrire les mots «E. coli O157 dans le bœuf cru» dans le champ du sujet de leur courriel.