Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Food and Nutrition

Health Canada's Guidance on Safe Cooking and Handling Labelling for Raw Ground Meat and Raw Ground Poultry

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

August 2014

Table of Contents

1.0 Purpose

This document is intended to provide guidance to the food industry on appropriate safe cooking and handling labelling of raw ground meat and raw ground poultry products intended for sale to consumers. Ultimately, the goal of this guidance is to reduce the number of Canadian illnesses related to improper cooking and handling of these products.

2.0 Scope of Application

This guidance document applies to industry sectors selling ground meat and ground poultry products to consumers in a raw form. This includes grocery retailers, butcher shops, meat and poultry processors, and importers of ground meat and ground poultry products.

The guidance applies to raw meat and raw poultry, whether fresh or frozen, that has been subjected to a comminution process such as grinding, chopping, flaking, mincing, fine texturing and mechanical separation.  This includes all species of meat and poultry (e.g., beef, veal, pork, chicken, turkey, bison, venison, pheasant, quail, ostrich, duck, etc.), as well as fresh and frozen uncooked products made from them (e.g., burgers, sausage, sausage meat, meatballs). In all instances in this document, the above mentioned processes and products are intended to be included when the terms ‘raw ground meat and raw ground poultry’ are used.

This guidance document does not apply to meat by-products, whole muscle cuts, stewing beef, stir-fry strips, kebabs, preserved meat, or any meat product that is ready-to-eat as a result of being fully cooked or fermented.

As the policy intent is to provide consistent and appropriate safety information to consumers, the guidance applies to those products described above which are sold directly to the consumer. Therefore, it applies to both prepackagedFootnote 1 and non-prepackaged products sold at retail, but does not apply to products sent to foodservice establishments that will cook the product before serving.

2.1 Scope of Application Rationale

The scope of this guidance document applies to raw ground meat and raw ground poultry products only. In comparison with solid meat cuts subjected to minimum processes, comminution increases the potential for distribution of any pathogens present throughout the product.

The risk of contamination of raw stewing beef, stir fry strips and kebabs is lower than that of ground meats and the frequency of illnesses linked to these products does not indicate they are a major source of foodborne disease in Canada. Similarly, the frequency of illnesses linked to meat by-products and poultry meat by-products (e.g., liver, kidney, fats) does not indicate they are a major source of foodborne disease and, additionally, they are not routinely sold in raw, ground form. Foods that are packaged on the premises at the request of consumers (e.g., in a butcher shop or at clerk-served meat counters) are not considered to be prepackaged under the Food and Drug Regulations. Nevertheless, since raw ground meat and raw ground poultry products sold in these locations pose the same risk to consumers if proper cooking and handling practices are not used, it is recommended they carry the same safe cooking and handling messages.

Although a substantial amount of raw ground meat and raw ground poultry is prepared and served at foodservice establishments, the guidance does not target products provided to restaurants and other commercial food operations. Proper cooking, storage and handling procedures are regular facets of inspections carried out in these facilities. In addition, many Provinces and Territories now require food safety training and certification for all or a portion of food service employees.

2.2 Risk Issues

The Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) routinely tracks the number of reported diarrheal illnesses in the Canadian population and estimates that each year roughly one in eight Canadians (or four million people) get sick due to domestically acquired food-borne diseases (Thomas et al., 2013). Reports show that Campylobacter spp. are the cause of the highest number of cases, followed by Salmonella spp., Yersinia enterocolitica, and Escherichia coli O157:H7 (Thomas et al., 2013). While the incidence of E. coli 0157:H7 is lower than Campylobacter spp. and Salmonella spp., the severity of illness associated with this pathogen can be much higher.  All of these organisms are known to be associated with raw meats and raw poultry.

E. coli O157:H7 is a particularly virulent strain of verotoxigenic E. coli (VTEC) that is found most often in ground beef and can be the cause of an illness commonly referred to as “hamburger disease”. The infectious dose is thought to be very low (approximately 10 cells), and the resulting illness can be very severe (PHAC, 2011). Some people who become infected with E. coli O157:H7 or other strains of VTEC experience no symptoms, while others suffer very severe adverse effects. Most individuals will experience mild to severe diarrhea, with bloody stools (haemorrhagic colitis) and abdominal pain. In very severe cases, individuals may develop a condition referred to as haemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS), which can lead to permanent loss of kidney function and can be fatal in some cases.

All known species of Salmonella are pathogenic to humans. The infectious dose can be as low as 15 – 20 cells depending on the age and health of the host and strain differences (D’Aoust and Maurer, 2007). The symptoms of salmonellosis include abdominal pain, diarrhea, nausea and vomiting. Dehydration, especially among the young, the elderly and those with compromised immune systems, can be severe, and the person may become ill enough to require hospitalization.

Campylobacter spp. are an important cause of diarrheal illnesses worldwide and have an infectious dose of approximately 500 organisms (PHAC, 2011). Campylobacter jejuni is the most common type of Campylobacter spp. associated with human illness, accounting for 97% of all Campylobacter spp. infections in Canada in 2008 (PHAC, 2009). The majority of campylobacteriosis cases include symptoms such as diarrhea, abdominal pain, fever, nausea and/or vomiting.

The pathogenic bacteria found on the carcasses of meat and poultry are often found in the ground product derived from those carcasses. In whole muscle cuts, the pathogen remains on the surface and is more readily killed during the cooking process. The comminution process increases the potential for distribution of pathogens within the product, thereby increasing the risk to consumers if the product is not properly handled and cooked to a safe internal temperature.

3.0 Label Content

3.1 Statements

Health Canada recommends including the following five statements on the Safe Cooking and Handling Label. The first statement is a general notice to the consumer regarding the heightened risk presented by improper cooking or mishandling of raw ground meats and raw ground poultry. The next four statements are presented in an order that follows the steps a consumer takes when preparing raw ground meat and raw ground poultry, and gives associated guidance on critical food safety practices at each step:

  1. "Raw ground meat and raw ground poultry may contain bacteria that could cause illness if mishandled or cooked improperly. Do not consume any portion raw."
  2. "Keep refrigerated or frozen. Thaw in refrigerator or microwave. Separate raw meats from ready-to-eat foods."
  3. "Cook to a safe internal temperature - ground meat to 71°C (160°F), ground poultry to 74°C (165°F)."
  4. "Thoroughly wash working surfaces, utensils and hands after contact with raw ground meat or raw ground poultry."
  5. "Refrigerate leftover cooked food within 2 hours."

3.2 Food Safety Icons

Food safety icons may be used in connection with the statements appearing on the safe cooking and handling label in order to reinforce consumer recognition and uptake. The following are icons that are recommended by Health Canada, although others are acceptable provided they convey a comparable message.

  • A refrigerator to represent the need to keep food refrigerated or frozen.
  • A thermometer to represent the need to cook to a safe internal temperature.
  • The international handwashing symbol to represent the need to properly wash surfaces and hands.
  • A clock to represent the need to refrigerate leftover food within 2 hours.

4.0 Label Format

The label format recommended by Health Canada consists of the following elements:

  • The heading: “SAFE HANDLING AND COOKING INSTRUCTIONS” displayed in bold type and capital letters.
  • Colour contrast that is the visual equivalent of 100% solid black type on a white background or on a uniform neutral background with a maximum 5% tint of colour;
  • Characters in a single standard sans serif font that is not decorative, in not less than 6 point type and not less than 9 point leading;
  • Characters never touch each other or the rules and the individual statements appear on separate lines of type, unless separated by the corresponding icon;
  • In the case of prepackaged products, information oriented in the same manner as other information appearing on the label.

4.1 Label Format Rationale

During the development of the nutrition labelling section of the Food and Drug Regulations (2002), consultations were conducted with literacy experts, consumer advocates and the design and packaging industry. These consultations confirmed that when multiple designs are used between different brands and/or products, consumers often have difficulty finding and understanding information. A consistent standardized format for safe cooking and handling messages would greatly improve legibility and prominence of the information, thereby potentially increasing its effective use.

The presence of a standard label format on raw ground meat and raw ground poultry in the Canadian market would allow Health Canada and other organizations to structure consumer education campaigns to reinforce and complement the safe cooking and handling messages. This is currently difficult due to the multiple formats being used.

5.0 Label Examples

With respect to the use of bilingual vs. unilingual versions, industry is encouraged to apply the labels in accordance with section B.01.012 of the Food and Drug RegulationsFootnote 2, though this section applies specifically to mandatory labelling provisions.

5.1 Including Food Safety Icons

i) Bilingual, Horizontal

ii) Bilingual, Vertical

iii) Unilingual English

iv) Unilingual French

5.2 Excluding Food Safety Icons

i) Bilingual, Horizontal

ii) Bilingual, Vertical

iii) Unilingual English

iv) Unilingual French

6.0 Label Placement

Products prepackaged in a film-wrapped tray, such as those commonly found in retail meat counters, should display the label on the principal display panelFootnote 3

Products that are prepackaged in a package other than a film-wrapped tray, such as boxed items, should have the label positioned anywhere on the available display surfaceFootnote 3, but in close proximity to any cooking instructions that also appear on the label.

To provide maximum flexibility, products packaged at the consumer’s request (e.g., clerk served) may have the label placed anywhere on the visible package surface.

6.1 Label Placement Rationale

The placement of safe cooking and handling labels is an important part of providing a prominent and consistent message to consumers. To be effective, the messages should be visible at the time of purchase in the store, and during preparation at home.

Because film-wrapped trays have the potential to leak raw juices when the package is turned over, there is an increased potential for contamination of surfaces and other foods if labels are placed on the bottom or sides of these containers. While processes are being used by the food industry to limit the potential for leaks to occur, consumers do not routinely turn over film-wrapped trays to view product information. Placement of the label anywhere other than the principal display panel on film-wrapped trays creates a strong potential that the message will be overlooked.

For products that are packaged in containers other than film-wrapped trays (e.g., boxes, tubes, etc.), consumers are accustomed to looking for cooking information on package surfaces other than the principal display panel.

7.0 Avoiding Duplication

Many meat and poultry product labels provide cooking instructions, but lack other safe handling information. There is no need to include a cooking statement on the safe cooking and handling label if existing cooking instructions on the label are complete. The cooking statement is considered complete in cases where, when followed, the meat or poultry portion of the product will reach an internal temperature of greater than or equal to 71°C for ground meat and greater than or equal to 74°C for ground poultry. The existing cooking instructions should contain a time/temperature relationship (i.e., cook at X°C for Y minutes). Health Canada does not consider statements such as ‘cook on BBQ at high heat’ to be sufficient to negate the need for a statement recommending an appropriate internal temperature be reached.

Similarly, many existing product labels have a ‘keep refrigerated’ or ‘keep frozen’ statement, which would negate the need for a duplicate refrigeration statement as part of the safe handling label. In both of the cases above, the remaining portions of the safe cooking and handling label should be applied.

8.0 References

Footnotes

Footnote 1

“Prepackaged product” means any food that is contained in a package in the manner in which it is ordinarily sold to or used or purchased by a person. Next link will take you to another Web site Food and Drug Regulations, section B.01.001.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Next link will take you to another Web site Article B.01.012 of the Food and Drug Regulations

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Next link will take you to another Web site Food and Drug Regulations, Section B.01.001

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Nous révisons le guide alimentaire du Canada. Participez à la consultation (le lien sera ouvert dans une nouvelle fenêtre) et aidez à réviser le Guide alimentaire canadien.
Aliments et nutrition

Document d'orientation de Santé Canada sur l'étiquetage relatif à la cuisson et à la manipulation sécuritaires de la viande et de la volaille hachées crues

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Août 2014

Table des matières

1.0 Objectifs

Ce document vise à fournir des orientations à l'industrie alimentaire au sujet des directives adéquates de manipulation et de cuisson sécuritaires destinées à figurer sur l'étiquette des produits de viande et de volaille hachés crus. En définitive, l'objectif de ces lignes directrices consiste à réduire, chez les canadiens, les cas de maladies liées à une cuisson et à une manipulation inadéquates de ces produits.

2.0 Champ d'application

Le présent document d'orientation s'applique aux établissements qui vendent aux consommateurs des produits de viande et de volaille hachés à l'état cru. Ceux-ci comprennent les épiceries, les boucheries, les transformateurs de viande et de volaille et les importateurs de produits de viande et de volaille hachés.

Ces lignes directrices s'appliquent à la viande et à la volaille crues soumises à un processus de fragmentation, qu'elles soient fraîches ou congelées, soit à celles qui, par exemple, ont été hachées, broyées, réduites en flocons, émincées, finement texturées et séparées mécaniquement. Ce qui inclus toutes les espèces de viande et volaille (p. ex., bœuf, veau, porc, poulet, dindon, bison, gibier, faisan, caille, autruche, canard, etc.), de même que les produits crus frais ou congelés fabriqués à partir de celles-ci (p. ex., hamburgers, saucisses, chairs à saucisse, boulettes de viande). Dans le présent document, les termes viande hachée crue et volaille hachée crue englobent, sans exception, tous les processus et les produits mentionnés ci-dessus.

Ce document d'orientation ne s'applique pas aux sous-produits de viande, aux pièces de viande entières, au bœuf à bouillir, aux languettes à sauter, aux kébabs, aux viandes conservées ni à tout produit de viande prêt-à-manger entièrement cuit ou fermenté.

Étant donné que l'intention stratégique de ces lignes directrices consiste à communiquer aux consommateurs de l'information cohérente et adéquate en matière de salubrité des aliments, celles-ci s'appliquent exclusivement aux produits décrits ci-dessus qui sont vendus directement au consommateur. Par conséquent, elles s'appliquent aux produits vendus au détail préemballésNote de bas de page 1 ou non, mais ne s'appliquent pas aux produits expédiés dans les établissements de services alimentaires où ils seront cuits avant d'être servis.

2.1 Justification du champ d'application

Ce document d'orientation vise exclusivement les produits de viande et de volaille hachés crus. La fragmentation favorise la dissémination potentielle de tout agent pathogène présent dans l'ensemble du produit, ce qui distingue ces viandes et volailles d'une pièce de viande ou de volaille minimalement transformée.

Le bœuf à bouillir, les languettes à sauter et les kébabs sont moins susceptibles d'être contaminés que les viandes hachées, et la fréquence des maladies liée à ces produits n'indique pas qu'il s'agisse de sources importantes de maladies d'origine alimentaire au Canada. La fréquence des maladies liée aux sous-produits de viande et de volaille (p. ex., au foie, aux rognons et aux gras) n'indique pas davantage qu'il s'agisse de sources importantes de maladies d'origine alimentaire, sans compter qu'ils sont rarement vendus hachés et crus. En vertu du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, les aliments emballés sur les lieux à la demande des consommateurs (p. ex., chez le boucher ou aux comptoirs à viande avec service) ne sont pas considérés à titre d'aliments préemballés. Toutefois, à défaut d'être manipulés et cuits correctement, les produits de viande et de volaille hachés crus ainsi vendus comportent les mêmes risques pour les consommateurs, les mêmes messages sur la cuisson et la manipulation sécuritaires devraient y figurer.

Bien qu'une quantité importante de viande et de volaille hachées crues soit préparée et servie dans les établissements de services alimentaires, ces lignes directrices ne ciblent pas les produits fournis aux restaurants et aux autres organisations commerciales du domaine de l'alimentation. Les procédures de cuisson, d'entreposage et de manipulation des aliments comptent au nombre des éléments inspectés régulièrement dans ces établissements. De plus, plusieurs provinces et territoires exigent maintenant une formation et une certification en manipulation et salubrité alimentaire pour la totalité ou une partie des employés des services alimentaires.

2.2 Questions relatives aux risques

L'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) assure le suivi régulier du nombre de maladies diarrhéiques au sein de la population canadienne. Selon son estimation, approximativement 1 Canadien sur 8 (ou quatre  millions de personnes) sont atteints chaque année d'une maladie provoquée par des agents pathogènes d'origine alimentaire (Thomas et coll., 2013). Les rapports indiquent que les Campylobacter spp. sont à la source du plus grand nombre de cas, suivis par Salmonella spp., Yersinia enterocolitica, et Escherichia coli O157:H7 (Thomas et coll., 2013). Bien que l'incidence d'E. coli O157:H7 soit plus faible que celle des Campylobacter spp. et des Salmonella spp., la gravité de la maladie provoquée par cet agent pathogène peut se révéler de loin plus grave que celle causée par les autres. Le lien entre ces organismes et la viande et la volaille crues est bien établi.

E. coli O157:H7 est une souche particulièrement virulente d'E. coli producteur de vérocytotoxine (ECPV) présent le plus souvent dans le bœuf haché. Celle-ci peut provoquer l'affection communément appelée maladie du hamburger. La dose infectieuse est considérée très faible (environ 10 cellules) et la maladie qui en résulte peut être très aiguë (ASPC, 2011). Certaines personnes infectées par E. coli O157:H7 ou d'autres souches d'ECPV ne ressentent aucun symptôme, tandis que d'autres subissent des effets très graves. Chez la plupart des gens, l'infection provoquera une diarrhée variant de légère à grave, et des selles sanglantes (colite hémorragique) et des douleurs abdominales. Chez les personnes les plus gravement atteintes, une affection appelée syndrome hémolytique et urémique (SHU) peut apparaître, laquelle peut entraîner la perte permanente de la fonction rénale et peut être fatale dans certains cas.

Toutes les espèces de Salmonella connues sont des agents pathogènes pour les humains. La dose infectieuse peut être de 15 à 20 cellules selon la souche et d'autres facteurs tels que l'âge et l'état de santé de l'hôte (D'Aoust et Maurer, 2007). Les douleurs abdominales, la diarrhée, la nausée et les vomissements comptent au nombre des symptômes de la salmonellose. La déshydratation qu'elle peut causer, particulièrement chez les jeunes, les aînés et les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli, peut se révéler grave au point de nécessiter l'hospitalisation de la personne.

À l'échelle mondiale, les Campylobacter spp. constituent une source importante de maladies diarrhéiques, et leur dose infectieuse est d'environ 500 organismes (ASPC, 2011). Responsable de 97 % des infections par Campylobacter spp. en 2008 au Canada, Campylobacter jejuni est la sous-espèce la plus commune parmi les Campylobacter spp. liées à la maladie chez l'humain (PHAC, 2009). La diarrhée, les douleurs abdominales, la fièvre, la nausée et les vomissements font partie des symptômes de la plupart des cas de campylobactérioses.

Il est fréquent que les bactéries pathogènes présentes sur les carcasses de viande et de volaille  soient aussi dans les produits hachés préparés à partir de celles-ci. Les bactéries pathogènes demeurent à la surface des pièces entières, ce qui en facilite l'élimination pendant la cuisson. La fragmentation favorise la dissémination potentielle de l'agent pathogène dans le produit, ce qui augmente les risques que courent les consommateurs si le produit n'est pas manipulé adéquatement et cuit jusqu'à ce que sa température interne soit sécuritaire.

3.0 Contenu de l'étiquette

3.1 Énoncés

Santé Canada recommande que les cinq énoncés suivants figurent sur l'étiquette relative à la manipulation et à la cuisson sécuritaires. Le premier énoncé consiste en un avis général destiné aux consommateurs sur les risques accrus que posent la cuisson ou la manipulation inadéquate de la viande et de la volaille hachées crues. Les quatre énoncés suivants sont présentés dans l'ordre qui correspond aux étapes de préparation des produits de viande et de volaille hachés crus par le consommateur et offrent des conseils sur les pratiques de salubrité alimentaire essentielles à chaque étape.

  1. « La viande et la volaille hachées crues peuvent contenir des bactéries qui pourraient causer des maladies si elles ne sont pas manipulées ou cuites de façon adéquate. Ne consommer aucune portion crue. »
  2. « Garder réfrigéré ou congelé. Décongeler au réfrigérateur ou au four micro-ondes. Séparer les viandes crues des aliments prêts-à-manger. »
  3. « Cuire jusqu'à une température interne sécuritaire: viande hachée à 71 °C (160 °F), volaille hachée à 74 °C (165 °F). »
  4. « Bien se laver les mains ainsi que les surfaces de travail et les ustensiles après qu'ils aient touché des viandes hachées ou de la volaille hachée. »
  5. « Réfrigérer les restes d'aliments cuits dans les deux heures. »

3.2 Symboles relatifs à la salubrité des aliments

Dans le but de renforcer les messages destinés aux consommateurs et de favoriser l'application de mesures adéquates, des symboles relatifs à la salubrité des aliments liés aux énoncés peuvent être utilisés sur l'étiquette des produits. Santé Canada recommande les symboles suivants, mais estime que d'autres sont aussi acceptables à la condition qu'ils véhiculent un message comparable.

  • Un réfrigérateur pour illustrer la nécessité de conserver les aliments au réfrigérateur ou au congélateur.
  • Un thermomètre pour illustrer la nécessité de cuire les aliments jusqu'à ce que leur température interne atteigne un degré sécuritaire.
  • Le symbole international du lavage des mains pour illustrer la nécessité de laver à fond les surfaces et les mains.
  • Une horloge pour illustrer la nécessité de réfrigérer les aliments restants au cours des deux heures suivant leur cuisson.

4.0 Présentation de l'étiquette

Selon les recommandations de Santé Canada, l'étiquette doit comporter les éléments suivants :

  • Le titre : « RÈGLES POUR LA MANIPULATION ET LA CUISSON SÉCURITAIRES » figurant en caractères gras et en majuscules.
  • Un contraste de couleur visuellement équivalent à de l'imprimerie noire en aplat de 100 % sur un fond blanc ou de couleur de teinte neutre et uniforme d'au plus 5 %.
  • Des caractères normalisés, sans empattements, non décoratifs d'au moins six (6) points avec interligne d'au moins neuf (9) points.
  • Des caractères inscrits de manière à ce qu'ils ne se touchent pas et ne touchent pas les filets, et une ligne de caractères distincte pour chaque énoncé à moins qu'ils soient séparés par le symbole correspondant.
  • Dans le cas des produits préemballés, l'orientation de l'information doit être la même que celle des autres renseignements figurant sur l'étiquette.

4.1 Justification de la présentation de l'étiquette

Au cours de l'élaboration des dispositions du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (2002) sur l'étiquetage nutritionnel, des experts de l'alphabétisation, de l'industrie du design et de l'emballage alimentaire ainsi que des porte-parole des consommateurs ont été consultés.Ces consultations ont permis de confirmer que lorsque différentes marques ou différents produits adoptent diverses présentations, les consommateurs éprouvent souvent de la difficulté à repérer et à comprendre l'information. Une présentation uniforme et normalisée des messages sur la cuisson et la manipulation sécuritaires est garante d'une amélioration importante de la lisibilité et de l'impact visuel de l'information, ce qui favoriserait potentiellement sa mise en application.

La présence d'une étiquette normalisée sur les produits de viande et de volaille hachés crus vendus au Canada permettrait à Santé Canada et à d'autres organismes de concevoir des campagnes éducatives visant à renforcer et à complémenter les messages sur la manipulation et la cuisson sécuritaires communiqués aux consommateurs. Les diverses présentations actuellement en circulation compliquent la mise en œuvre de telles initiatives.

5.0 Exemples d'étiquette

En ce qui a trait aux versions unilingue et bilingue, Santé Canada encourage l'industrie à appliquer les dispositions relatives aux étiquettes figurant à l'article B.01.012 du Règlement sur les aliments et droguesNote de bas de page 2, même si celui-ci vise précisément l'étiquetage obligatoire.

5.1 Avec les symboles relatifs à la salubrité des aliments

i) Bilingue, horizontale

ii) Bilingue, verticale

iii) Unilingue anglaise

iv) Unilingue française

5.2 Sans les symboles relatifs à la salubrité des aliments

i) Bilingue, horizontale

ii) Bilingue, verticale

iii) Unilingue française

iv) Unilingue anglaise

6.0 Disposition de l'étiquette

L'étiquette doit être apposée sur l'espace d'affichage principal de l'emballageNote de bas de page 3 des produits préemballés dans des barquettes mises sous pellicule de plastique comme celles que l'on utilise généralement dans les comptoirs des viandes des détaillants.

L'étiquette doit être apposée sur n'importe quelle surface disponible de l'emballageNote de bas de page 3 des produits préemballés autrement, par exemple, ceux vendus en boîte, mais à proximité immédiate des directives de cuisson figurant également sur l'étiquette.

Afin d'assurer une flexibilité maximale, sur les produits emballés à la demande des consommateurs (p. ex., par un commis), l'étiquette peut être apposée n'importe où sur le paquet, à la condition qu'elle soit visible en surface.

6.1 Justification de la disposition de l'étiquette

La disposition des étiquettes relatives à la cuisson et à la manipulation sécuritaires joue un rôle important dans la communication d'un message cohérent aux consommateurs. Afin d'en assurer l'efficacité, les messages doivent être visibles au moment de l'achat au magasin et pendant la préparation à la maison.

Puisque lorsqu'elles sont placées sens dessus dessous, les barquettes mises sous pellicule plastique peuvent laisser fuir des jus crus, le risque de contamination des surfaces et des autres aliments est augmenté si les étiquettes sont placées sous ou sur un côté de ces emballages. Bien que l'industrie alimentaire s'efforce de recourir à des processus limitant les fuites potentielles, les consommateurs n'ont pas l'habitude de retourner les barquettes mises sous pellicule plastique pour y lire les renseignements sur le produit. Ainsi, disposer l'étiquette ailleurs que dans l'espace principal des barquettes mises sous pellicule plastique multiplie les probabilités que le message soit ignoré.

Les consommateurs sont habitués à lire les directives de cuisson sur les surfaces autres que l'espace principal de l'emballage des produits présentés autrement qu'en barquettes mises sous pellicule plastique (p. ex., en boîtes, en tubes, etc.).

7.0 Éviter les répétitions

Des directives de cuisson figurent sur l'étiquette de plusieurs produits de viande et de volaille, alors que les autres renseignements sur leur manipulation sécuritaire en sont absents. Si les directives de cuisson existantes sont exhaustives, il n'est pas nécessaire d'ajouter un énoncé au sujet de la cuisson sur l'étiquette relative à la cuisson et à la manipulation sécuritaires. L'exhaustivité des directives de cuisson est assurée dans la mesure où, si elles sont respectées, la température interne de la portion de viande ou de volaille atteint ou dépasse 71 °C pour la viande et 74 °C pour la volaille hachée. Les directives de cuisson qui figurent déjà sur l'emballage doivent faire état d'un rapport temps-température (c.-à-d., cuire à X °C pendant Y minutes). Santé Canada considère que les directives telles que « cuire au barbecue à température élevée » ne suffisent pas à éliminer la nécessité d'ajouter un énoncé recommandant l'atteinte d'une température interne adéquate.

Dans la même perspective, des mentions « Conserver au réfrigérateur » ou « Garder congelé » figurent sur l'emballage de plusieurs produits, ce qui élimine le besoin d'ajouter l'énoncé sur la réfrigération à l'étiquette relative à la manipulation et à la cuisson sécuritaires.

Dans les deux cas mentionnés ci-dessus, les autres éléments de l'étiquette relative à la manipulation et à la cuisson sécuritaires doivent y figurer.

8.0 Références

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

« Produit préemballé désigne un aliment contenu dans un emballage de manière à être normalement vendu, utilisé ou acheté par une personne. » Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Article B.01.001 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Article B.01.012 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Article B.01.001 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer