Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Food and Nutrition

Guidance Document - The Use of Probiotic Microorganisms in Food

Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch

April 2009

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

I. Introduction

Purpose

1. The purpose of this Guidance Document is to clarify the acceptable use of health claims about microorganisms represented as "probiotics" on food labels and in advertising.

It also provides guidance on the safety, quality (stability) and labelling aspects of food products containing probiotic microorganisms.

This Guidance Document will be used by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) to administer and assess compliance of food products containing probiotic microorganisms with the Food and Drugs Act and with the food provisions of the Food and Drug Regulations.

Terms

2. In this Guidance Document,

Health claim means any representation in labelling or advertising that states, suggests, or implies that a relationship exists between consumption of a food or food constituent (including an ingredient in the food) and a person's health.

Function claims are health claims that describe the physiological effects of foods or food constituents on normal functions or biological activities of the body associated with health or performance.

Therapeutic claims are claims that would bring a food into the definition of a drug or a natural health product (drug claims). These are claims about the diagnosis, treatment, mitigation or prevention of a disease, disorder or abnormal physical state or its symptoms in humans, or restoring or correcting organic functions in humans, or modifying organic functions in humans. Products that carry such claims are considered to be represented for "therapeutic use".

Scope

3. This Guidance Document applies to products that are manufactured, sold, or represented for use as food as defined in Section 2 of the Food and Drugs Act.

It should be read together with applicable provisions of the Food and Drugs Act and its regulations and all other legislation and regulations applicable to food, as well as their associated policies and guidelines. Manufacturers are responsible for compliance with all relevant food legislation and regulations and for the accuracy of all information on the labels and in advertisements of their products.

4. This Guidance Document does not apply to natural health products (NHPs) - whether in a food format or notFootnote 1 - containing probiotic microorganisms. A product in food format is generally classified as an NHP when a probiotic microorganism in the product is represented as having a therapeutic use. Such a product is governed by the Natural Health Product Regulations. Refer to the Guidance Document "Classification of Products at the Food-Natural Health Product Interface: Products in Food Format".

5. However, therapeutic claims that would otherwise bring a food product into the definition of an NHP or a drug may be made for a food if the Food and Drug Regulations are amended to permit the claim. See section III of this Guidance Document for information on how to make a submission for such a regulatory amendment.

II. Health claims about probiotic microorganisms in food

6. Health claims made in respect of probiotic microorganisms in foodFootnote 2 are subject to Subsection 5(1) of the Food and Drugs Act and should be scientifically validated. Subsection 5(1) of the Food and Drugs Act states as follows:

"No person shall label, package, treat, process, sell or advertise any food in a manner that is false, misleading or deceptive or is likely to create an erroneous impression regarding its character, value, quantity, composition, merit or safety."

The following paragraphs in section II provide guidance in complying with Subsection 5(1) of the Food and Drugs Act.

"Probiotic" and similar terms

7. The term "probiotics" and similar terms or representations (e.g. "with beneficial probiotic cultures"; "contains bacteria that are essential to a healthy system"; and a Latin name of a microbial species modified to suggest a health benefit) in text or graphics on food labels and in advertising that suggest a food confers a health benefit are examplesFootnote 3 of health claims.

8. It is recommended that the term "probiotic(s)" and similar terms or representations described in paragraph 7 only be used when accompanied by specific, validated statements on the benefits or effects of the probiotic microorganism contained in the food. This will also provide more information to the consumer about the expected benefit.

Acceptable Use of Function claims

9. Function claims may be made about the physiological effects of probiotic microorganisms in foods. (e.g. "promotes regularity" and "improves nutrient absorption and aids in digestion").

10. A function claim is limited to a role in maintaining or supporting the functions of the body associated with good health or performance.

11. Acceptable function claims are those that state a specific and scientifically supported physiological effect associated with good health or performance. Claims about a specific effect provide more useful information for the consumer.

12. Further, claims that state a general effect (e.g. improves gut health; supports immune function/system) are not recommended. A broad, non-specific claim is acceptable only for the generally recognized role for energy and essential nutrients in maintaining the functions of the body necessary to the maintenance of good health and normal growth and development.

Validation of claims

13. A health claim may be less likely to be interpreted as contravening Subsection 5(1) of the Food and Drugs Act when it is scientifically supported as follows:

(a) A systematic review of the relevant scientific evidence is used to support the claimed or implied effects of each of the probiotic strain(s) at their claimed intake levels; and

(b)When evidence from markers is used to support the claimed or implied health benefit, the markers should be recognized as being valid and biologically relevant to the claim being made.

For example, function claims (e.g. promotes normal transit time) on foods are not considered to be scientifically supported when the evidence is based only on therapeutic (treatment) effects in sick populations (e.g. treatment of diarrhea).

14. The Guidance Document for Preparing a Submission for Food Health Claims should be consulted. It provides current guidance for identifying and evaluating the available evidence and the validity of claims.

Publication of validated claims

15. The Food Directorate may, on request, provide advice regarding the acceptability of function claims prior to their use. Advice that a particular claim is scientifically supported will be made publicly available through a strain-specific list of acceptable function claims for probiotic microorganisms in foods. The CFIA will include the list in the Next link will take you to another website CFIA Guide to Food Labelling and Advertising.

Labelling of foods for which health claims for probiotics are made

16. The following apply to the labelling of foods for which health claims about probiotics are made.

(a) The term "probiotic(s)" and similar terms or representations should be accompanied by a statement of the demonstrated effect of the probiotic;

(b) The claimed effect of the probiotic microorganism in a food should be clearly stated in a manner that is not false, misleading, deceptive, or likely to create an erroneous impression with respect to the effect of or benefit from the probiotic microorganism(s) in the food;

(c) Where a health claim is made, the Latin name (i.e., genus and species) and the strain of the probiotic microorganism or mixed culture that is the subject of the claim should be declared;

(d) The level of the probiotic strain expressed in colony forming units (cfu) in a serving of stated size of the food should be declared; and

(e)If more than one probiotic strain is added to a food, the above recommendations apply to the mixed culture.

III. Representations about therapeutic use expressly permitted in Part B of the Food and Drug Regulations

17. Certain representations about therapeutic use, including drug claims, that would bring the food within the definition of an NHP or drug and therefore classified as an NHP or drug may be permitted in the Food and Drug Regulations (B.01.601 to B.01.603). These regulations expressly permit such claims to be made in relation to foods by exempting those foods from the provisions of the Food and Drugs Act and its regulations with respect to drugs and from the advertising prohibitions in Section 3 of the Food and Drugs Act. To seek additional or new claims of this type to be made for a food, manufacturers must make a submission to the Food Directorate that proposes a regulatory amendment to the Food and Drug Regulations to permit the claim.

18. For Health Canada to consider such a proposed regulatory amendment, scientific evidence acceptable to Health Canada that supports the claimed effect must be submitted. The Guidance Document for Preparing a Submission for Food Health Claims, also referenced in paragraph 14, is available to assist persons wishing to prepare such submissions.

IV. Safety of probiotic microorganisms contained in foods

19. It is the responsibility of the food manufacturer to ensure that the food or food ingredients produced are not unsafe. Section 4 of the Food and Drugs Act provides as follows:

"No person shall sell an article of food that
(a) has in or on it any poisonous or harmful substance;
(b) is unfit for human consumption;
(c) consists in whole or in part of any filthy, putrid, disgusting, rotten, decomposed or diseased animal or vegetable substance;
(d) is adulterated; or
(e) was manufactured, prepared, preserved, packaged or stored under unsanitary conditions."

20. Live bacterial cultures added to foods are food ingredients under the food provisions of the Food and Drug Regulations. If the culture(s) does not have a history of safe use in foods, or the strain is genetically modified, or otherwise falls within the definition of a novel food under Division 28 of Part B of the Food and Drug Regulations (see endnote 1), it would be subject to the requirements set out in that Division.

21. Food manufacturers interested in using novel technology (e.g. microencapsulation) to help deliver a viable microorganism in food are advised to contact the Food Directorate prior to commercialization or marketing to discuss whether the use of the technology for food application would meet the definition of novel food.

22. If food additives are used in the manufacture of the encapsulation material (such as enzymes), they must comply with Division 16 of the Food and Drug Regulations.

23. Common microorganisms claimed to be probiotic include bacteria belonging to a group broadly defined as lactic acid bacteria (LAB) and to the genus Bifidobacterium. Even though many species of LAB and Bifidobacterium are commonly used in various food applications, it is well recognized that these species may also be resistant to various antibiotics and could be a potential reservoir of antimicrobial resistance. When using these species as a probiotic, the food manufacturer must ensure that the strain proposed for use does not pose a significant risk with regards to transferable antimicrobial resistance. The Food Directorate will require this information if it is to provide an opinion on the safety of the strain used.

V. Stability of probiotic microorganisms contained in foods

24. The food manufacturer is responsible for the stability and viability of the probiotic strain or mixed-culture in the food product so that the product delivers the declared level in a serving of stated size throughout product shelf life. Documentation to support these quality aspects of the product should be maintained.

VI. Contact information

The following types of inquiry may be directed to the Food Directorate of Health Canada.

Questions about health claim substantiation:
Nutrition Evaluation Division
E-mail: healthclaims-allegationssante@hc-sc.gc.ca

Questions about novel foods:
Novel Foods Section
Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch
Health Canada
251, Sir Frederick Banting Driveway
Postal Locator: 2204E
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0K9

Submissions related to novel food or health claims:
Submission Management and Information Unit
E-mail: smiu-ugdi@hc-sc.gc.ca
Tel : 613-960-0552
Fax : 613-946-4590
Mailing address:
Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch
Health Canada
251, Sir Frederick Banting Driveway
Postal Locator: 2202E
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0K9

Questions about compliance with this Guidance Document and with other applicable food legislation and associated regulations may be directed to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

Next link will take you to another website Consumer Protection Division
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
1400 Merivale Road, Tower 2
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0Y9

Endnotes

  1. 'Novel food' means
    1. a substance, including a microorganism, that does not have a history of safe use as a food;
    2. a food that has been manufactured, prepared, preserved or packaged by a process that
      1. has not been previously applied to that food, and
      2. causes the food to undergo a major change; and
    3. a food that is derived from a plant, animal or microorganism that has been genetically modified such that
      1. the plant, animal or microorganism exhibits characteristics that were not previously observed in that plant, animal or microorganism,
      2. the plant, animal or microorganism no longer exhibits characteristics that were previously observed in that plant, animal or microorganism, or
      3. one or more characteristics of the plant, animal or microorganism no longer fall within the anticipated range for that plant, animal or microorganism.

References

FAO/WHO. 2001. Health and nutritional properties of probiotics in food including powder milk with live lactic acid bacteria. Report of a Joint FAO/WHO Expert Consultation on Evaluation of Health and Nutritional Properties of Probiotics in Food Including Powder Milk with Live Lactic Acid Bacteria. Cˇrdoba, Argentina, October 1-4, 2001.

FAO/WHO. 2002. Guidelines for the evaluation of probiotics in food. Report of a Joint FAO/WHO Working Group on Drafting Guidelines for the Evaluation of Probiotics in Food. London, Ontario, April 30 - May 1, 2002.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

A product is in food format if it is sold in a format and serving size consistent with food use. Examples of products in a food format include chewing gums, hard candies, candy bars, tea, juices and beverages. Capsules, pills and tablets are considered non-food formats.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

According to the Expert Consultation (2001) conducted by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and the World Health Organization (WHO), probiotics are: "Live microorganisms which when administered in adequate amounts confer a health benefit on the host." In the case of foods, the FAO/WHO Expert Consultation limited the scope of the definition to: "Live microorganisms which when consumed in adequate amounts as part of food confer a health benefit on the host".

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The claims provided as the examples in this document are for illustrative purposes only and are not necessarily acceptable or valid claims.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Nous révisons le guide alimentaire du Canada. Participez à la consultation (le lien sera ouvert dans une nouvelle fenêtre) et aidez à réviser le Guide alimentaire canadien.
Aliments et nutrition

Lignes directrices - Utilisation de microorganismes probiotiques dans les aliments

Direction des aliments, Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments

Avril 2009

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

I. Introduction

Objet

1. Le présent document a pour objet de clarifier l'usage acceptable des allégations santé relatives aux microorganismes dits « probiotiques » sur les étiquettes des produits alimentaires et dans la publicité.

Le présent document fournit également des directives sur l'innocuité, la qualité (stabilité) et l'étiquetage des produits alimentaires contenant des microorganismes probiotiques.

Il sera utilisé par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) pour administrer et évaluer la conformité des produits alimentaires contenant des microorganismes probiotiques à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et aux dispositions « alimentaires » du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues.

Terminologie

2. Dans le présent document,

Allégation santé s'entend de toute représentation dans l'étiquetage et la publicité qui affirme, suggère ou sous-entend qu'il existe une relation entre la consommation d'un aliment ou d'un constituant alimentaire et la santé d'une personne.

Allégation fonctionnelle s'entend d'une allégation santé qui décrit les effets physiologiques d'un aliment ou de constituants alimentaires sur les fonctions normales ou les activités biologiques de l'organisme associées à la santé ou à la performance.

Allégation thérapeutique s'entend d'une allégation qui assimilerait un aliment à un médicament ou à un produit de santé naturel (allégation pharmaceutique). Il s'agit d'une allégation au sujet du diagnostic, du traitement, de l'atténuation ou de la prévention d'une maladie, d'un désordre ou d'un état physique anormal, ou de ses symptômes, ou d'une allégation ayant trait à la correction, à la restauration ou à la modification de fonctions organiques chez l'humain. On considère que les produits qui portent ce genre d'allégations sont, de fait, présentés comme pouvant avoir un « usage thérapeutique ».

Portée

3. Le présent document s'applique aux produits fabriqués, vendus ou présentés comme pouvant servir d'aliments, au sens de l'article 2 de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues.

Il devrait être lu en parallèle avec les dispositions applicables de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et de ses règlements et de tous les autres textes de loi qui régissent les aliments, ainsi que leurs politiques et lignes directrices connexes. Les fabricants doivent respecter toutes les dispositions législatives et réglementaires pertinentes régissant les aliments et ils sont responsables de la véracité de tous les renseignements qui apparaissent sur les étiquettes et la publicité de leurs produits.

4. Le présent document ne s'applique pas aux produits de santé naturels (PSN) - qu'ils soient ou non sous forme d'un alimentNote de bas de page 1 - contenant des microorganismes probiotiques. Un produit sous forme d'aliment est généralement classé comme PSN lorsqu'un microorganisme probiotique dans le produit est présenté comme ayant un usage thérapeutique. Un tel produit est assujetti au Règlement sur les produits de santé naturels. Veuillez vous reporter au Document de référence - Classification des produits situés à la frontière entre les aliments et les produits de santé naturels : Produits sous forme d'aliments.

5. Toutefois, une allégation thérapeutique qui assimilerait un aliment à un PSN ou à un médicament peut être faite à l'égard d'un aliment à condition que le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues soit modifié en conséquence. Veuillez vous reporter à la section III du présent document pour de plus amples renseignements sur la manière de demander une telle modification du règlement.

II. Allégations santé à l'égard de microorganismes probiotiques dans des aliments

6. Les allégations santé qui sont faites à l'égard de microorganismes probiotiques dans des alimentsNote de bas de page 2 sont assujetties au paragraphe 5(1) de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et doivent être validées par la science. Le paragraphe 5 (1) de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues se lit comme suit :

« Il est interdit d'étiqueter, d'emballer, de traiter, de préparer ou de vendre un aliment - ou d'en faire la publicité - de manière fausse, trompeuse ou mensongère ou susceptible de créer une fausse impression quant à sa nature, sa valeur, sa quantité, sa composition, ses avantages ou sa sûreté. »

Dans les paragraphes ci-après de la section II, vous trouverez de l'information sur la manière de se conformer au paragraphe 5(1) de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues.

« Probiotique » et termes semblables

7. Constituent des exemplesNote de bas de page 3 d'allégations santé le terme « probiotiques » et des termes ou représentations semblables (p. ex. : « avec cultures probiotiques bénéfiques »; « contient des bactéries qui sont essentielles à la santé »; et le nom latin d'une espèce microbienne modifié pour donner l'impression d'un effet bénéfique pour la santé) employés dans un libellé ou une illustration apparaissant sur l'étiquette ou dans la publicité d'un aliment dans le but de donner l'impression que l'aliment est bénéfique pour la santé.

8. Il est recommandé que le terme « probiotiques » et les termes ou représentations semblables décrites dans le paragraphe 7 ci-dessus ne soient utilisés qu'accompagnés d'une déclaration explicite valide faisant mention des bénéfices ou des effets du probiotique présent dans l'aliment. De plus, la mise en oeuvre de cette recommandation aidera à mieux renseigner le consommateur sur l'effet bénéfique escompté.

Usage acceptable des allégations fonctionnelles

9. Des allégations fonctionnelles peuvent être faites au sujet d'effets physiologiques de microorganismes probiotiques dans des aliments (p. ex. : « favorise la régularité » et « améliore l'absorption des éléments nutritifs et aide à la digestion »).

10. Une allégation fonctionnelle est limitée à un rôle dans le maintien ou le soutien de fonctions de l'organisme associées à une bonne santé ou à une bonne performance.

11. Pour être acceptables, les allégations fonctionnelles doivent mentionner un effet physiologique précis et scientifiquement corroboré associé à une bonne santé ou à une bonne performance. Les allégations au sujet d'un effet physiologique précis fournissent davantage de renseignements utiles aux consommateurs.

12. De plus, les allégations qui font mention d'un effet général (par exemple : améliore la santé intestinale; soutient les fonctions/le système immunitaires) ne sont pas recommandées. En effet, une allégation non spécifique ou de portée générale n'est acceptable que dans le cas du rôle généralement reconnu de l'énergie et des éléments nutritifs essentiels dans le maintien des fonctions de l'organisme nécessaires à une bonne santé et à une croissance et un développement normaux.

Validation des allégations

13. Une allégation santé risque moins d'être interprétée comme contraire au paragraphe 5(1) de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues si elle s'appuie sur des éléments scientifiques comme suit :

(a) Les effets allégués ou implicites de chacune des souches probiotiques, à la dose d'apport alléguée, sont corroborés au moyen d'un examen systématique des preuves scientifiques pertinentes; et

(b) Lorsque des preuves obtenues par marqueurs sont utilisées pour corroborer l'effet bénéfique allégué ou implicite sur la santé, les marqueurs doivent être reconnus comme étant valides et biologiquement pertinents par rapport à l'allégation qui est faite.

Ainsi, les allégations fonctionnelles (par exemple : favorise la normalisation du temps de transit) sur des aliments ne sont pas considérées comme étant scientifiquement corroborées lorsque les preuves ne reposent que sur des effets thérapeutiques constatés chez des populations malades (par exemple : traitement de la diarrhée).

14. Veuillez consulter à ce sujet le document Lignes directrices pour la préparation d'une demande d'approbation d'allégations santé relatives aux aliments. Ce document fournit des directives sur les renseignements que vous devez produire et indique comment évaluer les preuves recueillies et la validité des allégations.

Publication des allégations validées

15. La Direction des aliments peut, sur demande, donner des conseils sur l'acceptabilité ou non d'allégations fonctionnelles avant leur utilisation. Lorsqu'une allégation particulière aura été jugée scientifiquement corroborée par la Direction, ce renseignement sera rendu public par le biais d'une liste d'allégations fonctionnelles acceptables, répertoriées selon la souche, pour des microorganismes probiotiques dans les aliments. L'ACIA ajoutera cette liste à son Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Guide d'étiquetage et de publicité sur les aliments.

Étiquetage d'aliments faisant l'objet d'allégations santé au sujet de probiotiques

16. Les recommandations suivantes s'appliquent à l'étiquetage des aliments qui font l'objet d'allégations santé au sujet de probiotiques.

(a) Le terme « probiotique(s) » et les termes ou représentations semblables devraient être accompagnés d'une déclaration indiquant l'effet démontré du probiotique;

(b) L'effet allégué du microorganisme probiotique dans un aliment devrait être clairement énoncé, d'une manière qui n'est pas fausse, trompeuse ou mensongère ou qui est susceptible de créer une impression erronée quant à l'effet ou au bénéfice du microorganisme probiotique dans l'aliment;

(c) Lorsqu'une allégation santé est faite, le nom latin (c'est-à-dire le genre et l'espèce) et la souche du microorganisme probiotique ou de la culture composite visé par l'allégation devraient être mentionnés;

(d) La concentration de la souche probiotique exprimée en unités formant colonies (UFC) dans une portion déterminée de l'aliment devrait être indiquée;

(e) Si plus d'une souche probiotique est ajoutée à un aliment, les recommandations ci-dessus s'appliquent à la culture composite.

III. Représentations ou allégations au sujet de l'usage thérapeutique qui sont expressément autorisées dans la partie B du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues

17. Certaines allégations au sujet de l'usage thérapeutique, notamment les allégations « pharmaceutiques », qui présenteraient un aliment comme un PSN ou comme un médicament et qui, de ce fait, entraîneraient le classement de l'aliment dans la catégorie des PSN ou des médicaments, peuvent être autorisées dans le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (articles B.01.601 à B.01.603). Ces articles, en effet, autorisent expressément de telles allégations à l'égard d'aliments par dérogation aux dispositions de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et de son règlement qui régissent les médicaments et par dérogation aux dispositions de l'article 3 de la Loi qui interdisent la publicité. Les fabricants qui souhaitent utiliser d'autres allégations santé ou de nouvelles allégations santé à l'égard d'aliments doivent donc présenter une demande à la Direction des aliments proposant d'apporter une modification au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues qui autorisera l'allégation.

18. Pour que Santé Canada examine une telle demande de modification du Règlement, le fabricant doit fournir des preuves scientifiques acceptables pour Santé Canada qui corroborent l'effet allégué de l'aliment. Le document Lignes directrices pour la préparation d'une demande d'approbation d'allégations santé relatives aux aliments, qui est également mentionné au paragraphe 14, peut être utile aux personnes qui envisagent de soumettre une telle demande.

IV. Innocuité des microorganismes probiotiques présents dans les aliments

19. Il est de la responsabilité du fabricant de l'aliment de veiller à ce que l'aliment ou les ingrédients alimentaires qu'il produit ne soient pas dangereux. L'article 4 de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues stipule ce qui suit :

« Il est interdit de vendre un aliment qui, selon le cas :
a) contient une substance toxique ou délétère, ou en est recouvert;
b) est impropre à la consommation humaine;
c) est composé, en tout ou en partie, d'une substance malpropre, putride, dégoûtante, pourrie, décomposée ou provenant d'animaux malades ou de végétaux malsains;
d) est falsifié;
e) a été fabriqué, préparé, conservé, emballé ou emmagasiné dans des conditions non hygiéniques. »

20. Les cultures bactériennes vivantes qui sont ajoutées aux aliments sont des ingrédients alimentaires au sens des dispositions « alimentaires » du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues. Si la culture utilisée n'a pas un historique d'innocuité d'emploi dans les aliments (ou si la souche est génétiquement modifiée) ou entre d'une autre manière dans la définition d'aliment nouveau qui est donnée au titre 28 de la partie B du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (voir la note à la fin du document), elle serait assujettie aux exigences prévues dans ce titre.

21. Les fabricants de denrées alimentaires qui voudraient utiliser une nouvelle technique (p. ex. la microencapsulation) pour faciliter la délivrance d'un microorganisme viable présent dans un aliment sont encouragés à communiquer avec la Direction des aliments avant le stade de la commercialisation ou de la mise sur le marché, et ce, afin de déterminer si l'utilisation qu'ils comptent faire de la technique entre dans la définition d'aliment nouveau.

22. Si des additifs alimentaires (des enzymes, par exemple) sont utilisés pour fabriquer le matériel d'encapsulation, ces additifs doivent être conformes au titre 16 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues.

23. Parmi les microorganismes auxquels sont communément attribuées des propriétés probiotiques, mentionnons les bactéries appartenant à un groupe défini grossièrement comme le groupe des bactéries lactiques et au genre Bifidobacterium. Même si un grand nombre d'espèces de bactéries lactiques et de bactéries du genre Bifidobacterium sont utilisées couramment pour diverses applications alimentaires, il est notoire que ces bactéries peuvent également présenter une résistance à divers antibiotiques et constituer, de ce fait, un réservoir éventuel de résistance aux antimicrobiens. Lorsque ces espèces sont utilisées comme probiotiques, il est impératif que le fabricant de produits alimentaires veille à ce que la souche qu'il se propose d'utiliser ne pose aucun risque important du point de vue du transfert de la résistance antimicrobienne. La Direction des aliments exigera que ces renseignements lui soient communiqués avant de se faire une opinion sur l'innocuité de la souche employée.

V. Stabilité des microorganismes probiotiques présents dans les aliments

24. Il incombe au fabricant de produits alimentaires de veiller à ce que la souche probiotique ou la culture composite présente dans l'aliment soit stable et viable, de manière à ce que le produit procure la dose déclarée dans une portion déterminée de l'aliment pendant toute sa durée de conservation. Le fabricant doit conserver de la documentation confirmant ces caractéristiques de qualité du produit.

VI. Pour communiquer avec la Direction

Les demandes de renseignements suivantes peuvent être envoyées à la Direction des aliments de Santé Canada

Questions au sujet de la justification des allégations santé :
Division de l'évaluation en nutrition
C. élec.: healthclaims-allegationssante@hc-sc.gc.ca

Questions au sujet des aliments nouveaux :
Section des aliments nouveaux
Direction des aliments, Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments
Santé Canada
251, promenade Sir Frederick Banting
Indice de l'adresse : 2204E
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9

Dossiers de demande relatifs aux aliments nouveaux ou aux allégations santé :
Unité de la gestion des demandes et de l'information
C. élec. : smiu-ugdi@hc-sc.gc.ca
Tél. : 613-960-0552
Téléc. : 613-946-4590
Adresse postale :
Direction des aliments, Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments
Santé Canada
251, promenade Sir Frederick Banting
Indice de l'adresse : 2202E
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9

Les questions au sujet de la conformité au présent document et aux autres lois alimentaires applicables et leurs règlements connexes peuvent être adressées à l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments.

Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Division de la protection des consommateurs
Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments
1400, chemin Merivale, Tour 2
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0Y9

Notes de fin de document

  1. « aliment nouveau » Selon le cas :
    1. substance, y compris un microorganisme, qui ne présente pas d'antécédents d'innocuité comme aliment;
    2. aliment qui a été fabriqué, préparé, conservé ou emballé au moyen d'un procédé qui :
      1. n'a pas été appliqué auparavant à l'aliment,
      2. fait subir à l'aliment un changement majeur;
    3. aliment dérivé d'un végétal, d'un animal ou d'un microorganisme qui, ayant été modifié génétiquement, selon le cas :
      1. présente des caractères qui n'avaient pas été observés auparavant,
      2. ne présente plus des caractères qui avaient été observés auparavant,
      3. présente un ou plusieurs caractères qui ne se trouvent plus dans les limites prévues pour ce végétal, cet animal ou ce microorganisme.

Références bibliographiques

1. FAO/OMS. 2001. Évaluation des propriétés sanitaires et nutritionnelles des probiotiques dans les aliments, y compris le lait en poudre contenant des bactéries lactiques vivantes. Rapport d'une Consultation mixte d'experts FAO/OMS sur l'évaluation des propriétés sanitaires et nutritionnelles des probiotiques dans les aliments, y compris le lait en poudre contenant des bactéries lactiques vivantes. Córdoba, Argentine, 1-4 octobre 2001.

2. FAO/OMS. 2002. Guidelines for the evaluation of probiotics in food. Report of a Joint FAO/WHO Working Group on Drafting Guidelines for the Evaluation of Probiotics in Food. London (Ontario) 30 avril - 1er mai 2002.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Un produit est « sous forme d'aliment » s'il est vendu en portions dont la grosseur concorde avec l'usage alimentaire. La gomme à mâcher, les bonbons durs, les barres de friandises et les boissons sont des exemples de produits vendus sous forme d'aliments.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Selon la Consultation d'experts organisée par l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (FAO) et l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS), les probiotiques sont des microorganismes vivants qui, lorsqu'ils sont administrés en quantité adéquate, produisent un bénéfice pour la santé de l'hôte. Dans le cas des aliments, la Consultation mixte d'experts FAO/OMS a restreint comme suit la portée de la définition : des microorganismes vivants qui, lorsqu'ils sont administrés en quantité adéquate comme composant d'un aliment, produisent un bénéfice pour la santé de l'hôte.2

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Les allégations utilisées comme exemples dans le présent document ne le sont que pour illustrer notre propos et ne doivent pas être considérées comme nécessairement acceptables ou valides.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer