Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Food and Nutrition

Nutrition North Canada

Nutrition North Canada - Nutrition Education Initiatives

Eating healthy foods is an important part of overall good health. The Nutrition North Canada Program helps make healthy fresh and frozen foods more accessible to people living in isolated northern communities.

Nutrition Education is an important part of the Nutrition North Canada Program. Health Canada is providing $2.9 million annually for culturally appropriate nutrition education activities in eligible isolated northern communities.

Nutrition Education Initiatives, supported by Health Canada, focus on increasing knowledge of healthy eating and developing skills in selecting and preparing healthy store-bought and traditional or country foods.

Community Activities under the Nutrition North Canada Program may include: nutrition workshops; healthy cooking classes for all ages; and activities in stores such as sampling healthy foods. Activities may also include training for workers and development of nutrition resource materials.

Early Successes from nutrition education initiatives show: 

  • More partnering with local stores to promote better nutrition;
  • Community members are gaining knowledge about nutrition and healthy eating, as well as developing their cooking skills;
  • Young people are being provided with nutrition-related information through on-the-land camps, school-based activities and after school programs; and
  • Coordination is taking place with other community programs and training of workers.

Health Canada is working with Next link will take you to another Web site Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) on the Next link will take you to another Web site Nutrition North Canada program which replaced the Food Mail Program on April 1, 2011.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Nutrition Nord Canada

Nutrition Nord Canada - Initiatives d'éducation en nutrition

Une alimentation saine est un volet important d'une bonne santé globale. Le programme Nutrition Nord Canada contribue à améliorer l'accès aux aliments sains, frais ou surgelés chez les personnes qui vivent dans les communautés isolées du Nord.

L'éducation en nutrition est un volet important du programme Nutrition Nord Canada. Santé Canada accorde une subvention de 2,9 millions de dollars par année pour des activités d'éducation en nutrition adaptées à la culture des communautés isolées du Nord qui sont admissibles.

Les initiatives d'éducation en nutrition, appuyées par Santé Canada, visent l'acquisition de connaissances sur la saine alimentation et des compétences requises pour choisir et préparer des aliments du commerce et traditionnels ou locaux.

Les activités communautaires du Programme Nutrition Nord Canada peuvent comprendre : des ateliers de nutrition; des cours de cuisine santé pour tous les groupes d'âge; des activités en magasin comme des dégustations d'aliments sains; la formation d'intervenant(e)s communautaires et l'élaboration de ressources éducatives sur la nutrition.

Les réussites préliminaires des initiatives d'éducation en nutrition montrent : 

  • une amélioration des liens avec les magasins locaux
  • un renforcement de l'éducation en nutrition ou saine alimentation et le développement des compétences culinaires
  • un accès élargi aux jeunes grâce à l'offre de camps sur le terrain, d'activités en milieu scolaire et de programmes après l'école
  • la coordination avec d'autres programmes communautaires et la formation des intervenant(e)s.

Santé Canada travaille avec Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) à la mise en œuvre du Programme Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Nutrition Nord Canada, qui a remplacé le Programme Aliments-poste le 1er avril 2011.