Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

Eggs - One of the ten priority food allergens

2012
Cat. No.: H164-156/3-2012E-PDF (PDF version)
ISBN: 978-1-100-21149-7 (PDF version)
HC Pub.: 120122 (PDF version)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Some of the hyperlinks provided are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Next link will take you to another Web site Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

Allergic reactions

Allergic reactions are severe adverse reactions that occur when the body's immune system overreacts to a particular allergen. These reactions may be caused by food, insect stings, latex, medications and other substances. In Canada, the ten priority food allergens are peanuts, tree nuts (almonds, Brazil nuts, cashews, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, pecans, pine nuts, pistachio nuts and walnuts), sesame seeds, milk, eggs, seafood (fish, crustaceans and shellfish), soy, wheat, sulphites (a food additive) and mustard.

What are the symptoms of an allergic reaction?

When someone comes in contact with an allergen, the symptoms of a reaction may develop quickly and rapidly progress from mild to severe. The most severe form of an allergic reaction is called anaphylaxis. Symptoms can include breathing difficulties, a drop in blood pressure or shock, which may result in loss of consciousness and even death. A person experiencing an allergic reaction may have any of the following symptoms:

  • Flushed face, hives or a rash, red and itchy skin
  • Swelling of the eyes, face, lips, throat and tongue
  • Trouble breathing, speaking or swallowing
  • Anxiety, distress, faintness, paleness, sense of doom, weakness
  • Cramps, diarrhea, vomiting
  • A drop in blood pressure, rapid heartbeat, loss of consciousness

How are food allergies and severe allergic reactions treated?

Currently there is no cure for food allergies. The only option for managing the risk is to completely avoid the specific allergen. Appropriate emergency treatment for anaphylaxis (a severe food allergy reaction) includes an injection of epinephrine, which is available in an auto-injector device. Epinephrine must be administered as soon as symptoms of a severe allergic reaction appear. The injection must be followed by further treatment and observation in a hospital emergency room. If your allergist has diagnosed you with a food allergy and prescribed Epinephrine, carry it with you all the time and know how to use it. Follow your allergist's advice on how to use an auto-injector device.

Frequently asked questions about egg allergies

I have an egg allergy. How can I avoid an egg-related reaction?

Avoid all food and products that contain egg or egg derivatives which contain egg protein. These include any product whose ingredient list warns it "may contain" or "may contain traces of" egg.

Can an egg allergy be outgrown?

Studies show that for many children with an egg allergy, the allergy will disappear within a few years. For some, however, severe egg allergy can be a life-long condition. Consult your allergist before reintroducing your child to egg products.

Can a person who is allergic to raw eggs eat cooked eggs?

Some people with a mild egg allergy can safely eat small amounts of cooked eggs, but have reactions to raw eggs. Although cooking can alter the structure of egg protein, some of the allergenic proteins are heat stable, so cooked eggs can still trigger reactions. Consult your allergist before trying any new foods that contain eggs.

Are flu and MMR shots safe for someone with an egg allergy?

Influenza vaccines are grown on egg embryos and may contain traces of egg protein. Consult your allergist before getting a flu shot. Although the MMR (measles, mumps and rubella) vaccine may also contain egg protein, it is generally considered safe for children. Again, consult your allergist.

Are there any health concerns with processed chicken meat for egg allergic consumers?

Eggs are sometimes present in the bodies of slaughtered mature female birds. Although processes such as rinsing and water-chilling help to remove traces of egg, tests have shown that residual amounts can remain in and on the carcasses of mature poultry and, therefore, in products made from mature poultry. As a result, people with a severe egg allergy have had reactions after consuming processed chicken products containing mature poultry meat. Before consuming products containing poultry meat, review labels carefully for precautionary statements warning about the possible presence of egg.

Does the source of the egg make a difference?

The proteins in eggs from chickens are very similar to those found in eggs from ducks, geese, quails and other types of eggs. Therefore, people who are allergic to eggs from chickens may also experience reactions to the eggs from other species. Consult your allergist before consuming eggs or products made from the eggs of ducks, geese, quail and other types of eggs.

How can I determine if a product contains egg or egg derivatives?

Always read the ingredient list carefully.

If eggs are part of the product formulation, they must be declared in the list of ingredients or in a separate "contains:" statement immediately following the list of ingredients.

What do I do if I am not sure whether a product contains egg or egg derivatives?

If you have an egg allergy, do not eat or use the product. Get ingredient information from the manufacturer.

Does product size affect the likelihood of an allergic reaction?

Product size does not affect the likelihood of a reaction; however, the same brand of product may be safe to consume for one product size but not another. This is because product formulation may vary between different product sizes of the same product.

Avoiding egg and egg derivatives

Make sure you read product labels carefully to avoid products that contain egg and egg derivatives. Avoid food and products that do not have an ingredient list and read labels every time you shop. Manufacturers may occasionally change their recipes or use different ingredients for varieties of the same brand.

Other names for eggs

In the past, some products have used other names for egg on their labels. These names are not permitted without the word egg also appearing on the label, based on the enhanced labelling requirements for food allergens, gluten sources and added sulphites. However, if you have an egg allergy and see one of the following in the list of ingredients on a product you should not eat it.

  • Albumin, albumen
  • Conalbumin
  • Egg substitutes, for example, Egg Beaters
  • Globulin
  • Livetin
  • Lysozyme
  • Ovo (means egg), for example, ovalbumin, ovomucin, ovotransferrin
  • Silico-albuminate
  • Vitellin

Food and products that contain or often contain eggs

  • Baked goods (including some type of breads) and baking mixes
  • Battered and fried foods
  • Cream-filled desserts, for example, custards, meringues, puddings and ice creams
  • Egg and fat substitutes
  • Fat replacers, for example, Simplesse
  • Lecithin
  • Mayonnaise
  • Meat products with fillers, for example, meatballs and meatloaf
  • Nougats, marzipan candy
  • Pasta (fresh pasta, some types of dry pasta for example, egg noodles)
  • Quiche, soufflé
  • Salad dressings, creamy dressings
  • Sauces, for example, Béarnaise, hollandaise, Newburg, tartar

Other possible sources of eggs

  • Alcoholic cocktails and drinks, for example, eggnog and whiskey sours
  • Fish mixtures, for example, surimi (used in imitation crab and lobster meat)
  • Foam and milk toppings on coffee
  • Homemade root beer mixes and malt-drink mixes
  • Icing, glazes
  • Meat products with fillers, for example, preprepared hamburger patties, hotdogs and cold cuts
  • Soups, broths and bouillons

Non-food sources of egg

  • Anesthetic, for example, Diprivan (propofol)
  • Craft materials
  • Hair-care products
  • Medications
  • Some vaccines, for example, MMR (measles, mumps and rubella)

Note: These lists are not complete and may change. Food and food products purchased from other countries, through mail-order or the Internet, are not always produced using the same manufacturing and labelling standards as in Canada.

What can I do?

Be informed

See an allergist and educate yourself about food allergies. Contact your local allergy association for further information.

If you or anyone you know has food allergies or would like to receive information about food being recalled, sign up for the Canadian Food Inspection Agency's (CFIA) free Next link will take you to another Web site e-mail "Food Recalls and Allergy Alerts" notification service. When you sign up you will automatically receive food recall public warnings.

Before eating

Allergists recommend that if you do not have your auto-injector device with you that you do not eat. If the label indicates that a product "contains:" or "may contain:" egg or egg derivatives, do not eat it. If you do not recognize an ingredient or there is no ingredient list available, avoid the product.

Watch out for allergen cross contamination!

Cross contamination is the transfer of an ingredient (food allergen) to a product that does not normally have that ingredient in it. Through cross contamination, a food that should not contain the allergen could become dangerous to eat for those who are allergic.

Cross contamination can happen:

  • during food manufacturing through shared production and packaging equipment;
  • at retail through shared equipment, e.g., cheese and deli meats sliced on the same slicer; and through bulk display of food products, e.g., bins of baked goods, bulk nuts; and
  • during food preparation at home or in restaurants through equipment, utensils and hands.

What is the Government of Canada doing about food allergens?

The Government of Canada is committed to providing safe food to all Canadians. The CFIA and Health Canada work closely with municipal, provincial and territorial partners and industry to meet this goal.

The CFIA enforces Canada's labelling laws and works with associations, distributors, food manufacturers and importers to ensure complete and appropriate labelling of all foods. The CFIA recommends that food companies establish effective allergen controls to prevent the occurrence of undeclared allergens and cross-contamination. The CFIA has developed guidelines and tools to aid them in developing these controls. When the CFIA becomes aware of a potential serious hazard associated with a food, such as undeclared allergens, the food product is recalled from the marketplace and a public warning is issued. The CFIA has also published several advisories to industry and consumers regarding allergens in food.

Health Canada has worked with the medical community, consumer associations, and the food industry to enhance labelling regulations for priority allergens, gluten sources and sulphites in pre-packaged food sold in Canada. Health Canada has amended the Food and Drug Regulations to require that the most common food and food ingredients that cause life-threatening or severe allergic reactions are always identified by their common names on food labels, allowing consumers to easily recognize them.

More information on the regulations to enhance the labelling of food allergens, gluten sources and added sulphites can be found on the Health Canada website.

If you come across a food that you think is improperly labelled, contact the CFIA and provide information about the product.

Next link will take you to another Web site Report a food safety or labelling concern.

Where can I get more information?

For more information on:

  • food allergies; and
  • subscribing to the "Food Recalls and Allergy Alerts" e-mail notification service,

visit the Next link will take you to another Web site CFIA Website or call 1-800-442-2342/TTY 1-800-465-7735 (8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Eastern time, Monday to Friday).

For information on this and other Government of Canada programs and services call

  • 1-800-O-Canada (1-800-622-6232)
  • TTY 1-800-465-7735

Below are some organizations that can provide additional allergy information:

Developed in consultation with Allergy/Asthma Information Association, Anaphylaxis Canada, Association québécoise des allergies alimentaires, Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology and Health Canada.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

OEufs - Un des dix allergènes alimentaires prioritaires

2012
N° cat. : H164-156/3-2012F-PDF (Version PDF)
ISBN : 978-1-100-99663-9 (Version PDF)
Pub. SC : 120123 (Version PDF)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Réactions allergiques

Les réactions allergiques sont des réactions indésirables graves qui surviennent lorsque le système immunitaire réagit à l'excès en présence d'un allergène particulier. Ces réactions peuvent être déclenchées par des aliments, des piqûres d'insectes, le latex, des médicaments et d'autres substances. Au Canada, les dix allergènes alimentaires prioritaires sont les arachides, les noix (amandes, noix du Brésil, noix de cajou, noisettes, noix de macadamia, pacanes, pignons, pistaches et noix), les graines de sésame, le lait, les oeufs, les fruits de mer (poisson, crustacés et mollusques), le soja, le blé, les sulfites (à titre d'additif alimentaire) et la moutarde.

Quels sont les symptômes d'une réaction allergique?

Lorsqu'une personne est exposée à un allergène, les symptômes d'une réaction peuvent se manifester rapidement et en peu de temps, des symptômes bénins peuvent s'aggraver. La forme la plus grave de la réaction allergique se nomme anaphylaxie. Les difficultés respiratoires, une chute de la tension artérielle avec un état de choc font partie de ces symptômes. Ceux-ci peuvent entraîner une perte de connaissance et même le décès. Chez une personne victime d'une réaction avec un allergique, les symptômes suivants peuvent se manifester :

  • Bouffée de chaleur au visage, urticaire ou éruption cutanée, rougeur et démangeaison de la peau
  • Gonflement des yeux, du visage, des lèvres, de la gorge et de la langue
  • Difficultés à respirer, à parler ou à avaler
  • Anxiété, détresse, malaise, pâleur, oppression et faiblesse
  • Crampes, diarrhée ou vomissements
  • Chute de la tension artérielle, accélération du rythme cardiaque ou évanouissement

Comment les allergies alimentaires et les réactions allergiques graves sont-elles traitées?

Actuellement, il n'existe pas de traitement pour les allergies alimentaires. La seule façon de gérer le risque consiste à éviter complètement l'allergène en cause. En présence d'anaphylaxie (réaction allergique grave), le traitement d'urgence consiste en une injection d'épinéphrine, offerte en auto-injecteur. L'épinéphrine doit être injectée aussitôt que les symptômes de réaction allergique grave se manifestent. L'injection doit être suivie d'autres traitements et d'une période d'observation en salle d'urgence à l'hôpital. Si votre allergologue vous a informé d'un diagnostic d'allergie alimentaire et vous a remis une ordonnance d'épinéphrine, conservez l'auto-injecteur sous la main en tout temps et apprenez à l'utiliser correctement. Suivez les conseils de votre allergologue sur la façon d'utiliser l'auto-injecteur.

Foire aux questions au sujet de l'allergie aux oeufs

Je suis allergique aux oeufs. Comment puis-je éviter une réaction provoquée par les oeufs?

Évitez tous les aliments et les produits qui contiennent des oeufs ou des dérivés d'oeuf contenant des protéines d'oeuf. Ceux-ci comprennent tous les produits dont l'étiquette indique « peut contenir » ou « peut contenir des traces » d'oeufs.

Peut-on se débarrasser d'une allergie aux oeufs avec le temps?

Les études montrent que chez de nombreux enfants souffrant d'une allergie aux oeufs, l'allergie disparaîtra en quelques années. Cependant, certains peuvent être atteints d'une allergie grave aux oeufs la vie durant. Consultez votre allergologue avant de réintroduire des produits qui contiennent des oeufs dans l'alimentation de votre enfant.

Une personne allergique aux oeufs crus peut-elle manger des oeufs cuits?

Certaines personnes souffrant d'une allergie aux oeufs modérée peuvent manger de petites quantités d'oeufs cuits sans danger, mais ont des réactions aux oeufs crus. Même si la cuisson peut modifier la structure de la protéine des oeufs, certaines des protéines allergènes restent stables à la chaleur. Pour cette raison, les oeufs cuits peuvent quand même déclencher des réactions. Consultez votre allergologue avant d'essayer un nouvel aliment qui contient des oeufs.

Ceux qui souffrent d'allergies aux oeufs peuvent-ils recevoir le vaccin antigrippal et le vaccin ROR sans danger?

Les vaccins antigrippaux sont cultivés sur des cellules d'embryons de poulet et peuvent contenir des traces de protéines d'oeufs. Consultez votre allergologue avant de recevoir un vaccin antigrippal. On considère que le vaccin ROR (rougeole-oreillons-rubéole), lequel peut contenir des protéines d'oeufs, est généralement sans danger pour les enfants. Là encore, consultez votre allergologue.

Le poulet transformé suscite-t-il des préoccupations pour la santé des consommateurs allergiques aux oeufs?

On trouve parfois des oeufs dans les carcasses des volailles femelles adultes d'abattoir. Même si les processus tels que le rinçage et le refroidissement à l'eau contribuent à éliminer les traces d'oeufs, les analyses ont démontré qu'il peut en subsister des quantités résiduelles à l'intérieur des carcasses de volaille adulte et sur les carcasses, et donc, dans les produits fabriqués à partir de volaille adulte. Par conséquent, certaines personnes souffrant d'une allergie grave aux oeufs ont subi des réactions après avoir consommé des produits transformés à base de poulet contenant de la viande de volaille adulte. Avant de consommer des produits contenant de la viande de volaille, examinez attentivement les étiquettes pour y repérer les mises en garde faisant état de la présence possible d'oeufs.

Est-ce que l'origine des oeufs change quelque chose?

Les protéines des oeufs de poules s'apparentent beaucoup à celles des oeufs de canes, d'oies, de cailles et d'autres types de volailles. Par conséquent, les personnes allergiques aux oeufs de poules peuvent également subir des réactions aux oeufs d'autres espèces. Consultez votre allergologue avant de consommer des oeufs ou des produits à base d'oeufs de canes, d'oies, de cailles et d'autres types de volailles.

Comment puis-je déterminer si un produit contient des oeufs ou des dérivés d'oeufs?

Lisez toujours attentivement la liste des ingrédients.

Si des oeufs entrent dans la composition du produit, leur présence doit être déclarée dans la liste des ingrédients ou dans une mention « contient » suivant immédiatement la liste des ingrédients.

Que dois-je faire si je n'arrive pas à savoir si un produit contient des oeufs ou des dérivés d'oeufs?

Si vous êtes allergique aux oeufs, ne consommez pas et n'utilisez pas le produit en question. Adressez-vous au fabricant pour obtenir des renseignements sur les ingrédients qu'il contient.

Le format de l'emballage du produit influe-t-il sur la probabilité qu'une réaction allergique survienne?

Il n'a pas d'influence sur la probabilité de survenue d'une réaction. Cependant, dans un format particulier, le produit peut ne présenter aucun danger, alors que dans un autre format, il peut en aller autrement. En effet, d'un format de produit à un autre, la composition peut varier.

Éviter les oeufs et leurs dérivés

Ne manquez pas de lire attentivement les étiquettes afin d'éviter les produits qui contiennent des oeufs et des dérivés d'oeufs. Évitez les aliments et les produits sans liste d'ingrédients et lisez les étiquettes chaque fois que vous vous procurez des aliments. Il est possible que les fabricants modifient leur recette de temps à autre ou qu'ils utilisent des ingrédients différents dans une autre variété du même produit de la même marque.

Autres noms des oeufs

Par le passé, certains fabricants désignaient les oeufs par d'autres noms sur l'étiquette de leurs produits. À présent, en vertu des exigences plus rigoureuses à l'égard de l'étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires, des sources de gluten et des sulfites ajoutés, il est interdit d'y recourir, et le mot oeuf doit y figurer. Cependant, si vous êtes allergique aux oeufs et que vous voyez l'un des termes suivants dans la liste des ingrédients d'un produit, n'en consommez pas :

  • Albumine, albumen
  • Conalbumine
  • Substituts des oeufs, par exemple Egg Beaters
  • Globuline
  • Livetine
  • Lysozyme
  • Ovo (qui signifie oeuf), par exemple ovalbumine, ovomucine, ovotransferrine
  • Silico-albuminate
  • Vitelline

Les aliments et les produits qui contiennent des oeufs ou qui en contiennent souvent

  • Produits de boulangerie et de pâtisserie (notamment certains types de pains) et préparations pour pâte
  • Aliments en pâte frits
  • Desserts fourrés à la crème, les crèmes pâtissières, les meringues, les poudings au lait et les crèmes glacées.
  • Substituts des oeufs et de matière grasse
  • Substitut de matière grasse, comme Simplesse
  • Lécithine
  • Mayonnaises
  • Produits de viande contenant des agents de remplissage, par exemple boulettes et pain de viande
  • Nougats, sucreries à la pâte d'amandes
  • Pâtes (pâtes fraîches, certains types de pâtes sèches comme les nouilles aux oeufs)
  • Quiches, soufflés
  • Sauces pour salade, sauces crémeuses pour salade
  • Sauces, par exemple, béarnaise, hollandaise, Newburg, tartare

Autres sources éventuelles d'oeufs

  • Cocktails et boissons alcoolisés, par exemple lait de poule et whisky sour
  • Mélanges à base de poissons, par exemple surimi (utilisé comme simili-crabe et simili-homard)
  • Mousse et autres garnitures à base de lait sur les cafés
  • Mélanges maison de bière de racinette et de boisson maltée
  • Glaçages
  • Produits à base de viande contenant des agents de remplissage, par exemple galettes de boeuf haché, saucisses de Francfort et viandes froides
  • Soupes, consommés et bouillons

Sources d'oeufs non alimentaires

  • Anesthésique, par exemple, le Diprivan (Propofol)
  • Matériaux d'artisanat
  • Produits de soin capillaire
  • Médicaments
  • Certains vaccins, par exemple, le ROR (rougeole, oreillons et rubéole)

Remarque : Ces listes ne sont pas exhaustives et peuvent être modifiées. Les aliments et les produits alimentaires d'autres pays, qui sont achetés par la poste ou par Internet, ne respectent pas toujours les normes canadiennes en matière de fabrication et d'étiquetage.

Que puis-je faire?

Informez-vous

Rencontrez un allergologue et éduquez-vous au sujet des allergies. Communiquez avec votre association locale de personnes allergiques pour obtenir plus de renseignements.

Si vous ou une personne de votre entourage êtes atteints d'allergies alimentaires ou souhaitez recevoir de l'information au sujet des rappels d'aliments, Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web abonnez-vous gratuitement aux Rappels d'aliments et alertes à l'allergie électroniques transmis par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA). En vous y abonnant, vous recevrez automatiquement les avis publics au sujet des rappels d'aliments.

Avant de manger

Selon les allergologues, ne mangez pas si vous n'avez pas votre auto-injecteur sous la main. Si selon une étiquette, le produit « contient » ou « peut contenir » des oeufs ou des dérivés des oeufs, n'en mangez pas. Si un ingrédient vous est étranger ou en l'absence d'une liste des ingrédients, évitez le produit.

Méfiez-vous des contaminations croisées!

Une contamination croisée est le transfert d'un ingrédient (allergène alimentaire) à un produit qui, normalement, n'en contient pas. À la suite d'une contamination croisée, un aliment qui ne devrait pas contenir un allergène donné peut devenir dangereux pour les personnes qui y sont allergiques.

Une contamination croisée peut survenir :

  • pendant la fabrication des aliments lorsque de l'équipement de production ou d'emballage est utilisé pour plus d'un produit;
  • dans les établissements de vente au détail, par exemple par les fromages et les charcuteries tranchés au moyen du même appareil ou par la présentation en vrac de produits alimentaires, par exemple des contenants de produits de boulangeries et de pâtisseries, des noix en vrac, etc.
  • pendant la préparation des aliments à la maison ou au restaurant par l'équipement, les ustensiles ou les mains.

Quelles sont les démarches entreprises par le gouvernement du Canada à l'égard des allergènes alimentaires?

Le gouvernement du Canada tient à assurer la salubrité des aliments consommés par tous les Canadiens. Afin d'atteindre cet objectif, l'ACIA et Santé Canada collaborent étroitement avec leurs partenaires municipaux, provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi qu'avec le secteur d'activité.

L'ACIA veille à l'application de ces lois sur l'étiquetage et travaille de concert avec les associations, les distributeurs, les fabricants et les importateurs d'aliments afin de faire en sorte que les étiquettes de tous les aliments soient complètes et adéquates. L'ACIA recommande que les entreprises du secteur de l'alimentation établissent des contrôles efficaces des allergènes afin de faire obstacle à la présence d'allergènes non déclarés et à la contamination croisée. L'ACIA a élaboré des lignes directrices et des outils pour les aider à mettre en oeuvre ces mesures de contrôle. Lorsque l'ACIA apprend qu'un aliment pourrait représenter un danger grave, s'il contient un allergène non déclaré par exemple, l'agence prend les mesures nécessaires pour que le produit soit retiré du marché et publie un avertissement public. L'ACIA a aussi publié plusieurs avis sur les allergènes dans les aliments à l'intention de l'industrie et des consommateurs.

Santé Canada collabore avec la profession médicale, les associations de consommateurs et l'industrie alimentaire pour améliorer le règlement sur l'étiquetage afin que la présence des allergènes prioritaires, des sources de gluten et des sulfites soit indiquée sur l'étiquette des aliments préemballés vendus au Canada. Santé Canada a modifié le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues de façon à ce qu'il exige que la plupart des aliments et des ingrédients alimentaires courants qui peuvent provoquer des réactions allergiques graves ou mettant la vie en péril figurent toujours par leur nom usuel sur l'étiquette des aliments, ce qui permet aux consommateurs de les repérer facilement.

Plus de renseignements sur le règlement visant à améliorer l'étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires, les sources de gluten et les sulfites ajoutés sont publiés sur le site Web de Santé Canada.

Si vous apercevez un aliment qui, selon vous, n'est pas étiqueté correctement, vous pouvez communiquer avec l'ACIA et lui fournir l'information sur le produit.

Pour Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web signaler une préoccupation en matière d'étiquetage ou de salubrité des aliments.

Où puis-je obtenir plus d'information?

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur :

  • les allergies alimentaires; et
  • s'abonner aux services d'avis électroniques Rappels d'aliments et alertes à l'allergie,

veuillez Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web visiter le site Web de l'ACIA ou composez le 1 800 442-2342/TTY 1 800 465-7735 (de 8 h à 20 h, heure de l'Est, du lundi au vendredi).

Pour de l'information sur les allergies alimentaires et sur les autres programmes et services mis en oeuvre par le gouvernement du Canada, composez le

  • 1 800 O-Canada (1 800 622-6232)
  • TTY 1 800 465-7735

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des organisations qui peuvent vous communiquer des renseignements additionnels sur les allergies :

Conçu en consultation avec l'Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme, Anaphylaxie Canada, l'Association Québécoise des Allergies Alimentaires, la Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology et avec Santé Canada.