Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

Seafood* (Fish, Crustaceans and Shellfish) - One of the ten priority food allergens

2012
Cat. No. H164-156/5-2012E-PDF
ISBN 978-1-100-21154-1HC
Pub.: 120126

* In this pamphlet, the term seafood refers to all edible fish, crustaceans and shellfish from fresh and salt water.

Some of the hyperlinks provided are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Next link will take you to another Web site Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Allergic reactions

Allergic reactions are severe adverse reactions that occur when the body's immune system overreacts to a particular allergen. These reactions may be caused by food, insect stings, latex, medications and other substances. In Canada, the ten priority food allergens are peanuts, tree nuts (almonds, Brazil nuts, cashews, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, pecans, pine nuts, pistachio nuts and walnuts), sesame seeds, milk, eggs, seafood (fish, crustaceans and shellfish), soy, wheat, sulphites (a food additive) and mustard.

What are the symptoms of an allergic reaction?

When someone comes in contact with an allergen, the symptoms of a reaction may develop quickly and rapidly progress from mild to severe. The most severe form of an allergic reaction is called anaphylaxis. Symptoms can include breathing difficulties, a drop in blood pressure or shock, which may result in loss of consciousness and even death. A person experiencing an allergic reaction may have any of the following symptoms:

  • Flushed face, hives or a rash, red and itchy skin
  • Swelling of the eyes, face, lips, throat and tongue
  • Trouble breathing, speaking or swallowing
  • Anxiety, distress, faintness, paleness, sense of doom, weakness
  • Cramps, diarrhea, vomiting
  • A drop in blood pressure, rapid heartbeat, loss of consciousness

How are food allergies and severe allergic reactions treated?

Currently there is no cure for food allergies. The only option for managing the risk is to completely avoid the specific allergen. Appropriate emergency treatment for anaphylaxis (a severe food allergy reaction) includes an injection of epinephrine, which is available in an auto-injector device. Epinephrine must be administered as soon as symptoms of a severe allergic reaction appear. The injection must be followed by further treatment and observation in a hospital emergency room. If your allergist has diagnosed you with a food allergy and prescribed Epinephrine, carry it with you all the time and know how to use it. Follow your allergist's advice on how to use an auto-injector device.

Frequently asked questions about seafood allergies

What is the difference between crustaceans and shellfish?

Crustaceans are aquatic animals that have jointed legs, a hard shell and no backbone, such as crab, crayfish, lobster, prawns and shrimp. Shellfish (also known as molluscs) have a hinged two-part shell and include clams, mussels, oysters and scallops, and various types of octopus, snails and squid.

How can I avoid a fish, crustacean or shellfish-related reaction if I'm allergic to these foods?

Avoid all food and products that contain fish, crustacean or shellfish and their derivatives. These include any product whose ingredient list warns it "may contain" or "may contain traces of " fish, crustaceans or shellfish. Fish, crustacean and shellfish will be listed on the label of prepackaged foods using their common names (e.g., tuna, salmon, lobster, crab, clam, oyster, etc.)

Who is affected by seafood allergies?

Crustacean and shellfish allergies predominantly affect adults and are rare among young children. In North America, fish allergies are more predominant in adults, while in countries where fish is a dietary staple, fish allergies are common among both adults and children. Allergies to fish, crustaceans and shellfish are usually lifelong conditions.

Are fish oils (omega -3) safe for seafood allergic consumers?

People who are allergic to fish or other seafood may not need to avoid fish oil. Fish oils on the market tend to be refined enough to remove all of the proteins that can trigger allergic reactions. However, you should consult your allergist before eating anything made with fish oils.

What is the difference between a fish, crustacean or shellfish allergy and histamine poisoning (scombroid poisoning)?

Although allergic reactions and histamine poisoning can cause similar symptoms, they are different issues. Allergies to fish, crustacean and shellfish proteins cause an allergic person's immune system to react abnormally.

Histamine is produced when some species of fish-such as anchovies, mackerel, mahi-mahi and tuna-decompose. Dangerous levels of histamine can develop when these fish are improperly handled. Histamine is toxic to everyone at high doses. If you experience symptoms such as rash, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, headache, dizziness, burning throat, stomach pain, itchy skin or tingling after consuming these fish, seek emergency medical treatment.

If I am allergic to one type of seafood will I be allergic to another?

People with allergies to one type of seafood, like fish, crustaceans (lobster, crab, etc.) and shellfish (oysters, mollusks, etc.), may not be allergic to other kinds of seafood. Studies suggest that seafood allergies tend to fall within groups. In fact, many people are only allergic to a single type of seafood. For example, some people can eat fish safely but react to crustaceans such as crab and lobster. If you're allergic to one type of seafood such as fish, consult your allergist before trying other types, such as crustaceans and shellfish.

Can I have a seafood-related reaction even if I do not eat or use seafood and seafood derivatives?

People with a severe fish, crustacean and shellfish allergy can experience allergic reactions even without eating these foods. Exposure to proteins carried in cooking vapours (such as sizzling fish or steam from a lobster pot), and on dishes used to prepare and present these foods (such as sizzling skillets) have been reported to trigger an allergic reaction.

What do I do if I am not sure whether a product contains seafood or seafood derivatives?

If you have a seafood allergy, do not eat or use the product. Get ingredient information from the manufacturer.

Does product size affect the likelihood of an allergic reaction?

Product size does not affect the likelihood of a reaction; however, the same brand of product may be safe to consume for one product size but not another. This is because product formulation may vary between different product sizes of the same product.

Watch out for allergen cross contamination!

Cross contamination is the transfer of an ingredient (food allergen) to a product that does not normally have that ingredient in it. Through cross contamination, a food that should not contain the allergen could become dangerous to eat for those who are allergic.

Cross contamination can happen:

  • during food manufacturing through shared production and packaging equipment;
  • at retail through shared equipment, e.g., cheese and deli meats sliced on the same slicer; and through bulk display of food products, e.g., bins of baked goods, bulk nuts; and
  • during food preparation at home or in restaurants through equipment, utensils and hands.

Avoiding seafood and seafood derivatives

Make sure you read product labels carefully to avoid products that contain seafood and seafood derivatives. Avoid food and products that do not have an ingredient list and read labels every time you shop. Manufacturers may occasionally change their recipes or use different ingredients for varieties of the same brand. Refer to the following list before shopping:

Most common fishes

Anchovy, basa, bass, bluefish, bream, carp, catfish (channel cat, mudcat), char, chub, cisco, cod, eel, flounder, grouper, haddock, hake, halibut, herring, mackerel, mahi-mahi, marlin, monkfish (angler fish, lotte), orange roughy, perch, pickerel (dore, walleye), pike, plaice, pollock, pompano, porgy, rockfish, salmon, sardine, shark, smelt, snapper, sole, sturgeon, swordfish, tilapia (St. Peter's fish), trout, tuna (albacore, bonito), turbot, white fish, whiting.

Most common crustaceans

Crab, crayfish (crawfish, écrevisse), lobster (langouste, langoustine, coral, tomalley), prawns, shrimp (crevette).

Most common shellfish

Abalone, clam, cockle, conch, limpets, mussels, octopus, oysters, periwinkle, quahaugs, scallops, land and sea snails (escargot), squid (calamari), whelks.

Other examples of seafood

Caviar and roe (unfertilized fish eggs), kamaboko (imitation crab and lobster meat), surimi (used to make imitation crab and lobster meat), sushi and tarama (salted carp roe).

Sources of seafood

Food and products that contain or often contain seafood

  • Ethnic foods, for example, fried rice, paella and spring rolls
  • Garnishes, for example, antipasto, caponata (Sicilian relish)
  • Gelatin, marshmallows
  • Pizza toppings
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, for example, marinara, Nuoc Mâm, steak and Worcestershire
  • Seafood soups and broths
  • Spreads, for example, taramasalata
  • Sushi (California rolls)

Other possible sources of seafood

  • Deli meats, hot dogs (from gelatin)
  • Dips, spreads
  • Fried foods (from contaminated frying oil)

Non-food sources of seafood

  • Compost or fertilizers
  • Fish food
  • Lip balm, lip gloss
  • Pet food

Note: These lists are not complete and may change. Food and food products purchased from other countries, through mail-order or the Internet, are not always produced using the same manufacturing and labelling standards as in Canada.

What can I do?

Be informed

See an allergist and educate yourself about food allergies. Contact your local allergy association for further information.

If you or anyone you know has food allergies or would like to receive information about food being recalled, sign up for the Canadian Food Inspection Agency's (CFIA) Next link will take you to another Web site free e-mail "Food Recalls and Allergy Alerts" notification service. When you sign up you will automatically receive food recall public warnings.

Before eating

Allergists recommend that if you do not have your auto-injector device with you that you do not eat. If the label indicates that a product "contains:" or "may contain:" seafood or seafood derivatives, do not eat it. If you do not recognize an ingredient or there is no ingredient list available, avoid the product.

What is the Government of Canada doing about food allergens?

The Government of Canada is committed to providing safe food to all Canadians. The CFIA and Health Canada work closely with municipal, provincial and territorial partners and industry to meet this goal.

The CFIA enforces Canada's labelling laws and works with associations, distributors, food manufacturers and importers to ensure complete and appropriate labelling of all foods. The CFIA recommends that food companies establish effective allergen controls to prevent the occurrence of undeclared allergens and cross-contamination. The CFIA has developed guidelines and tools to aid them in developing these controls. When the CFIA becomes aware of a potential serious hazard associated with a food, such as undeclared allergens, the food product is recalled from the marketplace and a public warning is issued. The CFIA has also published several advisories to industry and consumers regarding allergens in food.

Health Canada has worked with the medical community, consumer associations, and the food industry to enhance labelling regulations for priority allergens, gluten sources and sulphites in pre-packaged food sold in Canada. Health Canada has amended the Food and Drug Regulations to require that the most common food and food ingredients that cause life-threatening or severe allergic reactions are always identified by their common names on food labels, allowing consumers to easily recognize them.

More information on the regulations to enhance the labelling of food allergens, gluten sources and added sulphites can be found on the Health Canada website.

If you come across a food that you think is improperly labelled, contact the CFIA and provide information about the product.

Next link will take you to another Web site Report a food safety or labelling concern.

Where can I get more information?

For more information on:

  • food allergies; and
  • subscribing to the "Food Recalls and Allergy Alerts" e-mail notification service

visit the Next link will take you to another Web site CFIA Website or call 1-800-442-2342/TTY 1-800-465-7735 (8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Eastern time, Monday to Friday).

For information on this and other Government of Canada programs and services call

  • 1 800 O-Canada (1-800-622-6232)
  • TTY 1-800-465-7735

Below are some organizations that can provide additional allergy information:

Developed in consultation with Allergy/Asthma Information Association, Anaphylaxis Canada, Association québécoise des allergies alimentaires, Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology and Health Canada.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Fruits de mer* (le poisson, les crustacés et les mollusques) - Un des dix allergènes alimentaires prioritaires

2012
N° cat. : H164-156/5-2012F-PDF
ISBN : 978-1-100-99668-4Pub.
SC : 120127

* Dans le présent document, le terme fruits de mer désigne l'ensemble des poissons, des crustacés et des mollusques comestibles pêchés dans les eaux douces et les eaux salées.

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Réactions allergiques

Les réactions allergiques sont des réactions indésirables graves qui surviennent lorsque le système immunitaire réagit à l'excès en présence d'un allergène particulier. Ces réactions peuvent être déclenchées par des aliments, des piqûres d'insectes, le latex, des médicaments et d'autres substances. Au Canada, les dix allergènes alimentaires prioritaires sont les arachides, les noix (amandes, noix du Brésil, noix de cajou, noisettes, noix de macadamia, pacanes, pignons, pistaches et noix), les graines de sésame, le lait, les oeufs, les fruits de mer (poisson, crustacés et mollusques), le soja, le blé, les sulfites (à titre d'additif alimentaire) et la moutarde.

Quels sont les symptômes d'une réaction allergique?

Lorsqu'une personne est exposée à un allergène, les symptômes d'une réaction peuvent se manifester rapidement et en peu de temps, des symptômes bénins peuvent s'aggraver. La forme la plus grave de la réaction allergique se nomme anaphylaxie. Les difficultés respiratoires, une chute de la tension artérielle avec un état de choc font partie de ces symptômes. Ceux-ci peuvent entraîner une perte de connaissance et même le décès. Chez une personne victime d'une réaction allergique, les symptômes suivants peuvent se manifester :

  • Bouffée de chaleur au visage, urticaire ou éruption cutanée, rougeur et démangeaison de la peau
  • Gonflement des yeux, du visage, des lèvres, de la gorge et de la langue
  • Difficultés à respirer, à parler ou à avaler
  • Anxiété, détresse, malaise, pâleur, oppression et faiblesse
  • Crampes, diarrhée ou vomissements
  • Chute de la tension artérielle, accélération du rythme cardiaque ou évanouissement

Comment les allergies alimentaires et les réactions allergiques graves sont-elles traitées?

Actuellement, il n'existe pas de traitement pour les allergies alimentaires. La seule façon de gérer le risque consiste à éviter complètement l'allergène en cause. En présence d'anaphylaxie (réaction allergique grave), le traitement d'urgence consiste en une injection d'épinéphrine, offerte en auto-injecteur. L'épinéphrine doit être injectée aussitôt que les symptômes de réaction allergique grave se manifestent. L'injection doit être suivie d'autres traitements et d'une période d'observation en salle d'urgence à l'hôpital. Si votre allergologue vous a informé d'un diagnostic d'allergie alimentaire et vous a remis une ordonnance d'épinéphrine, conservez l'auto-injecteur sous la main en tout temps et apprenez à l'utiliser correctement. Suivez les conseils de votre allergologue sur la façon d'utiliser l'auto-injecteur.

Foire aux questions au sujet de l'allergie aux fruits de mer

Quelle est la différence entre les crustacés et les mollusques

Les crustacés sont des animaux aquatiques dotés de pattes articulées, d'une carapace rigide et d'un corps mou, le crabe, l'écrevisse, le homard et la crevette en sont des exemples. Quant aux mollusques, ils sont munis d'une coquille articulée en deux parties et comptent les palourdes, les moules, les huîtres, les pétoncles et différentes espèces de pieuvres, d'escargots et de calmars.

Je suis allergique au poisson et aux fruits de mer. Comment puis-je éviter une réaction provoquée par ces aliments?

Évitez tous les aliments et les produits qui contiennent du poisson, des crustacés ou des mollusques et leurs dérivés. Ces derniers comprennent tout produit dont la liste d'ingrédients porte la mention « peut contenir » du poisson, des crustacés ou des mollusques ou « peut contenir des traces » de poisson, de crustacés ou de mollusques. Sur l'étiquette des aliments préemballés, le poisson, les crustacés et les mollusques figurent par leur nom usuel (p. ex., thon, saumon, homard, crabe, palourde, huître, etc.).

Quelles sont les personnes touchées par les allergies aux fruits de mer?

Les allergies aux crustacés et aux mollusques touchent principalement les adultes et rarement les jeunes enfants. En Amérique du Nord, les allergies au poisson sont plus répandues chez les adultes, tandis que dans les pays où le poisson est un aliment de base, les allergies au poisson sont courantes à la fois chez les adultes et chez les enfants. Les allergies au poisson, aux crustacés et aux mollusques sont habituellement chroniques.

Est-ce que les huiles de poisson (oméga-3) sont sans danger pour les consommateurs allergiques aux fruits de mer?

Les personnes allergiques au poisson et aux fruits de mer n'ont pas nécessairement à éviter l'huile de poisson. Les huiles de poisson vendues sur le marché sont généralement suffisamment raffinées pour en retirer toutes les protéines susceptibles de provoquer des réactions allergiques. Toutefois, il convient de consulter votre allergologue avant de consommer un aliment préparé avec de l'huile de poisson.

Qu'est-ce qui distingue une allergie au poisson, aux crustacés ou aux mollusques d'une intoxication à l'histamine (scombroïdose)?

Même si les réactions allergiques et l'intoxication à l'histamine peuvent provoquer des symptômes semblables, il s'agit de troubles différents. Les allergies aux protéines de poisson, de crustacés et de mollusques provoquent une réaction anormale du système immunitaire de la personne allergique.

L'histamine est produite quand la chair de certaines espèces de poisson se décompose, telles que l'anchois, le maquereau, le mahi-mahi et le thon. Des teneurs menaçantes en histamine peuvent se former lorsque ces poissons ne sont pas manipulés correctement. L'histamine est toxique pour tout le monde lorsque consommée en grande quantité. Si vous souffrez de symptômes tels que des éruptions cutanées, de la nausée, des vomissements, de la diarrhée, des maux de tête, des vertiges, des brûlures à la gorge, des douleurs d'estomac, des démangeaisons ou des picotements après avoir consommé ces poissons, vous devez réclamer des soins médicaux en urgence.

Si je suis allergique à un type de fruits de mer, serai-je également allergique aux autres types?

Les personnes allergiques à un type de fruits de mer comme le poisson, les crustacés (homard, crabe, etc.) et les mollusques (huîtres, etc.), peuvent ne pas être allergiques à d'autres types de fruits de mer. Les études donnent à penser que les allergies aux fruits de mer tendent à se manifester au sein de groupes. De fait, beaucoup de gens ne sont allergiques qu'à un seul type de fruits de mer. Par exemple, certaines personnes peuvent manger du poisson sans aucun danger, mais subissent des réactions allergiques aux crustacés tels que le crabe ou le homard. Si vous êtes allergique à un fruit de mer particulier, comme le poisson, consultez un allergologue avant de consommer des crustacés ou des mollusques.

Est-il possible que j'aie une réaction allergique même si je ne consomme ou n'utilise aucun produit contenant des fruits de mer ou des dérivés de fruits de mer?

Les personnes souffrant d'une allergie grave au poisson, aux crustacés et aux mollusques peuvent subir des réactions allergiques même sans en avoir mangé. On a signalé que l'exposition aux protéines se retrouvant dans les vapeurs de cuisson (p. ex., grésillement du poisson ou vapeur de l'eau de cuisson du homard) et sur les plats ayant servi à préparer et à servir les aliments (comme les poêles à frire) peuvent déclencher des réactions allergiques.

Que dois-je faire si je n'arrive pas à savoir si un produit contient ou non des fruits de mer ou des dérivés de fruits de mer?

Si vous êtes allergique aux fruits de mer, ne consommez pas et n'utilisez pas le produit en question. Adressez-vous au fabricant pour obtenir des renseignements sur les ingrédients qu'il contient.

Le format de l'emballage du produit influe-t-il sur la probabilité qu'une réaction allergique survienne?

Il n'a pas d'influence sur la probabilité de survenue d'une réaction. Cependant, dans un format particulier, le produit peut ne présenter aucun danger, alors que dans un autre format, il peut en aller autrement. En effet, d'un format de produit à un autre, la composition peut varier.

Méfiez-vous des contaminations croisées!

Une contamination croisée est le transfert d'un ingrédient (allergène alimentaire) à un produit qui, normalement, n'en contient pas. À la suite d'une contamination croisée, un aliment qui ne devrait pas contenir un allergène donné peut devenir dangereux pour les personnes qui y sont allergiques.

Une contamination croisée peut survenir :

  • pendant la fabrication des aliments lorsque de l'équipement de production ou d'emballage est utilisé pour plus d'un produit;
  • dans les établissements de vente au détail, par exemple par les fromages et les charcuteries tranchés au moyen du même appareil ou par la présentation en vrac de produits alimentaires, par exemple des contenants de produits de boulangeries et de pâtisseries, des noix en vrac, etc.;
  • pendant la préparation des aliments à la maison ou au restaurant par l'équipement, les ustensiles ou les mains.

Éviter les fruits de mer et les dérivés de fruits de mer

Ne manquez pas de lire l'étiquette attentivement afin d'éviter les produits qui contiennent des fruits de mer et des dérivés de fruits de mer. Évitez les aliments et les produits sans liste d'ingrédients et lisez les étiquettes chaque fois que vous vous procurez des aliments. Il est possible que les fabricants modifient leur recette de temps à autre ou qu'ils utilisent des ingrédients différents dans une autre variété du même produit de la même marque. Veuillez -vous reporter à la liste qui suit avant d'acheter un produit :

Poissons les plus courants

Achigan, aiglefin, anchois, anguille, baudroie (crapaud de mer, lotte), brème, brochet, carpe, chevaine, cisco, doré jaune (doré, doré commun), éperlan, espadon, esturgeon, flétan, goberge, hareng, hoplostète orange, limande à queue jaune, mahi-mahi, makaire, maquereau, merlan, merluche, mérou, morue, omble, perche, plie, poisson-chat (barbue de rivière, poisson-chat tacheté), poisson maigre, pompano, requin, sardine, saumon, sébaste, sole, sparidé, tassergal (poisson bleu), thon (albacore, bonite), tilapia (St Pierre), truite, turbot, vivaneau.

Crustacés les plus courants

Crabe, crevette, écrevisse, homard (langouste, langoustine, corail, tomalli).

Mollusques les plus courants

Bigorneau, bourgot, calmar (encornet), conque, coque, limace de mer et limaçon (escargot), huître, moule, oreille de mer, palourde, palourde américaine, patelle, pétoncle, pieuvre (calmar).

Autres exemples de fruits de mer

Caviar et corail (oeufs de poisson non fertilisés), kamaboko (simili-crabe et simili-homard), surimi (simili-crabe et simili-homard), sushi et tarama (oeufs de carpe salés).

Sources de fruits de mer

Aliments et produits qui contiennent des fruits de mer ou qui en contiennent souvent

  • Aliments ethniques, par exemple riz frit, paella et nems
  • Garnitures, par exemple antipasto, caponata (sorte de relish sicilienne)
  • Gélatine, guimauve
  • Garnitures de pizza
  • Sauces à salade
  • Sauces, par exemple marinara, Nuoc Mâm, sauce à steak et sauce Worcestershire
  • Potages et bouillons à base de fruits de mer
  • Tartinades, par exemple taramousalata
  • Sushi (rouleau californien)

Autres sources éventuelles de fruits de mer

  • Charcuteries, saucisses de Francfort (à cause de la gélatine)
  • Tartinades
  • Aliments frits (à cause de l'huile de friture contaminée)

Sources de fruits de mer non alimentaires

  • Composts ou fertilisants
  • Aliments pour animaux aquatiques
  • Baume et brillant pour les lèvres
  • Aliments pour animaux de compagnie

Remarque : Ces listes ne sont pas exhaustives et pourraient être modifiées. Les aliments et les produits alimentaires d'autres pays, qui sont achetés par la poste ou par Internet, ne respectent pas toujours les normes canadiennes en matière de fabrication et d'étiquetage.

Que puis-je faire?

Informez-vous

Rencontrez un allergologue et éduquez-vous au sujet des allergies. Communiquez avec votre association locale de personnes allergiques pour obtenir plus de renseignements.

Si vous avez des allergies aux aliments ou connaissez quelqu'un qui en a ou si vous voulez obtenir de l'information sur les aliments qui font l'objet d'un rappel, inscrivez-vous au service gratuit d'envoi de messages électroniques Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Rappels d'aliments et alertes à l'allergie de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA). En vous inscrivant, vous recevrez automatiquement des avis publics concernant les rappels d'aliments.

Avant de manger

Selon les allergologues, ne mangez pas si vous n'avez pas votre auto-injecteur sous la main. Si selon une étiquette, le produit « contient » ou « peut contenir » des fruits de mer ou des dérivés des fruits de mer, n'en mangez pas. Si un ingrédient vous est étranger ou en l'absence d'une liste des ingrédients, évitez le produit.

Quelles sont les démarches entreprises par le gouvernement du Canada à l'égard des allergènes alimentaires?

Le gouvernement du Canada tient à assurer la salubrité des aliments consommés par tous les Canadiens. Afin d'atteindre cet objectif, l'ACIA et Santé Canada collaborent étroitement avec leurs partenaires municipaux, provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi qu'avec le secteur d'activité.

L'ACIA veille à l'application de ces lois sur l'étiquetage et travaille de concert avec les associations, les distributeurs, les fabricants et les importateurs d'aliments afin de faire en sorte que les étiquettes de tous les aliments soient complètes et adéquates. L'ACIA recommande que les entreprises du secteur de l'alimentation établissent des contrôles efficaces des allergènes afin de faire obstacle à la présence d'allergènes non déclarés et à la contamination croisée. L'ACIA a élaboré des lignes directrices et des outils pour les aider à mettre en oeuvre ces mesures de contrôle. Lorsque l'ACIA apprend qu'un aliment pourrait représenter un danger grave, par exemple s'il contient un allergène non déclaré, l'agence prend les mesures nécessaires pour que le produit soit retiré du marché et publie un avertissement public. L'ACIA a aussi publié plusieurs avis sur les allergènes dans les aliments à l'intention de l'industrie et des consommateurs.

Santé Canada collabore avec la profession médicale, les associations de consommateurs et l'industrie alimentaire pour améliorer le règlement sur l'étiquetage afin que la présence des allergènes prioritaires, des sources de gluten et des sulfites soit indiquée sur l'étiquette des aliments préemballés vendus au Canada. Santé Canada a modifié le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues de façon à ce qu'il exige que la plupart des aliments et des ingrédients alimentaires courants qui peuvent provoquer des réactions allergiques graves ou mettre la vie en péril figurent toujours par leur nom usuel sur l'étiquette des aliments, ce qui permet aux consommateurs de les repérer facilement.

Plus de renseignements sur le règlement visant à améliorer l'étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires, les sources de gluten et les sulfites ajoutés sont publiés sur le site Web de Santé Canada.

Si vous apercevez un aliment qui, selon vous, n'est pas étiqueté correctement, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec l'ACIA et à lui fournir l'information sur le produit.

Pour Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web signaler une préoccupation en matière d'étiquetage ou de salubrité des aliments.

Où puis-je obtenir plus d'information?

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur :

  • les allergies alimentaires; ou pour
  • s'abonner au service d'avis électroniques Rappels d'aliments et alertes à l'allergie,

veuillez visiter le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web site Web de l'ACIA ou composez le 1 800 442-2342/TTY 1 800 465-7735 (de 8 h à 20 h, heure de l'Est, du lundi au vendredi).

Pour de l'information sur les allergies alimentaires et sur les autres programmes et services mis en oeuvre par le gouvernement du Canada, composez le

  • 1 800 O-Canada (1 800 622-6232)
  • TTY 1 800 465-7735

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des organisations qui peuvent vous communiquer des renseignements additionnels sur les allergies :

Conçu en consultation avec l'Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme, Anaphylaxie Canada, l'Association Québécoise des Allergies Alimentaires, la Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology et avec Santé Canada.