Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

Tree Nuts - One of the ten priority food allergens

2012
Cat. No.: H164-156/9-2012E-PDF
ISBN: 978-1-100-21162-6
HC Pub.: 120134

Some of the hyperlinks provided are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Next link will take you to another Web site Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Allergic reactions

Allergic reactions are severe adverse reactions that occur when the body's immune system overreacts to a particular allergen. These reactions may be caused by food, insect stings, latex, medications and other substances. In Canada, the ten priority food allergens are peanuts, tree nuts (almonds, Brazil nuts, cashews, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, pecans, pine nuts, pistachio nuts and walnuts), sesame seeds, milk, eggs, seafood (fish, crustaceans and shellfish), soy, wheat, sulphites (a food additive) and mustard.

What are the symptoms of an allergic reaction?

When someone comes in contact with an allergen, the symptoms of a reaction may develop quickly and rapidly progress from mild to severe. The most severe form of an allergic reaction is called anaphylaxis. Symptoms can include breathing difficulties, a drop in blood pressure or shock, which may result in loss of consciousness and even death. A person experiencing an allergic reaction may have any of the following symptoms:

  • Flushed face, hives or a rash, red and itchy skin
  • Swelling of the eyes, face, lips, throat and tongue
  • Trouble breathing, speaking or swallowing
  • Anxiety, distress, faintness, paleness, sense of doom, weakness
  • Cramps, diarrhea, vomiting
  • A drop in blood pressure, rapid heartbeat, loss of consciousness

How are food allergies and severe allergic reactions treated?

Currently there is no cure for food allergies. The only option for managing the risk is to completely avoid the specific allergen. Appropriate emergency treatment for anaphylaxis (a severe food allergy reaction) includes an injection of epinephrine, which is available in an auto-injector device. Epinephrine must be administered as soon as symptoms of a severe allergic reaction appear. The injection must be followed by further treatment and observation in a hospital emergency room. If your allergist has diagnosed you with a food allergy and prescribed epinephrine, carry it with you all the time and know how to use it. Follow your allergist's advice on how to use an auto-injector device.

Frequently asked questions about tree nut allergies

Which tree nuts are included in Canada's list of priority food allergens?

The tree nuts of concern are almonds, Brazil nuts, cashews, hazelnuts (filberts), macadamia nuts, pecans, pine nuts (pignolias), pistachio nuts and walnuts. Peanuts are part of the legume family and are not considered a tree nut.

I have a tree nut allergy. How can I avoid a tree nut-related reaction?

Avoid all food and products that contain tree nuts and tree nut derivatives which contain tree nut protein . These include any product whose ingredient list warns it "may contain" or "may contain traces of" tree nuts.

Should I avoid peanuts if I have a tree nut allergy?

Peanut is a part of legume family and not tree nut; however, while peanuts and tree nuts are different, in some cases some people with a tree nut allergy also react to peanuts. Consult your allergist before eating peanuts or any tree nuts that are not a regular part of your diet.

Should I avoid coconut and nutmeg if I have a tree nut allergy?

A coconut is a seed of a fruit and nutmeg is obtained from the seeds of a tropical tree. Coconut and nutmeg are not considered tree nuts for the purposed of food allergen labelling in Canada and are not usually restricted from the diet of someone allergic to tree nuts. However, some people have reacted to coconut and nutmeg. Consult your allergist before trying coconut or nutmeg products.

How can I determine if a product contains tree nuts or tree nut derivatives?

Always read the ingredient list carefully.

If tree nuts are part of the product formulation, they must be declared in the list of ingredients or in a separate "contains:" statement immediately following the list of ingredients.

What do I do if I am not sure whether a product contains tree nuts or tree nut derivatives?

If you have a tree nut allergy, do not eat or use the product. Get ingredient information from the manufacturer.

Does product size affect the likelihood of an allergic reaction?

Product size does not affect the likelihood of a reaction; however, the same brand of product may be safe to consume for one product size but not another. This is because product formulation may vary between different product sizes of the same product.

Avoiding tree nuts and tree nut derivatives

Make sure you read product labels carefully to avoid products that contain tree nuts and tree nut derivatives. Avoid food and products that do not have an ingredient list and read labels every time you shop. Manufacturers may occasionally change their recipes or use different ingredients for varieties of the same brand.

Other names for tree nuts

In the past, some products have used other names for tree nuts on their labels. These names are not permitted based on the enhanced labelling requirements for food allergen and gluten sources and added sulphites, however, if you have a tree nut allergy and see one of the following in the list of ingredients on a product you should not eat it.

  • Anacardium nuts
  • Filberts (hazelnuts)
  • Nut meats
  • Pinon
  • Queensland nut (macadamia)

Food and products that contain or often contain tree nuts

  • Calisson (a marzipan-like candy made from almonds)
  • Dishes such as almond chicken, pad thai, satay, chili and trout amandine
  • Gianduja and giandula (chocolate blended with hazel nuts)
  • Marzipan (almond paste)
  • Tree nut oils
  • Pralines
  • Spreads, for example, almond paste-based spreads, cheese spreads, chocolate nut spreads
  • Nougat (sugar paste made with nuts), for example, Torrone
  • Nutella
  • Vegetarian dishes

Other possible sources of tree nuts

  • Baked goods
  • Baking mixes, cereals, crackers and muesli
  • Barbecue and pesto sauces
  • Dressings and gravies
  • Flavoured coffees
  • Frozen desserts
  • Liqueurs, for example, amaretto, Frangelico
  • Natural flavourings and extracts, for example, pure almond extract
  • Salads, for example, Waldorf salad
  • Snack foods, for example, trail mix

Non-food sources of tree nuts

  • Bean bags, kick sacks/hacky sacks
  • Bird seed
  • Cosmetics, hair care products, sun screens
  • Massage oils
  • Pet food

Note: These lists are not complete and may change. Food and food products purchased from other countries, through mail-order or the Internet, are not always produced using the same manufacturing and labelling standards as in Canada.

What can I do?

Be informed

See an allergist and educate yourself about food allergies. Contact your local allergy association for further information.

If you or anyone you know has food allergies or would like to receive information about food being recalled, sign up for the Canadian Food Inspection Agency's (CFIA) Next link will take you to another Web site e-mail "Food Recalls and Allergy Alerts" notification service. When you sign up you will automatically receive food recall public warnings.

Before eating

Allergists recommend that if you do not have your auto-injector device with you, that you do not eat. If an ingredient list says a product " contains:" or "may contain:" tree nut or tree nut derivatives, do not eat it. If you do not recognize an ingredient or there is no ingredient list available, avoid the product.

Watch out for allergen cross contamination!

Cross contamination is the transfer of an ingredient (food allergen) to a product that does not normally have that ingredient in it. Through cross contamination, a food that should not contain the allergen could become dangerous to eat for those who are allergic.
Cross contamination can happen:

  • during food manufacturing through shared production and packaging equipment;
  • at retail through shared equipment, e.g., cheese and deli meats sliced on the same slicer; and through bulk display of food products, e.g., bins of baked goods, bulk nuts; and
  • during food preparation at home or in restaurants through equipment, utensils and hands.

What is the Government of Canada doing about food allergens?

The Government of Canada is committed to providing safe food to all Canadians. The CFIA and Health Canada work closely with municipal, provincial and territorial partners and industry to meet this goal.

The CFIA enforces Canada's labelling laws and works with associations, distributors, food manufacturers and importers to ensure complete and appropriate labelling of all foods. The CFIA recommends that food companies establish effective allergen controls to prevent the occurrence of undeclared allergens and cross-contamination. The CFIA has developed guidelines and tools to aid them in developing these controls. When the CFIA becomes aware of a potential serious hazard associated with a food, such as undeclared allergens, the food product is recalled from the marketplace and a public warning is issued. The CFIA has also published several advisories to industry and consumers regarding allergens in food.

Health Canada has worked with the medical community, consumer associations, and the food industry to enhance labelling regulations for priority allergens, gluten sources and sulphites in pre-packaged food sold in Canada. Health Canada has amended the Food and Drug Regulations to require that the most common food and food ingredients that cause life-threatening or severe allergic reactions are always identified by their common names on food labels allowing consumers to easily recognize them.

More information on the regulations to enhance the labelling of food allergens, gluten sources and added sulphites can be found on the Health Canada website.

If you come across a food that you think is improperly labelled, contact the CFIA and provide information about the product.

Next link will take you to another Web site Report a food safety or labelling concern.

Where can I get more information?

For more information on:

  • food allergies; and
  • subscribing to the "Food Recalls and Allergy Alerts" e-mail notification service

visit the Next link will take you to another Web site CFIA Website or call 1-800-442-2342/TTY 1-800-465-7735 (8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Eastern time, Monday to Friday).

For information on this and other Government of Canada programs and services call

  • 1 800 O-Canada (1-800-622-6232)
  • TTY 1-800-465-7735

Below are some organizations that can provide additional allergy information:

Developed in consultation with Allergy/Asthma Information Association, Anaphylaxis Canada, Association québécoise des allergies alimentaires, Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology and Health Canada.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Noix - Un des dix allergènes alimentaires prioritaires

2012
N° cat. : H164-156/9-2012F-PDF
ISBN : 978-1-100-99676-9
Pub. SC : 120135

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Réactions allergiques

Les réactions allergiques sont des réactions indésirables graves qui surviennent lorsque le système immunitaire réagit à l'excès en présence d'un allergène particulier. Ces réactions peuvent être déclenchées par des aliments, des piqûres d'insectes, le latex, des médicaments et d'autres substances. Au Canada, les dix allergènes alimentaires prioritaires sont les arachides, les noix (amandes, noix du Brésil, noix de cajou, noisettes, noix de macadamia, pacanes, pignons, pistaches et noix), les graines de sésame, le lait, les oeufs, les fruits de mer (poisson, crustacés et mollusques), le soja, le blé, les sulfites (à titre d'additif alimentaire) et la moutarde.

Quels sont les symptômes d'une réaction allergique?

Lorsqu'une personne est exposée à un allergène, les symptômes d'une réaction peuvent se manifester rapidement et en peu de temps, des symptômes bénins peuvent s'aggraver. La forme la plus grave de la réaction allergique se nomme anaphylaxie. Les difficultés respiratoires, une chute de la tension artérielle avecun état de choc font partie de ces symptômes. Ceux-ci peuvent entraîner une perte de connaissance et même le décès. Chez une personne victime d'une réaction allergique, les symptômes suivants peuvent se manifester :

  • Bouffée de chaleur au visage, urticaire ou éruption cutanée, rougeur et démangeaison de la peau
  • Gonflement des yeux, du visage, des lèvres, de la gorge et de la langue
  • Difficultés à respirer, à parler ou à avaler
  • Anxiété, détresse, malaise, pâleur, oppression et faiblesse
  • Crampes, diarrhée ou vomissements
  • Chute de la tension artérielle, accélération du rythme cardiaque ou évanouissement

Comment les allergies alimentaires et les réactions allergiques graves sont-elles traitées?

Actuellement, il n'existe pas de traitement pour les allergies alimentaires. La seule façon de gérer le risque consiste à éviter complètement l'allergène en cause. En présence d'anaphylaxie (réaction allergique grave), le traitement d'urgence consiste en une injection d'épinéphrine, offerte en auto-injecteur. L'épinéphrine doit être injectée aussitôt que les symptômes de réaction allergique grave se manifestent. L'injection doit être suivie d'autres traitements et d'une période d'observation en salle d'urgence à l'hôpital. Si votre allergologue vous a informé d'un diagnostic d'allergie alimentaire et vous a remis une ordonnance d'épinéphrine, conservez l'auto-injecteur sous la main en tout temps et apprenez à l'utiliser correctement. Suivez les conseils de votre allergologue sur la façon d'utiliser l'auto-injecteur.

Foire aux questions au sujet de l'allergie aux noix

Quelles sont les noix qui figurent dans la liste d'allergènes alimentaires d'intérêt prioritaire au Canada?

Il s'agit des amandes, des noix du Brésil, des noix de cajou, des noisettes, des noix de macadamia, des noix de pacane, des pignons (pignes, pignoles), des pistaches et des noix (communément appelées noix de Grenoble). L'arachide fait partie de la famille des légumineuses et n'est pas considérée comme une noix.

Je suis allergique aux noix. Comment puis-je éviter une réaction provoquée par les noix?

Évitez tous les aliments et les produits qui contiennent des noix et des dérivés de noix. Ceux-ci comprennent tous les produits dont l'étiquette indique « peut contenir » des noix ou « peut contenir des traces » de noix. Il convient également d'éviter les produits où les termes français « fruits à écale » ou « fruits à coque » peuvent apparaitre.

Devrais-je éviter les arachides si je suis allergique aux noix?

L'arachide est une légumineuse et non une noix. Cependant, bien que les arachides soient différentes des noix, dans certains cas, les personnes allergiques aux noix réagissent également à l'arachide. Consultez un allergologue avant de consommer des arachides ou toute autre noix qui ne font pas partie de votre alimentation habituelle.

Devrais-je éviter la noix de coco et la muscade si je suis allergique aux noix?

La noix de coco est le noyau d'un fruit et la muscade provient des graines d'un arbre tropical. La noix de coco et la muscade ne sont pas considérées à titre de noix aux fins de l'étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires au Canada et en règle générale, elles n'ont pas à être éliminées de l'alimentation des personnes allergiques aux noix. Toutefois, certaines personnes réagissent à la noix de coco et à la muscade. Consultez votre allergologue avant de consommer tout produit contenant de la noix de coco ou de la muscade.

Comment puis-je savoir si un produit contient des noix ou des dérivés de noix?

Lisez toujours attentivement la liste des ingrédients.

Si des noix entrent dans la composition du produit, leur présence doit être déclarée dans la liste des ingrédients ou dans une mention « contient » qui suit immédiatement la liste des ingrédients.

Que dois-je faire si je n'arrive pas à savoir si un produit contient ou non des noix ou des dérivés de noix?

Si vous êtes allergique aux noix, ne consommez pas et n'utilisez pas le produit en question. Adressez-vous au fabricant pour obtenir des renseignements sur les ingrédients qu'il contient.

Le format de l'emballage du produit influe-t-il sur la probabilité qu'une réaction allergique survienne?

Il n'a pas d'influence sur la probabilité de survenue d'une réaction. Cependant, dans un format particulier, le produit peut ne présenter aucun danger, alors que dans un autre format, il peut en aller autrement. En effet, d'un format de produit à un autre, la composition peut varier.

Éviter les noix et les dérivés des noix

Ne manquez pas de lire attentivement les étiquettes afin d'éviter les produits qui contiennent des noix et des dérivés des noix. Évitez les aliments et les produits sans liste d'ingrédients et lisez les étiquettes chaque fois que vous vous procurez des aliments. Il est possible que les fabricants modifient leur recette de temps à autre ou qu'ils utilisent des ingrédients différents dans une autre variété du même produit de la même marque.

Autres noms des noix

Par le passé, certains fabricants désignaient les noix par d'autres noms sur l'étiquette de leurs produits. À présent, en vertu des exigences plus rigoureuses à l'égard de l'étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires, des sources de gluten et des sulfites ajoutés, il est interdit d'y recourir. Cependant, si vous êtes allergique aux noix et que vous voyez l'un des termes suivants dans la liste des ingrédients, n'en consommez pas.

  • Noix d'anarcade
  • Avelines (noisettes)
  • Cerneaux
  • Pigne
  • Noix du Queensland (macadamia)

Aliments et produits qui contiennent des noix ou qui en contiennent souvent

  • Calisson (sucrerie à base d'amandes qui ressemble à la pâte d'amandes)
  • Mets tels que le poulet aux amandes, pad thaï, satay, chili et truite amandine
  • Gianduja et giandula (mélange de chocolat et de noisettes)
  • Massepain (pâte d'amandes)
  • Huiles de noix
  • Pralines
  • Tartinades, par exemple à base de pâte d'amandes, au chocolat et aux noix et fromages à tartiner
  • Nougat (confiserie fabriquée avec des noix) ou torrone
  • Nutella
  • Mets végétariens

Autres sources éventuelles de noix

  • Produits de pâtisserie et de boulangerie
  • Préparations pour produits de boulangerie et de pâtisserie, céréales, craquelins et müesli
  • Sauces barbecue et pesto
  • Sauces pour salades et fonds
  • Cafés aromatisés
  • Desserts congelés
  • Digestifs, par exemple Amaretto et Frangelico
  • Aromatisants et extraits naturels, par exemple extrait d'amande pur
  • Salades, par exemple salade Waldorf
  • Grignotines, par exemple mélanges montagnards

Source de noix non alimentaires

  • Sièges-sacs, balles aki
  • Graines pour oiseaux
  • Cosmétiques, produits de soins capillaires, écrans solaires
  • Huiles pour massage
  • Aliments pour animaux de compagnie

Remarque : Ces listes ne sont pas exhaustives et pourraient être modifiées. Les aliments et les produits alimentaires d'autres pays, qui sont achetés par la poste ou par Internet, ne respectent pas toujours les normes canadiennes en matière de fabrication et d'étiquetage.

Que puis-je faire?

Informez-vous

Rencontrez un allergologue et éduquez-vous au sujet des allergies. Communiquez avec votre association locale de personnes allergiques pour obtenir plus de renseignements.

Si vous avez des allergies aux aliments ou connaissez quelqu'un qui en a ou si vous voulez obtenir de l'information sur les aliments qui font l'objet d'un rappel, inscrivez-vous au service gratuit d'envoi de messages électroniques Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Rappels d'aliments et alertes à l'allergie de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA). En vous inscrivant, vous recevrez automatiquement des avis publics concernant les rappels d'aliments.

Avant de manger

Selon les allergologues, ne mangez pas si vous n'avez pas votre auto-injecteur sous la main. Si une liste d'ingrédient indique qu'un produit « contient » ou « peut contenir » des noix ou des dérivés des noix, n'en mangez pas. Si un ingrédient vous est étranger ou en l'absence d'une liste des ingrédients, évitez le produit.

Méfiez-vous des contaminations croisées!

Une contamination croisée est le transfert d'un ingrédient (allergène alimentaire) à un produit qui, normalement, n'en contient pas. À la suite d'une contamination croisée, un aliment qui ne devrait pas contenir un allergène donné peut devenir dangereux pour les personnes qui y sont allergiques.

Une contamination croisée peut survenir :

  • pendant la fabrication des aliments lorsque de l'équipement de production ou d'emballage est utilisé pour plus d'un produit;
  • dans les établissements de vente au détail, par exemple par les fromages et les charcuteries tranchés au moyen du même appareil ou par la présentation en vrac de produits alimentaires, par exemple des contenants de produits de boulangeries et de pâtisseries, des noix en vrac, etc.;
  • à l'étape de la préparation de l'aliment à la maison ou au restaurant, au contact de l'équipement, des ustensiles et des mains.

Quelles sont les démarches entreprises par le gouvernement du Canada à l'égard des allergènes alimentaires?

Le gouvernement du Canada tient à assurer la salubrité des aliments consommés par tous les Canadiens. Afin d'atteindre cet objectif, l'ACIA et Santé Canada collaborent étroitement avec leurs partenaires municipaux, provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi qu'avec le secteur d'activité.

L'ACIA veille à l'application de ces lois sur l'étiquetage et travaille de concert avec les associations, les distributeurs, les fabricants et les importateurs d'aliments afin de faire en sorte que les étiquettes de tous les aliments soient complètes et adéquates. L'ACIA recommande que les entreprises du secteur de l'alimentation établissent des contrôles efficaces des allergènes afin de faire obstacle à la présence d'allergènes non déclarés et à la contamination croisée. L'ACIA a élaboré des lignes directrices et des outils pour les aider à mettre en oeuvre ces mesures de contrôle. Lorsque l'ACIA apprend qu'un aliment pourrait représenter un danger grave, par exemple s'il contient un allergène non déclaré, l'agence prend les mesures nécessaires pour que le produit soit retiré du marché et publie un avertissement public. L'ACIA a aussi publié plusieurs avis sur les allergènes dans les aliments à l'intention de l'industrie et des consommateurs.

Santé Canada collabore avec la profession médicale, les associations de consommateurs et l'industrie alimentaire pour améliorer le règlement sur l'étiquetage afin que la présence des allergènes prioritaires, des sources de gluten et des sulfites soit indiquée sur l'étiquette des aliments préemballés vendus au Canada. Santé Canada a modifié le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues de façon à ce qu'il exige que la plupart des aliments et des ingrédients alimentaires courants qui peuvent provoquer des réactions allergiques graves ou mettre la vie en péril figurent toujours par leur nom usuel sur l'étiquette des aliments, ce qui permet aux consommateurs de les repérer facilement.

Plus de renseignements sur le règlement visant à améliorer l'étiquetage des allergènes alimentaires, les sources de gluten et les sulfites ajoutés sont publiés sur le site Web de Santé Canada.

Si vous apercevez un aliment qui, selon vous, n'est pas étiqueté correctement, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec l'ACIA et à lui fournir l'information sur le produit.

Pour Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web signaler une préoccupation en matière d'étiquetage ou de salubrité des aliments.

Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site WebOù puis-je obtenir plus d'information?

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur :

  • les allergies alimentaires; ou pour
  • s'abonner au service d'avis électroniques Rappels d'aliments et alertes à l'allergie,

veuillez visiter le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web site Web de l'ACIA ou composez le 1 800 442-2342/TTY 1 800 465-7735 (de 8 h à 20 h, heure de l'Est, du lundi au vendredi).

Pour de l'information sur les allergies alimentaires et sur les autres programmes et services mis en oeuvre par le gouvernement du Canada, composez le

  • 1 800 O-Canada (1 800 622-6232)
  • TTY 1 800 465-7735

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des organisations qui peuvent vous communiquer des renseignements additionnels sur les allergies :

Conçu en consultation avec l'Association d'information sur l'allergie et l'asthme, Anaphylaxie Canada, l'Association Québécoise des Allergies Alimentaires, la Canadian Society of Allergy and Clinical Immunology et avec Santé Canada.