Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

ARCHIVED - Lessons Learned Health Canada's Response to the 2008 Listeriosis Outbreak Executive Summary

Warning This content was archived on June 24 2013.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Main Health Canada Report
Related Resources


The Listeriosis outbreak in the summer/fall of 2008 linked to ready-to-eat meats produced at a Maple Leaf plant in Ontario was a significant public health event. As of December 10, 2008, there were 20 deaths across five provinces where listeriosis was the underlying or contributing cause of death and the outbreak generated high media and public interest. The collective efforts of local and regional health authorities, provincial and territorial governments, federal officials and industry helped to detect and respond to the outbreak.

Health Canada (HC), the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) routinely review how they respond to outbreaks of foodborne illness and other food safety incidents. Following the 2008 listeriosis outbreak, each organization conducted internal lessons learned exercises to identify what worked well during this particular event and what needs improvement in terms of food safety management. Information for Health Canada's lessons learned exercise was gathered by doing a thorough review of documents and policies, as well as conducting interviews and focus groups with federal staff involved in the outbreak.

Health Canada Lessons Learned

What worked well

Overall, Health Canada responded well to the outbreak by providing consistent and timely laboratory services to its federal partners, such as sampling, testing, and health risks assessments, and coordinated well with its partners in transferring and sharing relevant laboratory information. Health Canada also collaborated with its partners to provide timely advice on health and food safety to the public.

Health Canada's policy on Listeria monocytogenes in ready-to-eat foods was in place to provide guidance to the CFIA, industry, and other interested stakeholders on Listeria control and compliance criteria in Canada. The Foodborne Illness Outbreak Response Protocol was also used by Health Canada and its partners to guide the multi-jurisdictional response to the outbreak. This tool allowed all regional, provincial, territorial and federal partners to work together in determining and responding to the root cause of the outbreak.

Areas for improvement

While Health Canada was well prepared to respond to the outbreak, some key lessons learned have been identified and point to the following areas for improvement:

  • in more proactive and targeted communications to the public;
  • improving laboratory surge capacity for emergency situations;
  • reviewing departmental policies and procedures to ensure that they reflect emerging food safety issues; and
  • streamlining our internal processes for dealing with health risk assessments and interactions with other government departments during a crisis.

Recommendations

Specifically, Health Canada has suggested several recommendations to improve our response to similar outbreaks in the future. Many of these suggested actions are already underway, and/or require collaboration with our partners to implement.

  1. Clarifying HC's Roles and Responsibilities:
    • Raise awareness of Health Canada's leadership role in laboratory testing during outbreak investigations, including the broader role of the Listeriosis Reference Service jointly run by HC and PHAC.
    • Improve the communication of HC's role in policy development to federal partners.

  2. Policy and Procedures:
    • Continue to review and update Health Canada's Listeria Policy to ensure it reflects the best science available.
    • Work with PHAC and CFIA to revisit and formalize multijurisdictional food safety protocols, such as the Foodborne Illness Outbreak Response Protocol.

  3. Laboratory Activities:
    • Enhance surge capacity preparedness to address demands for more rapid testing (e.g. additional training and cross-training to increase number of certified individuals for testing).
    • Develop more standardized procedures for sampling to improve the transfer and acceptance of sample information between federal laboratories.
    • Work with CFIA and PHAC, as well as the international scientific community, to determine the weight of evidence needed to take action, including communications and recalls.

  4. Health Risk Assessments:
    • Assess surge capacity options to further reduce turnaround times.
    • Improve the request process by developing a more systematic approach to health risk assessments and communicating existing standard operation procedures to partners.

  5. Information Technology:
    • Ensure adequate information technology systems are in place for urgent situations.
    • Consider how common information sharing tools can be used to facilitate data analysis.

  6. Federal Communications:
    • Ensure continuous communication between federal partners in both routine and high profile situations.
    • Improve the effectiveness of federal communications by streamlining our internal processes for dealing with health risk assessments and interactions with other government departments during a crisis.
    • Enhance the integration of the First Nations and Inuit Health Branch into multijurisdictional food safety protocols, especially with respect to inter-organizational communications.

  7. Public Communications:
    • Identify core communication leads for providing outreach to provinces and territories, stakeholders and the public.
    • Improve outreach by targeting and proactively communicating risks to vulnerable populations.
    • Review and update existing policies relating to crisis communications and conduct exercises around food safety scenarios to support staff taking on their respective roles in communicating with Canadians during a crisis.

Key Steps to Date:

Health Canada is continuing to examine the steps taken during the 2008 listeriosis outbreak and is taking measures aimed at preventing similar outbreaks in the future:

  • In September 2008, HC issued Interim Market Authorizations to allow the use of sodium acetate and sodium diacetate as food preservatives in a number of foods, including ready-to-eat meats. These food additives can be used by food producers to help control the growth of harmful bacteria such as Listeria.

  • HC, in collaboration with PHAC, is working to improve communications with the public around food safety issues. This includes improving the distribution of communications to the public, including those most at risk.

  • HC is conducting laboratory experiments to improve upon Listeria detection methods and to examine the biological properties of the outbreak strains to try and better understand some of the factors that may have been involved in causing the outbreak.

  • Health Canada is currently updating its 2004 policy on L. monocytogenes in ready-to-eat foods in view of enhancing the control of Listeria in high-risk foods.

Related Resources

Lessons Learned from the Listeriosis Outbreak: Remarks by Deputy Minister of Health Canada, Morris Rosenberg, to the Sub-Committee on Food Safety of the Standing Committee on Agriculture

Next link will take you to another website Canadian Food Inspection Agency - Lessons Learned Report

Next link will take you to another website Public Health Agency of Canada - Lessons Learned Report

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

ARCHIVÉE - Les leçons apprises Intervention de Santé Canada lors de l'éclosion de listériose de 2008 Résumé

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 24 juin 2013.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Rapport principal de Santé Canada
Ressources connexes


L'éclosion de listériose de l'été et de l'automne 2008 causée par des produits de viandes prêt-à-manger traités dans les installations de Maple Leaf en Ontario représentait un cas de santé publique d'envergure. Au 10 décembre 2008, on comptait 20 décès dans cinq provinces où la listériose s'est révélée la cause sous-jacente ou concourante des décès et l'éclosion a suscité l'intense intérêt des médias et de la population. L'effort collectif des régies régionales et locales de la santé, des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, des fonctionnaires fédéraux et de l'industrie a permis de détecter l'éclosion et d'y réagir.

Santé Canada (SC), l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) évaluent couramment leurs interventions en cas d'éclosions de maladies d'origine alimentaire et d'autres cas de salubrité alimentaire. Par suite de l'éclosion de listériose de 2008, chaque organisme a effectué des exercices de leçons retenues internes, afin de déterminer ce qui fonctionnait bien durant cet événement particulier et ce qui demandait des améliorations au sens de la gestion de la salubrité alimentaire. L'information tirée des exercices de leçons retenues de Santé Canada a été colligée par l'examen des documents et des politiques, de même que des entrevues et des groupes de discussion avec des employés fédéraux affectés à l'éclosion.

Leçons retenues de Santé Canada

Ce qui a bien fonctionné

En général, Santé Canada a bien réagi à l'éclosion en fournissant des services de laboratoires cohérents et opportuns à ses partenaires fédéraux, comme l'échantillonnage, les épreuves et les évaluations de risques pour la santé, et s'est bien harmonisée avec ses partenaires en transmettant et en partageant l'information de laboratoire pertinente. Santé Canada a également collaboré avec ses partenaires, afin de prodiguer des conseils opportuns sur la santé et la salubrité des aliments à la population.

La politique de Santé Canada sur la Listeria monocytogenes dans les aliments prêt-à-manger était en vigueur, afin de fournir des directives à l'ACIA, à l'industrie et aux autres partenaires intéressés, sur le contrôle de la listériose et les critères axés sur la conformité au Canada. Santé Canada et ses partenaires ont également eu recours au Guide d'interventions lors d'éclosions d'intoxication alimentaire pour guider l'intervention multijuridictionnelle contre l'éclosion. Cet outil a permis à tous les partenaires régionaux, provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéraux de travailler de conserve en vue de déterminer la cause profonde de l'éclosion et d'intervenir.

Secteurs à améliorer

Bien que Santé Canada ait été bien préparée à intervenir contre l'éclosion, on a défini certaines leçons retenues clés qui désignent les secteurs suivants à l'amélioration :

  • entretenir une communication plus dynamique et mieux ciblée avec la population;
  • améliorer la capacité de pointe des laboratoires en cas d'urgence;
  • examiner les politiques et les procédures ministérielles, afin de veiller à ce qu'elles reflètent les nouveaux enjeux en matière d'alimentation;
  • rationaliser nos procédures internes, afin de faire face aux évaluations de risque pour la santé et aux interactions avec les autres ministères du gouvernement durant une crise.

Recommandations

En particulier, Santé Canada a proposé de nombreuses recommandations visant à améliorer notre intervention lors d'éclosions semblables à l'avenir. Plusieurs des mesures proposées sont déjà en vigueur ou nécessitent la collaboration de nos partenaires pour leur mise en oeuvre.

  1. Clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités de SC
    • mieux faire connaître le rôle de leader de Santé Canada dans les épreuves de laboratoires durant les enquêtes sur les éclosions, notamment le plus grand rôle du Service de référence pour la listériose, dirigé en collaboration par SC et l'ASPC;
    • mieux communiquer le rôle de Santé Canada dans l'élaboration des politiques aux fins des partenaires fédéraux.

  2. Politiques et procédures
    • continuer d'examiner et de mettre à jour la Politique sur la listériose de Santé Canada, afin de veiller à ce qu'elle reflète la science la plus pointue sur le marché;
    • revoir et formaliser avec l'ASPC et l'ACIA les protocoles de salubrité alimentaire multijuridictionnels, comme le Guide d'interventions lors d'éclosions d'intoxication alimentaire.

  3. Activités en laboratoire
    • améliorer la préparation de capacité d'intervention en cas d'urgence, afin de réagir à une demande d'épreuves plus rapide (par. ex. : formation supplémentaire et transfert d'apprentissage visant à augmenter le nombre de personnes accréditées pour les épreuves);
    • élaborer des procédures plus normalisées d'échantillonnage, afin d'améliorer le transfert et l'acceptation de l'information sur les échantillons entre les laboratoires fédéraux;
    • travailler avec l'ACIA et l'ASPC, de même qu'avec la communauté scientifique internationale, afin de déterminer le poids de la preuve requis pour prendre des mesures, dont les communications et les rappels.

  4. Évaluation des risques pour la santé
    • évaluer les choix de capacité d'urgence, afin de réduire davantage le temps de traitement;
    • améliorer la procédure de demande en élaborant une démarche plus systématique d'évaluation des risques pour la santé et en communiquant les procédures d'opération normatives actuelles aux partenaires;

  5. Technologie de l'information
    • veiller à ce que des systèmes de technologie de l'information soient en place en cas d'urgence;
    • envisager la manière dont les outils de partage de l'information commune peuvent servir à faciliter l'analyse des données.

  6. Communication avec le gouvernement fédéral
    • assurer une communication permanente entre les partenaires fédéraux dans les cas courants et exceptionnels;
    • améliorer l'efficacité des communications fédérales en rationalisant nos procédures internes pour faire face aux évaluations des risques pour la santé et aux interactions avec d'autres ministères du gouvernement durant une crise;
    • renforcer l'intégration de la Direction générale des Premières nations et des Inuits dans les protocoles de salubrité alimentaire multijuridictionnels, en particulier en regard des communications interorganisationnelles.

  7. Communication avec la population
    • déterminer les principaux chefs des communications qui en assureront la diffusion aux provinces, aux territoires, aux participants et à la population;
    • examiner et mettre à jour les politiques actuelles relatives aux communications de crise et répéter les scénarios de salubrité alimentaire qui aident le personnel à jouer son rôle respectif quand il faut communiquer avec les Canadiens durant une crise.

Principales étapes à ce jour

Santé Canada continue d'examiner les étapes suivies durant l'éclosion de listériose de 2008 et à prendre des mesures visant à empêcher des éclosions semblables à l'avenir.

  • en septembre 2008, SC a émis une autorisation de mise en marché provisoire, afin de permettre l'utilisation d'acétate de sodium et de diacétate de sodium comme agents de conservation des aliments dans nombre d'aliments, dont les viandes prêt-à-manger. Les producteurs d'aliments peuvent utiliser ces additifs alimentaires pour stopper la prolifération des bactéries néfastes comme la listeria;

  • SC, en collaboration avec l'ASPC, s'efforce d'améliorer les communications avec la population au sujet de la salubrité alimentaire. Il s'agit d'améliorer la communication avec la population, notamment les personnes qui sont les plus exposées;

  • SC effectue des essais en laboratoire, afin d'améliorer les méthodes de détection de la listeria et d'examiner les propriétés biologiques des souches de l'éclosion, s'efforçant de mieux comprendre certains facteurs qui pourraient avoir causé l'éclosion.

  • Santé Canada met actuellement à jour sa politique 2004 sur L. monocytogenes dans les aliments prêt-à-manger, en vue de renforcer le contrôle de la listeria dans les aliments à risque élevé.

Ressources connexes

Leçons tirées de l'éclosion de listériose : Allocution de sous-ministre de Santé Canada, Morris Rosenberg : Sous-comité sur la salubrité des aliments du Comité permanent de l'agriculture

Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments - Rapport sur les leçons apprises

Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web L'Agence de la santé publique du Canada - Rapport sur les leçons apprises