Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its food and nutrition web content! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now (link will open in new window).
Food and Nutrition

Caffeine in Food

Caffeine is consumed as a natural part of coffee, tea, chocolate and certain flavours (e.g. those derived from kola and guarana), and may be added to carbonated soft drinks. When used in food, caffeine is regulated as a food additive under the Food and Drug Regulations, which requires a thorough safety assessment by Health Canada scientists before any new uses are permitted.

Caffeine exhibits a number of biological effects resulting from its diuretic and stimulant properties. ResearchFootnote 1 has shown that some sensitive individuals experience side effects such as insomnia, headaches, irritability and nervousness. As with any substance, there can be numerous other contributing factors, but Canada's Guidelines to Healthy Eating advises consumers that limiting caffeine is a wise precaution.

A reviewNote de bas de page 2 undertaken by Health Canada scientists has considered the numerous studies dealing with caffeine and its potential health effects. It has re-confirmed that for the average adult, moderate daily caffeine intake at dose levels of 400 mg/day is not associated with any adverse effects. Data has shown, however, that women of childbearing age and children may be at greater risk from caffeine. Consequently, as a precautionary measure, Health Canada has developed additional guidelines for these two groups. The recommended maximum caffeine intake levels shown in the table below are based on the most current research available.

Health Canada has not developed definitive advice for adolescents 13 and older because of insufficient data. Nonetheless, Health Canada suggests that daily caffeine intake for this age group be no more than 2.5 mg/kg body weight. This is because the maximum adult caffeine dose may not be appropriate for light weight adolescents or for younger adolescents who are still growing. The daily dose of 2.5 mg/kg body weight would not cause adverse health effects in the majority of adolescent caffeine consumers. This is a conservative suggestion since older and heavier weight adolescents may be able to consume adult doses of caffeine without suffering adverse effects.

Recommended Maximum Caffeine Intake Levels for Children and Women of Childbearing Age

Children
 4 - 6 years   45 mg/day
 7 - 9 years   62.5 mg/day
10 - 12 years   85 mg/day

Women who are planning to become pregnant, pregnant women and breast feeding mothers
300 mg/day

Sources of Caffeine

Currently, pure caffeine and caffeine citrate may be added to cola-type beverages and it must be declared in the ingredients list on the product label. Caffeine may not be added to any other food.

Many foods and food ingredients contain caffeine from natural sources. The caffeine in food from natural food ingredients, crude extractives or natural flavours is not regulated when such ingredients are added to food. Nevertheless, such foods must still comply with the general food safety requirements of the Food and Drugs Act.

Most people associate caffeine with coffee, tea and chocolate. Other products, such as guarana, a Brazilian plant whose seeds are high in caffeine, and yerba mate, a South American herb used to make tea, are also natural sources of caffeine. These are increasing in popularity, and are being used more and more as food ingredients. Energy drinks and beer-like products containing guarana have recently appeared in the Canadian marketplace. It is important for consumers to know that these products contain caffeine, and to recognize all caffeine-containing ingredients on product labels.

Products containing caffeine are used and enjoyed by many people throughout the world. The best way for consumers to avoid any adverse effects from caffeine is to become familiar with the many sources of this substance, to read product labels and to moderate consumption of caffeine containing products.

The following is provided to assist consumers in understanding the contribution of various foods to caffeine intakes. To allow for ease of comparison of caffeine values for different products, serving sizes presented in the table below may differ from serving sizes given in the referenced literature. Referenced caffeine values are adjusted accordingly.

The following is provided to assist consumers in understanding the contribution of various foods to caffeine intakes.
Product
Serving Size
(unless otherwise
stated)
Milligrams of
Caffeine
(approximate values)
 
oz
ml
 
Coffee
     
Brewed
8
237(1cup)
135
Roasted and ground, percolated
8
237
118
Roasted and ground, filter drip
8
237
179
Roasted and ground, decaffeinated
8
237
3
Instant
8
237
76 - 106
Instant decaffeinated
8
237
5
 
The following is provided to assist consumers in understanding the contribution of various foods to caffeine intakes.
Product
Serving Size
(unless otherwise
stated)
Milligrams of
Caffeine
(approximate values)
 
oz
ml
 
Tea
     
Average blend
8
237
43
Green
8
237
30
Instant
8
237
15
leaf or bag
8
237
50
Decaffeinated tea
8
237
0
 
The following is provided to assist consumers in understanding the contribution of various foods to caffeine intakes.
Product
Serving Size
(unless otherwise
stated)
Milligrams of
Caffeine
(approximate values)
 
oz
ml
 
Cola Beverages
     
Cola beverage, regular
12
355(1 can)
36 - 46
Cola beverage, diet
12
355
39 - 50
 
The following is provided to assist consumers in understanding the contribution of various foods to caffeine intakes.
Product
Serving Size
(unless otherwise
stated)
Milligrams of
Caffeine
(approximate values)
 
oz
ml
 
Cocoa Products
     
Chocolate milk
8
237
8
1 envelope hot-cocoa mix
8
237
5
Candy, milk chocolate
1
28g
7
Candy, sweet chocolate
1
28g
19
Baking chocolate, unsweetened
1
28g
25 - 58
Chocolate cake
2.8
80g
36
Chocolate brownies
1.5
42g
10
Chocolate mousse
3.2
90g
15
Chocolate pudding
5.1
145g
9

Values in table referenced from the following sources:

Harland, B.F. 2000. Caffeine and nutrition. Nutrition 16(7-8):522-526.
Shils, et al., 1999. Modern nutrition in health and disease. 9th Edition. Williams and Wilkins. Waverly Company, Baltimore

Related Resources

  • Using the recommended intake of 2.5 milligrams per kilogram of body weight per day and based on average body weights of children (Health and Welfare Canada, 1990), based on "behavioural effects".
  • Based on possible adverse effects on some factors of reproduction and development.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Health and Welfare Canada, 1990. Nutrition Recommendations.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Next link will take you to another Web site Effects of Caffeine on Human Health, P. Nawrot, S. Jordan, J. Eastwood, J. Rotstein, A. Hugenholtz and M. Feeley, Food Additives and Contaminants, 2003, Vol. 20, No. 1, pg. 1-30.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Nous révisons le guide alimentaire du Canada. Participez à la consultation (le lien sera ouvert dans une nouvelle fenêtre) et aidez à réviser le Guide alimentaire canadien.
Aliments et nutrition

La caféine dans les aliments

Nous consommons de la caféine comme élément naturel du café, du thé, du chocolat et de certains arômes (p.ex. ceux provenant du cola et du guarana) et peut être ajoutée à certaines boissons gazeuses. Lorsqu'elle est utilisée dans les aliments, la caféine est réglementée au même titre que les additifs alimentaires en vertu du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues qui exige un examen approfondi d'innocuité par les scientifiques de Santé Canada avant que toute nouvelle utilisation en soit autorisée.

La caféine entraîne un certain nombre d'effets biologiques résultant de ses propriétés diurétiques et toniques. Des étudesNote de bas de page 1 ont révélé que certaines personnes sensibles éprouvent des effets secondaires comme l'insomnie, les maux de tête, l'irritabilité et la nervosité. Comme pour toute substance, il peut y avoir de nombreux autres facteurs en cause, mais les Recommandations alimentaires pour la santé des Canadiens et des Canadiennes avisent les consommateurs que limiter son apport en caféine s'avère une précaution judicieuse.

Un examenNote de bas de page 2 mené par Santé Canada s'est penché sur de nombreuses recherches portant sur la caféine et sur ses effets possibles sur la santé. Cette analyse a confirmé de nouveau que chez l'adulte moyen, un apport modéré de caféine de 400 mg par jour n'entraîne pas d'effets indésirables. Cependant, des données ont démontré que les femmes en âge de procréer et les enfants pourraient être plus vulnérables aux effets de la caféine. Par conséquent, et ceci par mesure de précaution, Santé Canada a élaboré des lignes directrices additionnelles à l'intention de ces deux groupes. Les données présentées dans le tableau ci-dessous qui représentent l'apport maximal en caféine recommandé pour chaque groupe, s'appuient sur les études les plus à jour disponibles.

En raison de l'insuffisance des données, Santé Canada n'a pas établi de recommandation définitive pour les adolescents âgés de 13 ans et plus. Néanmoins, Santé Canada suggère que l'apport quotidien en caféine chez ce groupe d'âges ne devrait pas excéder 2,5 mg/kg de poids corporel. De son point de vue, l'apport maximal chez les adultes pourrait être inadéquat chez les adolescents de poids plus faible ou chez les consommateurs de caféine plus jeunes qui sont toujours en croissance. L'apport quotidien de 2,5 mg/kg de poids corporel ne causerait pas d'effets indésirables sur la santé de la majorité de ceux-ci. Il s'agit d'une suggestion prudente, car les adolescents plus âgés et de poids corporel plus élevé pourraient être en mesure de consommer l'apport en caféine établi pour les adultes sans subir d'effets indésirables.

Apport maximal en caféine recommandé pour les enfants et les femmes en âge de procréer

Enfants
 4 à 6 ans   45 mg/jour
 7 à 9 ans   62.5 mg/jour
10 à 12 ans   85 mg/jour

Femmes qui prévoient devenir enceintes, femmes enceintes et mères qui allaitent
300 mg/jour

Sources de caféine

Actuellement, il est permis d'ajouter de la caféine pure ou de citrate de la caféine aux boissons du type cola, mais elle doit être inscrite dans la liste des ingrédients sur l'étiquette des produits. La caféine pure ne peut pas être ajoutée à aucun autre aliment.

De nombreux aliments et ingrédients alimentaires renferment de la caféine d'origine naturelle. La caféine dans les aliments provenant des ingrédients alimentaires naturels, des extraits bruts ou des saveurs naturelles, n'est pas assujettie à une réglementation lorsque ces ingrédients sont ajoutés à des aliments. Ce genre d'aliments doit néanmoins se conformer aux exigences générales en matière d'innocuité des aliments conformément à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues.

La plupart des gens associent caféine à café, thé et chocolat. D'autres produits, la guarana par exemple, une plante originaire du Brésil dont les graines ont une forte teneur en caféine et le yerba mate, une herbe originaire de l'Amérique du Sud utilisée pour préparer le thé, sont des sources naturelles de caféine. Leur popularité est ascendante et ils sont de plus en plus utilisés comme ingrédients alimentaires. Les boissons énergisantes et les produits similaires à la bière contenant de la guarana sont apparues récemment sur le marché canadien. Il importe que les consommateurs sachent que ces produits contiennent de la caféine et qu'ils reconnaissent tous les ingrédients contenant de la caféine sur les étiquettes des produits.

Les produits qui contiennent de la caféine sont disponibles et consommés partout dans le monde. La meilleure façon d'éviter les effets indésirables de la caféine est de bien connaître les nombreuses sources de cette substance, de lire les étiquettes et de consommer des produits contenant de la caféine avec modération.

Les renseignements suivants visent à aider les consommateurs à comprendre la contribution de divers aliments à l'apport en caféine. Afin de simplifier la comparaison des teneurs en caféine de différents produits, les portions qui figurent au tableau ci-dessous peuvent être différentes de celles fournies dans la documentation de référence. Les valeurs de référence en caféine sont ajustées en conséquence.

Les renseignements suivants visent à aider les consommateurs à comprendre la contribution de divers aliments à l'apport en caféine.
Produit
Taille de la portion
(sauf d'avis contraire)
Milligrammes
de caféine
(Valeurs approximatives)
 
once
ml
 
Café
     
Infusé
8
237(1 tasse)
135
Torréfié et moulu, percolateur
8
237
118
Torréfié et moulu, filtre
8
237
179
Torréfié et moulu, décaféiné
8
237
3
Instantané
8
237
76 - 106
Instantané décaféiné
8
237
5
 
Les renseignements suivants visent à aider les consommateurs à comprendre la contribution de divers aliments à l'apport en caféine.
Produit
Taille de la portion
(sauf d'avis contraire)
Milligrammes
de caféine
(Valeurs approximatives)
 
once
ml
 
Thé
     
Mélange régulier
8
237
43
Vert
8
237
30
Instantané
8
237
15
En feuilles ou en sachets
8
237
50
Thé décaféiné
8
237
0
 
Les renseignements suivants visent à aider les consommateurs à comprendre la contribution de divers aliments à l'apport en caféine.
Produit
Taille de la portion
(sauf d'avis contraire)
Milligrammes
de caféine
(Valeurs approximatives)
 
once
ml
 
Boissons dites au cola
     
Cola régulier
12
355(1 cannette)
36 - 46
Cola de régime
12
355
39 - 50
 
Les renseignements suivants visent à aider les consommateurs à comprendre la contribution de divers aliments à l'apport en caféine.
Produit
Taille de la portion
(sauf d'avis contraire)
Milligrammes
de caféine
(Valeurs approximatives)
 
once
ml
 
Produits à base de cacao
     
Lait au chocolat
8
237
8
1 enveloppe de mélange pour chocolat chaud
8
237
5
Friandises, chocolat au lait
1
28g
7
Friandises, chocolat sucré
1
28g
19
Chocolat de cuisson, non sucré
1
28g
25 - 58
Gâteau au chocolat
2.8
80g
36
Carrés au chocolat (brownies)
1.5
42g
10
Mousse au chocolat
3.2
90g
15
Pouding au chocolat
5.1
145g
9

Les valeurs qui figurent au tableau proviennent des sources suivantes :

Harland, B.F. 2000. Caffeine and nutrition. Nutrition 16(7-8):522-526.
Shils, et al., 1999. Modern nutrition in health and disease. 9 th Edition. Williams and Wilkins. Waverly Company, Baltimore

Ressources connexe

  • En utilisant l'apport recommandé de 2,5 milligrammes par kilogramme de poids corporel par jour et en fonction du poids corporel moyen des enfants (Santé et Bien-être social Canada, 1990), basé sur les « effets sur le comportement ».
  • Basé sur les effets indésirables possibles de la caféine sur certains facteurs de reproduction et de développement.

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Santé et Bien-être social Canada, 1990. Recommandations sur la nutrition.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Effects of Caffeine on Human Health, P. Nawrot, S. Jordan, J. Eastwood, J. Rotstein, A. Hugenholtz and M. Feeley, Food Additives and Contaminants, 2003, Vol. 20, No. 1, pg. 1-30.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2