Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

Aspartame

Aspartame, a low-calorie artificial sweetener, has been permitted for use as a food additive in Canada since 1981 in a number of foods including soft drinks, desserts, breakfast cereals and chewing gum and is also available as a table-top sweetener. It is made by the bonding together of the amino acids aspartic acid and phenylalanine, which are normal constituents of proteins, to form a dipeptide which is further esterified with methanol.

In Canada, food additives such as aspartame are subjected to rigorous controls under the Food and Drugs Act and Regulations. Before any food additive is permitted for use, manufacturers are required to file a food additive submission in accordance with Section B.16.002 of the Regulations. A submission must contain detailed information, including the results of safety tests, as well as information respecting the utility and potential benefits to the consumer of the additive in question.

Before consideration was given to permitting aspartame for use in foods in Canada, officials of Health Canada evaluated an extensive array of toxicological tests in laboratory animals and, since its listing for use, they have examined the results of a number of clinical studies in humans. There is no evidence to suggest that the consumption of foods containing this sweetener, according to the provisions of the Food and Drug Regulations and as part of a well-balanced diet, would pose a health hazard to consumers. In addition, other scientific advisory bodies such as the Scientific Committee for Food of the European Community, and the Joint Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization and World Health Organization have reviewed all the available safety studies and have found aspartame to be safe. More than ninety countries world-wide, including the United StatesFootnote 1, countries of the European UnionFootnote 2, and Australia and New ZealandFootnote 3, have also reviewed aspartame and found it to be safe for human consumption and allow its use in various foods.

Although aspartame can be safely consumed by most healthy individuals, it has long been recognized that excessive intake of phenylalanine, one of the constituent amino acids of aspartame, can pose a hazard to individuals suffering from an inherited metabolic disorder called phenylketonuria. For this reason, all foods containing aspartame must indicate on the label the presence of phenylalanine.

An acceptable daily intake (ADI) of 40 milligrams/kilogram of body weight/day was established by scientists in the Food Directorate of Health Canada. This ADI is recognized internationally and is the same as that established by the Joint Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) of the Food and Agriculture Organization/World Health Organization (FAO/WHO).

As part of a post-market surveillance program, a study was conducted in 1987 to monitor the actual consumption of aspartame in Canada. This study which involved 5200 Canadian households and 7500 individuals, demonstrated that the actual consumption of aspartame was well below the recommended ADI even during the warmest period of the year when soft drink consumption would be expected to be high. Furthermore, follow-up studies on human subjects revealed that no adverse effects were observed even when humans were exposed to higher intakes than the established ADI.

Intakes of aspartame would be expected to be even lower now since other high-intensity sweeteners such as acesulfame-K and sucralose have been approved for use and compete on the market with aspartame.

Inspite of decades of scientific research attesting to the safety of aspartame, negative allegations about the safety of aspartame have appeared in the media and on the internet for a number of years. Some of the most common allegations and the scientific facts refuting them are as follows.

Allegation: The methanol in aspartame is toxic and is linked to numerous health problems including lupus and blindness, and also mimics multiple sclerosis

Not supported.

While methanol is a by-product of aspartame digestion, it is not foreign to the human diet. The pectin in many common foods including fruits and vegetables and their juices contains low levels of methanol and substances that are metabolised to methanol. A cup of tomato juice would provide about six times more methanol than a cup of aspartame-containing soft drink. Dietary methanol, whether it comes from aspartame or common foods, is present at levels too low to cause any health problems. It does not accumulate in the body but is metabolised through normal metabolic pathways to formaldehyde, then to formic acid and finally to water and carbon dioxide.

As the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada has stated in a Medical Update Memo, there has been no published peer-reviewed research supporting a link between aspartame and multiple sclerosis and no evidence of an MS "epidemic" exists.

Allegation: Aspartame is especially dangerous for person with diabetes

Not supported.

When the evaluation of the safety of aspartame was conducted by Health Canada, possible susceptible populations, including persons with diabetes, were taken into consideration. Studies before and after approval of aspartame have shown that it can be used safely by people with diabetes.

A review of the available studies on aspartame and glycemic control is available in a recent publication (The Clinical Evaluation of a Food Additive: Assessment of Aspartame. 1996. Edited by C. Tschanz et al. CRC Press). The conclusion of the authors was that in five well-conducted studies, the addition of aspartame to the diabetic diet in single doses or for prolonged periods of time did not affect control of blood sugar levels. In addition, there were no effects on parameters indicative of insulin counter-regulation.

Allegation: Aspartame causes cancer and brain tumours

Not supported.

Scientists in the world-wide scientific community, including Canadian scientists, have found no link between aspartame consumption and the incidence of cancer or brain tumours from a study of the safety studies performed with aspartame.

Allegation: Aspartame causes seizures

Not supported.

Clinical studies conducted by medical researchers have shown that there is no link between aspartame consumption and seizures.

One study was conducted on children and adults claiming to have experienced aspartame-induced seizures. On some days they were given a placebo and on other days they were given a large single dose of aspartame. Monitoring by EEG of their brain signals demonstrated that aspartame was no more likely to cause seizures than a placebo.

Another study on children with a medical history of seizures showed that aspartame did not induce or worsen seizures in these seizure-prone subjects.

Allegation: Aspartame causes allergic reactions

Not supported.

Investigation of reports from people claiming to have had allergic reactions to aspartame did not demonstrate a link between aspartame and allergic reactions.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Voir 21 CFR 172.804, U.S. Code of Federal Regulations.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Voir la Directive 94/35/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 30 juin 1994 concernant les édulcorants destinés à être employés dans les denrées alimentaires.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Voir Standard A8, Australia-New Zealand Food Authority.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

L'aspartame

Édulcorant artificiel hypocalorique, l'aspartame peut être utilisé comme additif alimentaire au Canada depuis 1981 dans de nombreux aliments, y compris les boissons gazeuses, les desserts, les céréales de petit déjeuner et la gomme à mâcher. Il est aussi disponible comme édulcorant de table. L'aspartame est le produit de la liaison de l'acide aspartique et de la phénylalanine, acides aminés qui sont des éléments constituants normaux des protéines. Ils forment un dipeptide qui est ensuite estérifié avec du méthanol.

Au Canada, les additifs alimentaires comme l'aspartame sont assujettis à des contrôles rigoureux en vertu de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et de son règlement d'application. Avant qu'on autorise l'utilisation d'un additif alimentaire, les fabricants doivent présenter une demande à Santé Canada conformément à l'article B.16.002 du Règlement. Une demande doit contenir des renseignements détaillés, y compris les résultats d'épreuves d'innocuité, ainsi que des renseignements sur l'utilité de l'additif en question et les avantages qu'il peut offrir aux consommateurs.

Avant d'envisager d'autoriser l'utilisation de l'aspartame dans les aliments au Canada, des représentants de Santé Canada ont évalué un éventail détaillé d'épreuves toxicologiques auxquelles on avait soumis des animaux de laboratoire. Depuis que l'utilisation en est autorisée, ils ont analysé les résultats de nombreuses études cliniques effectuées sur des sujets humains. Rien n'indique que la consommation d'aliments contenant cet édulcorant, conformément aux dispositions du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues et dans le contexte d'une alimentation équilibrée, poserait un danger pour la santé des consommateurs. D'autres organismes consultatifs scientifiques comme le Comité scientifique de l'alimentation humaine de la Communauté européenne et le Comité mixte d'experts des additifs alimentaires (CMEAA) de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture et de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé ont passé en revue toutes les études d'innocuité disponibles et constaté que l'aspartame est sans danger. Plus de 90 pays, dont les États-UnisNote de bas de page1, des pays de l'Union européenneNote de bas de page 2, ainsi que l'Australie et la Nouvelle-ZélandeNote de bas de page 3, ont aussi étudié l'aspartame et l'ont jugé sans danger pour la consommation humaine. Ils en autorisent l'utilisation dans divers aliments.

Même si la plupart des personnes en bonne santé peuvent consommer de l'aspartame sans danger, on reconnaît depuis longtemps que l'absorption excessive de phénylalanine, un des acides aminés constituants de l'aspartame, peut poser un danger pour les personnes qui sont atteintes de phénylcétonurie, trouble héréditaire du métabolisme. C'est pourquoi les étiquettes de tous les aliments contenant de l'aspartame doivent indiquer la présence de la phénylalanine.

Les scientifiques de la Direction des aliments de Santé Canada ont fixé à 40 milligrammes/ kilogramme de poids corporel/jour la dose journalière admissible (DJA). Cette DJA est reconnue sur la scène internationale et c'est la même que celle qu'a établie le Comité mixte d'experts des additifs alimentaires (CMEAA) de l'Organisation pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture et de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (FAO/OMS).

Dans le contexte d'un programme de surveillance postcommercialisation, on a réalisé en 1987 une étude pour vérifier la consommation réelle d'aspartame au Canada. Cette étude à laquelle ont participé 5 200 ménages canadiens et 7 500 personnes a démontré que la consommation réelle d'aspartame était très inférieure à la DJA recommandée, même au cours de la période la plus chaude de l'année pendant laquelle on s'attend à ce que la consommation de boissons gazeuses soit élevée. De plus, des études de suivi réalisées sur des sujets humains ont révélé qu'on n'a observé aucun effet indésirable même lorsque les sujets en question étaient exposés à des doses plus élevées que la DJA établie. On s'attendrait à ce que les doses d'aspartame soient même encore plus faibles maintenant, étant donné qu'on a approuvé l'utilisation d'autres édulcorants à forte intensité comme l'acesulfame-K et le sucralose qui font concurrence à l'aspartame sur le marché.

Même si des décennies de recherches scientifiques témoignent de l'innocuité de l'aspartame, des allégations négatives sur son innocuité paraissent dans les médias et sur Internet depuis des années. Certaines des allégations les plus répandues et les faits scientifiques qui les réfutent suivent.

Allégation : Le méthanol contenu dans l'aspartame est toxique et relié à de nombreux problèmes de santé, y compris le lupus et la cécité. Il produit aussi des effets semblables à ceux de la sclérose en plaques.

Sans fondement.

Même s'il s'agit d'un sous-produit de la digestion de l'aspartame, le méthanol n'est pas étranger à l'alimentation humaine. La pectine contenue dans de nombreux aliments courants, y compris les fruits et les légumes et leurs jus, contient de faibles concentrations de méthanol et de substances métabolisées en méthanol. Une tasse de jus de tomates produirait environ six fois plus de méthanol qu'une tasse de boisson gazeuse contenant de l'aspartame. Le méthanol alimentaire, qu'il provienne de l'aspartame ou d'aliments courants, est présent à des concentrations trop faibles pour causer des problèmes de santé. Il ne s'accumule pas dans le corps, mais il est plutôt métabolisé, par les voies du métabolisme normal, en formaldéhyde d'abord, ensuite en acide formique et finalement en eau et en gaz carbonique.

Comme la Société canadienne de la sclérose en plaques l'a affirmé dans une note de mise à jour sur la médecine, il n'y a pas de recherches publiées et critiquées par des pairs qui appuient l'existence d'un lien entre l'aspartame et la sclérose en plaques. Il n'existe en outre aucune preuve d'« épidémie « de SP.

Allégation : L'aspartame est particulièrement dangereux pour les personnes atteintes de diabète.

Sans fondement.

Lorsque Santé canada a procédé à l'évaluation de l'innocuité de l'aspartame, on a tenu compte de populations sensibles possibles comme les personnes atteintes de diabète. Des études réalisées avant et après l'approbation de l'aspartame ont montré que les diabétiques peuvent l'utiliser sans danger.

Une revue des études disponibles sur l'aspartame et le contrôle de la glycémie est disponible dans une publication récente. (The Clinical Evaluation of a Food Additive: Assessment of Aspartame. 1996. Révisé par C. Tschanz et al. CRC Press). Les auteurs ont conclu que dans cinq études bien menées, l'ajout d'aspartame à l'alimentation d'une personne diabétique, en dose unique ou pendant une période prolongée, n'a eu aucun effet sur le contrôle de la glycémie. En outre, il n'y a eu aucun effet sur les paramètres indicateurs d'une contre-régulation de l'insuline.

Allégation : L'aspartame cause le cancer et des tumeurs au cerveau.

Sans fondement.

À la suite d'une revue des études sur l'innocuité de l'aspartame, des scientifiques des milieux scientifiques mondiaux, y compris du Canada, n'ont trouvé aucun lien entre la consommation d'aspartame et l'incidence de cancers ou de tumeurs au cerveau.

Allégation : L'aspartame cause des attaques.

Sans fondement.

Les études cliniques réalisées par des chercheurs médicaux ont montré qu'il n'y a aucun lien entre la consommation d'aspartame et les attaques.

On a procédé à une étude sur des enfants et des adultes qui affirmaient avoir été victimes d'attaques provoquées par l'aspartame. On leur a administré un placebo certains jours, et une dose unique importante d'aspartame d'autres jours. Le contrôle EEG de leurs signaux cérébraux a démontré que l'aspartame n'était pas plus susceptible de causer des attaques qu'un placebo.

Une autre étude réalisée sur des enfants qui avaient des antécédents médicaux d'attaque ont montré que l'aspartame ne provoquait pas d'attaque chez ces sujets vulnérables ou ne les aggravait pas.

Allégation : L'aspartame provoque des réactions allergiques.

Sans fondement.

L'étude de déclarations de personnes qui affirmaient avoir eu des réactions allergiques à l'aspartame n'a pas démontré l'existence d'un lien entre l'aspartame et les réactions allergiques.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Voir 21 CFR 172.804, U.S. Code of Federal Regulations.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Voir la Directive 94/35/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 30 juin 1994 concernant les édulcorants destinés à être employés dans les denrées alimentaires.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Voir Standard A8, Australia-New Zealand Food Authority.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer