Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

We're revising Canada's food guide. Participate in the consultation process (link will open in a new window) to help revise Canada's food guide.
Food and Nutrition

Sugar Substitutes

In Canada, food additives such as sugar substitutes, which cover both artificial sweeteners and intense sweeteners obtained from natural sources, are subject to rigorous controls under the Food and Drugs Act and Regulations. New food additives (or new uses of permitted food additives) are only permitted once a safety assessment has been conducted and regulatory amendments have been enacted.

Several sugar substitutes have been approved for use in Canada. These include acesulfame-potassium, polydextrose, sucralose, thaumatin and sugar alcohols (polyols) like sorbitol, isomalt, lactitol, maltitol, mannitol and xylitol.

Aspartame

Aspartame, a low-calorie artificial sweetener, has been permitted for use as a food additive in Canada since 1981. It is used in a number of foods including soft drinks, desserts, breakfast cereals and chewing gum. It is also available as a table-top sweetener.

Saccharin

Saccharin is a man-made sweetener that is used in food products in many countries. In the 1970s, scientific studies raised concerns that saccharin could be carcinogenic (cancer-causing) in laboratory rats. As a result of these studies, saccharin was not permitted as a food additive in Canada, although restricted use of saccharin as a table-top sweetener has been allowed. Since that time, further studies have revealed that the carcinogenic effect of saccharin in rats does not have the same effect on humans. Health Canada's scientists have thoroughly reviewed the scientific information available and as a result are considering re-listing saccharin in the Canadian Food and Drug Regulations to allow its use as a sweetener in certain foods.

Sugar Alcohols (Polyols) & Polydextrose

Sugar alcohols are a family of sweetening agents also known as "polyols". They occur naturally in small amounts in fruits and vegetables, but for large-scale commercial use they are manufactured from common sugars. Polydextrose is a compound synthesized from dextrose (glucose) that adds texture to food without adding sweetness.

Health Canada scientists have studied the human health effects of these compounds and have concluded that the addition of sugar alcohols and/or polydextrose to foods is safe.

Stevia and Steviol Glycosides

The term stevia refers to the leaves of the plant Stevia rebaudiana Bertoni. The leaves of the stevia plant, which can be used fresh, dried, or dried and powdered, contain sweetening compounds referred to as steviol glycosides. The term stevia is also used to refer to water extracts of stevia leaf. These crude extracts have not undergone purification steps to concentrate the steviol glycoside content.

Purified stevia extract, however, is prepared in a manner that results in a highly concentrated (minimum 95%) extract of steviol glycosides. Purified stevia extract is also referred to as "steviol glycosides". If the extract has been purified in a manner that favours one of the nine known steviol glycosides, the extract may be referred to by the name of the isolated steviol glycoside (e.g., rebaudioside A).

Regulatory status of stevia and its extracts as a sweetening ingredient in foods

Stevia leaf and its crude extracts are not considered to be food additives or novel foods but are considered as food ingredients. For this reason, there is no mandatory requirement for their review and approval prior to use in food. Stevia leaves (fresh, dried or powdered) and crude extracts of stevia leaves have been available in Canada to those wishing to use these products for personal culinary use only. However, Health Canada has not been able to provide a definitive opinion on the safety of retail foods containing stevia leaf because the available scientific data on its safety is considered incomplete. The safety of any retail food containing either stevia leaves or crude stevia extract is the legal responsibility of the food seller. However, stevia leaves along with its crude extracts have been approved by Health Canada for use both as non-medicinal ingredients, and as medicinal ingredients, in certain natural health products.

Purified stevia extract is regulated as a food additive in Canada. It has undergone a full safety review and has been approved for use in various foods sold in Canada. The conditions of use for purified stevia extracts are found under "steviol glycosides" on the List of Permitted Sweeteners.

On November 30, 2012 Health Canada's Food Directorate modified the List of Permitted Sweeteners to enable the use of steviol glycosides as a sweetener in certain food categories. For more information on steviol glycosides (stevia) and its permitted uses, please see the Notice of Modification to the List of Permitted Sweeteners to Enable the Use of Steviol Glycosides as a Table-Top Sweetener and as a Sweetener in Certain Food Categories.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Succédanés du sucre

Au Canada, les additifs alimentaires tels que les succédanés du sucre, comprennant les édulcorants artificiels et édulcorants dérivés de sources naturelles, sont assujettis à des contrôles rigoureux en vertu de la Loi et règlements sur les aliments et drogues. Les nouveaux additifs alimentaires (ou des utilisations nouvelles d'additifs alimentaires préalablement approuvés) ne sont autorisés qu'après évaluation de leur innocuité et promulgation des modifications apportées à la réglementation.

L'utilisation de plusieurs succédanés du sucre a été approuvée au Canada. Parmi ceux-ci, on compte l'aspartame, l'acésulfame-potassium, le sucralose, la thaumatine, ainsi que les polyalcools (polyols), comme le sorbitol, l'isomalt, le lactitol, le maltitol, le mannitol, et le xylitol.

Aspartame

Au Canada, depuis 1981, l'utilisation d'un édulcorant hypocalorique, l'aspartame, est autorisée en tant qu'additif alimentaire dans de nombreux aliments, notamment dans les boissons gazeuses, les desserts, les céréales pour petit déjeuner et la gomme à mâcher. Il est également vendu sous forme d'édulcorant de table.

Saccharine

La saccharine est un édulcorant sans valeur nutritive utilisé dans les produits provenant de plusieurs pays. Au cours des années 1970, des résultats d'études ont fait naître des inquiétudes en révélant que la saccharine pouvait constituer un carcinogène pour les rats de laboratoire. Bien que l'accès restreint à la saccharine comme édulcorant de table ait été maintenu, c'est sur cette base que l'utilisation de la saccharine comme additif alimentaire a été interdite au Canada.

Les résultats d'études plus récentes indiquent que la saccharine n'exerce pas chez l'humain l'effet carcinogène constaté chez le rat. Les chercheurs de Santé Canada ont effectué une évaluation exhaustive de ces données récentes, et ont conclu que la saccharine ne pouvait plus être considérée comme une « substance possiblement carcinogène pour l'humain ».

Par conséquent, la réinscription au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues de la saccharine à titre d'édulcorant dans certains aliments est envisagée.

Polyalcools (polyols) et polydextrose

Les polyalcools sont une famille d'agents édulcorants aussi appelés « polyols ». Les légumes et les fruits en contiennent naturellement, en petites quantités; toutefois, aux fins de commercialisation à grande échelle, ils sont fabriqués à partir de sucres ordinaires. Le polydextrose est un composé synthétisé à partir du dextrose (glucose), qui permet d'ajouter de la texture aux aliments sans les rendre plus sucrés.

Les scientifiques de Santé Canada ont étudié les effets sur la santé humaine de ces composés et ont conclu que l'ajout de polyalcools ou de polydextrose aux aliments est sécuritaire.

Stevia et les glycosides de stéviol

Le terme stevia est utilisé pour désigner les feuilles de la plante dénommée Stevia rebaudiana Bertoni. Ces feuilles sont utilisées fraîches, séchées ou séchées et réduites en poudre. Elles contiennent des composants édulcorants appelés glycosides de stéviol. Parfois, le terme stevia est utilisé pour désigner des extraits aqueux de la feuille de stevia. Ces extraits bruts ne font pas l'objet d'étapes de purification visant à augmenter leur teneur en glycosides de stéviol.

Les extraits de stevia purifiés, par contre, sont préparés de façon à produire un extrait hautement concentré en glycosides de stéviol (en contenant au moins 95 %). Actuellement, neuf glycosides de stéviol sont connus. Les extraits de stevia purifiés sont aussi dénommés glycosides de stéviol. Si l'extrait a été purifié de façon à favoriser une concentration supérieure en l'un des glycosides de stéviol, il est possible que l'extrait soit désigné par le nom du glycoside de stéviol isolé (p. ex. rabaudioside A).

État réglementaire de stevia et des extraits de stevia utilisés comme ingrédients édulcorants dans les aliments

Selon la réglementation canadienne, la feuille de stevia et ses extraits bruts sont considérés à titre d'ingrédients alimentaires plutôt que comme additifs alimentaires ou aliments nouveaux. C'est pourquoi l'examen et l'approbation préalables à leur utilisation dans les aliments ne constituent pas des exigences obligatoires. Les feuilles de stevia (fraîches, séchées ou réduites en poudre) et leurs extraits bruts ont été offerts sur le marché canadien à l'intention des personnes souhaitant recourir à ces produits à des fins culinaires personnelles seulement. En ce qui a trait à leur utilisation plus généralisée dans les aliments vendus au détail, Santé Canada n'a pas été en mesure de formuler une opinion définitive sur l'innocuité des aliments contenant des feuilles de stevia car les données scientifiques publiées sur cette question sont jugées incomplètes. Assurer l'innocuité de tout aliment contenant des feuilles de stevia ou des extraits de stevia bruts est la responsabilité du vendeur de l'aliment. Cependant les feuilles de stevia et les extraits de stevia bruts ont reçu l'approbation de Santé Canada pour leur utilisation comme ingrédients non-médicinal dans certains produits naturel de santé.

Au Canada, l'extrait de stevia purifié est régi à titre d'additif alimentaire. L'extrait a fait l'objet d'un examen approfondi de l'innocuité, et son utilisation a été autorisée dans divers aliments vendus au Canada. Les conditions d'utilisation des extraits de stevia purifiés, dénommés glycosides de steviol, figurent dans la Liste des édulcorants autorisés.

Le 30 novembre 2012, la Direction des Aliments de Santé Canada a modifié la Liste des édulcorants autorisés visant à permettre le recours aux glycosides de stéviol à titre d'édulcorants de table et d'édulcorants dans certaines catégories d'aliments. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet des glycosides de stéviol, veillez voir l'Avis de Modification à la Liste des édulcorants autorisés visant à permettre le recours aux glycosides de stéviol à titre d'édulcorants de table et d'édulcorants dans certaines catégories d'aliments.