Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

Health Canada's Position on Gluten-Free Claims

June 2012

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Table of Contents

Background

Celiac disease is a lifelong medical condition observed in genetically susceptible individuals. Symptoms and complications occur in response to the ingestion of the gluten protein found in wheat and related grains. Exposure to gluten can lead to a series of immune-mediated adverse reactions and progressive deterioration of the lining of the small intestine. Individuals with celiac disease have an increased risk of developing other diseases, including osteoporosis, lymphoma and type I diabetes mellitus. They are also at increased risk of reproductive problems. In children, celiac disease can be associated with growth failure and delayed puberty. It is estimated that Celiac disease affects approximately 1% of the population, or 340,000 Canadians.

A life-long gluten-free diet is the only way to avoid the symptoms and the complications of celiac disease. As a result, individuals with celiac disease are advised to avoid the consumption of wheat, rye, barley, oats and triticale, as well as their hybridized strains. Gluten can be present in a food as a result of its manufacture using ingredients that are gluten sources themselves, such as wheat or barley. Gluten can also be present in a food due to cross-contamination as a result of manufacturing or distribution practices. As grains containing gluten are widely used in the production of many pre-packaged foods, to avoid acute and chronic adverse health effects, careful review of food labels is essential for individuals with Celiac disease to determine if gluten-containing ingredients are present.

Regulatory Requirements for Gluten-Free Foods

Division 24 of the Food and Drug Regulations (FDR) sets out specific regulations that apply to "Foods for Special Dietary Use".

A "food for special dietary use" is defined in B.24.001 of the FDR as a food that has been specially processed or formulated to meet the particular requirements of a person:

  1. in whom a physical or physiological condition exists as a result of a disease, disorder or injury; or
  2. for whom a particular effect, including but not limited to weight loss, is to be obtained by a controlled intake of foods.

As per section B.24.003(1)(g), a gluten-free food that meets the requirements described in section B.24.018, is one of the types of foods for special dietary use that are covered by the requirements of Division 24.

As of August 4, 2012, section B.24.018 of the Food and Drug Regulations will state that:

It is prohibited to label, package, sell or advertise a food in a manner likely to create an impression that it is a gluten-free food if the food contains any gluten protein or modified gluten protein, including any gluten protein fraction, referred to in the definition "gluten" in subsection B.01.010.1(1).

Subsection B.01.010.1(1) reads:

"gluten"

(a) any gluten protein from the grain of any of the following cereals or the grain of a hybridized strain created from at least one of the following cereals:

(i) barley,
(ii) oats,
(iii) rye,
(iv) triticale, or
(v) wheat, kamut or spelt; or

(b) any modified gluten protein, including any gluten protein fraction, that is derived from the grain of any of the cereals referred to in subparagraphs (a)(i) to (v) or the grain of a hybridized strain referred to in paragraph (a). (gluten)

Recent advances in the knowledge base about gluten intolerance and Celiac disease

Individuals affected by Celiac disease have been shown to be capable of tolerating a small amount of gluten in their diet. The amount of gluten to which a person with Celiac disease can be exposed before the gluten will have a negative impact on their health is often referred to as a "threshold level". The types of studies required to estimate threshold levels are demanding on study participants, given they require invasive diagnostic procedures to look for signs of intestinal damage. For this reason only a small number of these studies have been conducted usually with a limited number of participants.

Studies have shown that there is variation in the amount of gluten people with celiac disease can tolerate. Therefore, it is difficult to suggest a single definitive threshold. A study published in 2007 looked at the effects of exposure to 0, 10 or 50 mg/day of gluten on people with Celiac disease. Some signs of damage to the intestinal villi were found in the 50 mg/day group, whereas 10mg/day appeared safe for most of the subjects studiedFootnote 1. The authors concluded that "the ingestion of contaminating gluten should be kept lower than 50 mg/day in the treatment of CD"Footnote 2. A systematic review of available information on a tolerable amount of gluten for people with Celiac diseaseFootnote 3 published in 2008 concluded that "a daily gluten intake of less than10 mg is unlikely to cause significant histological abnormalities." In other words, it is anticipated that the majority of people with Celiac disease will not be negatively affected if they limit their gluten intake to less than 10 mg per day.

Health Canada has conducted exposure estimationsFootnote 4 to gluten from grain-containing foods and foods with grain-derived ingredients (i.e., flour), taking into consideration the various rates of food consumption by different sex and age groups. These estimates have concluded that if gluten was present at levels not exceeding 20ppm (parts per million or milligrams per kilogram), exposure to gluten would remain below 10 mg per day for all age groups studied. As individuals with celiac disease tend to consume even fewer servings of grain-based products, these estimates further demonstrate that even if all foods labelled as gluten-free food contained 20 ppm gluten, the majority of people with Celiac disease would still be protected (consume less than 10 mg gluten/day). This assessment will be made available in the peer reviewed scientific literature.

In surveys that have been conducted for foods labelled as gluten-free, available for sale in Canada, most samples contained less than 20 ppm of gluten and many of the samples tested had no detectable levels of gluten in themFootnote 5. This would imply that actual exposure to gluten from the consumption of gluten-free foods would likely be much lower than 10 mg/day.

Update on Health Canada's Position Related to the use of Gluten-Free Claims

Division 24 of the Food and Drug Regulations is intended to protect the health and safety of individuals who require the use of foods for special dietary use that are covered by these regulations.

With respect to gluten-free foods, only those foods that have been specially processed or formulated to meet the needs of individuals, including individuals with Celiac disease, who need to follow a gluten-free diet in order to protect their health, are considered foods for special dietary purposes and are allowed to carry a gluten-free claim. For example, bread specially formulated with substitute flours from grains that are not identified as one of the gluten sources referred to in section B.24.018 and specifically listed in subsection B.01.010.1(1) (i.e., wheat, rye, barley, oats, triticale) could be labelled gluten-free if it meets all other requirements of the Food and Drug Regulations.

If a food is determined to be protective of the health of people with Celiac disease, and meets the other requirements of Division 24 (specially processed and formulated), it follows that such a food should be able to use the claim "Gluten-free", as long as it is being done in a manner that is truthful and not misleading.

While no specific threshold is mentioned in the Regulations themselves, the best currently available scientific evidence indicates that levels of gluten below 20 ppm in gluten-free foods would be protective of the health of the vast majority of people with Celiac disease. This level is recognized internationally in the Codex Alimentarius Standard for Foods for Special Dietary Use for Persons Intolerant to Gluten ( Next link will take you to another Web site Codex Stan 118-1979) which states that the gluten content of foods labelled gluten free shall not exceed 20 ppm.

Based on the available scientific evidence, Health Canada considers that gluten-free foods, prepared under good manufacturing practices, which contain levels of gluten not exceeding 20 ppm as a result of cross-contamination, meet the health and safety intent of B.24.018 when a gluten-free claim is made.

Based on the enhanced labelling regulations for allergens and gluten sources, any intentionally added gluten sources, even at low levels (e.g. wheat flour as a component in a seasoning mixture which makes up a small proportion of the final food), must be declared either in the list of ingredients or in a "Contains" statement. In these cases, a gluten-free claim would be considered false and misleading." If, however, a manufacturer using a cereal-derived ingredient includes additional processing steps which are demonstrated to be effective in removing gluten, then the food may be represented as gluten-free.

Related Guidance on Gluten Detection Methodologies

Currently, the most commonly used methods to detect the presence of gluten are ELISA-based methods, which use antibodies to detect proteins or specific parts of proteins (epitopes). In general, these methods are sensitive and specific to the analytes they target and can detect gluten in a wide variety of foods. However, these methods may have difficulty detecting and/or quantifying proteins that have been hydrolyzed, fragmented or otherwise structurally altered, since the antibody will no longer react in the same manner if the epitopes have changed significantly.

However, based on the most recent assessment conducted by Health Canada, methods using the Mendez antibodies (R5 antibodies) allow for the detection and quantification of gluten in processed foods. Health Canada will continue to assess analytical methods that are specific to the detection and quantification of gluten in processed foods and will provide further guidance on the applicability of these methods.

While additional evidence is being gathered to support the establishment of a regulatory 20 ppm threshold for Gluten free claims, including the development of an accepted standard reference material for Gluten, Health Canada is of the position that at levels not exceeding 20 ppm of gluten as a result of cross-contamination, when Good Manufacturing Practices are followed, a claim suggesting the food is gluten-free would not pose a health risk to individuals with celiac disease and would meet the intent of B.24.018 of the FDR. This would be in keeping with the availability of validated methods (and their associated limitations, as outlined above), and would be consistent with the approach being taken internationally.

Health Canada is continually monitoring the latest scientific evidence on Celiac disease and gluten detection methodologies, and will update its guidance if and when it is required as new information becomes available.

Additional Information

Should you wish to provide feedback or request further information on Health Canada's position on gluten free claims, please contact the Bureau of Chemical Safety.

References

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Catassi, C. Response to P.Collin et al, AmJ Clin Nutr, 2007 ; 86:260-9

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Catassi, C., Fabiani, E., Iacono, G., D'Agate, C., Francavilla, R., Biagi, F., Volta, U., Accomando, S., Picarelli, A., Vitis, I. de, Pianelli, G., Gesuita, R., Carle, F., Mandolesi, A., Bearzi, I.,Fasano, A. A prospective, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial to establish a safe gluten threshold for patients with celiac disease. Am J Clin Nutr. 2007;85(1):160-166

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Akobeng AK, Thomas AG. Systematic review: Tolerable amount of gluten for people with coeliac disease. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2008 ;27:1044-1052

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Health Canada's Food Directorate data to be submitted for publication.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

GÚlinas P, McKinnon CM, Mena MC, MÚndez E. Gluten contamination of cereal foods in Canada. Int J Food Sci Tech. 2008;43:1245-1252

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Nous révisons le guide alimentaire du Canada. Participez à la consultation (le lien sera ouvert dans une nouvelle fenêtre) et aidez à réviser le Guide alimentaire canadien.
Aliments et nutrition

Position de Santé Canada au sujet des allégations sans gluten

Juin 2012

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Table des matières

Contexte

La maladie cœliaque est un trouble de la santé chronique observé chez les personnes génétiquement prédisposées. Les symptômes et les complications apparaissent en réaction à l'ingestion de protéines de gluten présentes dans le blé et les céréales apparentées. L'exposition au gluten peut entraîner une série de réactions indésirables d'origine immunologique avec détérioration progressive de la paroi de l'intestin grêle. Les personnes souffrant de la maladie cœliaque courent un risque plus élevé que la population en général d'être atteintes d'autres maladies, notamment d'ostéoporose, de lymphome et de diabète de type 1. Elles sont également davantage exposées aux troubles de la reproduction. Chez les enfants, la maladie cœliaque peut entraîner un retard de croissance et de la puberté. La maladie cœliaque affecte environ 1 % de la population ou 340 000 Canadiens.

L'adoption d'un régime sans gluten la vie durant est la seule façon d'éviter les symptômes et les complications provoqués par la maladie cœliaque. Par conséquent, il est conseillé aux personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque d'éviter la consommation de blé, de seigle, d'orge, d'avoine et de triticale, de même que les lignées hybrides de ces céréales. Le gluten peut se trouver dans un aliment parce qu'il est fabriqué à partir de certains ingrédients qui sont, en soi, des sources de gluten, par exemple le blé ou l'orge. Mais le gluten peut aussi y être présent à cause d'une contamination croisée découlant des usages de fabrication ou de distribution. Comme les céréales contenant du gluten sont largement utilisées dans la production de nombreux aliments préemballés, les personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque doivent lire attentivement l'étiquette des aliments afin d'y repérer toute présence d'ingrédients contenant du gluten afin d'éviter les effets graves et chroniques que ceux-ci ont sur leur santé.

Exigences réglementaires relatives aux aliments sans gluten

Des règles particulières s'appliquant aux aliments à usage diététique spécial figurent au titre 24 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues (RAD).

Le terme aliment à usage diététique spécial est défini à l'article B.24.001 du RAD, il désigne un aliment qui a été spécialement transformé ou formulé pour satisfaire les besoins alimentaires particuliers d'une personne :

  1. manifestant un état physique ou physiologique particulier à la suite d'une maladie, d'une blessure ou d'un désordre fonctionnel, ou
  2. chez qui l'on cherche à obtenir un résultat particulier, y compris, sans s'y limiter, une perte de poids, grâce au contrôle de sa ration alimentaire.

Selon l'alinéa B.24.003(1)g), un aliment sans gluten satisfaisant les exigences énoncées à l'article B.24.017 compte au nombre des types d'aliments à usage diététique spécial assujettis aux exigences du titre 24.

À compter du 4 août 2012, l'article B.24.018 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues sera libellé comme suit :

Il est interdit d'étiqueter, d'emballer, de vendre un aliment ou d'en faire la publicité de manière à donner l'impression qu'il est sans gluten si l'aliment contient toute protéine de gluten ou protéine de gluten modifiée, y compris toute fraction protéique de gluten dont il est question à la définition du terme « gluten » figurant au paragraphe B.01.010.1(1).

Le paragraphe B.01.010.1(1) est libellé comme suit :

« gluten»

a) Toute protéine de gluten provenant des grains d'une des céréales ci-après ou des grains d'une lignée hybride créée à partir d'au moins l'une de ces céréales :

(i) orge,
(ii) avoine,
(iii) seigle,
(iv) triticale,
(v) blé, kamut, épeautre ou;

b) toute protéine de gluten modifiée -- y compris toute fraction protéique de gluten -- qui est dérivée des grains d'une des céréales mentionnées à l'alinéa a) ou des grains d'une lignée hybride qui est visée à cet alinéa. (gluten)

Nouvelles connaissances sur l'intolérance au gluten et la maladie cœliaque

Il a été démontré que les personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque peuvent tolérer une petite quantité de gluten dans leur alimentation. La quantité de gluten à laquelle une personne atteinte de la maladie cœliaque peut être exposée avant que la substance ait une incidence négative sur sa santé est fréquemment appelée un seuil. Le type d'études devant être menées pour estimer des seuils est exigeant pour les participants puisqu'ils doivent être soumis à des procédures de diagnostic invasives visant à repérer des signes d'atteintes intestinales. C'est pourquoi seules quelques études de ce type auxquelles, habituellement, un petit nombre de sujets ont participé ont eu lieu.

Des études ont montré qu'il existait des variations concernant la quantité de gluten pouvant être tolérée par les personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque. . Par conséquent, il est difficile de proposer un seuil unique et définitif. Une étude dont les résultats ont été publiés en 2007 a porté sur les effets d'une exposition à 0, à 10 ou à 50 mg/jour de gluten chez des personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque. Des signes d'atteintes des villosités intestinales ont été observés chez les participants du groupe exposé à 50 mg/jour, tandis que la quantité de 10 mg/jour a semblé inoffensive chez la plupart des sujets ayant participé à l'étudeNote de bas de page 1. Les auteurs ont conclu que « dans le traitement de la maladie cœliaque, l'ingestion de gluten contaminant doit demeurer inférieure à 50 mg/jour »Note de bas de page 2. Un examen systématique des données publiées sur la quantité de gluten tolérable chez les personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaqueNote de bas de page 3, dont les résultats ont été publiés en 2008, a permis de conclure ce qui suit « un apport quotidien en gluten de moins de 10 mg ne provoque vraisemblablement pas d'anomalies histologiques importantes. » Autrement dit, il est attendu que la majorité des personnes ayant une maladie cœliaque ne seront pas affectés par un apport en gluten de moins de 10 mg par jour.

Santé Canada a établi des estimationsNote de bas de page 4 de l'exposition au gluten issu d'aliments contenant des céréales et des ingrédients dérivés de céréales (c.-à-d., la farine) en tenant compte des quantités d'aliments consommées par les différents groupes d'âge-sexe. Ces estimations ont permis de conclure que si le gluten est présent en quantité maximale de 20 ppm (parties par million ou milligrammes par kilogramme) dans ces aliments, l'exposition au gluten demeure inférieure à 10 mg par jour chez tous les groupes d'âge-sexe étudiés. Puisque les personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque consomment généralement moins de portions de produits à base de céréale que le reste de la population, ces estimations démontrent encore davantage que si tous les aliments étiquetés sans gluten contenaient 20 ppm de gluten, la majorité des personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque demeureraient protégées (en consommant moins de 10 mg de gluten/jour). Cette évaluation sera publiée dans des ouvrages scientifiques à comité de lecture.

Dans le cadre des enquêtes menées sur les aliments étiquetés sans gluten vendus au Canada, la plupart des échantillons analysés contenaient moins de 20 ppm de gluten et dans plusieurs d'entre eux, aucune trace de gluten n'a été détectéeNote de bas de page 5. Cela laisse entendre que l'exposition réelle au gluten issue de la consommation d'aliments sans gluten est vraisemblablement de loin inférieure à 10 mg/jour.

Actualisation de la position de Santé Canada au sujet du recours aux allégations sans gluten

Le titre 24 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues a pour but de protéger la santé et la sécurité des personnes devant consommer des aliments à usage diététique spécial qui ne sont pas visés par ledit règlement.

En ce qui a trait aux aliments sans gluten, seuls les aliments qui ont été transformés ou dont la composition a été déterminée dans le but particulier de combler les besoins des personnes, y compris des personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque devant respecter un régime alimentaire sans gluten afin de protéger leur santé, sont considérés à titre d'aliments à usage diététique spécial sur l'étiquette desquels une allégation sans gluten peut figurer en toute légitimité. Par exemple, dans la mesure où il satisfait à toutes les autres exigences du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, le pain préparé spécialement à partir de farines de remplacement issues de céréales ne faisant pas partie des sources de gluten énumérées à l'article B.24.018 et dont la liste est dressée au paragraphe B.01.010.1(1) (c.-à-d., le blé, le seigle, l'orge, l'avoine et le triticale) pourrait être étiqueté sans gluten.

S'il est établi qu'un aliment protège la santé des personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque et qu'il satisfait aux autres exigences du titre 24 (qu'il a été transformé ou formulé pour satisfaire les besoins alimentaires particuliers de certaines personnes), dans la mesure où elle est véridique et non trompeuse, l'allégation « sans gluten » devrait pouvoir y figurer en toute légitimité.

Bien qu'aucun seuil particulier ne soit mentionné dans le Règlement en soi, les données probantes de la meilleure qualité publiées à ce jour indiquent que les aliments dont la concentration en gluten est inférieure à 20 ppm protégeraient la santé de la vaste majorité des personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque. Cette concentration est admise sur le plan international dans la Norme de Codex pour les aliments diététiques ou de régime destinés aux personnes souffrant d'une intolérance au gluten ( Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Codex Stan 118-1979) indiquant que la teneur en gluten des aliments étiquetés sans gluten ne doit pas dépasser 20 ppm.

Selon les données scientifiques publiées, Santé Canada considère que les aliments sans gluten préparés conformément aux bonnes pratiques de fabrication et ne contenant pas plus de 20 ppm de gluten issues d'une contamination croisée respectent l'esprit de l'article B.24.018 visant la protection de la santé et de la sécurité dans les cas où ils font l'objet d'une allégation sans gluten.

En vertu du règlement amélioré sur l'étiquetage des allergènes et des sources du gluten, la présence de toute source de gluten ajoutée intentionnellement, même en faible quantité (p. ex., la farine de blé comme ingrédient d'un mélange d'assaisonnement constituant une part infime de l'aliment fini), doit être déclarée soit dans la liste des ingrédients, soit dans une mention « Contient ». Si une allégation sans gluten figurait sur un produit sans satisfaire à ces exigences, elle serait considérée comme fausse et trompeuse. Cependant, si un fabricant utilise des ingrédients dérivés de céréales et recourt à des étapes de transformation supplémentaires dont l'efficacité est démontrée lorsqu'il s'agit d'éliminer le gluten, ses produits peuvent être présentés à titre d'aliment sans gluten.

Directives connexes sur les méthodes de détection du gluten

Actuellement, les méthodes employées le plus fréquemment pour détecter la présence de gluten sont fondées sur les tests ELISA, lesquels recourent aux anticorps pour la détection de protéines ou de parties particulières de protéines (épitopes). En règle générale, ces méthodes sont sensibles et propres aux substances ciblées et elles permettent de détecter la présence de gluten dans une grande variété d'aliments. Toutefois, elles peuvent faillir à détecter ou à quantifier les protéines hydrolysées, fragmentées ou dont la structure a été altérée de quelque autre façon puisque l'anticorps ne réagira pas de la même manière si les épitopes ont changé de façon substantielle.

Cependant, selon les plus récentes évaluations effectuées par Santé Canada, les méthodes recourant à l'anticorps R5 (Mendez) permettent la détection et la quantification du gluten dans les aliments transformés. Santé Canada poursuivra son évaluation des méthodes d'analyse ciblant la détection et la quantification du gluten dans les aliments transformés et publiera des lignes directrices supplémentaires sur l'applicabilité de ces méthodes.

Tandis que des données probantes additionnelles sont rassemblées dans le but d'appuyer l'établissement d'un seuil réglementaire de 20 ppm permettant le recours aux allégations sans gluten, y compris l'élaboration de matériel de référence d'application générale admis sur le gluten, Santé Canada est d'avis que dans la mesure où les bonnes pratiques de fabrication sont observées, une allégation laissant entendre qu'un aliment est sans gluten alors que sa concentration en gluten découlant d’une contamination croisée n’est pas supérieure à 20 ppm ne comporterait pas de risques pour les personnes atteintes de la maladie cœliaque et respecterait l'esprit de l'article B.24.018 du RAD. Cette position cadrerait avec la disponibilité des méthodes validées (et de leurs limites décrites ci-dessus) ainsi qu'avec la démarche retenue sur le plan international.

Santé Canada exerce une surveillance continue des observations scientifiques sur la maladie cœliaque et les méthodes de détection du gluten et actualisera ses directives au fur et à mesure de la publication éventuelle de nouvelles données le justifiant.

Information supplémentaire

Si vous souhaitez donner votre avis ou si vous avez besoin d'informations supplémentaires concernant la position de Santé Canada sur les allégations sans-gluten, vous pouvez contacter le Bureau d'innocuité des produits chimiques.

Références

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Catassi, C., « Response to P.Collin et al », AmJ Clin Nutr, 2007 ; 86:260-9.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Catassi, C., E. Fabiani, G. Iacono, C. D'Agate, R. Francavilla, F. Biagi, U. Volta, S. Accomando, A. Picarelli, I. de Vitis, G. Pianelli, R. Gesuita, F. Carle, A. Mandolesi, I. Bearzi et A. Fasano. « A prospective, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial to establish a safe gluten threshold for patients with celiac disease ». Am J Clin Nutr. 2007;85(1):160-166.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Akobeng, A. K. et A. G. Thomas. « Systematic review: Tolerable amount of gluten for people with coeliac disease ». Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2008 ;27:1044-1052.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Données de la Direction des aliments de Santé Canada qui seront déposées en vue de leur publication.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4 referrer

Note de bas de page 5

Gélinas, P., C. M. McKinnon, M. C. Mena et E. Méndez. « Gluten contamination of cereal foods in Canada ». Int J Food Sci Tech. 2008;43:1245-1252.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5 referrer