Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

Celiac Disease

Celiac disease or gluten-sensitive enteropathy is an inherited condition triggered by the consumption of cereal grains containing "gluten". Simply put, the immune system of a celiac reacts negatively to the presence of gluten in the diet causing damage to the inner lining of the small bowel which reduces the person's ablility to absorb nutrients including: iron, folate, calcium, Vitamin D, protein, fat and other food compounds. The grains considered to be capable of producing negative effects in individuals with celiac disease include the different species of wheat (e.g., durum, spelt, kamut), barley, rye, and their cross-bred hybrids (e.g., triticale, which is a cross between wheat and rye). Currently the only treatment for celiac disease is to continually maintain a strict gluten-free diet. This disease affects nearly 1% of the population.

Closely related family members of celiacs have a greater risk of developing the disease. However, not all individuals carrying the genes identified with this disease will develop the disease. Therefore, other genetic and environmental factors have also been implicated in its development.

The symptoms of celiac disease vary greatly from one person to another both in extent and seriousness, making diagnosis difficult. Infants and children more often display symptoms of diarrhea and abnormal stretching of the abdomen. They could also show symptoms of malnutrition such as short stature, anemia (weakness or low stamina), defects in teething, failure to thrive, or in developmental delay. In adults, gastrointestinal complaints are common and include abdominal pain, flatulence, and diarrhea. Weight loss is most common, but symptoms of weight gain and constipation are not unheard of. Only some individuals with celiac disease suffer typical gastrointestinal symptoms, while others may display no visible symptoms. Further symptoms vary and can include mouth ulcers, extreme fatigue, bone pain and others. A serious skin condition (called dermatitis herpetiformis) that results in an itchy rash with bumps and blisters is sometimes a result of this disease. This condition is linked to gluten sensitivity, and skin biopsy (sampling and testing) is usually performed to confirm diagnosis.

Other conditions associated with celiac disease include type 1 diabetes, down syndrome, thyroiditis, arthritis, ataxia, depression, and neuropathy.

If celiac disease is diagnosed early and treated with a gluten-free diet, the damaged tissues can heal and the risk of developing many of the long term complications of this disease, including osteoporosis (a weakening of the bones), lymphoma (tumors arising in the lymph nodes), and infertility can be reduced.

Diagnosis

In recent years, an improvement in the overall level of awareness about celiac disease and associated conditions has allowed individuals and health professionals to better suspect and screen for celiac disease. This is particularly true for those groups at high risk.

Celiac disease can be diagnosed through a combination of:

  • Blood tests
  • Small-bowel biopsy
  • Recovery from the symptoms while following a gluten-free diet

Small-bowel biopsy remains the 'gold standard' test for celiac disease detection. Testing for the disease should take place before an individual starts a gluten-free diet, since removal of gluten from the diet would interfere with a practitioner's ability to detect the disease. After 6 to 12 months of maintaining a strict gluten-free diet, symptoms should disappear, blood tests for the disease should become negative, and any small bowel injury should heal completely. It will be important for celiac patients to regularly follow up with their family doctor on their progress in treating the disease.

For more information on celiac disease

Some of the hyperlinks provided are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Next link will take you to another Web site Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

Other Information

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Maladie coeliaque

La maladie coeliaque, ou entéropathie au gluten, est une affection héréditaire déclenchée par la consommation de grains céréaliers contenant du « gluten ». En bref, le système immunitaire d'une personne atteinte réagit de façon négative à la présence de gluten dans l'alimentation et endommage la paroi intérieure de l'intestin grêle, réduisant ainsi la capacité d'absorption de certains nutriments, dont le fer, l'acide folique, le calcium, la vitamine D, les protéines, les graisses et d'autres composés alimentaires. Les grains susceptibles d'exercer des effets négatifs chez les personnes atteintes de la maladie coeliaque comprennent les différentes espèces de blé (p. ex. le blé dur, l'épeautre, le kamut), l'orge, le seigle et leurs hybrides obtenus par croisement (p. ex. le triticale, résultant du croisement du blé et du seigle). À l'heure actuelle, le seul traitement contre la maladie coeliaque consiste à maintenir en tout temps un régime alimentaire exempt de gluten. Cette maladie affecte près de 1 % de la population.

Les membres de la famille rapprochée des personnes souffrant de la maladie coeliaque sont plus susceptibles de développer la maladie. Toutefois, les personnes porteuses du gène associé à la maladie ne la développeront pas forcément, comme quoi d'autres facteurs d'ordre génétique et environnemental contribuent également à son développement.

Les symptômes de la maladie coeliaque varient beaucoup d'une personne à l'autre, tant en ampleur qu'en gravité, ce qui complique le diagnostic. Chez les nourrissons et les enfants, les symptômes se manifestent la plupart du temps par des diarrhées ou une extension abdominale anormale. Ceux-ci peuvent également présenter des symptômes de malnutrition tels qu'une petite taille, de l'anémie (faiblesse ou manque d'endurance), des anomalies relatives à la dentition et des retards de croissance ou de développement. Les adultes, quant à eux, se plaignent souvent de troubles gastro-intestinaux, notamment de douleurs abdominales, de flatulences et de diarrhées. Les pertes de poids sont courantes, mais on rencontre également des symptômes de gain de poids et de constipation. Seulement certaines personnes atteintes de la maladie présentent des symptômes types, tandis que d'autres ne souffrent d'aucun symptôme apparent. La maladie peut également provoquer divers autres symptômes, entre autres des aphtes buccaux, une fatigue extrême et des douleurs aux os. Il arrive également que la maladie engendre une affection cutanée sérieuse (appelée dermatite herpétiforme) caractérisée par des boutons et des cloques s'accompagnant de démangeaisons. Cette affection est reliée à l'intolérance au gluten, et l'on procède d'ordinaire à une biopsie cutanée (prélèvement et analyse) pour en confirmer le diagnostic.

D'autres affections sont également associées à la maladie coeliaque, notamment le diabète de type 1, le syndrome de Down, la thyroïdite, l'arthrite, l'ataxie, la dépression et la neuropathie.

Le diagnostic précoce et le traitement au moyen d'un régime exempt de gluten peuvent permettre la guérison des tissus endommagés et la réduction des risques de développer plusieurs des complications à long terme engendrées par la maladie, entre autres l'ostéoporose (l'affaiblissement des os), les lymphomes (tumeurs se formant dans les ganglions lymphatiques) et l'infertilité.

Diagnostic

La sensibilisation générale accrue à l'égard de la maladie coeliaque et des affections connexes au cours des dernières années a permis aux personnes et aux professionnels de la santé de mieux pressentir et dépister la maladie, en particulier chez les groupes à risque élevé.

On peut diagnostiquer la maladie coeliaque en combinant ce qui suit :

  • Des analyses sanguines;
  • Une biopsie de l'intestin grêle;
  • Un soulagement des symptômes suivant le retrait du gluten de l'alimentation.

La biopsie de l'intestin grêle demeure le test par excellence pour dépister la maladie coeliaque. On doit procéder aux analyses avant de retirer le gluten du régime alimentaire afin de ne pas compromettre la capacité du médecin à dépister la maladie. En maintenant un régime sans gluten pendant 6 à 12 mois, les personnes atteintes devraient voir disparaître leurs symptômes, voir leurs analyses sanguines se révéler négatives et jouir d'une guérison complète des dommages à l'intestin grêle. Il importe que les patients atteints assurent un suivi régulier auprès de leur médecin de famille afin de rendre compte des progrès réalisés dans le traitement de leur maladie.

Pour plus d'information sur la maladie coeliaque, veuillez consulter les liens suivants :

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Renseignements supplémentaires