Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its food and nutrition web content! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now (link will open in new window).
Food and Nutrition

Food Allergies and Intolerances

Food allergies are sensitivities caused by a reaction of the body's immune system to specific proteins in a food. According to a recent publicationFootnote 1, approximately 7% of Canadians self-report a food allergy. However, fewer are likely to have a physician-diagnosed food allergy, which are estimated at prevalence levels up to 5-6% for young children and 3-4% for adults in westernized countriesFootnote 2Footnote 3Footnote 4Footnote 5.

In allergic individuals, a food protein is mistakenly identified by the immune system as being harmful. The first time the individual is exposed to such a protein, the body's immune system responds by creating antibodies called immunoglobulin E (IgE). When the individual is exposed again to the same food protein, IgE antibodies and chemicals such as histamine are released. Histamine is a powerful chemical that can cause a reaction in the respiratory system, gastrointestinal tract, skin or cardiovascular system. In the most extreme cases, food allergies can be fatal. Although any food can provoke an immune response in allergic individuals, a few foods are responsible for the majority of food allergies.

Celiac disease is a genetic disease and the symptoms are triggered by the consumption of gluten. The main sources of gluten in the diet are cereal grains and the only current treatment for celiac disease is to continually maintain a strict gluten-free diet.

A food intolerance is a food sensitivity that does not involve the individual's immune system. Unlike food allergies, or chemical sensitivities, where a small amount of food can cause a reaction, it generally takes a more normal sized portion to produce symptoms of food intolerance. While the symptoms of food intolerance vary and can be mistaken for those of a food allergy, food intolerances are more likely to originate in the gastrointestinal system and are usually caused by an inability to digest or absorb certain foods, or components of those foods.

For example, intolerance to dairy products is one of the most common food intolerances. Known as lactose intolerance, it occurs in people who lack an enzyme called lactase, which is needed to digest lactose (a sugar in milk.) Symptoms of lactose intolerance may include abdominal pain and bloating, diarrhoea and flatulence.

A food sensitivity is an adverse reaction to a food that other people can safely eat, and includes food allergies, food intolerances, and chemical sensitivities.

Chemical sensitivities occur when a person has an adverse reaction to chemicals that occur naturally in, or are added to, foods. Examples of chemical sensitivities are reactions to: caffeine in coffee, tyramine in aged cheese and flavour enhancer monosodium glutamate.

If you experience adverse reactions to food, consult your family doctor and a dietitian to help you to determine if have a food allergy, intolerance or other food sensitivity.

See Also:

Co-Mingling in Agricultural Grain Products as a Possible Source of Food Allergens

Be Food Allergy Aware When Packing School Lunches

Food Allergies - It's Your Health

Allergen Control Activities within the Canadian Food Inspection Agency

Government of Canada Announces New Labelling Requirements to Protect Health of Canadians

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Overall Prevalence of Self-reported Food Allergy in Canada, L. Soller et al, Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (2012). doi: 10.1016/j.jaci.2012.06.029

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Prevalence and cumulative incidence of food hypersensitivity in the first 3 years of life. C Venter et al, Allergy 2008: 63: 354-359.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Maternally reported food allergies and other food-related health problems in infants: Characteristics and associated factors. S Luccioli et al. Pediatrics, volume 122, sup. 2, S105-S112, October 2008.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Prevalence of adverse reactions to food in Germany A population study. T Zuberbier et al. Allergy 2004: 59: 338-345.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

The prevalence of food hypersensitivity in an unselected population of children and adults. M Osterballe et al. Pediatric Allergy and Immunology 2005: 16: 567-573.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.
Aliments et nutrition

Les allergies alimentaires et les intolérances alimentaires

Une allergie alimentaire consiste en une sensibilité provoquée par une réaction du système immunitaire à une protéine particulière se trouvant dans un aliment. D'après une publication récenteNote de bas de page 1, il apparait qu'environ 7% des canadiens déclarent souffrir d'allergie alimentaire. Cependant, sur la base d'un diagnostic d'allergie alimentaire posé par un médecin, ce chiffre est probablement un peu moins élevé et selon les estimations actuelles, les allergies alimentaires affecteraient jusqu'à 5% à 6 % des jeunes enfants et de 3 % à 4 % des adultes dans les pays ayant un mode de vie occidentalNote de bas de page 2Note de bas de page 3Note de bas de page 4Note de bas de page 5.

Chez les personnes allergiques, le système immunitaire assimile - à tort - une protéine alimentaire à un agent nocif. À la première exposition de la personne à la protéine, le système immunitaire réagit en produisant des anticorps appelés immunoglobines E (IgE). Lorsque la personne est exposée de nouveau à la même protéine alimentaire, les anticorps IgE et des substances chimiques telles que l'histamine sont libérés. L'histamine est une substance chimique puissante qui peut déclencher une réaction du système respiratoire, du tractus gastro-intestinal, de la peau ou encore, du système cardiovasculaire. Dans les cas les plus graves, les allergies alimentaires peuvent être mortelles. Bien que tout aliment puisse provoquer une réaction immunitaire chez les personnes allergiques, certains aliments en particulier sont responsables de la majorité des allergies alimentaires.

La maladie Coeliaque est une maladie héréditaire provoquée par la consommation de gluten. Les sources principales de gluten dans l'alimentation sont les céréales. Actuellement, le seul traitement pour cette affection est un régime alimentaire strictement sans gluten.

Une intolérance alimentaire consiste en une sensibilité alimentaire qui n'entraîne pas de réaction immunitaire chez l'individu. Alors que les allergies alimentaires et les sensibilités chimiques peuvent être provoquées par une petite quantité d'un aliment, une portion de taille normale est généralement requise pour entraîner les symptômes de l'intolérance alimentaire. Bien que les symptômes de l'intolérance alimentaire varient et puissent être assimilés à ceux d'une allergie alimentaire, les intolérances alimentaires sont plus susceptibles de se manifester dans le système gastro-intestinal, et celles-ci sont habituellement causées par une incapacité de digérer ou d'absorber certains aliments ou certains composants de ceux-ci.

À titre d'exemple, l'intolérance aux produits laitiers constitue l'une des intolérances alimentaires les plus fréquemment observées. Appelée intolérance au lactose, celle-ci se manifeste chez les gens auxquels la lactase, un enzyme requis pour digérer le lactose, un sucre présent dans le lait, fait défaut. Les douleurs et les ballonnements abdominaux, la diarrhée et les flatulences constituent des symptômes de l'intolérance au lactose.

Une sensibilité alimentaire se manifeste par une réaction indésirable à un aliment que les individus en général peuvent consommer sans danger. La sensibilité alimentaire englobe les allergies et les intolérances alimentaires, ainsi que les sensibilités chimiques.

Une sensibilité chimique survient lorsque des substances chimiques naturellement présentes ou ajoutées dans des aliments provoquent une réaction indésirable chez une personne. La caféine présente dans le café, la tyramine que contiennent les fromages vieillis ainsi que le glutamate de sodium, un rehausseur de saveur, font partie des substances chimiques qui provoquent des sensibilités.

Si vous subissez des réactions indésirables à certains aliments, consultez votre médecin de famille ainsi qu'un ou une diététiste pour vous aider à déterminer si vos symptômes correspondent à une allergie, à une intolérance ou à une autre sensibilité alimentaires.

Voir aussi :

Le mélange de produits céréaliers en milieu agricole à titre de source éventuelle d’allergènes alimentaires

Surveiller les allergènes dans les repas du midi des enfants

Allergies alimentaires - Votre santé et vous

Activités de surveillance des allergènes de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments

Le gouvernement du Canada annonce de nouvelles exigences d'étiquetage visant à protéger la santé de la population canadienne

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Overall Prevalence of Self-reported Food Allergy in Canada, L. Soller et al, Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (2012). doi: 10.1016/j.jaci.2012.06.029

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Prevalence and cumulative incidence of food hypersensitivity in the first 3 years of life. C Venter et al, Allergy 2008: 63: 354-359.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Maternally reported food allergies and other food-related health problems in infants: Characteristics and associated factors. S Luccioli et al. Pediatrics, volume 122, sup. 2, S105-S112, Octobre 2008.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Prevalence of adverse reactions to food in Germany – A population study. T Zuberbier et al. Allergy 2004: 59: 338-345.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4 referrer

Note de bas de page 5

The prevalence of food hypersensitivity in an unselected population of children and adults. M Osterballe et al. Pediatric Allergy and Immunology 2005: 16: 567-573

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5 referrer