Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Food and Nutrition

Arsenic

What is Arsenic?

Arsenic is a naturally occurring chemical element found throughout our environment and its living systems. Arsenic can enter groundwater through erosion and weathering of soils, minerals, and ores. Arsenic compounds are used in the manufacture of a variety of products and may enter our environment directly from industrial effluents and indirectly from atmospheric deposition.

Arsenic exists in different chemical forms, which can be classified into two groups: organic arsenic and inorganic arsenic.

Arsenic and Food

Arsenic can be found at very low levels (low parts per billion (ppb)) in many foods, including meat and poultry, milk and dairy products, bakery goods and cereals, vegetables, and fruits and fruit juices. The trace levels of arsenic in foods generally reflect normal accumulation from the environment.

Both organic and inorganic forms of arsenic can be found in food, although the relative proportions of each depend on the type of food. Arsenobetaine, an organic arsenic compound, is most commonly found in fish and shellfish. Inorganic arsenic is not usually found at high concentrations although rice and some types of seaweed can contain higher amounts of inorganic arsenic compared to other foods.

Health Effects of Exposure to Arsenic

The toxicity of arsenic depends on its chemical form. It is widely recognized that inorganic forms of arsenic are of greatest potential concern to human health as compared to organic forms. Long-term exposure (over many years or decades) to elevated levels of inorganic arsenic is known to contribute to the risk of certain human cancers and can affect the gastrointestinal tract, kidneys, liver, lungs and epidermis.

Short term exposure (over multiple days or weeks) to very high levels of inorganic arsenic can also cause various health effects including skin lesions, nausea, diarrhea, vomiting and numbness in hands and feet.

Although relatively limited, there is some evidence that children may metabolize arsenic differently than adults and that in-utero and childhood exposure to high levels of inorganic arsenic may affect fetal and childhood health and development and could be associated with increased susceptibility to cancer in adulthood.

Available toxicological information suggests that most organic arsenic compounds, such as arsenobetaine and arsenocholine, have very limited toxicity. However, there is increasing evidence supporting that monomethylarsonic acid and dimethylarsinic acid may be more toxic compared to other organic arsenic compounds. Health Canada will continue to review new research relating to arsenic toxicity, particularly its effects on children, as well as the toxicity of methylated organic arsenic compounds.

What is Health Canada Doing?

Health Canada continues to monitor the concentrations of various chemicals, including arsenic, in foods through its ongoing Total Diet Study surveys and also conducts targeted surveys of arsenic in specific foods. Additionally, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency carries out monitoring and surveillance work for arsenic in foods, including those commonly consumed by infants and children.

Health Canada will consider new information relating to the toxicity of arsenic and the occurrence of arsenic in foods. Relevant information will be used to update the overall dietary exposure assessment for arsenic and examine the relative contribution of different types of foods in the Canadian diet to exposure. Health Canada will also continue to evaluate the potential human health risks associated with dietary arsenic exposure.

The Food Directorate is updating the maximum levels (MLs) for arsenic in foods that are found in Part 2 of the List of Contaminants and Other Adulterating Substances in Food, which is incorporated by reference into Division 15 of the Food and Drug Regulations. Additionally, Health Canadaĺs Food Directorate is an active participant in the Codex Committee on Contaminants in Food (CCCF), which develops international food safety standards, including MLs for arsenic in certain foods. Maximum levels established by the CCCF and adopted by the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) are generally considered for their applicability in Canada, on an as-needed basis.

What Can You Do?

Health Canada continues to recommend that Canadians consume a variety of foods from each food group according to Eating Well with Canada's Food Guide.

Additional Resources

Summary of Comments and Responses to Health Canada's Proposed Amendments to the Regulatory Tolerances for Arsenic and Lead in a Variety of Beverages [2016-01-28]

To obtain an electronic copy of the January 2016 - Scientific Assessment in Support of a Lower Tolerance for Arsenic in Apple Juice, please contact our publications office or send an e-mail to publications@hc-sc.gc.ca with the subject heading "hpfb BCS arsenic scientific evaluation 2016-eng"

It's Your Health - Arsenic in Drinking Water

Canadian Guidelines for Drinking Water Quality - Arsenic Technical Document

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Arsenic

Qu'est-ce que l'arsenic?

L’arsenic est un élément chimique d’origine naturelle présent à l’échelle de notre environnement et de ses organismes vivants. L’érosion ainsi que l’altération des sols, des minéraux et des minerais peuvent entraîner la contamination des eaux souterraines par l’arsenic. Les composés d’arsenic sont utilisés dans la fabrication d’une variété de produits et peuvent contaminer notre environnement de façon directe par les effluents industriels et de façon indirecte, par des dépôts atmosphériques.

L’arsenic revêt différentes formes chimiques, lesquelles peuvent être classifiées en deux groupes : l’arsenic organique et l’arsenic inorganique.

L'arsenic et les aliments

L’arsenic peut être présent à de très faibles concentrations (parties par milliard [ppb]) dans de nombreux aliments, y compris dans la viande, la volaille, le lait et les produits laitiers, les produits de pâtisserie de boulangerie et de céréales, les légumes ainsi que les fruits et les jus de fruits. Ces traces reflètent en général une accumulation normale de source environnementale.

Tant les formes organiques qu’inorganiques d’arsenic peuvent être présentes dans les aliments mais la proportion de chacune varie selon le type d’aliment. L’arsénobétaïne, un composé arsenical organique, se trouve le plus fréquemment dans le poisson ainsi que dans les mollusques et les crustacés. Les concentrations d’arsenic inorganique dans les aliments sont habituellement faibles quoique le riz et certains types d’algues peuvent avoir des quantités d’arsenic inorganique plus élevées que d’autres aliments.

Les effets sur la santé de l’exposition à l’arsenic

La toxicité de l’arsenic dépend de sa forme chimique. Il est généralement admis que les formes inorganiques de l’arsenic sont plus préoccupantes que ses formes organiques pour la santé humaine. L’exposition à long terme (pendant plusieurs années ou plusieurs décennies) à des concentrations élevées d’arsenic inorganique contribue au risque de développer certains cancers chez l’humain et peut affecter le tractus gastro-intestinal, les reins, le foie, les poumons et l’épiderme.

Une exposition de courte durée (plusieurs jours ou semaines) à des concentrations très élevées d’arsenic inorganique peut aussi provoquer divers effets sur la santé, dont des effets sur la peau, des nausées, des diarrhées, des vomissements et l’engourdissement des mains et des pieds.

Des données probantes, bien que limitées, donnent à penser que la façon dont l’arsenic est métabolisé chez les enfants est différente de celle chez les adultes, et que l’exposition in utero et pendant l’enfance à d’importantes teneurs en arsenic inorganique peut avoir des effets sur le développement du fœtus et de l’enfant et qu’elle pourrait être mise en cause à l’égard d’une prédisposition accrue à être atteint du cancer à l’âge adulte.

Les données toxicologiques consultables donnent à penser que la toxicité de la plupart des composés arsenicaux organiques, par exemple l’arsénobétaïne et l’arsénocholine, est très limitée. Toutefois, de plus en plus de données probantes soutiennent le fait que l’acide monométhylarsonique et l’acide diméthylarsinique pourraient être plus toxiques que les autres composés arsenicaux organiques.

Santé Canada poursuivra son examen de la nouvelle recherche relative à la toxicité de l’arsenic, particulièrement à ses effets chez les enfants, de même qu’à la toxicité des composés arsenicaux organiques méthylés.

Que fait Santé Canada?

Santé Canada continue à surveiller les concentrations en différentes substances chimiques dans les aliments, notamment en arsenic, et ce, au moyen de son Étude canadienne sur l’alimentation totale continue, tout en menant des enquêtes ciblées sur l’arsenic dans des aliments particuliers. De plus, l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments réalise des travaux de surveillance et de suivi à l’égard de l’arsenic dans les aliments, y compris des produits alimentaires que les nourrissons et les enfants consomment le plus couramment.

Santé Canada tiendra compte de tout nouveau renseignement sur la toxicité de l’arsenic et la présence de ce dernier dans les aliments. Les données pertinentes seront utilisées pour actualiser l’évaluation de l’exposition alimentaire globale à l’arsenic et examiner la contribution relative des divers types d’aliments à l’exposition chez la population canadienne. Santé Canada continuera également à évaluer les risques potentiels pour la santé humaine que comporte l’exposition alimentaire à l’arsenic.

La Direction des aliments met à jour la concentration maximale (CM) en arsenic dans les aliments qui figurent dans la partie 2 de la Liste des contaminants et des autres substances adultérantes dans les aliments, laquelle est incorporée par renvoi dans le titre 15 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues. De plus, la Direction des aliments de Santé Canada participe activement aux travaux du Comité du Codex sur les contaminants dans les aliments (CCCF), lequel élabore les normes internationales en matière d’innocuité des aliments, y compris les CM d’arsenic dans certains aliments. Lorsqu’il y a lieu, les concentrations maximales établies par le CCCF et adoptées par la Commission du Codex Alimentarius (CCA) sont généralement prises en compte afin de déterminer si elles devraient être adoptées au Canada.

Que pouvez-vous faire?

Santé Canada recommande toujours à la population canadienne de consommer une variété d’aliments de chaque groupe alimentaire conformément aux recommandations énoncées dans la publication Bien manger avec le Guide alimentaire canadien.

Ressources additionnelles

Résumé des commentaires et des réponses au sujet des modifications proposées par Santé Canada aux seuils de tolérances réglementaires pour l’arsenic et le plomb dans une variété de boissons [2016-01-28]

Pour obtenir une copie électronique du document Janvier 2016 – Évaluation scientifique au soutien de la réduction de la concentration maximale établi pour l’arsenic dans le jus de pomme, communiquez avec notre bureau des publications ou envoyez un courriel électronique à publications@hc-sc.gc.ca avec les mots « hpfb BCS évaluation scientifique arsenic 2016-fra » dans la rubrique.

Votre santé et vous – L’arsenic dans l’eau potable

Recommandations pour la qualité de l’eau potable au Canada – Document technique sur l’arsenic