Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

We're revising Canada's food guide. Participate in the consultation process (link will open in a new window) to help revise Canada's food guide.
Food and Nutrition

Acrylamide and Food

Questions and Answers

What is acrylamide?

Acrylamide is a chemical that naturally forms in certain foods, particularly plant-based foods that are rich in carbohydrates and low in protein, during processing or cooking at high temperatures. It is known to cause cancer in experimental animals and was first confirmed to be found in food by the Swedish National Food Authority in 2002.

Commercially, acrylamide is used in the manufacture of some plastics as well as various other materials. While acrylamide is used in making some food packaging, this use has not been found to add acrylamide to foods at levels that could pose a health concern.

Is acrylamide added to food?

No, acrylamide in not intentionally added to food. Rather, acrylamide forms from naturally occurring components in certain foods when cooked at sufficiently high temperatures.

Health Canada scientists have investigated why some foods have higher levels of acrylamide, for example, baked or fried foods, and have proved that acrylamide is not present in any ingredient of these food items prior to cooking and is not a contaminant inadvertently added at any stage of food preparation.

How does acrylamide form in foods?

Health Canada scientists were among the first to demonstrate how acrylamide forms in certain heat-processed foods. Most acrylamide in food is formed when a natural amino acid called asparagine reacts with certain naturally occurring sugars such as glucose. This only happens when the temperature during cooking is sufficiently high, a temperature which varies depending on the properties of the product and the method of cooking.

The results of Health Canada's work on how acrylamide is formed in food were announced to the international scientific community and to the food industry, and subsequently published in a scientific, peer-reviewed journal ("Acrylamide in Foods: Occurrence, Sources, and Modelling" A. Becalski, B. P.-Y. Lau, D. Lewis, S.W. Seaman; Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, 2003; 51(3): 802-808).

Does acrylamide pose a health risk to humans?

Dietary exposure to acrylamide has been identified as a potential concern by the Next link will take you to another Web site Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food AdditivesFootnote 1 (JECFA). However, both Health Canada and JECFA agree that it is currently not possible to determine the precise level of risk for human health. Since acrylamide is known to cause cancer in experimental animals, further research on the effects of exposure to acrylamide is needed before the risks to human health associated with acrylamide exposure from food sources can be fully understood.

Work continues in this area, and as the results of new studies become available, Health Canada will continue to evaluate the level of risk associated with dietary exposure to acrylamide.

Health Canada reviews epidemiological studies on dietary acrylamide intake and the risk of endometrial, ovarian and/or breast cancer.

What can you do to minimize exposure? - Health Canada's Advice

Based on what is currently known, it is impossible to determine recommended maximum exposure levels or to set daily consumption limits for specific foods containing acrylamide. However, research conducted by Health Canada and internationally indicates that french fries and potato chips typically contain the highest levels of acrylamide.

Health Canada's advice, consistent with Eating Well with Canada's Food Guide, is to have fried or deep-fried foods and snacks such as french fries and potato chips less often while choosing a healthy diet, including a variety of foods from each food group. Occasional consumption of these products is not likely to be a health concern.

Health Canada has also prepared some information on how to minimize acrylamide formation if, and when, you make french fries at home.

Which foods contain acrylamide?

Health Canada's studies of food likely to contain acrylamide found wide-ranging concentrations in potato chips, french fries, cookies, breakfast cereals, bread, as well as other foods that are also processed at high temperatures such as coffee, roasted almonds, and grain-based coffee substitutes. Of the foods tested by Health Canada, potato chips and french fries tended to contain the most acrylamide, while lower levels were found in soft breads and cereals. Acrylamide was not found in boiled potatoes because the temperature during boiling is not high enough to cause acrylamide to be formed.

Health Canada will continue to measure acrylamide levels in foods as part of its Acrylamide Monitoring Program.

What is Health Canada Doing to Protect Canadians?

Acrylamide was included in Next link will take you to another Web site Batch 5 of the Next link will take you to another Web site Challenge under the Government of Canada Next link will take you to another Web site Chemicals Management Plan. On February 21, 2009, the Government of Canada released its draft assessment report for acrylamide.

To ensure that Canadians' exposure to acrylamide from food sources is kept as low as possible, Health Canada has committed to working with health authorities in other countries to better understand how acrylamide is formed in foods, what foods contain the highest amounts of acrylamide, and what impact acrylamide has on human health. Health Canada is also collaborating with the food industry to further pursue reduction efforts for acrylamide in processed foods.

In conjunction with the release of the draft Screening Assessment Report (SAR) for Batch 5 chemicals, the Food Directorate (FD), part of the Health Products and Food Branch, has updated its proposed risk management measures, to limit Canadians' exposure to acrylamide from food sources.

What is Health Canada doing with the food industry to reduce the levels of acrylamide in their products?

Reducing acrylamide in prepared and packaged foods is a primary step towards reducing Canadians' exposure to acrylamide. Thus, Health Canada will continue to press food processors and the food service industry to develop and implement acrylamide reduction strategies. Health Canada will implement an acrylamide monitoring program to assess the effectiveness of those reduction strategies.

Health Canada is aware of changes implemented by food processors, which have already resulted in the reduction of acrylamide levels in certain food products. Health Canada will continue to support the development and implementation of additional tools that would minimize acrylamide formation, such as the use of the enzyme asparaginase in the manufacture of certain foods.

In addition, Health Canada will engage the food industry in the development of a guidance document outlining best practices for acrylamide reduction in prepackaged foods. Efforts will also be made to ensure that acrylamide reduction strategies are adopted by the Canadian food service industry.

Relevant Links

Acrylamide - What you can do to reduce exposure

Health Canada's Surveillance of Acrylamide in Food

Eating Well with Canada's Food Guide

Using Canada's Food Guide to Healthy Eating

Next link will take you to another Web site Summary Report of the Sixty-fourth meeting of the Joint Expert Committee of the UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and the World Health Organization (WHO)

Next link will take you to another Web site United States Food and Drug Administration: Listing of Web Pages on Acrylamide in Foods

Next link will take you to another Web site World Health Organization: Frequently asked questions - acrylamide in food

Next link will take you to another Web site Chemicals Management Plan - Batch 5 Substances


Footnote 1

Evaluation of certain food contaminants (Sixty-fourth report of the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives). WHO Technical Report Series 930, 2006.
Available at: Next link will take you to another Web site JECFA Reports WHO Technical report series (TRS)

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Acrylamide et aliments

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Questions et réponses

Qu'est-ce que l'acrylamide?

L'acrylamide est une substance chimique qui se forme dans certains aliments, le plus souvent d'origine végétale, dont la teneur est riche en glucides et faible en protéines, et ce, pendant la transformation ou la cuisson à température élevée. On sait qu'il provoque le cancer chez les animaux de laboratoire et en 2002, la National Food Administration de la Suède en a confirmé pour la première fois la présence dans des aliments.

Sur le plan commercial, l'acrylamide est utilisé pour la fabrication de certains plastiques ainsi que dans divers autres matériaux. Bien que l'on ait recours à l'acrylamide pour la fabrication de certains matériaux d'emballage alimentaire, on a déterminé qu'un tel usage n'ajoute pas aux aliments une quantité d'acrylamide suffisante pour susciter des préoccupations en matière de santé.

L'acrylamide est-il ajouté aux aliments?

Non, l'acrylamide n'est pas ajouté délibérément aux aliments. L'acrylamide se forme plutôt à partir de constituants d'origine naturelle de certains aliments lorsqu'ils sont cuits à une température suffisamment élevée.

Les scientifiques de Santé Canada se sont penchés sur les raisons pour lesquelles la concentration en acrylamide est plus élevée dans certains aliments, par exemple dans les aliments cuits au four ou frits. Ils ont démontré que l'acrylamide est absent de tout ingrédient de ces aliments avant leur cuisson, et qu'il ne s'agit pas d'un contaminant ajouté par inadvertance à quelque étape que ce soit de leur préparation.

Comment l'acrylamide se forme-t-il dans les aliments?

Les scientifiques de Santé Canada furent parmi les premiers à démontrer comment l'acrylamide se forme dans certains aliments soumis à la chaleur. Dans une large part, l'acrylamide se forme lorsque l'asparagine, un acide aminé naturel, entre en réaction avec des sucres d'origine naturelle tels que le glucose. Cette réaction se produit uniquement si la température de cuisson atteint un certain degré qui varie en fonction des propriétés du produit et du mode de cuisson.

Santé Canada a communiqué les résultats de ses travaux sur la formation de l'acrylamide dans les aliments à la communauté scientifique mondiale ainsi qu'à l'industrie alimentaire et par la suite, il les a publiés dans une revue scientifique examinée par les pairs (Acrylamide in Foods: Occurrence, Sources, and Modelling, A. Becalski, B. P.-Y. Lau, D. Lewis, S.W. Seaman; Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, 2003; 51(3): 802-808).

L'acrylamide pose-t-il un risque pour la santé humaine?

Le Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Comité mixte FAO/OMS d'experts des additifs alimentaires (JECFA) a déterminé que l'exposition à l'acrylamide par les aliments constitue une source potentielle de préoccupationsNote de bas de page 1. Toutefois, Santé Canada et le Comité d'experts conviennent qu'à l'heure actuelle, il n'est pas possible de déterminer avec précision l'ampleur du risque pour la santé humaine. Puisque l'on sait que l'acrylamide provoque le cancer chez les animaux de laboratoire, on doit réaliser d'autres recherches sur les effets de l'exposition à l'acrylamide afin d'approfondir la compréhension des risques pour la santé humaine que présente l'exposition à l'acrylamide de source alimentaire.

Les travaux se poursuivent dans ce domaine, et à la lumière des résultats de ces nouvelles études, Santé Canada évaluera le degré de risque associé à l'exposition à l'acrylamide par l'alimentation.

Santé Canada examine deux études sur le lien entre l'ingestion d'acrylamide par voie alimentaire et le risque de cancers de l'endomètre, de l'ovaire et (ou) du sein

Comment peut-on réduire au minimum notre exposition? - Avis de Santé Canada

Nous ne disposons pas de données suffisantes pour recommander un seuil maximal d'exposition ni un seuil limite de consommation quotidienne de certains aliments contenant de l'acrylamide. Cependant, les études menées par Santé Canada, et ailleurs dans le monde, révèlent que les frites et les croustilles de pommes de terre sont, de façon générale, les aliments dont la teneur en acrylamide est la plus élevée.

Santé Canada recommande aux Canadiens de limiter leur consommation d'aliments riches en calories et lipides (comme les pommes de terre frites et les croustilles), en sucre et en sel ainsi que d'adopter de saines habitudes alimentaires en consommant une variété d'aliments de chacun des quatre groupes alimentaires tel que décrit dans Bien manger avec le Guide alimentaire canadien. Toutefois, la consommation occasionnelle de ces aliments ne constitue vraisemblablement pas une source d'inquiétude en matière de santé.

Pour les personnes qui préparent des frites à la maison, Santé Canada a aussi rédigé certaines informaations sur la façon de réduire au minimum la formation d'acrylamide dans ce contexte.

Quels sont les aliments qui contiennent de l'acrylamide?

Les études de Santé Canada sur les aliments susceptibles de contenir de l'acrylamide révèlent que la teneur varie considérablement d'un produit à l'autre, qu'il s'agisse des croustilles de pommes de terre, des frites, des biscuits, des céréales, du pain ou de tout autre aliment soumis à une température élevée comme le café, les amandes grillées et les succédanés de café à base de céréales. Parmi les aliments analysés par Santé Canada, ce sont les croustilles de pommes de terre et les pommes de terre frites qui contiennent le plus d'acrylamide, tandis que le pain et les céréales en contiennent moins. Puisque la température atteinte pendant l'ébullition n'est pas suffisamment élevée pour provoquer la formation d'acrylamide, on n'a pas détecté d'acrylamide dans les pommes de terre bouillies.

Dans la foulée de son Programme de surveillance de l'acrylamide, Santé Canada continuera d'en mesurer les concentrations dans les aliments.

Que fait Santé Canada pour protéger les Canadiens?

L'acrylamide a été intégré dans le Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web cinquième lot du Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Défi dans le cadre du Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Plan de gestion des produits chimiques du gouvernement du Canada. Le 21 février 2009, le gouvernement du Canada a publié son Ébauche de rapport d'évaluation portant sur l'acrylamide.

Pour faire en sorte que l'exposition à l'acrylamide de source alimentaire soit maintenue aussi faible que possible au sein de la population canadienne, Santé Canada s'est engagé à travailler avec les autorités sanitaires d'autres pays pour mieux comprendre la façon dont l'acrylamide se forme dans les aliments, pour savoir quels sont les aliments dont la teneur en acrylamide est la plus élevée et pour déterminer les effets de l'acrylamide sur la santé humaine. De plus, Santé Canada, en collaboration avec l'industrie alimentaire, s'emploie toujours activement à réduire davantage la teneur en acrylamide des aliments transformés.

Avec la publication de l'Ébauche de rapport d'évaluation préalable des Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web substances chimiques du cinquième lot, la Direction des aliments (DA) de la Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments a actualisé ses mesures de gestion du risque proposées dans le but de limiter l'exposition de la population canadienne à l'acrylamide de source alimentaire.

En quoi Santé Canada collabore-t-il avec l'industrie alimentaire pour réduire les concentrations d'acrylamide dans les produits qu'elle fabrique?

La réduction de l'acrylamide dans les aliments préparés et emballés constitue l'une des principales étapes pour la diminution de l'exposition à l'acrylamide chez les Canadiennes et les Canadiens. Ainsi, Santé Canada continuera à presser les transformateurs d'aliments et le secteur des services d'alimentation de mettre au point et en oeuvre des stratégies pour la réduction de l'acrylamide. Afin d'évaluer l'efficacité de ces stratégies, Santé Canada mettra sur pied un Programme de surveillance de l'acrylamide.

Les changements mis en oeuvre par les transformateurs d'aliments, lesquels ont déjà entraîné la réduction de la concentration d'acrylamide dans certains produits alimentaires, sont suivis par Santé Canada. Santé Canada continuera à appuyer la mise au point et la mise en oeuvre de méthodes additionnelles qui réduiront au minimum la formation de l'acrylamide, telle l'utilisation de l'enzyme asparaginase au cours de la fabrication de certains aliments.

En outre, Santé Canada mettra à contribution l'industrie alimentaire pour la rédaction d'un document qui présentera les pratiques d'excellence au chapitre de la réduction de l'acrylamide dans les aliments préemballés. Santé Canada veillera à ce que les stratégies de réduction de l'acrylamide soient mises en oeuvre par le secteur des services d'alimentation.

Liens pertinents

Acrylamide - Comment réduire l'exposition

Taux d'acrylamide dans les aliments

Guide alimentaire canadien pour manger sainement

Pour mieux se servir du Guide alimentaire

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Rapport sommaire de la 64e réunion du comité mixte d'experts de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture et de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Food and Drug Administration, États-Unis : liste de portails sur l'acrylamide dans les aliments

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Organisation mondiale de la santé : Foire aux questions sur l'acrylamide dans les aliments

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Plan de gestion des produits chimiques - Substances chimiques du cinquième lot

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Evaluation of certain food contaminants (Sixty-fourth report of the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives). WHO Technical Report Series 930, 2006.
Consultable au Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web JECFA Reports WHO Technical report series (TRS) (anglais seulement).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer