Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

We're revising Canada's food guide. Participate in the consultation process (link will open in a new window) to help revise Canada's food guide.
Food and Nutrition

Food-Processing-Induced Chemicals

Undesirable chemicals can be formed in certain foods during processing as a result of reactions between compounds that are natural components of the food. In some cases an undesirable chemical may be formed as a result of a food additive being intentionally added to food and reacting with another compound in the food. When foods are heat-processed (baked, deep-fried, etc.), there are reactions that occur between components of the food, resulting in the desired flavour, appearance and texture of the food. However, some of these reactions can lead to the production of undesirable compounds. Similarly, certain storage or processing conditions may allow reactions to occur that otherwise would not. These reactions could generate potentially harmful compounds. Such chemicals can be collectively referred to as food-processing-induced chemicals. Some of these chemical reactions involve naturally-occurring components in the food, while other reactions may involve food additives, ingredients, or food packaging materials that were intentionally used.

In many cases, the presence of processing-induced chemicals in food cannot be avoided; however, understanding the processes by which these products are formed can allow us to optimize or adjust food preparation methods, formulae or processes, thereby reducing or eliminating the formation of such chemicals.

Examples of food-processing induced chemicals include:

What is Health Canada Doing?

Health Canada assesses the risks posed to Canadians by chemicals, such as food-processing-induced chemicals, in food. In support of these risk assessment activities, scientists develop and use analytical methods to measure the concentrations of certain food-processing induced chemicals in foods; they research and evaluate the toxicity of these compounds, and participate in international assessments of these chemicals. Health Canada scientists conduct research to understand the processes by which these products are formed so that the formation of such chemicals can be reduced or, where possible, eliminated. When necessary, Health Canada sets maximum levels for chemicals in foods.

What Can You do?

Health Canada has provided advice on reducing exposure to acrylamide. The advice may be viewed by clicking on the Acrylamide link listed above and in the Topics Box. Specific advice has not been issued for other food-processing induced chemicals. Health Canada recommends that Canadians consume a variety of foods from each food group included in Eating Well with Canada's Food Guide.

With the development of research in food, Health Canada will continue to provide Canadians with guidance, allowing Canada to limit the occurrence of food-processing-induced chemicals.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Produits chimiques résultant de la transformation des aliments

Des substances chimiques indésirables peuvent se former lors de la transformation de certains aliments et résulter de réactions entre composés faisant naturellement partie des composants de ces aliments. Dans certains cas, une substance chimique indésirable peut se former à la suite de l'ajout volontaire dans un aliment d'un additif alimentaire qui réagit à un autre composé de celui-ci. Lorsque les aliments sont soumis à la chaleur (lorsqu'ils sont cuits au four, frits, etc.), certaines réactions se produisent entre les composants. Ces réactions permettent d'obtenir le goût, l'apparence et la texture recherchés. Cependant, certaines de ces réactions peuvent entraîner la production de composés indésirables. Certaines conditions d'entreposage ou de transformation peuvent également entraîner des réactions qui ne se produiraient pas hors de ce contexte. Ces réactions sont susceptibles de générer des composés potentiellement nocifs. Collectivement, ces substances chimiques peuvent être désignées par l'expression substances chimiques résultant de la transformation des aliments. Certaines de ces réactions chimiques concernent des composants naturellement présents dans les aliments, tandis que d'autres peuvent concerner des additifs alimentaires, des ingrédients ou des matériaux d'emballage alimentaire utilisés volontairement.

Bien souvent, la présence de produits chimiques résultant de la transformation des aliments ne peut être évitée. Cependant, comprendre les processus de formation de ces produits peut nous permettre d'optimiser ou de modifier les méthodes de préparation des aliments, leur formule ou les processus de traitement de ceux-ci, réduisant ou éliminant ainsi la formation de tels produits chimiques.

Voici des exemples de substances chimiques résultant de la transformation des aliments :

Que fait Santé Canada?

Santé Canada évalue les risques que présentent les substances chimiques pour la population canadienne, tels que ceux résultant de la transformation des aliments. Pour soutenir ces activités d'évaluation des risques, les scientifiques utilisent des méthodes d'analyses qu'ils conçoivent afin de mesurer les concentrations dans les aliments de certaines substances chimiques résultant de la transformation des aliments; ils réalisent des recherches sur ces composés, en évaluent la toxicité et participent à des évaluations internationales de ces produits chimiques. Les scientifiques de Santé Canada réalisent des études pour comprendre les processus au cours desquels ces produits chimiques sont générés de manière à pouvoir réduire ou - dans la mesure du possible - à pouvoir éliminer leur formation. Lorsque cela est nécessaire, Santé Canada établit des concentrations maximales relatives à la présence de substances chimiques dans les aliments.

Que pouvez-vous faire?

Santé Canada a fourni des consignes relatives à la réduction de l'exposition à l'acrylamide. Vous pouvez consulter cette consigne en cliquant sur le lien Acrylamide apparaissant ci-dessus et que vous trouverez dans la case des sujets traités. Aucune consigne particulière n'a été publiée pour d'autres substances chimiques résultant de la transformation des aliments. Santé Canada recommande à la population canadienne de consommer une grande variété d'aliments de chaque groupe présenté dans Bien manger avec le Guide alimentaire canadien.

Grâce aux progrès en matière de recherche alimentaire, Santé Canada continuera à offrir ses conseils à la population canadienne, permettant au Canada de limiter la présence de substances chimiques résultant de la transformation des aliments.