Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Food and Nutrition

Food-Related Illnesses

Food-borne illness (also known as "food poisoning") happens when a person gets sick from eating food that has been contaminated with a harmful micro-organism. These micro-organisms can be bacteria, parasites or viruses.

Every year, more than 4 million Canadians get food poisoning. The most common symptoms may include the following: stomach cramps, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, fever. Protect yourself by learning about food poisoning, its symptoms and treatments, and how to avoid getting sick in the first place.

Common causes of food-related illnesses include:

What is Health Canada doing?

Health Canada sets policies and standards governing the safety and nutritional quality of all food sold in Canada. The Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) enforces those policies and standards. Health Canada, the CFIA and the Public Health Agency of Canada work together to prevent and when necessary, to respond to outbreaks of foodborne illness.

Health Canada is a founding member of the Canadian Partnership for Consumer Food Safety Education, which is responsible for Next link will take you to another Web site Fight BAC!®.

Related Resources

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Maladies d'origine alimentaire

Les maladies d'origine alimentaire (également appelées empoisonnement ou intoxication alimentaire) surviennent lorsqu'une personne tombe malade à la suite de l'ingestion de nourriture contaminée par un microorganisme nuisible. Ces microorganismes peuvent être des bactéries, des parasites ou des virus.

Chaque année, plus de 4 millions de Canadiens sont victimes d'une intoxication alimentaire. En voici les symptômes les plus courants : crampes d'estomac, nausées, vomissements, diarrhée et fièvre.  Protégez-vous en vous renseignant sur l'intoxication alimentaire, les symptômes et les traitements qui s'y rattachent et la façon d'éviter de tomber malade.

Causes communes des maladies d'origine alimentaire :

Que fait Santé Canada?

Santé Canada établit des politiques et des normes qui régissent la salubrité et à la qualité nutritive des aliments vendus au Canada. L'Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) fait respecter ces politiques et ces normes. Santé Canada, l'ACIA et l'Agence de santé publique du Canada travaillent de concert afin d'empêcher et, si nécessaire, d'intervenir lors d'éclosions de maladies d'origine alimentaire.

Santé Canada est un membre fondateur de Partenariat canadien pour la salubrité des aliments, responsable du programme Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web À bas les BACtéries®!

Ressources connexes