Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Food and Nutrition

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Food Irradiation

Food irradiation was first developed in the United States and the United Kingdom during the 1960s. Despite being one of the most studied food technologies, information on food irradiation has not been well communicated to the broader public, largely because of the complexity of the subject matter. The purpose of these questions and answers is to provide some basic facts about this process.

1. What is food irradiation?

Food irradiation is a method of preserving food by using a type of radiation energy. It is one of several techniques that can be used by food producers to protect the quality of food before it reaches the grocery store. Other techniques include cooking or heating, canning, chemical treatments, and steam pasteurization. Food irradiation could also be used in combination with these techniques.

2. Why irradiate food and how does irradiation protect food?

Irradiation is used in food processing for several reasons:

  • To prevent food poisoning: by reducing the level of harmful bacteria such as E.coli O157:H7, Salmonella and Campylobacter, and parasites which cause food borne diseases.
  • To prevent spoilage: by reducing the microbial load on foods, meaning it destroys bacteria, molds and yeast which cause food to spoil, and controls insect and parasite infestation.
  • To increase shelf life: by slowing the ripening or sprouting in fresh fruits and vegetables, thereby allowing for longer shelf life.

3. How much radiation is used?

The amount of radiation energy used or needed for a particular application varies depending on the food and the reason for irradiating. Typically, to increase shelf life or to prevent spoilage a low dose of irradiation is required, only 1 kilogray (kGy) of absorbed energy. To prevent food poisoning, the dose will depend on the type of bacteria being targeted and the type of food. An absorbed dose of up to 3 kGy is usually sufficient to kill Salmonella in fresh chicken. Generally, it takes higher levels of radiation to kill parasites and insects. Viruses, for the most part, are not destroyed by the irradiation levels that are suitable for use in foods.

4. Is irradiated food radioactive?

No, irradiated foods do not become radioactive. During irradiation the food never comes into contact with the radioactive source. In addition, the Food and Drug Regulations places upper limits on the energy levels that may be used for treatment of foods. No radioactive energy (waves) remain in the food after treatment.

5. Are there currently any irradiated foods on the market in Canada?

To date, the following products have been examined by Health Canada and have been approved for irradiation: potatoes, onions, wheat, flour, whole wheat flour, whole and ground spices, and dehydrated seasoning preparations. Currently, the technology is not used widely on food commodities in Canada. So far, the main use of irradiation in Canada has been on spices.

6. Is the irradiation of these foods mandatory?

No. Regulations allow the irradiation of these foods at the discretion of food producers. It is not mandatory.

7. Can the irradiation of food cause harm to the consumer?

International bodies, such as the World Health Organization (WHO) and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), recognize the irradiation process as one safe way of reducing levels of organisms that cause food borne illness and disease in food products. The use of food irradiation reduces the levels of these disease organisms in food purchased by the consumer, and the irradiated food remains nutritious and safe for consumption .

8. How is food irradiated?

During the irradiation process, food is exposed to an ionizing energy source. Three different energy sources may be used: gamma rays, electron beams and x-rays. The length of time the food is exposed to the source and the energy level determine the dose of irradiation. The doses used for food irradiation do not result in the food becoming radioactive.

9. What changes to food are caused by irradiation?

Irradiation causes minor chemical modifications, similar to cooking, and some irradiated foods may taste slightly different. Food irradiation does not lead to change in the food that, from a toxicological point of view, would have an adverse effect on human health. Food irradiation, at permitted levels, does not diminish the nutritional value of the food. Any living cells in the food, including potentially harmful bacteria, are killed or damaged.

10. Does treatment by irradiation guarantee food safety?

No. Nothing can guarantee food safety, but food irradiation greatly reduces bacteria and other microorganisms that may be present in food. Irradiated food must still be handled, stored, and cooked properly like all other foods. The rules of safe food handling - proper sanitation, packaging, storage and preparation - still need be followed.

Irradiation cannot be used to restore food that is already spoiled. If food looks, smells or tastes bad before irradiation, it will still look, smell and taste bad after irradiation.

11. Who sets standards for the appropriate level of radiation?

Canada sets its own standards for irradiated foods, as do many other countries. Canadian standards are in the Food and Drug Regulations and consist of a list of foods which may be irradiated, the maximum doses allowed and any other appropriate requirements. Health Canada is responsible for establishing these regulations and standards.

The Food and Drug Regulations apply to foods offered for sale in Canada, no matter where they were produced or, in this case, where they were irradiated. It is the responsibility of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) to enforce the regulations.

12. Can I tell if a food has been irradiated?

All irradiated foods must be labelled. In addition to a written description, such as "irradiated", a distinctive logo, the "Radura", must be on the package to identify the product as irradiated. Most consumers cannot detect any difference in the appearance, odour or taste of the food.

13. Who is responsible for the regulation of irradiation in Canada?

In Canada, several federal agencies are involved in regulating aspects of the food irradiation process:

The Health Products and Food Branch of Health Canada, through the Food and Drugs Act, is responsible for establishing standards related to the safety of foods sold to the Canadian consumer. It evaluates the safety of foods and the effectiveness of food irradiation, and assesses the chemical, microbiological and nutritional changes that occur in foods during the irradiation process before approving any new use of irradiation to ensure the safety and nutritional quality of the food.

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) is responsible for all enforcement and compliance issues relating to irradiated foods. It administers the regulations relating to the labelling of irradiated products under the Food and Drugs Act and the Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act.

The Radiation Protection Bureau (RPB) of Health Canada, is responsible for investigating, communicating and reducing health risks to Canadians from exposure to ionizing and non-ionizing radiation. In particular, they operate a centralized dose record system which contains the occupational radiation dose records of all monitored radiation workers in Canada. They also offer (national) dosimetry services (NDS) for measuring personal and occupational exposure. This information is used by RPB to control occupational exposure to ionizing radiation in the workplace and evaluate dose trends and statistics.

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) (formely the Atomic Energy Control Board or AECB) regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials in accordance with Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy. Food irradiation facilities must comply with these regulations. The CNSC functions as a tribunal, making independent decisions on the licensing of nuclear- related activities in Canada; establishes regulations and sets regulatory policy direction on matters relating to health, safety, security and environment.

14. Is Canada's control of irradiation as strict as in other countries?

Many countries, for example, the US, members of the European community and Australia, regulate food irradiation in much the same way as Canada. In the US, at present, irradiation of red meats, poultry and fresh fruits and vegetables is permitted.

15. Do other countries have lists of foods that have been approved for irradiation?

Health and safety authorities in at least 39 countries have approved irradiation of a combined total of 40 different foods ranging from spices to grain to boneless chicken to fruits and vegetables. The process is being used for commercial purposes in many of those countries. Mexico and the U.S., for example, permit irradiation of a wider range of foods than Canada, while the European Union, to date, has only authorized the irradiation within the whole EU of "dried aromatic herbs, spices and vegetable seasonings." Member states within the EU, however, have clearances of their own, with France being the most permissive and the Netherlands also authorizing a number of foods for irradiation, including dried fruits, pulses, dehydrated vegetables, flakes from cereals, herbs, spices, shrimps, poultry, frog legs, gum arabic, food additives, flavourings and egg products. The US allows the low-dose irradiation of all foods for arthropod disinfection and fresh foods generally to inhibit growth and maturation and also allows the irradiation of dry enzyme preparations, dry spices/seasonings, poultry, frozen meats, refrigerated meat, frozen meat, fresh shell eggs and seeds for sprouting.

16. Is food the only commodity irradiated?

No. Irradiation has been used as a sterilization technique for years on medical disposables and hospital supplies, food packaging materials, cosmetics ingredients and joint implants.

17. Are consumers ready to buy irradiated foods?

Recent experience in the U.S. shows that many consumers are willing to buy irradiated foods. This is particularly true if the purpose of the irradiation is clearly indicated. Consumers are interested in a process that eliminates harmful microbes from the food and reduces the risk of food borne disease. In test marketing of specific irradiated foods, consumers have shown that they are willing to buy them. Typically at least half will buy the irradiated food, if given a choice between irradiated product and the same product non-irradiated. If consumers are first educated about what irradiation is and why it is done, approximately 80% will buy the product in these marketing tests.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Foire aux questions concernant l'irradiation des aliments

L'irradiation des aliments a vu le jour aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni au début des années '60. Bien qu'il s'agisse de l'une des technologies alimentaires ayant fait l'objet d'études les plus nombreuses au monde, les renseignements sur l'irradiation des aliments n'ont pas été communiqués de façon adéquate au public en général, principalement à cause de la complexité du sujet. Le but de ces questions et réponses est de fournir quelques faits de base sur ce processus.

1. Qu'est-ce que l'irradiation des aliments?

L'irradiation des aliments est une méthode qui permet de conserver les aliments en utilisant un genre d'énergie de rayonnement. Il s'agit d'une des nombreuses techniques que peuvent employer les producteurs pour conserver la qualité des aliments avant leur distribution aux épiceries. Parmi les autres techniques figurent la cuisson ou le chauffage, la mise en conserve, les traitements chimiques et la pasteurisation à la vapeur. L'irradiation des aliments peut être aussi combinée avec ces techniques.

2. Pourquoi irradier les aliments et comment l'irradiation les protège-t-elle?

L'irradiation est utilisée dans la transformation des aliments pour plusieurs raisons :

  • Pour prévenir l'intoxication alimentaire : en diminuant le niveau de bactéries nocives telles que le E. coli O157:H7, les salmonelles et campylobactéries, et les parasites qui provoquent des intoxications alimentaires.
  • Pour prévenir la détérioration des aliments : en réduisant le degré de biocontamination des aliments par la suppression des bactéries, moisissures et levures qui causent la détérioration des aliments et par le contrôle des insectes et de l'infestation parasitaire.
  • Pour augmenter la durée de conservation : en ralentissant le mûrissement ou la germination des fruits et des légumes frais, ce qui augmente la durée de conservation de ces aliments.

3. Quelle intensité d'irradiation utilise-t-on?

La quantité de rayonnement utilisée ou nécessaire pour une application particulière varie selon l'aliment et de la raison de l'irradiation. Ordinairement, pour augmenter la durée de conservation ou pour prévenir la détérioration, une faible dose d'irradiation suffit, soit seulement 1 kiloGray (kGy) d'énergie absorbée. Pour empêcher l'intoxication alimentaire, la dose à appliquer dépend du type de bactérie visée et du type d'aliment. Une dose absorbée pouvant atteindre les 3 kGy est habituellement suffisante pour supprimer la salmonelle du poulet frais. En général, il faut des niveaux plus élevés de rayonnement pour détruire les parasites et les insectes. Les virus, dans la plupart des cas, ne sont pas détruits par les niveaux d'irradiation qui conviennent aux aliments.

4. Les aliments irradiés deviennent-ils radioactifs?

Non. Les aliments irradiés ne deviennent pas radioactifs. Au cours de l'irradiation, les aliments ne sont jamais en contact avec la source radioactive. En outre, le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues précise les limites supérieures des niveaux de rayonnement de la source utilisée pour le traitement des aliments. Aucune énergie radioactive (ondes) ne demeure dans les aliments après le traitement.

5. Trouve-t-on des aliments irradiés sur le marché canadien à l'heure actuelle?

À ce jour, Santé Canada a examiné et approuvé en vue de leur irradiation les produits suivants : pommes de terre, oignons, blé, farine, farine de blé entier, épices entières ou moulues et les assaisonnements déshydratés. À l'heure actuelle, l'emploi de la technologie n'est pas très répandu au Canada. Jusqu'à présent, son emploi porte principalement sur les épices.

6. L'irradiation de ces aliments est-elle obligatoire?

Non. Le règlement autorise l'irradiation de ces aliments et donne aux producteurs d'aliments la latitude de l'employer ou non. L'irradiation n'est pas obligatoire.

7. L'irradiation des aliments peut-elle être nocive pour le consommateur?

Des organismes internationaux tels que l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) et l'Organisation des Nations-Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (FAO),

reconnaissent le processus d'irradiation comme étant un moyen sûr de réduire les niveaux d'organismes qui provoquent des intoxications alimentaires et des maladies dans les aliments. L'irradiation diminue la présence de ces organismes nocifs dans les aliments achetés par le consommateur et conserve la valeur nutritive et la salubrité des aliments consommés.

8. Comment les aliments sont-ils irradiés?

Au cours du processus d'irradiation, les aliments sont exposés à une source énergétique ionisante. Trois différentes sources d'énergie peuvent être utilisées : les rayons gamma, les faisceaux d'électrons et les rayons X. La durée d'exposition des aliments à la source et le niveau d'énergie déterminent la dose d'irradiation. Les doses utilisées pour l'irradiation des aliments ne rendent pas ces derniers radioactifs.

9. Quels changements dans les aliments sont causés par l'irradiation?

L'irradiation entraîne des modifications chimiques mineures, semblables à celles associées à la cuisson, et certains aliments irradiés peuvent avoir un goût légèrement différent. Elle ne provoque pas de changement dans les aliments qui, du point de vue toxicologique, aurait un effet indésirable sur la santé humaine. L'irradiation des aliments, au niveaux d'énergie permis, ne diminue pas la valeur nutritive de l'aliment. Toute cellule vivante dans les aliments, y compris les bactéries potentiellement nocives, sont détruites ou altérées.

10. Est-ce que le traitement par irradiation garantit la salubrité des aliments?

Non. Rien ne garantit la salubrité des aliments, mais l'irradiation diminue considérablement la présence de bactéries et d'autres microorganismes dans les produits alimentaires. Les aliments irradiés doivent être manipulés, stockés et cuits de façon adéquate, comme tous les autres produits alimentaires. Les règles sur la manipulation sécuritaire des aliments - hygiène, emballage, entreposage et préparation adéquats - doivent être observées.

L'irradiation ne peut pas servir à traiter un aliment détérioré. Si un aliment a l'air dégradé, dégage une mauvaise odeur ou a mauvais goût avant d'être irradié, l'irradiation n'y changera rien.

11. Qui établit les normes en matière de niveaux d'irradiation?

Le Canada établit ses propres normes d'irradiation des aliments, à l'instar de plusieurs pays. Les normes canadiennes sont décrites dans le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues et consistent en une liste d'aliments qui peuvent être irradiés indiquant les doses maximales permises et d'autres exigences à observer. Santé Canada est chargé d'élaborer ce règlement et ces normes.

Le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues s'applique aux aliments mis en vente au Canada quel qu'en soit le lieu de production, et dans ce cas, le lieu de leur irradiation. Il incombe à l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) de faire observer ce règlement.

12. Comment puis-je savoir si un aliment a été irradié?

Tous les aliments irradiés doivent être étiquetés comme tels. En plus d'une description écrite, telle que « irradié », un symbole distinctif, le « Radura », doit figurer sur l'emballage afin d'indiquer que le produit a été irradié. La plupart des consommateurs ne peuvent déceler les différences au niveau de l'aspect, de l'odeur ou du goût de l'aliment.

13. Qui est chargé de réglementer l'irradiation au Canada?

Au Canada, plusieurs organismes fédéraux participent à divers aspects de la réglementation des procédés d'irradiation des aliments :

La Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments de Santé Canada, conformément à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, a la responsabilité d'établir les normes de salubrité des aliments vendus aux consommateurs canadiens. Ses tâches consistent à évaluer la sécurité des aliments et l'efficacité de l'irradiation des aliments, ainsi que les modifications chimiques, microbiologiques et nutritionnelles dues au traitement par irradiation, avant d'approuver toute nouvelle utilisation de ce procédé de manière à assurer la salubrité et la qualité nutritive des aliments.

L'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) est chargée de toutes les questions d'application des règlements et de conformité concernant les aliments irradiés. Elle administre le règlement sur l'étiquetage des produits irradiés en vertu de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et de la Loi sur l'emballage et l'étiquetage des produits de consommation.

Le Bureau de la radioprotection de Santé Canada est responsable d'enquêter, de communiquer et de réduire les risques pour la santé des Canadiens et des Canadiennes résultant de l'exposition au rayonnement ionisant et non ionisant. En particulier, il exploite un système centralisé de dossiers portant sur les doses d'irradiation en milieu professionnel de tous les travailleurs en radiation suivis au Canada. Il offre également des services (nationaux) de dosimétrie (SND) pour mesurer l'exposition personnelle et professionnelle. Le Bureau de la radioprotection utilise ces renseignements afin de contrôler l'exposition à la radiation ionisante dans le milieu de travail et d'évaluer les tendances et les données statistiques en matière de dosage.

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) (anciennement la Commission de contrôle de l'énergie atomique), réglemente l'utilisation de l'énergie et des matériaux nucléaires, conformément aux engagements internationaux du Canada portant sur l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire. La CCSN agit comme tribunal, prenant des décisions indépendantes sur l'homologation des activités nucléaires au Canada. Elle établit des règlements et les orientations politiques à cet égard sur les questions portant sur la santé, la protection, la sécurité et l'environnement.

14. Est-ce que le contrôle exercé par le Canada sur l'irradiation est aussi sévère que celui des autres pays?

Plusieurs pays, par exemple les États-Unis, les membres de l'Union européenne et l'Australie, réglementent l'irradiation des aliments de façon similaire au contrôle

canadien. Aux États-Unis, à l'heure actuelle, l'irradiation est permise pour les viandes rouges, la volaille, les fruits et légumes frais.

15. Est-ce que d'autres pays tiennent des listes d'aliments approuvés à des fins d'irradiation?

Les autorités en matière de santé et de sécurité d'au moins 39 pays ont approuvé l'irradiation de 40 aliments différents allant des épices, des céréales et du poulet désossé aux fruits et légumes. Le procédé est utilisé à des fins commerciales dans plusieurs de ces pays. Le Mexique et les États-Unis, par exemple, permettent l'irradiation d'un plus grand nombre d'aliments que le Canada, alors que l'Union européenne (UE), à ce jour, n'a autorisé, pour l'ensemble de l'Union, que l'irradiation « d'herbes aromatiques, d'épices et d'assaisonnement pour légumes déshydratés ». Les États membres de l'UE, toutefois, peuvent délivrer leur propre permis. La France est la plus permissive et les Pays-Bas ont également autorisé l'irradiation d'un certain nombre d'aliments, y compris les fruits séchés, les légumineuses à grain, les légumes déshydratés, les flocons de céréales, les herbes, les épices, les crevettes, la volaille, les cuisses de grenouille, la gomme arabique, les additifs alimentaires, les substances aromatisantes et les produits d'oeufs. Les États-Unis autorisent l'irradiation à faible dose de tous les aliments pour la désinfection contre les arthropodes et des aliments frais en général afin de prévenir la pousse et la maturation et également afin de permettre l'irradiation des préparations à base d'enzymes déshydratées, des épices et des assaisonnements secs, de la viande de volaille, des viandes congelées, des viandes réfrigérées, des oeufs frais en coquille et des graines à faire germer.

16. Est-ce que les aliments sont les seuls produits irradiés?

Non. Depuis plusieurs années, l'irradiation sert de technique de stérilisation des articles médicaux jetables et des fournitures d'hôpitaux, des matériaux d'emballage des aliments, des ingrédients de cosmétiques et d'implants articulaires.

17. Les consommateurs sont-ils prêts à acheter des aliments irradiés?

L'expérience récente aux États-Unis montre que de nombreux consommateurs sont disposés à acheter des aliments irradiés. Ceci est particulièrement vrai lorsque le but de l'irradiation est bien indiqué. Les consommateurs voient d'un bon oeil tout processus qui permet d'éliminer des microbes dangereux présents dans les aliments et de réduire le risque de maladies transmises par les aliments. En général, au moins la moitié des consommateurs achèteront les aliments irradiés, si on leur donne le choix entre l'aliment irradié et celui qui ne l'est pas. Si l'on renseigne tout d'abord les consommateurs sur ce qu'est l'irradiation et les raisons de son utilisation, environ 80 % de ceux-ci achèteront le produit dans les essais de commercialisation.