Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

We're revising Canada's food guide. Participate in the consultation process (link will open in a new window) to help revise Canada's food guide.
Food and Nutrition

Packaging Materials

Food Packaging Regulations

The safety of all materials used for packaging foods is controlled under Division 23 of the Food and Drugs Act and Regulations, Section B.23.001 of which prohibits the sale of foods in packages that may impart any substance to the contents which may be harmful to the consumer of the food. While it is the responsibility of the food seller (manufacturer, distributor) to ensure the safety of packaging material and compliance with B.23.001, there is a requirement that specific information be provided to Health Canada on materials used to package infant formula (Division 25), foods for special dietary use (Division 24) and novel foods (Division 28) for which packaging is considered as part of the evaluation process.

Premarket Assessments

Because of the general nature of this requirement, and in the absence of positive lists delineating permitted ingredients, packaging materials intended for use with foods may be submitted voluntarily to the Food Directorate (FD) for a premarket assessment of their chemical safety in relation to Section B.23.001. This applies to any type of material, whether it is in the form of a finished product such as a laminated film, a container, etc. or a formulated product such as a plastic resin, a colour concentrate, etc. In addition, suppliers of single additives like antioxidants, ultra violet absorbers, etc. may also independently request letters of opinion for their own products before selling them to formulators or converters.

Letters of No Objection

Letters expressing favourable opinions are called "no objection letters' and can be used by the recipients to assure their prospective customers that the products they are selling have been evaluated by the Food Directorate and deemed acceptable, from a chemical safety standpoint, for use in specified food packaging applications. However, it is important to note that such letters do not constitute approvals in a legal sense and do not relieve the food sellers of their responsibilities under Section B.23.001 of the Food and Drug Regulations.

Duration of No Objection Status

A letter of no objection has no expiry date. It is considered valid as long as the composition and intended use of the material remain as described in the original submission. It is the responsibility of the manufacturer to advise the Food Directorate of any changes that may affect the validity of the no objection status. However, The Food Directorate reserves the right to rescind the no objection status of any given material should information come to light showing that its use may potentially pose a health risk to consumers.

Guidance Documents/Guidelines

Food packaging material suppliers may consult the guidance document under "publication" for details concerning the Information Requirements for Food Packaging Submissions.

Recycled plastics used for packaging foods are subject to the same regulations as virgin plastics in terms of their chemical safety. Food packaging suppliers whose products contain recycled plastics should also consult the document entitled Guidelines for Determining the Acceptability and Use of Recycled Plastics in Food Packaging Applications under 'publication".

Submission Process Schematic

Process Schematic

Packaging Materials Used in Federally Registered Establishments

In the case of materials intended for use in federally registered food establishments operating under Regulations that are administered by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), manufacturers and suppliers of food packaging materials should be aware that as of July 2, 2014, the CFIA no longer requires industry to pre-register packaging materials in the Next link will take you to another Web site Reference Listing of Accepted Construction Materials, Packaging Materials and Non-Food Chemical Products . However, operators of federally registered food establishments still remain responsible for using packaging materials that are safe and suitable for their intended use and that meet all regulatory requirements. Manufacturers of food packaging materials can continue to request, on a voluntary basis, a letter of no objection (LONO) from Health Canada. For more information on CFIA's requirements, please visit the Next link will take you to another Web site agency's website.

Food Directorate Listings for Polymers

To assist manufacturers of food packaging materials in recognizing equivalency (and thus interchangeability) between polymer resins, the Food Directorate maintains, on the Health Canada website, positive lists of polymers for which letters of no objection have been issued for use in food packaging and other food contact applications. The intent of the lists is to preclude the need for new requests for letters of no objection in situations where interchanging one resin with a comparable one on the positive lists is the only change made to the composition of a food packaging material that has already been sanctioned by the FD for food contact uses. In such a case, it is only necessary to apprise the FD of the change to maintain the validity of the letter of no objection. However, the FD reserves the right to challenge the equivalency determination made by the manufacturer upon receipt of the notification.

The polymers are categorized and coded into 12 specific types (tables 1 to 12) plus one other category (table 13) to accommodate any polymer that cannot be fitted into any of the first 12 tables. The Lists of Acceptable Polymers For Use in Food Packaging Applications include all the polymers that have been granted no objection status by the Food Packaging Materials & Incidental Additives Section of the Chemical Health Hazard Assessment Division (Food Directorate) for use in food packaging applications since November 1st, 2003 for polyethylenes (Table 1) and since January 1st, 2004 for all other polymers (Tables 2 to 13). Polymers having received no objection letters before those dates will not be listed unless confirmation is received at the HPFB that their chemical composition and intended uses remain as described in the original submissions.

The lists include the trade name and grade of each polymer, its manufacturer, the date on which the no objection letter was issued and details of any limitations imposed on its food packaging uses (notwithstanding the fact that it should be technically suitable for its intended end-uses).

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Matériaux d'emballage

Règlement sur l'emballage de produits alimentaires

La sécurité de tous les matériaux utilisés pour l'emballage des aliments est contrôlée par la division 23 de la Loi et du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues dont la Section B.23.001 qui interdit la vente d'aliment dans un emballage qui peut transmettre de substance à son contenu qui peut être nuisible au consommateur de l'aliment. Alors qu'il est de la responsabilité du vendeur de nourriture (fabricant, distributeur) d’assurer la sécurité des matériaux d'emballage et la conformité aux B.23.001, il y a une exigence que les renseignements précis soient fournis à Santé Canada sur les matériaux utilisés pour l'emballage des préparations pour nourrissons (Division 25 ), les aliments à usage diététique spécial (Division 24) et les nouveaux aliments (Division 28) pour lesquels l'emballage est considéré comme faisant partie du processus d'évaluation.

Évaluation préalable à la mise en marché

À cause de la nature générale de cette exigence et comme il n'existe pas de listes positives des ingrédients permis, on peut soumettre volontairement les matériaux qui doivent servir à emballer des produits alimentaires à la Direction des aliments (DA) pour qu'elle procède à une évaluation préalable à la mise en marché de leur innocuité chimique à l'égard de l'article B.23.001. Cette possibilité s'applique à tout type de matériau, qu'il s'agisse d'un produit fini comme une pellicule laminée, un conteneur, etc., ou d'une préparation commerciale comme une résine de plastique, un concentré de couleur, etc. Les fournisseurs d'additifs simples comme les antioxydants, les matériaux absorbants de rayons ultraviolets, etc., peuvent aussi demander indépendamment une opinion sur leurs propres produits avant de les vendre aux fabricants ou aux transformateurs.

Attestation de non-objection

Les lettres exprimant des avis favorables sont appelées « attestation de non-objection » et leurs destinataires peuvent s'en servir pour garantir à leurs clients éventuels que les produits qu'ils vendent ont été évalués par la Direction des aliments et jugés acceptables, du point de vue de la sécurité chimique, pour des applications précisées d'emballage de produits alimentaires. Il importe toutefois de signaler que ces attestations ne constituent pas une approbation légale et ne sous-traitent pas les vendeurs de produits alimentaires aux responsabilités que leur impose l'article B.23.001 du Règlement sur les aliments et drogues.

Durée de l'attestation de non-objection

Une attestation de non-objection n'a pas de date limite. Celle-ci est reconnue comme étant en règle tout et aussi longtemps que la composition et l'usage anticipé de matériau restent tels que décrits dans la demande originale. Il incombe au fabricant d'aviser la Direction des aliments de tout changement qui pourrait affecter l'attestation de non-objection. Cependant, la Direction des aliments se réserve le droit d'annuler une attestation de non-objection s'elle obtient des informations additionnelles suggérant que l'usage d'un produit puisse nuire à la santé des consommateurs.

Documents d'orientation

Les fournisseurs de matériaux d'emballage de produits alimentaires peuvent consulter le document d'orientation sous la rubrique « publication » pour y trouver des détails sur les Renseignements à fournir concernant la présentation de soumissions pour emballages de produits alimentaires.

Les plastiques recyclés destinés à l'emballage alimentaire sont aussi assujettis aux mêmes règlements que les plastiques vierges quant à leur salubrité chimique. Les fournisseurs d'emballage alimentaire dont les produits contiennent du plastique recyclé devraient aussi consulter le document intitulé Lignes directrices pour déterminer l'acceptabilité et l'utilisation des plastiques recyclés pour l'emballage des aliments.

Schéma du processus

Schéma du processus

Matériaux d'emballage utilisés dans les établissements alimentaires immatriculés au fédéral

Dans le cadre des produits destinés à être utilisés dans les établissements alimentaires enregistrés au fédéral opérant sous d’autres lois et règlement qui sont administrés par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA), les fabricants et fournisseurs de matériaux d’emballage devraient être conscients que depuis le 2 juillet 2014, l’ACIA ne nécessite plus l’industrie à préenregistrer les matériaux d’emballage dans la Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web liste de référence pour les matériaux de construction, les matériaux d'emballage et ces produits chimiques non alimentaires acceptés.Toutefois, les opérateurs d’établissements alimentaires enregistrés au fédéral restent responsables d’utiliser des matériaux d’emballage qui sont sans danger et efficaces lorsqu'ils sont utilisés aux fins prévues et qui répondent à toutes les exigences réglementaires. Les fabricants de matériaux d'emballage alimentaire peuvent continuer à demander , sur une base volontaire, une « attestation de non-objection » (ANO) de Santé Canada. Pour plus d’informations sur les exigences de l’ACIA, s’il vous plaît visitez r Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web son site Web.

Listes des polymères de la Direction des aliments

Dans le but d'aider les fabricants de matériaux d'emballage alimentaire à reconnaître l'équivalence (et donc la possibilité d'alternance) entre les polymères, la DA maintient, sur le site Web de Santé Canada, des listes de polymères sur lesquels elle a émis des attestations de non-objection à leur utilisation dans l'emballage de produits alimentaires et dans d'autres applications qui entrent en contact avec des produits alimentaires. Ces listes ont pour but d'éliminer la nécessité de requêtes supplémentaires pour des attestations de non-objection lorsque le remplacement d'une résine par une autre semblable, apparaissant sur les listes positives, constitue le seul changement apporté à la composition du matériau d'emballage alimentaire ayant déjà reçu une attestation de non-objection de la part de la DA. Dans un tel cas, le fabricant se doit d'aviser la DA de ce changement pour que l'attestation originale de non-objection reste valable. Cependant, la DA se réserve le droit de contester la détermination d'équivalence faite par le fabricant sur réception de cet avis.

Les polymères sont classifiés et codifiés en 12 catégories (tableaux 1 à 12), en plus d'une autre catégorie (tableau 13), la dernière dans le but d'accommoder tout polymère non compris dans ces listes. La Liste des polymères acceptables dans les matériaux d'emballage de produits alimentaires contient tous les polymères qui ont reçu des attestations de non-objection par la Section des matériaux d'emballage alimentaire de la Division de l'évaluation du danger des produits chimiques (Direction des aliments) pour utilisation dans les matériaux de produits alimentaires depuis le 1er Novembre 2003 pour les polyéthylènes (Tableeau 1) et depuis le er Janvier 2004 pour les autres polymères (Tableaux 2 à 13). Les listes comprennent la dénomination commerciale et la catégorie de chaque polymère, le nom de son fabricant, la date d'émission de l'attestation de non-objection, ainsi que la limitation imposée quant à ses utilisations dans l'emballage de produits alimentaires (nonobstant le fait qu'il doit être techniquement convenable pour son utilisation prévue).