Warning: Unknown: Unable to allocate memory for pool. in Unknown on line 0 Household Food Insecurity in Canada in 2007-2008: Key Statistics and Graphics - Food and Nutrition Surveillance - Health Canada
Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Food and Nutrition

Household Food Insecurity In Canada in 2007-2008: Key Statistics and Graphics

Key statistics and graphics on household food insecurity in Canada in 2007-2008 are presented below.Footnote 1 They are not directly comparable to those from the Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS) 2004 because of key differences in survey methodology (e.g., the geography and age of respondents sampled, the subject matter of the survey, the proportion of in-person versus telephone interviews).

Household Food Insecurity

Food secure

These households had access, at all times throughout the previous year, to enough food for an active, healthy life for all household members.

  • 92.3% of Canadian households were food secure in 2007-2008

Food insecure

At times during the previous year, these households were uncertain of having, or unable to acquire, enough food to meet the needs of all their members because they had insufficient money for food.  In these households, adults or children (if present) or both adults and children experienced food insecurity.  Depending on the extent of the experience, households were either moderately food insecure or severely food insecure.

  • 7.7% (961,000) of Canadian households were food insecure in 2007-2008

Moderately food insecure - These households had indication of compromise in quality and/or quantity of food consumed

  • 5.1% (629,600) of Canadian households were moderately food insecure in 2007-2008

Severely food insecure - These households had indication of reduced food intake and disrupted eating patterns

  • 2.7% (331,900) of Canadian households were severely food insecure in 2007-2008

Household Food Insecurity in Canada, 2007-2008

Figure 1: Household Food Insecurity in Canada, 2007-2008

Number of People Living in Food Insecure HouseholdsFootnote 2

  • In 2007-2008, 1.92 million people in Canada aged 12 or older, including 228,500 children aged 12 to 17, lived in food-insecure households. Almost one third of these people, including 546,100 adults and 60,000 children aged 12 to 17, lived in households with severe food insecurity.
  • In 2007-2008, 130,300 children aged 12 to 17 lived in households with food insecurity among children, including 20,000 where the food insecurity among children was severe.Footnote 3

Household Food Insecurity by Selected Characteristics

Household Composition

In Canada in 2007-2008, the overall prevalence of food insecurity was higher in households with childrenFootnote 4(9.7%) than in households without childrenFootnote 5(6.8%).

Households with children

  • Food insecurity was more prevalent if the household included at least one child under the age of 6 years (10.8%) compared with no children under the age of 6 (9.0%).
  • The prevalence of household food insecurity was higher in households with three or more children (14.0%) compared with one or two children (9.0%).
  • The prevalence of food insecurity among households led by female lone parents (25.0%) was two times greater than among households led by male lone parents (11.2%) and four times that of households led by couples (6.3%). The prevalence of severe food insecurity in female lone-parent households (8.8%) was six times that in couple-led households (1.4%).

Households without children

Among Canadian households without children, the prevalence of food insecurity was higher among households of unattached individuals (10.5%) than among couple households (3.1%).

Household Food Insecurity in Canada by Household Composition, 2007-2008

Figure 2: Household Food Insecurity in Canada by Household Composition, 2007-2008

Households by Selected Socio-Demographic Characteristics

The prevalence of food insecurity in 2007-2008 varied by selected socio-demographic characteristics.

  • At the national level, the prevalence of food insecurity decreased from the first (lowest) household income distribution decile to the tenth (highest).Footnote 6 In the first decile, more than two out of five (42.8%) food insecure households were considered severely food insecure; the relative proportion of severe food insecurity among food insecure households decreased with increasing household income distribution decile.

Household food insecurity in Canada by household income distribution decile1, 2007-2008

Figure 3: Household food insecurity in Canada by household income distribution decile1, 2007-2008

Main source of household income

  • Food insecurity was more prevalent in households in which the main source of household income was social assistance (55.5%) or worker's compensation/employment insurance (25.3%) than in households with other main sources of income.
  • Severe food insecurity among households with social assistance as the main source of income was as common (28.2%) as moderate food insecurity (27.3%). Households with salary/wages and those with pensions/seniors' benefits as their main source of income experienced much lower rates of food insecurity (6.1% and 4.8%, respectively).

Highest level of education attained

  • The prevalence of food insecurity was lower in households with post-secondary graduation as the highest level of education achieved in the household (5.8%), compared with those with some post-secondary education (14.0%), secondary graduation (9.2%), or less than secondary graduation (14.0%) as the highest level of education attained.Footnote 7

Aboriginal status

  • Among off-reserve Aboriginal households,Footnote 8 approximately one in five (20.9%) households was food insecure, including 8.4% with severe food insecurity. These rates are approximately three times higher than among non-Aboriginal households where 7.2% were food insecure, including 2.5% with severe food insecurity.

Immigrant status

  • The prevalence of household food insecurity was higher among recent immigrant householdsFootnote 9 (12.6%) compared to non-immigrant households (7.5%) and non-recent immigrant households (7.8%).

Home ownership

  • Not owning a dwelling was related to higher rates of food insecurity, with almost one in six (17.2%) households in this situation considered food insecure, compared with 3.5% of households where the dwelling was owned.

Area of residence

  • Overall, households in urban areas had a higher prevalence of food insecurity (8.1%) than those in rural areas (6.1%).Footnote 10

Household food insecurity in Canada by selected socio-demographic characteristics, 2007-2008

Figure 4: Household food insecurity in Canada by selected socio-demographic characteristics, 2007-2008

Prevalence of Household Food Insecurity in the Provinces and Territories

In 2007-2008, household food insecurity in the provinces ranged from 6.3% in Saskatchewan to 10.6% in Prince Edward Island. In the territories, the prevalence of food insecurity was 11.6% in the Yukon, 12.4% in the Northwest Territories and 32.6% in Nunavut.Footnote 11

Household food insecurity by province and territory, 2007-2008

Figure 5: Household food insecurity by province and territory, 2007-2008

In 2007-2008, the prevalence of food insecurity in Quebec, Saskatchewan and Alberta was significantly lower than the national average. In British Columbia, it did not differ significantly from the national average. However, food insecurity was significantly higher than the national average in the Atlantic provinces, Ontario, Manitoba and the territories.

Map: Prevalence of Household Food Insecurity, Canada, 2007-2008

Map: Prevalence of Household Food Insecurity, Canada, 2007-2008

More Information

Detailed summary data tables on household food insecurity in Canada in 2007-2008 are available upon request from the Office of Nutrition Policy and Promotion.

Copyright Guidelines

Please ensure that Health Canada Copyright Guidelines are adhered to when using data, graphs or the map from this webpage.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The Share Files from Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS) 2007-2008 were used in deriving the prevalence estimates. Please note that an Next link will take you to another Web site erratum was published by Statistics Canada in June 2010 regarding the 2007-2008 "Household Food Security Status" derived variable.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The target population of the CCHS is all Canadians aged 12 and over. Population weights were used to determine the number of people living in food insecure households.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Child status is determined based on responses to the eight-item Child Scale

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Households with children had at least one household member age 17 years or less.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Households without children did not have any household members age 17 years or less.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

The income distribution reflects a distribution of respondents in deciles based on the adjusted ratio of their total household income to the low income cut-off corresponding to their household and community size. It provides, for each respondent, a relative measure of their household income to the household incomes of all other respondents. This income distribution is divided into ten equal parts so that each part represents 1/10 of the sample or population.  These equal parts are referred to as Decile 1, Decile 2, etc.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

The highest level of education achieved by any member of the household.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

An affirmative response to the question, "People living in Canada come from many different cultural and racial backgrounds. Are you: Aboriginal (North American Indian, Mtis, Inuit)?" was used to identify Aboriginal respondents and thus Aboriginal households. It is recognized, however, that other members of the household may not necessarily self-identify as being of Aboriginal cultural or racial background.

Return to footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

An affirmative response to Statistics Canada's original indicator variable on immigrant status was used to identify immigrant respondents, and therefore, immigrant households. The indicator variable is based on a respondent's country of birth and Canadian citizenship at birth. "Recent" was defined as less than 5 years in Canada.

Return to footnote 9 referrer

Footnote 10

Urban areas are those continuously built-up areas that have a population concentration of 1,000 or more and a population density of 300 or more per square kilometre based on current census population counts. All other areas are considered rural.

Return to footnote 10 referrer

Footnote 11

In Nunavut, because of operational difficulties inherent to remote locales, only the largest communities are covered by the survey (CCHS): Iqaluit, Cambridge Bay, Baker Lake, Arviat, Rankin Inlet, Kugluktuk, Pond Inlet, Cape Dorset, Pangnirtung and Igloolik.

Return to footnote 11 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada en 2007-2008 : statistiques et graphiques clés

Des statistiques et graphiques clés sur l'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada en 2007-2008 sont présentés ci dessousNote de bas de page 1 Ils ne sont pas directement comparables à ceux de l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC) 2004 à cause d'importantes différences dans la méthodologie de l'enquête (p. ex. la répartition géographique et l'âge des répondants, le sujet de l'enquête, la proportion des entrevues menées en personne ou par téléphone).

Insécurité alimentaire des ménages

Sécurité alimentaire

Ces ménages ont eu accès, en tout temps au cours de l'année précédant l'enquête, à de la nourriture en quantité suffisante pour permettre à tous leurs membres de mener une vie saine et active.

  • 92,3 % des ménages canadiens étaient en situation de sécurité alimentaire en 2007-2008.

Insécurité alimentaire

À un moment donné ou l'autre de l'année précédant l'enquête, ces ménages n'étaient pas certains de pouvoir acheter assez de nourriture pour répondre aux besoins de leurs membres ou ont été incapables de le faire parce qu'ils n'avaient pas assez d'argent. Dans ces ménages, les adultes ou les enfants (le cas échéant) ou les adultes et les enfants ont été en situation d'insécurité alimentaire. La situation variait d'insécurité alimentaire modérée à insécurité alimentaire grave.

  • 7,7 % (961 500) des ménages canadiens étaient en situation d'insécurité alimentaire en 2007-2008.

Insécurité alimentaire modérée - Dans ces ménages, il y avait des signes que la qualité et/ou la quantité des aliments consommés était compromise.

  • 5,1 % (629 600) des ménages canadiens étaient en situation d'insécurité alimentaire modérée en 2007-2008.

Insécurité alimentaire grave - Chez ces ménages, il y avait des signes de réduction de l'apport alimentaire et de perturbation des habitudes alimentaires.

  • 2,7 % (331 900) des ménages canadiens étaient en situation d'insécurité alimentaire grave en 2007-2008.

Situation d'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada, 2007-2008

Figure 1 : Situation d'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada, 2007-2008

Nombre de personnes au sein de ménages en situation d'insécurité alimentaireNote de bas de page 2

  • En 2007-2008, au Canada, 1,92 million de personnes de 12 ans ou plus, dont 228 500 enfants de 12 à 17 ans, vivaient dans des ménages en situation d'insécurité alimentaire. Presque le tiers d'entre elles, dont 546 100 adultes et 60 000 enfants de 12 à 17 ans, vivaient dans des ménages en situation d'insécurité alimentaire grave.
  • En 2007-2008, 130 300 enfants de 12 à 17 ans vivaient dans des ménages où les enfants étaient en situation d'insécurité alimentaire, dont 20 000 en situation d'insécurité alimentaire grave.Note de bas de page 3

Insécurité alimentaire des ménages selon différentes caractéristiques

Composition des ménages

En 2007-2008, au Canada, la prévalence globale de l'insécurité alimentaire était plus élevée dans les ménages comprenant des enfantsNote de bas de page 4 (9,7%) que dans les ménages sans enfantsNote de bas de page 5(6,8%).

Ménages avec enfants

  • La prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire était plus élevée dans les ménages comprenant au moins un enfant de moins de six ans (10,8 %) que dans les ménages ne comprenant aucun enfant de cette tranche d'âge (9,0 %).
  • La prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire des ménages était plus élevée dans les ménages comprenant trois enfants ou plus (14,0 %) que dans les ménages comprenant un ou deux enfants (9,0 %).
  • La prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire chez les ménages monoparentaux ayant une femme à leur tête était deux fois plus élevée (25,0 %) que chez les ménages monoparentaux ayant un homme à leur tête (11,2 %) et quatre fois plus élevée que chez les ménages ayant un couple à leur tête (6,3 %). La prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire grave chez les ménages monoparentaux ayant une femme à leur tête (8,8 %) était six fois plus élevée que chez les ménages ayant un couple à leur tête (1,4 %).

Ménages sans enfants

Chez les ménages canadiens sans enfants, la prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire était plus élevée dans les ménages formés d'une personne vivant seule (10,5 %) que dans ceux comprenant un couple (3,1 %).

Situation d'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada selon le type de ménage, 2007-2008

Figure 2 : Situation d'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada selon le type de ménage, 2007-2008

Ménages selon les caractéristiques sociodémographiques retenues

En 2007-2008, la prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire a varié selon certaines caractéristiques sociodémographiques.

  • À l'échelle nationale, la prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire a diminué entre le premier (plus bas) et le dixième (plus élevé) décile de revenu.Note de bas de page 6 Dans le premier décile, plus de deux ménages sur cinq (42,8 %) en situation d'insécurité alimentaire étaient considérés en situation d'insécurité alimentaire grave; la proportion relative de l'insécurité alimentaire grave chez les ménages en situation d'insécurité alimentaire a diminué avec l'augmentation du revenu des ménages à l'intérieur du décile.

Situation d'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada selon le décile de revenu1, 2007-2008

Figure 3 : Situation d'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada selon le décile de revenu1, 2007-2008

Principale source de revenu des ménages

  • La prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire était plus élevée dans les ménages où la principale source de revenu était l'aide sociale (55,5 %) ou les indemnités d'accident du travail ou d'assurance emploi (25,3 %) que dans les ménages ayant d'autres principales sources de revenu.
  • La prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire grave (28,2 %) et de l'insécurité alimentaire modérée (27,3 %) chez les ménages où la principale source de revenu était l'aide sociale était sensiblement la même. La prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire était de beaucoup inférieure dans les ménages dont la principale source de revenu était un salaire ou des prestations de régimes de pension des aînés (6,1 % et 4,8 %, respectivement).

Plus haut niveau d'études achevé

  • La prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire était moins élevée dans les ménages où le plus haut niveau d'études achevé correspondait à un diplôme d'études postsecondaires (5,8 %), par rapport aux ménages où le plus haut niveau d'études achevé correspondait à certaines études postsecondaires (14,0 %), à un diplôme d'études secondaires (9,2 %), ou à moins qu'un diplôme d'études secondaires (14,0 %).Note de bas de page 7

Statut autochtone

  • Chez les ménages autochtones vivant hors réserveNote de bas de page 8, environ un ménage sur cinq (20,9 %) était en situation d'insécurité alimentaire, dont 8,4 % en situation d'insécurité alimentaire grave. Ces taux sont environ trois fois plus élevés que chez les ménages non autochtones, dont 7,2 % étaient en situation d'insécurité alimentaire, y compris 2,5 % en situation d'insécurité alimentaire grave.

Statut d'immigration du ménage

  • La prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire était plus élevée chez les ménages immigrants récentsNote de bas de page 9 (12,6 %) par rapport aux ménages non immigrants (7,5 %) et aux ménages immigrants non récents (7,8 %).

Propriété du logement

  • Les locataires étaient plus nombreux à se trouver en situation d'insécurité alimentaire, c'est à dire que presque un ménage sur six (17,2 %) était considéré en situation d'insécurité alimentaire, par rapport à 3,5 % des ménages qui étaient propriétaires de leur logement.

Région de résidence

  • En général, la prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire était plus élevée en milieu urbain (8,1 %) qu'en milieu rural (6,1 %).Note de bas de page 10

Situation d'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada selon les caractéristiques sociodémographiques retenues, 2007-2008

Figure 4 : Situation d'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada selon les caractéristiques sociodémographiques retenues, 2007-2008

Prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire dans les provinces et territoires

En 2007-2008, les taux d'insécurité alimentaire ont varié de 6,3 % en Saskatchewan à 10,6 % à l'Île du Prince Édouard. Dans les territoires, ces taux étaient de 11,6 % au Yukon, de 12,4 % dans les Territoires du Nord Ouest et de 32,6 % au NunavutNote de bas de page 11.

Situation d'insécurité alimentaire des ménages par province et territoire, 2007-2008

Figure 5 : Situation d'insécurité alimentaire des ménages par province et territoire, 2007-2008

En 2007-2008, la prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire au Québec, en Saskatchewan et en Alberta était considérablement inférieure à la moyenne nationale. En Colombie Britannique, elle était sensiblement la même que la moyenne nationale. Toutefois, dans les provinces de l'Atlantique, en Ontario, au Manitoba et dans les territoires, l'insécurité alimentaire était considérablement plus élevée que la moyenne nationale.

Carte : Prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada, 2007-2008

Carte : Prévalence de l'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada, 2007-2008

Complément d'information

Il est possible d'obtenir des tableaux sommaires détaillés des données sur l'insécurité alimentaire des ménages au Canada en 2007-2008 en en faisant la demande auprès du Bureau de la politique et de la promotion de la nutrition.

Lignes directrices sur les droits d'auteur

Veuillez vous assurer de respecter les lignes directrices de Santé Canada sur les droits d'auteur lorsque vous utilisez des données, des graphiques ou la carte de la présente page Web.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les fichiers de partage de Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC) 2007-2008 ont été utilisés pour établir les estimations de la prévalence. Veuillez tenir compte de Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web l'erratum qui a été publié par Statistiques Canada en juin 2010 pour la variable dérivée "État de sécurité alimentaire du ménage" de 2007-2008.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

L'ESCC cible tous les Canadiens de 12 ans et plus. Les poids de la population ont été utilisés pour déterminer le nombre de personnes vivant dans des ménages en situation d'insécurité alimentaire.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

La situation des enfants est établie en fonction des réponses aux huit questions associées à l'échelle de sécurité alimentaire chez les enfants.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Les ménages avec enfants comprenaient au moins un membre de 17 ans ou moins.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4 referrer

Note de bas de page 5

Les ménages sans enfants ne comprenaient aucun membre de 17 ans ou moins.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5 referrer

Note de bas de page 6

La répartition du revenu reflète une répartition des répondants par déciles en fonction du ratio redressé du revenu total de leur ménage par rapport au seuil de faible revenu correspondant à la taille de leur ménage et de leur collectivité. Elle fournit, pour chaque répondant, une mesure relative du revenu de son ménage par rapport au revenu des ménages de tous les autres répondants. Cette répartition du revenu est divisée en dix parties égales, de sorte que chaque partie représente 1/10 de l'échantillon ou de la population. Ces parties égales sont désignées sous les noms décile 1, décile 2, etc.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6 referrer

Note de bas de page 7

Plus haut niveau d'étude achevé par n'importe quel membre du ménage.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7 referrer

Note de bas de page 8

On s'est appuyé sur les réponses affirmatives à la question « Les gens qui habitent au Canada ont des origines culturelles et raciales très variées. Êtes-vous Autochtone? (Indien de l'Amérique du Nord, Métis ou Inuit)? » pour déterminer si les répondants, et donc les ménages, étaient Autochtones. On reconnaît toutefois que tous les membres de ces ménages ne se considéraient pas nécessairement de culture ou d'origine ethnique autochtone.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 8 referrer

Note de bas de page 9

Une réponse affirmative à la variable indicatrice originale de Statistique Canada sur le statut d'immigrant a été utilisée pour identifier les répondants immigrants et, par conséquent, les ménages immigrants. La variable indicatrice est fondée sur le pays de naissance d'un répondant et sur la citoyenneté canadienne à la naissance. « Récent » désigne moins de cinq ans au Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 9 referrer

Note de bas de page 10

Les régions urbaines sont des régions bâties où la population s'élève à au moins 1000 personnes et la densité de population à au moins 300 personnes au kilomètre carré, selon les derniers recensements. Toutes les autres régions sont considérées comme rurales.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 10 referrer

Note de bas de page 11

Au Nunavut, en raison de difficultés opérationnelles associées à l'éloignement, seules les grandes collectivités sont visées par l'enquête (ESCC), à savoir : Iqaluit, Cambridge Bay, Baker Lake, Arviat, Rankin Inlet, Kugluktuk, Pond Inlet, Cape Dorset, Pangnirtung et Igloolik.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 11 referrer