Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Food and Nutrition

Duration of Exclusive Breastfeeding in Canada: Key Statistics and Graphics (2009-2010)

The Next link will take you to another Web site 2009-2010 Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS) looked at how long women who had given birth in the last 5 years breastfed their last child and when they first introduced liquids or solids.

Key statistics and graphics on the duration of exclusive breastfeeding in Canada from the CCHS 2009-2010 are presented below.Footnote1 In the descriptions below, a difference between two estimates is considered statistically significant when the 95% confidence intervals do not overlap.

Duration of exclusive breastfeeding

Exclusive breastfeeding refers to the practice of feeding only breast milk (including expressed breast milk) and allows the baby to receive vitamins, minerals or medicine. Water, breast milk substitutes, other liquids and solid foods are excluded.

The duration of exclusive breastfeeding is a derived variable based on the Maternal Experiences - Breastfeeding (MEX) Module questions about length of breastfeeding and the introduction of liquids or solids. The questions were asked of mothers between the ages of 15 and 55 who had given birth in the last 5 years. While the derived variable specification changed in CCHS 2009-2010, the new specification was used when looking at trends in breastfeeding duration across all cycles of CCHS.Footnote2

Exclusive breastfeeding duration in 2009-2010

  • 25.9% of mothers exclusively breastfed their last child for the recommended 6 months (17.6%) or more (8.3%).

Duration of exclusive breastfeeding, Canada, 2009-2010

Duration of exclusive breastfeeding, Canada, 2009-2010

Based on information provided by females aged 15 to 55 who had a baby in the last 5 years. Exclusive breastfeeding refers to the practice of feeding only breast milk (including expressed breast milk) to babies. The duration of exclusive breastfeeding is a derived variable based on questions about length of breastfeeding and the introduction of liquids or solids.

Source: Health Canada
Data Source: Statistics Canada, Canadian Community Health Survey, 2009-2010

Trend in exclusive breastfeeding duration

  • The percentage of mothers who exclusively breastfed their child for six months (or more) increased between the reporting periods 2003 (17.3%) and 2005 (20.3%), but remained stable between the reporting periods 2005 (20.3%) and 2007-2008 (23.1%) and 2007-2008 (23.1%) and 2009-2010 (25.9%).

Duration of exclusive breastfeeding by selected socio-demographic characteristics

The percentage of mothers who exclusively breastfed their last child for the recommended six months (or more) varied by selected socio-demographic characteristics.Footnote3

Household income

  • At the national level, significantly fewer mothers in the lowest (23.1%) and third income quintile (23.7%) breastfed their child exclusively for six months (or more) than did mothers in the highest income quintile (33.0%).Footnote4

Highest level of education attained

  • Significantly fewer mothers with less than secondary education (17.3FootnoteE%), secondary graduation (20.4%) and some post-secondary education (19.9%) breastfed their last child exclusively for six months (or more) than did mothers who were post-secondary graduates (29.1%).

Exclusive breastfeeding for six months (or more) by income and education, Canada, 2009-2010

Exclusive breastfeeding for six months (or more) by income and education, Canada, 2009-2010

E – Data with a coefficient of variation from 16.6% to 33.3%; interpret with caution.

Based on information provided by females aged 15 to 55 who had a baby in the last 5 years.

Exclusive breastfeeding refers to the practice of feeding only breast milk (including expressed breast milk) to babies. The duration of exclusive breastfeeding is a derived variable based on questions about length of breastfeeding and the introduction of liquids or solids.

Source: Health Canada
Data Source: Statistics Canada, Canadian Community Health Survey, 2009-2010

Cultural/racial background

  • There were no significant differences in the percentage of mothers who exclusively breastfed their last child for six months (or more) by cultural/racial background.Footnote5, Footnote6

Aboriginal status

  • Significantly fewer off-reserve Aboriginal mothersFootnote7 breastfed their last child exclusively for six months (or more) (16.6%) than did non-Aboriginal mothers (26.7%).

Immigrant status

  • There were no significant differences in the percentage of mothers who exclusively breastfed their last child for six months (or more) by immigrant status.Footnote8

Exclusive breastfeeding for six months (or more) by cultural/racial background, Aboriginal status and immigrant status, Canada, 2009-2010

Exclusive breastfeeding for six months (or more) by cultural/racial background, Aboriginal status and immigrant status, Canada, 2009-2010

E – Data with a coefficient of variation from 16.6% to 33.3%; interpret with caution.

Based on information provided by females aged 15 to 55 who had a baby in the last 5 years.
Exclusive breastfeeding refers to the practice of feeding only breast milk (including expressed breast milk) to babies. The duration of exclusive breastfeeding is a derived variable based on questions about length of breastfeeding and the introduction of liquids or solids.

Source: Health Canada
Data Source: Statistics Canada, Canadian Community Health Survey, 2009-2010

Mother's Age

  • The percentage of mothers who breastfed exclusively for six months (or more) increased with increasing maternal age.  Significantly fewer mothers aged 15-24 (14.3%) and 25-34 (24.6%) breastfed their last child exclusively for six months (or more) than did mothers aged 35-55 (31.2%).

Marital status

  • Significantly more married/common-law mothers (27.6%) exclusively breastfed their last child six months (or more) than did mothers who were widowed/separated/divorced/single mothers (17.4%).

Area of residence

  • The percentage of mothers who exclusively breastfed their last child for six months (or more) was similar between urban and rural areas of residence.Footnote9

Exclusive breastfeeding for six months (or more) by age, marital status and area of residence, Canada, 2009-2010

Exclusive breastfeeding for six months (or more) by age, marital status and area of residence, Canada, 2009-2010

Based on information provided by females aged 15 to 55 who had a baby in the last 5 years.
Exclusive breastfeeding refers to the practice of feeding only breast milk (including expressed breast milk) to babies. The duration of exclusive breastfeeding is a derived variable based on questions about length of breastfeeding and the introduction of liquids or solids.

Source: Health Canada
Data Source: Statistics Canada, Canadian Community Health Survey, 2009-2010

Percentage of mothers who exclusively breastfed for six months (or more) by region

In 2009-2010, the percentage of mothers who exclusively breastfed their last child for six months (or more) in the Atlantic Provinces and Quebec was significantly lower than the national average. The percentage of mothers exclusively breastfeeding for six months (or more) was significantly higher than the national average in the Prairies, British Columbia and the Territories.

Percentage of mothers who exclusive breastfed for six months (or more) by region, Canada, 2009-2010

Percentage of mothers who exclusive breastfed for six months (or more) by region, Canada, 2009-2010

Based on information provided by females aged 15 to 55 who had a baby in the last 5 years.
Exclusive breastfeeding refers to the practice of feeding only breast milk (including expressed breast milk) to babies. The duration of exclusive breastfeeding is a derived variable based on questions about length of breastfeeding and the introduction of liquids or solids.

Source: Health Canada
Data Source: Statistics Canada, Canadian Community Health Survey, 2009-2010

Reasons for stopping breastfeeding

The top three reasons cited by mothers for stopping breastfeeding their last child wereFootnote10:

  1. not enough breast milk (26.1%);
  2. baby was ready for solid food (18.9%); and,
  3. baby self-weaned (13.1%).

Reasons provided by mothers for stopping breastfeeding their last child, Canada, 2009-2010

Reasons provided by mothers for stopping exclusive breastfeeding of their last child, Canada, 2009-2010

E – Data with a coefficient of variation from 16.6% to 33.3%; interpret with caution.

All other reasons – Includes advice of partner/family/friends, mother wanted to drink alcohol, mother wanted to smoke and other.
Based on information provided by females aged 15 to 55 who had a baby in the last 5 years.

Source: Health Canada
Data Source: Statistics Canada, Canadian Community Health Survey, 2009-2010

Copyright guidelines

Please ensure that Health Canada Copyright Guidelines are adhered to when using data, graphs or the map from this webpage.

Footnotes

Footnote E

Data with a coefficient of variation from 16.6% to 33.3%; interpret with caution.

Return to footnote E referrer

Footnote 1

The Share Files from Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS) 2009-2010 were used in deriving the estimates.

Return to first footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The duration of exclusive breastfeeding was determined using the Next link will take you to another Web site derived variable ‘Length of exclusive breastfeeding'. The specification of the derived variable changed in 2009-2010.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The proportion of exclusively mothers who breastfed their babies for six months (or more) was determined using the Next link will take you to another Web site derived variable ‘Exclusively breastfed for 6 months (or more)'. The specification of the derived variable changed in 2009-2010.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The income distribution reflects a distribution of respondents in deciles based on the adjusted ratio of their total household income to the low income cut-off corresponding to their household and community size. It provides, for each respondent, a relative measure of their household income to the household incomes of all other respondents. This income distribution is divided into ten equal parts so that each part represents 1/10th of the sample or population. These equal parts are referred to as Decile 1, Decile 2, etc. Decile 1 and 2 were combined to become Quintile 1, Decile 3 and 4 were combined to become Quintile 2, etc.

Return to first footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

An Asian cultural or racial background includes Korean, Filipino, Japanese, Chinese, South Asian or South East Asian.

Return to first footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

An ‘Other' cultural or racial background includes Arab, West Asian, Latin American, other racial/cultural origin or multiple racial/cultural origin.

Return to first footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

An affirmative response to the question, ‘People living in Canada come from many different cultural and racial backgrounds. Are you: Aboriginal (North American Indian, Métis, Inuit)?' was used to identify Aboriginal respondents.

Return to first footnote 7 referrer

Footnote 8

An affirmative response to Statistics Canada's original Next link will take you to another Web site indicator variable on immigrant status was used to identify immigrant respondents. The indicator variable is based on a respondent's country of birth and Canadian citizenship at birth. "Recent" was defined as less than 5 years in Canada.

Return to first footnote 8 referrer

Footnote 9

Urban areas are those continuously built-up areas that have a population concentration of 1,000 or more and a population density of 300 or more per square kilometre based on current census population counts. All other areas are considered rural.

Return to first footnote 9 referrer

Footnote 10

The choices were the following: not enough breast milk; baby was ready for solid foods; inconvenience/fatigue due to breastfeeding; difficulty with breastfeeding techniques (e.g. sore nipples, engorged breasts, mastitis); medical condition in mother; medical condition in baby; mother planned to stop at this time; child weaned him/herself (e.g. baby biting, refusing breast); advice of doctor or health professional; mother returned to work/school; advice of partner/family/friends; formula equally healthy for baby; mother wanted to drink alcohol; mother wanted to smoke; and, other.

Return to first footnote 10 referrer

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aliments et nutrition

Durée de l'allaitement exclusif au Canada :statistiques et graphiques clés (2009-2010)

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web L'Enquête sur la santé dans les communautés canadiennes (ESCC) 2009-2010 fournit des renseignements sur la période pendant laquelle les femmes, qui ont donné naissance dans les cinq dernières années, ont allaité leur dernier enfant ainsi que sur l'introduction de liquides ou de solides.

Les statistiques et graphiques clés sur la durée de l'allaitement exclusif au Canada tirés de l'ESCC 2009-2010 sont présentés ci-aprèsNote de bas de page1. Dans les descriptions qui suivent, une différence entre deux estimations est considérée statistiquement significative lorsqu'on n'observe aucun chevauchement entre les intervalles de confiance de 95 %.

Durée de l'allaitement exclusif

On entend par allaitement maternel exclusif la pratique consistant à nourrir un bébé exclusivement de lait maternel (incluant du lait maternel qui a été extrait). On peut également donner au bébé des vitamines, des minéraux ou des médicaments. L'eau, les substituts du lait maternel, les autres liquides et les aliments solides sont toutefois exclus.

La durée de l'allaitement exclusif est une variable dérivée fondée sur les questions du Module Expériences maternelles - Allaitement (MEX) portant sur la durée de l'allaitement et l'introduction de liquides ou de solides. Ces questions ont été posées aux mères de 15 à 55 ans qui avaient donné naissance au cours des 5 dernières années. La nouvelle spécification de la variable dérivée adoptée dans l'ESCC 2009-2010 a été utilisée pour examiner les tendances dans la durée de l'allaitement exclusif à travers tous les cycles de l'ESCCNote de bas de page2.

Durée de l'allaitement exclusif en 2009-2010

  • 25,9 % des mères ont poursuivi l'allaitement exclusif de leur dernier enfant pendant la période recommandée de six mois (17,6 %) ou plus (8,3 %).

Durée de l'allaitement exclusif, Canada, 2009-2010

Durée de l'allaitement exclusif, Canada, 2009-2010

Selon les renseignements recueillis auprès de femmes de 15 à 55 ans qui ont donné naissance au cours des cinq dernières années.
Allaitement exclusif : pratique consistant à nourrir les bébés exclusivement de lait maternel (notamment de lait maternel qui a été extrait). La durée de l'allaitement exclusif est une variable dérivée fondée sur les questions concernant la durée de l'allaitement et l'introduction de liquides ou de solides.

Source: Santé Canada
Source de données: Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC), 2009-2010

Tendance relative à la durée de l'allaitement exclusif

  • Le pourcentage de mères qui ont allaité exclusivement leur dernier enfant pendant six mois (ou plus) a augmenté entre les années de collecte de données 2003 (17,3 %) et 2005 (20,3 %). Ce pourcentage est toutefois demeuré stable entre 2005 (20.3 %), 2007-2008 (23,1 %) et 2009-2010 (25,9 %).

Durée de l'allaitement exclusif suivant certaines caractéristiques sociodémographiques

Le pourcentage de mères qui ont allaité exclusivement leur dernier enfant pendant la période recommandée de six mois (ou plus) variait suivant certaines caractéristiques sociodémographiquesNote de bas de page3.

Revenu du ménage

  • À l'échelle nationale, significativement moins de mères du premier quintile (le plus bas) (23,1 %) et du troisième (23,7 %) quintile de revenu ont allaité exclusivement leur dernier enfant pendant six mois (ou plus) comparativement aux mères du cinquième quintile de revenu (le plus élevé) (33,0 %)Note de bas de page4.

Plus haut niveau d'études achevé

  • Significativement moins de mères n'ayant pas  de diplôme d'études secondaires (17,3)Note de bas de pageE%), ayant un diplôme d'études secondaires (20,4 %) ou certaines études postsecondaires (19,9%) ont allaité exclusivement leur dernier enfant pendant six mois (ou plus) comparativement aux mères ayant un diplôme d'études postsecondaires (29,1 %).

Allaitement exclusif pendant six mois (ou plus) selon le revenu et le niveau d'études, Canada, 2009-2010

Allaitement exclusif pendant six mois (ou plus) selon le revenu et le niveau d'études, Canada, 2009-2010

E - Données dont le coefficient de variation (CV) se situe entre 16,6% et 33,3%; ces données doivent être interprétées avec prudence.
Selon les renseignements recueillis auprès de femmes de 15 à 55 ans qui ont donné naissance au cours des cinq dernières années.
Allaitement exclusif : pratique consistant à nourrir les bébés exclusivement de lait maternel (notamment de lait maternel qui a été extrait). La durée de l'allaitement exclusif est une variable dérivée fondée sur les questions concernant la durée de l'allaitement et l'introduction de liquides ou de solides.

Source: Santé Canada
Source de données: Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC), 2009-2010

Antécédents culturels ou raciaux

  • Aucune différence significative n'a été observée en fonction des antécédents culturels ou raciaux au niveau du pourcentage de mères ayant allaité exclusivement leur dernier enfant pendant six mois (ou plus)Note de bas de page5, Note de bas de page6.

Appartenance à un groupe autochtone

  • Significativement moins de mères autochtones vivant hors réserveNote de bas de page7 ont allaité exclusivement leur dernier enfant pendant six mois (ou plus) (16,6 %) comparativement aux mères non autochtones (26,7 %).

Statut d'immigrant

  • Aucune différence significative n'a été observée en fonction du statut d'immigrant au niveau du pourcentage de mères qui ont allaité exclusivement leur dernier enfant pendant six mois (ou plus)Note de bas de page8.

Allaitement exclusif pendant six mois (ou plus) selon les antécédents culturels ou raciaux, l'appartenance à un groupe autochtone et le statut d'immigrant, Canada, 2009-2010

Allaitement exclusif pendant six mois (ou plus) selon les antécédents culturels ou raciaux, l'appartenance à un groupe autochtone et le statut d'immigrant, Canada, 2009-2010

E - Données dont le coefficient de variation (CV) se situe entre 16,6% et 33,3%; ces données doivent être interprétées avec prudence.
Selon les renseignements recueillis auprès de femmes de 15 à 55 ans qui ont donné naissance au cours des cinq dernières années.
Allaitement exclusif : pratique consistant à nourrir les bébés exclusivement de lait maternel (notamment de lait maternel qui a été extrait). La durée de l'allaitement exclusif est une variable dérivée fondée sur les questions concernant la durée de l'allaitement et l'introduction de liquides ou de solides.

Source: Santé Canada
Source de données: Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC), 2009-2010

Âge maternel

  • Le pourcentage de mères qui ont allaité exclusivement pendant six mois (ou plus) augmentait en fonction de l'âge de la mère. Significativement moins de mères de 15-24 ans (14,3 %) et de mères de 25-34 ans (24,6 %) ont allaité leur dernier enfant pendant six mois (ou plus) comparativement aux mères de 35-55 ans (31,2 %).

État matrimonial

  • Significativement plus de mères mariées ou ayant un conjoint de fait (27,6 %) ont allaité exclusivement leur dernier enfant pendant six mois (ou plus) comparativement aux mères veuves, séparées, divorcées ou célibataires (17,4 %).

Région de résidence

  • Le pourcentage de mères qui ont allaité exclusivement leur dernier enfant pendant six mois (ou plus) était similaire dans les zones de résidence urbaines et ruralesNote de bas de page9.

Allaitement exclusif pendant six mois (ou plus) selon l'âge, l'état matrimonial et la région de résidence, Canada, 2009-2010

Allaitement exclusif pendant six mois (ou plus) selon l'âge, l'état matrimonial et la région de résidence, Canada, 2009-2010

Selon les renseignements recueillis auprès de femmes de 15 à 55 ans qui ont donné naissance au cours des cinq dernières années.
Allaitement exclusif : pratique consistant à nourrir les bébés exclusivement de lait maternel (notamment de lait maternel qui a été extrait). La durée de l'allaitement exclusif est une variable dérivée fondée sur les questions concernant la durée de l'allaitement et l'introduction de liquides ou de solides.

Source: Santé Canada
Source de données: Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC), 2009-2010

Pourcentage de mères ayant allaité exclusivement pendant six mois (ou plus) par région

En 2009-2010, le pourcentage de mères qui ont allaité exclusivement leur dernier enfant pendant six mois (ou plus) était significativement inférieur à la moyenne nationale dans les provinces de l'Atlantique et au Québec. Ce pourcentage était significativement plus élevé que la moyenne nationale dans les provinces des Prairies, en Colombie-Britannique et dans les territoires.

Pourcentage de mères qui ont allaité exclusivement pendant six mois (ou plus) selon la région, Canada, 2009-2010

Pourcentage de mères qui ont allaité exclusivement pendant six mois (ou plus) selon la région, Canada, 2009-2010

Selon les renseignements recueillis auprès de femmes de 15 à 55 ans qui ont donné naissance au cours des cinq dernières années.
Allaitement exclusif : pratique consistant à nourrir les bébés exclusivement de lait maternel (notamment de lait maternel qui a été extrait). La durée de l'allaitement exclusif est une variable dérivée fondée sur les questions concernant la durée de l'allaitement et l'introduction de liquides ou de solides.

Source: Santé Canada
Source de données: Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC), 2009-2010

Raisons invoquées par les mères pour expliquer leur décision d'arrêter d'allaiter leur dernier enfant

Les trois principales raisons invoquées par les mères pour expliquer leur décision d'arrêter d'allaiter leur dernier enfant étaient les suivantesNote de bas de page10 :

  1. la quantité de lait maternel était insuffisante (26,1 %),
  2. le bébé était prêt à manger des aliments solides (18,9 %),
  3. le bébé s'est sevré lui-même (13,1 %).

Raisons invoquées par les mères pour expliquer leur décision d'arrêter d'allaiter leur dernier enfant, Canada, 2009-2010

Raisons invoquées par les mères pour expliquer leur décision d'arrêter d'allaiter exclusivement leur dernier enfant, Canada, 2009-2010

E - Données dont le coefficient de variation (CV) se situe entre 16,6% et 33,3%; ces données doivent être interprétées avec prudence.

Toutes les autres raisons - Soit l'avis du partenaire ou de la famille ou des amis, la mère voulait fumer, la mère voulait boire de l'alcool et autre raison.
Selon les renseignements recueillis auprès de femmes de 15 à 55 ans qui ont donné naissance au cours des cinq dernières années.

Source: Santé Canada
Source de données: Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC), 2009-2010

Lignes directrices sur les droits d'auteur

Veuillez vous assurer de respecter les Lignes directrices sur les droits d'auteur de Santé Canada lorsque vous utilisez des données, des graphiques ou la carte de la présente page Web.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page E

Données dont le coefficient de variation (CV) se situe entre 16,6 % à 33,3 %; ces données doivent être interprétées avec prudence.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page E

Note de bas de page 1

Les fichiers de partage de Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web l'Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC) 2009-2010 ont été utilisés pour établir les estimations.

Retour à la première référence a de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

La durée de l'allaitement exclusif a été déterminée en utilisant la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web variable dérivée «Durée d'allaitement exclusif». La spécification de la variable dérivée a été modifiée en 2009-2010.

Retour à la première référence a de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Le pourcentage de mères qui ont allaité exclusivement leur dernier bébé pendant six mois (ou plus) a été déterminé en utilisant la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web variable dérivée «Allaitement exclusif pendant six mois (ou plus)». La spécification de la variable dérivée a été modifiée en 2009-2010

Retour à la première référence a de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

La distribution du revenu reflète une distribution des répondantes par déciles en fonction du ratio redressé du revenu total de leur ménage par rapport au seuil de faible revenu correspondant à la taille de leur ménage et de leur collectivité. Elle fournit, pour chaque répondante, une mesure relative du revenu du ménage par rapport au revenu des ménages de toutes les autres répondantes. Cette distribution du revenu est divisée en dix parties égales, de sorte que chaque partie représente 1/10 de l'échantillon ou de la population. Ces parties égales sont désignées par les termes décile 1, décile 2, etc. Les déciles 1 et 2 ont été combinés de manière à obtenir le quintile 1, les déciles 3 et 4 ont été combinés de manière à obtenir le quintile 2, etc.

Retour à la première référence a de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Les antécédents culturels ou raciaux asiatiques sont les suivants : coréens, philippins, japonais, chinois, sud-asiatiques ou asiatiques du Sud-Est.

Retour à la première référence a de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Les antécédents culturels ou raciaux « autres » sont les suivants : arabes, asiatiques de l'Ouest, latino-américains, autre origine raciale ou culturelle ou origines raciales ou culturelles multiples.

Retour à la première référence a de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Une réponse affirmative à la question « Les gens qui habitent au Canada ont des origines culturelles et raciales très variées. Êtes-vous Autochtone? (Indien de l'Amérique du Nord, Métis ou Inuit)? » a été utilisée pour identifier les répondantes autochtones.

Retour à la première référence a de la note de bas de page 7

Note de bas de page 8

Les répondantes immigrantes ont été identifiées suite à une réponse affirmative à la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web variable indicateur originale de Statistique Canada relative au statut d'immigrant. Cette variable tient compte du pays de naissance du répondant et de la citoyenneté canadienne à la naissance. On entend par «immigrante récente» une répondante qui avait immigré au Canada depuis moins de 5 ans.

Retour à la première référence a de la note de bas de page 8

Note de bas de page 9

Les zones urbaines sont les espaces continuellement bâtis qui ont une concentration démographique d'au moins 1 000 personnes et une densité de population de 300 personnes ou plus par kilomètre carré d'après les chiffres du dernier recensement de la population. Toutes les autres zones sont considérées comme rurales.

Retour à la première référence a de la note de bas de page 9

Note de bas de page 10

Les choix étaient les suivants : pas assez de lait maternel; l'enfant est prêt pour des aliments solides; la mère est incommodée ou fatiguée par l'allaitement; difficulté à appliquer les méthodes d'allaitement (p. ex. : mamelons douloureux, seins congestionnés, mastite); problème de santé de la mère; problème de santé du bébé; la mère a prévu d'arrêter à ce moment-là; l'enfant s'est sevré lui-même (p. ex. le bébé mordait, refusait le sein); sur avis d'un médecin ou professionnel de la santé; la mère est retournée au travail ou à l'école; sur avis du conjoint, de la famille ou des ami(e)s; le lait maternisé est aussi bon pour la santé du bébé; la mère voulait boire de l'alcool; la mère voulait fumer ; autre.

Retour à la première référence a de la note de bas de page 10