Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

First Nations & Inuit Health

Drug Benefit List 2016

The Drug Benefit List is a listing of the drugs provided as a benefit by the Non-Insured Health Benefits (NIHB) Program. The listed drugs are those primarily used in a home or ambulatory setting.

The purpose of the Drug Benefit List is to:

  • Indicate which drug products are eligible benefits; and
  • Provide a tool for physicians and pharmacists that encourages the selection of optimal, cost-effective drug therapy.

Non-Insured Health Benefits - Drug Benefit List 2016

Benefit Updates to the Drug Benefit List are generally issued on a quarterly basis.

A prescription from a licensed practitioner is required for any listed drug to be processed as a benefit. Practitioners are those people authorized to prescribe drugs within the scope of practice in their province or territory.

The information contained in this electronic version of the Non-Insured Health Benefits Drug Benefit List requires knowledgeable interpretation and is intended primarily for professional health care practitioners, pharmacies, hospitals and organizations associated with the manufacture, distribution and use of pharmaceutical preparations.

The Drug Benefit List is also published in print format once a year in April. To receive a print copy, providers must obtain a fax request form from one of the Non-Insured Health Benefits Toll-Free Inquiry Centres.

Benefit Updates

The quarterly update is a cumulative listing of any changes to the NIHB Drug Benefit List since last published, including additions and deletions of items, replacement of Drug Identification Numbers (DINs), limited use benefits, drugs with a status change, drugs with name changes, drugs removed from the Canadian market and drugs discontinued by the manufacturer.

The updates are also reflected in the most recent electronic version of the Non-Insured Health Benefits Drug Benefit List.

For access to complete listing of published DBL updates, as well as a variety of related documents, visit the Non-Insured Health Benefits Reports and Publications section.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé des Premières nations et des Inuits

Liste des médicaments 2016

La Liste des médicaments contient les médicaments couverts par le Programme des services de santé non assurés (SSNA). Les médicaments répertoriés sur cette Liste sont des médicaments surtout utilisés à domicile ou dans un environnement de soins ambulatoires.

Les objectifs de la Liste des médicaments sont les suivants :

  • Indiquer quels produits sont admissibles aux prestations,
  • Fournir aux médecins et aux pharmaciens un outil qui les aidera à optimaliser et rentabiliser la pharmacothérapie.

Services de santé non assurés - Liste des médicaments 2016

Les mises à jour à la Liste des médicaments des SSNA Services de santé non assurés sont généralement publiées sur une base trimestrielle.

Pour qu'un médicament répertorié soit admissible, il faut qu'il ait été prescrit par un praticien autorisé, c'est-à-dire une personne autorisée à prescrire des médicaments dans le cadre de sa pratique, dans sa province ou son territoire.

Les renseignements se trouvant sur cette version électronique de la Liste des médicaments du Programme des SSNA nécessitent une interprétation avertie et sont uniquement destinés aux professionnels de la santé, pharmacies, hôpitaux et organisations impliquées dans la fabrication, la distribution et l'utilisation de préparations pharmaceutiques.

La Liste des médicaments est publiée en format imprimé une fois par année en avril. Pour recevoir une copie imprimée, les pharmacies doivent obtenir un formulaire de demande auprès d'un des Centres d'information à numéro sans frais sur les Services de santé non assurés.

Mises à jours

Les mises à jours trimestrielles comprennent les inscriptions cumulatives de touts les changements à la Liste des médicaments des SSNA depuis la dernière publication, incluant des additions, des retraits de produits, remplacement de NIM (DIN), médicaments d'usage restreint, médicaments avec un changement de statut, médicaments avec un changement de nom, médicaments retirés du marché canadien et des médicaments discontinués par les compagnie pharmaceutiques.

Les mises à jour reflèteront la dernière version électronique de la Liste des médicaments des SSNA.

Pour accéder aux mises à jour au complet de la Liste des médicaments et d'autres documents connexes, il faut accéder à la section Rapports et publications des SSNA.