Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

First Nations & Inuit Health

Home and Community Care

Health Canada works with First Nations and Inuit communities in developing comprehensive home and community care services that respect traditional, holistic and contemporary approaches to healing and wellness.

These services assist people who have chronic and acute illnesses receive the care they need in their home or community. Care provided in these familiar settings allows First Nations people and Inuit to be close to their loved ones as long as possible and to keep their independence.

Home and community care may include nursing care, personal care such as bathing and foot care, home support such as meal preparation, and in-home respite care, that is, caring for someone while family members have a rest.

For more information on home and community care services, refer to Health Canada's Home and Community Care Program.

Home and Community Care Resources

The following resources are provided to assist communities in the management and delivery of home and community care services:

The First Nations and Inuit Home and Community Care Quality Resource Kit (QRK) is intended to assist home care programs to implement a quality improvement process.  The QRK is designed to be a practical, relevant, and useful resource that improves the quality of care provided to home and community care clients.

The Planning Resource Kit will guide you in the planning, designing and delivery of home and community care services that respond to the unique needs of First Nations and Inuit communities in a relevant and meaningful way.

The Standards Template Manual and the Policies Template Manual provide examples and templates, on which local communities can build their own standards and policies manuals.

  • The manuals are intended to be used as tools to support the development of customized standards and policies to address the specific needs of each community.
  • They do not reflect mandatory practice. Instead the manuals are building blocks or a starting point that communities can use to help them in the process of creating their own tools for their individual programs and community needs.

The Evaluation Guide is a valuable reference for First Nations and Inuit communities evaluating the First Nations and Inuit and Home and Community Care Program. The guide describes the purpose and the key elements of an evaluation. It will give you practical tools that you can use to conduct an evaluation.

The Home and Community Care Nursing Handbook is a tool designed to assist First Nations and Inuit communities in promoting the effective and safe practice of home care nursing. It also provides information with respect to the recruitment and employment of nurses. This handbook is intended for:

  • Administrators and managers of community/tribal/regional First Nations and Inuit health organizations and authorities; and
  • Home and community care nurses employed or contracted by these organizations to provide nursing services within their respective communities.

The Continuing Care in First Nations and Inuit Communities: Evidence from the Research fact sheet describes a research project done to gain a better understanding of existing home and facility based continuing care services as well as the needs and preferences for services. This fact sheet is intended to inform First Nations and Inuit communities and the interested public across Canada on the findings of the research.

The research was conducted in parts by a number of partner organizations. Two of these, having been conducted under contract to Health Canada, are posted here. A report entitled An Examination of Continuing Care Requirements in Inuit Communities, is the findings of work done in Inuit communities in Northern Quebec and Review of Literature and National Health Data Sources examines relevant literature and databases. Other parts of the project, including the full synthesis report, will be posted on the website of Next link will take you to another Web site First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission.

External Links

The following external links are designed to provide information on home care issues of interest to all Canadians, including the general public, home care providers and clients, health care and social service providers, professional organizations, researchers, and policy makers.

Some of the following hyperlinks are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Next link will take you to another Web site Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

Aboriginal Miscellaneous
Next link will take you to another Web site Centre for Indigenous Peoples' Nutrition and Environment
Next link will take you to another Web site Traditional Food, Health and Nutrition
Next link will take you to another Web site Aboriginal Healing Foundation

Aboriginal Organizations
Next link will take you to another Web site National Aboriginal Health Organization
Next link will take you to another Web site Assembly of First Nations
Next link will take you to another Web site Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
Next link will take you to another Web site Congress of Aboriginal Peoples
Next link will take you to another Web site Pauktuutit Inuit Women's Association

Education
Next link will take you to another Web site First Nations and Inuit Health Information System

Federal Governments
Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Heritage
Next link will take you to another Web site Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Next link will take you to another Web site United States Department of Health and Human Services
Next link will take you to another Web site United States Department of Health and Human Services - Indian Health Services

Health
2003 First Ministers' Accord on Health Care Renewal
Next link will take you to another Web site Healthfinder

Health and Medical Organizations
Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Virtual Hospice
Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Public Health Association
Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Paediatric Society
Next link will take you to another Web site American Academy of Pediatrics
Next link will take you to another Web site Centre for Excellence in Indigenous Health - University of British Columbia
Next link will take you to another Web site Institute of Aboriginal People's Health
Next link will take you to another Web site National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Nursing
Next link will take you to another Web site Aboriginal Nurses Association of Canada

Traditional Healing Site
Next link will take you to another Web site Turtle Island Native Network Healing and Wellness

Universities
Next link will take you to another Web site The School of Native Studies - University of Alberta
Next link will take you to another Web site Department of Native Studies - University of Saskatchewan

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.
Santé des Premières nations et des Inuits

Soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire

Santé Canada travaille de pair avec les communautés des Premières nations et des Inuits au développement d'un programme de soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire respectueux des méthodes traditionnelles, holistiques et contemporaines en matière de guérison et de bien-être.

Ces services permettent aux personnes souffrant de maladies chroniques et aiguës de recevoir chez elles ou dans leur communauté les soins dont elles ont besoin. Cette approche permet aux Inuits et aux membres des Premières nations de garder une certaine autonomie et de rester le plus longtemps possible auprès de leurs proches.

Les soins offerts à domicile ou en milieu communautaire comprennent notamment la prestation de soins infirmiers, de soins d'hygiène (donner le bain ou dispenser des soins de podologie), d'un soutien à domicile (préparation des repas) et de soins de relève à domicile (prendre en charge une personne malade pour offrir à la famille un moment de répit).

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les services de soins à domicile ou en milieu communautaire, consulter le Programme de soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire de Santé Canada.

Ressources - Soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire

Les ressources suivantes visent à appuyer les communautés dans la gestion et la prestation de services de soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire :

La Trousse de ressources pour l'amélioration de la qualité (TRAQ) du Soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire des Premières nations et des Inuits a comme objectif d'aider les programmes de soins à domicile à mettre en œuvre un processus d'amélioration de la qualité. Ce ressource pratique, pertinente et utile qui contribue à améliorer la qualité des soins dispensés à domicile et en milieu communautaire, la TRAQ comporte cinq guides.

La Trousse de planification constitue un guide pour la planification, la conception et la prestation, de la façon la plus pertinente et la plus sensée, de services de soins à domicile et en milieu communautaire qui répondent aux besoins uniques des collectivités inuites et des Premières nations.

Le Guide de modèles de normes et de politiques présente des exemples et des modèles à partir desquels les communautés locales peuvent élaborer leurs propres guides de normes et de politiques.

  • Ces guides servent d'outils d'aide à l'élaboration de modèles de normes et de politiques adaptés aux besoins spécifiques de chaque communauté.
  • Les guides n'imposent rien aux communautés. Ils constituent plutôt le point de départ ou les composantes de base qui aideront les communautés à élaborer leurs propres outils adaptés à leurs programmes et à leurs besoins.

Le Guide d'évaluation est un important outil de référence qui permet aux communautés des Premières nations et des Inuits d'évaluer le programme de soins de santé à domicile et en milieu communautaire destiné aux Premières nations et aux Inuits. Le guide décrit l'objectif et les éléments clés d'une évaluation. Il fournit également des outils pratiques pour effectuer une évaluation.

Le Guide des soins infirmiers à domicile et en milieu communautaire est un outil qui vise à aider les communautés des Premières nations et des Inuits à promouvoir l'efficacité et la sécurité des soins de santé offerts à domicile et en milieu communautaire. Le Guide fournit également des informations portant sur le recrutement et l'embauche des infirmières. Il s'adresse notamment :

  • aux autorités et aux administrateurs et gestionnaires des organismes de santé communautaires/tribales/régionales des Premières nations et des Inuits;
  • aux infirmières de ces organismes, ou aux infirmières sous-traitantes, qui dispensent des soins de santé communautaires et à domicile dans leurs communautés respectives.

Le feuillet Les soins continus dans les communautés des Premières nations et des Inuits : Données présente le projet de recherche fait afin de se faire une meilleure idée des services de soins continus. La recherche a porté sur les besoins et les préférences d'un échantillon. Ce feuillet d'information vise à informer les Premières nations et les Inuits, et tous les Canadiens intéressés, de l'état d'avancement du projet.

La recherche comporte plusieurs volets confiés à différents organismes partenaires. Deux volets, réalisés sous contrat pour Santé Canada, sont présentés sur ce site. Le rapport intitulé Examen des besoins en soins continus au sein des communautés des Inuits expose les constatations issues des travaux effectués dans des communautés inuites du nord du Québec, et l'Examen de la documentation et des sources de données nationales sur la santé analyse la documentation et les bases de données pertinentes. D'autres composantes du projet, dont le rapport de synthèse intégral, seront affichées sur le site Web de la Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Commission de la santé et des services sociaux des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador.

Liens externes

Les liens suivants visent à fournir des informations sur les services de soins à domicile pouvant intéresser l'ensemble des Canadiens, y compris le grand public, les fournisseurs et les bénéficiaires de soins à domicile, les fournisseurs de services sociaux, les organismes professionnels, les chercheurs et les décideurs.

Certains de ces hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'un organisme qui n'est pas assujetti à la Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Autochtones - Divers
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Centre for Indigenous Peoples' Nutrition and Environment
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Traditional Food, Health and Nutrition
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Fondation autochtone de guérison

Organismes autochtones
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Organisation nationale de la santé autochtone
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Assemblée des Premières nations
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Congrès des peuples Autochtones
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Pauktuutit Inuit Women's Association

Éducation
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Système d'information sur la santé des Premières nations et des Inuits

Gouvernements fédéraux
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Patrimoine canadien
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Department of Health and Human Services des États-Unis
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Department of Health and Human Services des États-Unis - Soins de santé aux autochtones

Santé
 Accord de 2003 des premiers ministres sur le renouvellement des soins de santé
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Healthfinder

Organismes de santé et de médecine
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Portail canadien en soins palliatifs
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Association canadienne de santé publique
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Société canadienne de pédiatrie
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web American Academy of Pediatrics
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Centre for Excellence in Indigenous Health Université de la Colombie-Britannique
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Institut de la santé des Autochtones
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Soins infirmiers
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Aboriginal Nurses Association of Canada

Médecine traditionnelle
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site WebTurtle Island Native Network Healing and Wellness

Universités
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web The School of Native Studies - Université de l'Alberta
Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Department of Native Studies - Université de la Saskatchewan