Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

First Nations & Inuit Health

Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program

This Web site deals with topics that may cause trauma invoked by memories of past abuse. The Government of Canada recognizes the need for safety measures to minimize the risk associated with triggering.

A National Indian Residential School Crisis Line has been set up to provide support for former Residential School students. You can access emotional and crisis referral services by calling 24-Hour National Crisis Line:

1-866-925-4419

The Indian Residential Schools Resolution Health Support Program (IRS RHSP) provides mental health and emotional support services to eligible former Indian Residential School students and their families throughout all phases of the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement, including:

  • Common Experience Payments (CEP)
  • Independent Assessment Process (IAP),
  • Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) events
  • Commemorative activities

Resolution Health Support Program Services are safe, confidential, respectful, and non-judgmental.

Information for Former Indian Residential School students and their families

Program Eligibility

All former Indian Residential School students, regardless of the individual's status or place of residence within Canada, who attended an Indian Residential School listed in the 2006 Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement are eligible to receive services from the Resolution Health Support Program.

In recognition of the intergenerational impacts that the Indian Residential Schools had on families, Resolution Health Support Program services are also available to family members of former Indian Residential Schools students. The family of former students is defined as:

  • spouse or partner;
  • those raised by or raised in the household of a former Indian Residential School student; and,
  • any relation who has experienced effects of intergenerational trauma associated with a family member's time at an Indian Residential School.

Health Canada verifies eligibility of persons requesting IRS RHSP services with Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, which holds data on former students who attended those Indian Residential Schools that are part of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement.

Services Available

Cultural Support
Cultural supports are provided by local Aboriginal organizations who coordinate the services of Elders and/or traditional healers. Cultural supports seek to assist former students and their families to safely address issues related to Indian Residential Schools as well as the disclosure of abuse during the Settlement Agreement process. Specific services are chosen by the former student and/or family member and can include traditional healing, ceremonies, teachings and dialogue.
Emotional Support
Services are provided by local Aboriginal organizations and are designed to help former students and their families safely address issues related to the negative impacts of the Indian Residential Schools as well as the disclosure of abuse during the Settlement Agreement process. A Resolution Health Support Worker will listen, talk and provide support to former students and their family members through all phases of the Settlement Agreement process.
Professional Counselling
Professional counsellors are psychologists and social workers that are registered with Health Canada, for individual or family counselling. A professional counsellor will listen, talk and assist individuals to find ways of healing from Indian Residential School experiences.
Transportation
Assistance with transportation may be offered when professional counselling and cultural support services are not locally available.

Accessing Health Support

Please contact the Resolution Health Support Program Regional Office in your Province or Territory.

When you call the Health Canada regional office, they will request your name and date of birth in order to confirm that you are eligible to access services under the Indian Residential School Resolution Health Support Program. If you are a family member of a former student, the name and date of birth of the family member who attended residential school will be required to confirm your eligibility.

Once eligibility is confirmed, the Health Canada official will work with you to arrange the health support services you have requested.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.
Santé des Premières nations et des Inuits

Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens

Ce site Internet traite de sujets pouvant être traumatisants pour le lecteur. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît le besoin de prendre certaines mesures de sécurité afin de réduire le risque de déclencher une réaction à l'évocation de violences passées.

Une ligne d'écoute téléphonique de Résolution des questions de pensionnats indiens offre du soutien aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens. Jour et nuit, vous pouvez accéder à des services de soutien affectif et d'aiguillage en situation de crise en composant le :

1-866-925-4419

Le Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des pensionnats indiens (PSS RQPI) offre des services de soutien en santé mentale et affective aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens admissibles et à leur famille, pendant toutes leurs démarches en lien avec la Convention de règlement, y compris :

  • au Paiements d'expérience commune (PEC);
  • au Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI);
  • aux événements de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation (CVR);
  • et aux activités commémoratives.

Les services du Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens sont sûrs, confidentiels, respectueux, et sans jugement.

Information pour les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et leur famille

Admissibilité au programme

Sont admissibles à recevoir des services du Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des pensionnats indiens, tous les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et leur famille, indépendamment de leur situation ou lieu de résidence au Canada, qui ont fréquenté un pensionnat indien figurant dans la liste de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens de 2006.

Reconnaissant l'impact intergénérationnel des pensionnats indiens sur les familles, les services du Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des pensionnats indiens sont aussi offerts aux membres de la famille des anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens. Membre de la famille d'anciens élèves désigne :

  • le conjoint ou le compagnon de vie;
  • la personne élevée par un ancien élève de pensionnat indien ou dans sa maisonnée; et,
  • tout membre de la famille ayant souffert des effets d'un traumatisme intergénérationnel lié au fait qu'un membre de sa famille ait fréquenté un pensionnat indien.

Santé Canada vérifie l'admissibilité des personnes demandant des services du PSS RQPI auprès du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, lequel détient l'information sur les anciens élèves ayant fréquenté un pensionnat indien inclus dans la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens.

Services offerts

Soutien culturel
Services de soutien culturel offerts par des organismes autochtones locaux qui assurent la coordination des services d'aînés et (ou) de guérisseurs traditionnels. Les services de soutien culturel visent à aider les anciens élèves et leur famille à aborder en toute sécurité les questions en lien avec les pensionnats indiens et à divulguer, au cours du processus de Convention de règlement, la violence subie. Les services particuliers sont choisis par l'ancien élève ou le membre de sa famille et peuvent comprendre la guérison traditionnelle, les cérémonies, les enseignements et le dialogue.
Soutien affectif
Services offerts par des organismes autochtones locaux et conçus pour aider les anciens élèves et leur famille à aborder en toute sécurité les questions en lien avec les répercussions négatives des pensionnats indiens et à divulguer, au cours du processus de Convention de règlement, la violence subie. Un travailleur autochtone en santé mentale sera disponible pour écouter les anciens élèves et les membres de leur famille, leur parler et leur fournir du soutien à toutes les étapes du processus de Convention de règlement.
Services professionnels de counselling
Les conseillers professionnels sont des psychologues et des travailleurs sociaux accrédités par Santé Canada, qui offrent du counselling individuel ou familial. Un conseiller professionnel sera disponible pour écouter les personnes, leur parler et les aider à trouver des moyens de guérir de leur expérience des pensionnats indiens.
Transport
De l'aide pour le transport peut être offerte lorsque des services professionnels de counselling et de soutien culturel ne sont pas disponibles localement.

Pour accéder à du soutien en santé

Veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional du Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des pensionnats indiens de votre province ou territoire.

Lorsque vous appellerez au bureau régional de Santé Canada, on vous demandera votre nom et date de naissance pour vérifier votre admissibilité aux services en vertu du Programme de soutien en santé - résolution des pensionnats indiens. Si vous êtes un membre de la famille d'un ancien élève, pour vérifier votre admissibilité, on vous demandera de confirmer le nom et la date de naissance du membre de votre famille ayant fréquenté un pensionnat indien.

Une fois votre admissibilité établie, le représentant de Santé Canada travaillera avec vous et vous dirigera vers les services de soutien que vous aurez demandés.