Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

First Nations & Inuit Health

Nursing

Health Canada nurses who work in First Nations communities provide quality nursing practice, which is evidence informed and respectful of culture, to enhance the health of First Nations people.

Where nurses work

A nurse helping a little girl to listen through her stethoscope.Nurses work in First Nations communities south of 60 degrees in rural, remote or isolated communities. With more than 600 First Nations communities across Canada, there are 76 nursing stations and over 195 health centres servicing these communities. Nurses are often the communities' main point of contact with the health care system. In about half of these health facilities, registered nurses are employed by Health Canada, part of the Federal Government. In the other communities, nurses are employed by the Band Council as these communities have responsibility for health care services through a transfer agreement.

Through the Office of Nursing Services (ONS) and the Regional Offices of FNIH, Health Canada employs hundreds of nurses. FNIH regional offices ensure service, support and management such as providing orientation for newly recruited nurses. ONS develops standards, policies, guidelines and leads national initiatives.

What nurses do

Providing primary health care in remote and culturally diverse communities places unique demands on nurses in First Nations communities. In homes, schools, health centres and nursing stations, nurses might be:

  • Visiting new parents, facilitating new baby care;
  • Providing immunization;
  • Encouraging physical activity;
  • Facilitating community education sessions;
  • Providing primary care services for common conditions during scheduled clinics; and
  • Attending to emergency needs (for example: trauma, obstetrical emergencies and cardiac conditions).

Primary care

As there is limited access to hospitals and doctors, nurses in remote communities often provide care that requires advanced knowledge, skills and clinical judgment. Health Canada employed nursed use a holistic approach to care for clients requiring treatment for routine, acute and emergency health problems, focusing on:

  • Health promotion;
  • Disease prevention;
  • Illness management; and
  • Clinical assessment.

Community health nursing

Nurses working in First Nations communities are responsible for planning and implementing culturally appropriate health programs.

For the nurse who lacks formal education in community health nursing, there is a requirement by Health Canada that the nurse must successfully complete appropriate courses in this field. FNIHB employed nurses are provided with financial support to complete this education. Course credits can be earned toward the baccalaureate nursing degree.

To learn more...

To learn more about Health Canada's current nursing opportunities, visit Next link will take you to another Web site Careers in the federal Public Service, and search the key word "nurse" by province!

Related sources

Additional information related to nursing in First Nations Communities is available from these sources:

Standards of practice

The following publications provide assessment resources and guidelines for nurses working in First Nations Communities:

  • Emergency Medical Transportation Guidelines for Nurses in Primary Care
  • Pharmacy Standards of Practice for First Nations and Inuit Health Branch Health Facilities

The following documents provide assessment resources and clinical practice guidelines for nurses working in First Nations Communities:

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé des Premières nations et des Inuits

Soins infirmiers

Les infirmières et infirmiers de Santé Canada fournissent des services infirmiers de qualité qui sont fondés sur des données probantes et respectent la réalité culturelle, dans la perspective d'améliorer la santé des membres des Premières nations.

Où travaillent les infirmières et infirmiers

Les infirmières et infirmiers travaillent dans les communautés rurales, éloignées ou isolées des Premières nations au sud du 60e parallèle. Dans plus de 600 communautés des Premières nations à travers le Canada, on compte 76 postes de soins infirmiers et plus de 195 centres de santé. Les infirmières et infirmiers sont souvent le principal point de contact des communautés avec le système de soins de santé. Dans près de la moitié de ces établissements de santé, les infirmières et infirmiers autorisés sont employés par Santé Canada, qui fait partie du gouvernement fédéral.

Par l'intermédiaire du Bureau des services infirmiers (BSI) et des bureaux régionaux de la SPNI, Santé Canada emploie des centaines d' infirmiers et infirmières. Les bureaux régionaux de la SPNI assurent le service, le soutien et la gestion, en s'occupant par exemple de l'orientation des infirmières et infirmiers nouvellement recrutés. Le BSI élabore des normes, des politiques, des lignes directrices et dirige des initiatives nationales.

Ce que font les infirmières et infirmiers

La prestation de soins de santé primaires dans des communautés éloignées et de cultures diverses crée des exigences particulières pour les infirmières et infirmiers des communautés des Premières nations. Dans les domiciles, les écoles, les centres de santé et les postes de soins infirmiers, les infirmières et infirmiers peuvent :

  • visiter les nouveaux parents et faciliter les soins au nouveau-né;
  • faire de l'immunisation;
  • encourager l'activité physique;
  • animer des séances d'éducation communautaire;
  • offrir des services de soins primaires courants dans le cadre de cliniques planifiées;
  • répondre aux urgences (par exemple : traumatisme, soins obstétricaux urgents et problèmes cardiaques).

Soins primaires

Comme l'accès aux hôpitaux et aux médecins est limité, les infirmières et infirmiers des communautés éloignées fournissent souvent des soins qui requièrent des connaissances et des compétences avancées, ainsi qu'un bon jugement clinique. Les infirmières et infirmiers employés par Santé Canada ont, à l'égard des soins aux clients nécessitant un traitement pour des problèmes de santé courants, immédiats et urgents, une approche holistique axée sur :

  • la promotion de la santé;
  • la prévention des maladies;
  • la gestion de la maladie;
  • l'évaluation clinique.

Soins infirmiers en santé communautaire

Les infirmiers et infirmières qui travaillent dans les collectivités des Premières nations sont responsables de la planification et la mise en oeuvre de programmes de santé adaptés aux diverses cultures.

Santé Canada exige que l'infirmière ou l'infirmier qui présente des lacunes sur le plan de l'éducation formelle en soins infirmiers en santé communautaire suive et termine avec succès des cours appropriés dans ce domaine. Les infirmières et infirmiers employés par la DGSPNI reçoivent le soutien financier voulu pour suivre ces cours et peuvent obtenir des crédits pour leur diplôme de baccalauréat en soins infirmiers.

Pour en apprendre davantage...

Afin d'en savoir plus sur ces opportunités d'emploi en soins infirmiers au sein de Santé Canada, veuillez visiter le site Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Carrières à la fonction publique fédérale,  et chercher le mot clé "infirmière" selon la province de votre choix.

Sources connexes

Les sources suivantes présentent d'autres renseignements relatifs aux soins infirmiers dans les collectivités des Premières nations :

Normes de pratique

Les publications suivantes offrent des ressources et des lignes directrices en matière d'évaluation pour les infirmiers et infirmières travaillant dans les collectivités des Premières nations :

  • Guide du transport médical d'urgence à l'intention du personnel infirmier en soins primaires
  • Normes de pratique de la pharmacie pour les établissements de santé de la Direction générale de la santé des Premières nations et des Inuits

Les documents suivants offrent des ressources et des lignes directrices en matière d’évaluation pour les infirmiers et infirmières travaillant dans les collectivités des Premières nations.