Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
First Nations & Inuit Health

Substance Use and Treatment of Addictions

Some First Nations people and Inuit face challenges with alcohol, tobacco and drugs that harm their daily lives.

Health Canada gives funds to First Nations and Inuit communities for setting up and running treatment programs to help heal from abuse of alcohol, drugs and solvents. Through the National Native Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program (NNADAP), Health Canada provides services to First Nations and Inuit men, women and children who have, or are affected by, substance use or abuse problems.

Health Canada is also dedicated to helping First Nations and Inuit communities address the health risks from the misuse of tobacco by providing information and resources for them to develop tobacco-control programs that respect their traditions.

What Information is Available?

In this section, you will find information on the issues of use and abuse of alcohol, tobacco, drugs and solvents. You will also be able to access the National Native Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program (NNADAP) Treatment Centre Directory which provides a summary of basic information on all in-patient treatment centres funded by the NNADAP.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé des Premières nations et des Inuits

Consommation de substances et traitement de la toxicomanie

Certains peuples des Premières nations et des Inuits voient leur vie déchirée quotidiennement par les problèmes engendrés par l'alcool, le tabac et les drogues.

Santé Canada subventionne les communautés des Premières nations et des Inuits pour qu'elles mettent sur pied et gèrent des programmes de traitement de dépendance à l'alcool, aux produits solvants et aux drogues. Santé Canada fournit des services aux femmes, aux hommes et aux enfants autochtones qui sont présentement, aux prises avec des problèmes d'abus d'alcool ou de drogues, ou qui l'ont déjà été, par l'entremise du Programme national de lutte contre l'abus d'alcool et de drogues chez les Autochtones (PNLAADA).

Santé Canada fournit aux communautés des Premières nations et des Inuits des trousses d'information qui traitent des risques pour la santé associés au mauvais usage du tabac, ainsi que des programmes pour lutter contre la lutte au tabagisme tout en respectant leurs traditions.

Ressources disponibles

Dans cette section, vous trouverez de l'information sur la consommation et l'abus d'alcool, de tabac, des drogues et des produits solvants. Vous pourrez également accéder au Répertoire des centres de traitement du Programme national de lutte contre l'abus d'alcool et de drogues chez les Autochtones (PNLAADA), qui fournit de plus amples renseignements sur les différents types de centres de traitement financés par le PNLAADA.