Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

First Nations & Inuit Health


Smoking is a major public health issue and a leading cause of premature death affecting smokers and non-smokers in Canada. Tobacco-related illnesses and diseases are urgent issues in First Nations and Inuit communities, where smoking rates are more than triple the rate for the rest of Canada.

On this page:

Health Canada promotes tobacco control and provides resources to communities with a view to improving the health status of First Nations and Inuit people.

  • The Tobacco Effects page provides facts about nicotine, second-hand smoke, smoking during pregnancy, and the harmful effects of smoking.
  • The Help on Quitting Smoking page provides practical tips on how to quit smoking. Several methods and useful information are presented.

Traditional and Non-traditional Use of Tobacco

First Nations people

For many First Nations people, tobacco has been used traditionally in ceremonies, rituals, and prayer for thousands of years. It is used for a variety of medicinal purposes and its ceremonial use has powerful spiritual meaning establishing a direct communication link between the person giving and the spiritual world receiving. In the traditional sense, the most powerful way of communicating with the spirits is to smoke tobacco in a sacred pipe.

While tobacco is sacred, the recreational use of tobacco with its high content of nicotine, is addictive and harmful. First Nations Elders maintain that this type of use is disrespectful of the spiritual, medicinal, and traditional use of tobacco.

The recreational use (or misuse) of tobacco is any use of tobacco in a non-traditional way. For example, smoking cigarettes, chewing tobacco or snuff, smoking non-traditional tobacco in non-sacred pipes or smoking cigars. There is an important distinction between the traditional and non-traditional use of tobacco as one is respectful of First Nations customs, the other being dangerous and harmful.

Traditional tobacco has been used by many First Nations people to:

  • Pray;
  • Give thanks to the Creator and Mother Earth;
  • Communicate with the spirits; and
  • Purify the mind and heal the body.


Inuit do not practise the traditional or ceremonial use of tobacco.

Facts on Smoking Rates

The First Nations and Inuit Health Branch of Health Canada reports the following facts on smoking rates in First Nations and Inuit communities:

  • Fifty nine percent of on-reserve First Nations people smoke;
  • Fifty eight percent of Inuit in the north smoke;
  • Almost half of Inuit (46%) who smoke started smoking at age 14 or younger; and
  • The majority of on-reserve First Nations people who smoke (52%) started smoking between the ages of 13 and 16.

These statistics are from the First Nations Regional Health Longitudinal Survey 2002/2003, 2006 Aboriginal Peoples Survey, 2004 Baseline Study among First Nations On-reserve and Inuit in the North, Environics Research Group.

For More Information

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Santé des Premières nations et des Inuits

Tabac

Le tabagisme est un important problème de santé publique et l'une des premières causes de décès prématuré au Canada, à la fois chez les fumeurs et les non-fumeurs. Les maladies reliées à l'usage du tabac sont des préoccupations urgentes dans les collectivités des Premières nations et des Inuits, où les taux de tabagisme sont trois fois plus élevés que dans le reste du Canada.

Sur cette page :

Santé Canada encourage la lutte contre le tabagisme et fournit des ressources aux collectivités dans le but d'améliorer l'état de santé des membres des Premières nations et des Inuits.

  • La page Effets du tabagisme donne des faits au sujet de la nicotine, de la fumée secondaire, du tabagisme pendant la grossesse et des effets néfastes du tabagisme.
  • La page Aide pour cesser de fumer fournit des trucs pratiques pour cesser de fumer. Plusieurs méthodes et renseignements utiles sont présentés.

Usage traditionnel et usage non traditionnel du tabac

Membres des Premières nations

Pour de nombreux membres des Premières nations, le tabac est utilisé traditionnellement dans les cérémonies, les rituels et la prière depuis des millénaires. On s'en sert à diverses fins médicinales et son utilisation cérémoniale a une forte signification spirituelle établissant un lien de communication directe entre la personne qui offre et le monde spirituel qui reçoit. Dans le sens traditionnel, le mode de communication le plus puissant avec les esprits est de fumer le tabac dans une pipe sacrée.

Bien que le tabac soit sacré, il a une teneur élevée en nicotine et son usage récréatif est toxicomanogène et néfaste. Les aînés des Premières nations maintiennent que ce type d'utilisation est irrespectueux de l'usage spirituel, médicinal et traditionnel du tabac.

L'usage récréatif (ou usage détourné) du tabac est son utilisation de manière non traditionnelle. Par exemple, fumer des cigarettes, faire usage de tabac à mâcher ou de tabac à priser, fumer du tabac non traditionnel dans des pipes non sacrées ou fumer des cigares. Il existe une distinction importante entre l'usage traditionnel et l'usage non traditionnel du tabac, car l'un est respectueux des coutumes des Premières nations et l'autre est dangereux et nuisible.

Le tabac traditionnel a été utilisé par de nombreux membres des Premières nations aux fins suivantes  :

  • Prier;
  • Remercier le Créateur ou la Terre mère;
  • Communiquer avec les esprits;
  • Purifier l'esprit et guérir le corps.

Inuits

Les Inuits ne pratiquent pas l'usage traditionnel ou cérémonial du tabac.

Faits sur les taux de tabagisme

La Direction générale de la santé des Premières nations et des Inuits de Santé Canada fait rapport des faits suivants sur les taux de tabagisme dans les collectivités des Premières nations et des Inuits :

  • Cinquante neuf pour cent des Premières nations vivant dans les réserves fument;
  • Cinquante huit pour cent des Inuits dans le nord fument;
  • Près de la moitié des Inuits (46 %) qui fument ont commencé à l'âge de 14 ans ou plus jeunes;
  • À l'intérieur des réserves, la majorité des membres des Premières nations qui fument (52 %) ont commencé à l'âge de 13 à 16 ans.

Ces statistiques sont tirées de l'étude intitulée First Nations Regional Health Longitudinal Survey 2002/2003, Enquête auprès des peuples autochtones 2006, 2004 Baseline Study Among First Nations On-reserve and Inuit in the North, du groupe Environics Research Group.

Pour en savoir plus