Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Health Concerns

HIV and AIDS

The Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) is the virus that causes Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS). HIV attacks the immune system, resulting in a chronic, progressive illness that leaves infected people vulnerable to opportunistic infections and cancers. The median time from infection to AIDS diagnosis now exceeds 10 years. AIDS is fatal if left untreated. There is no cure.

The following activities can place a person at high-risk for HIV infection:

  • engaging in unprotected sexual intercourse (anal or vaginal)
  • sharing sex toys
  • sharing needles or equipment for injecting drugs or steroids
  • mother-to-child transmission during pregnancy, delivery, and breast-feeding

Other activities pose a low risk for contracting the HIV infection, but they still carry a risk. You can read more about these activities in the It's Your Health factsheet on HIV/AIDS.

HIV cannot be transmitted through:

  • Casual, everyday contact
  • Shaking hands, hugging, kissing
  • Coughs, sneezes
  • Giving blood
  • Swimming pools, toilet seats
  • Sharing eating utensils, water fountains
  • Mosquitoes, other insects, or animal bites.

For more information on HIV/AIDS treatment and how to minimize your risk, consult the It's Your Health factsheet on HIV/AIDS.

Government of Canada's Role

The Federal Initiative is a Government of Canada partnership engaging the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, and the Correctional Service of Canada.  Its aim is to prevent the spread of the disease, slow its progression, and improve the quality of life of people living with HIV and AIDS.  Through this Initiative, the Government of Canada collaborates with provincial and territorial governments, non-governmental organizations, researchers, health care professionals, and people living with and vulnerable to HIV and AIDS.

The Federal Initiative approach focuses on those populations most affected by HIV and AIDS - people living with HIV and AIDS, gay men, Aboriginal peoples, people who use injection drugs, prison inmates, women, youth at risk, and people from countries where HIV is endemic.

Canada has also responded to the global HIV/AIDS crisis. A key component of this approach is the Canadian HIV Vaccine Initiative (CHVI). The CHVI coordinates Canadian contribution to global efforts to accelerate the development of safe, effective, affordable, and globally accessible HIV vaccines.

Established in 2007, the CHVI represents a collaborative Canadian contribution to the Global HIV Vaccine Enterprise, which is dedicated to accelerating worldwide efforts towards the development of safe, effective, affordable, and globally accessible HIV vaccines, which are essential to ultimately overcoming the HIV/AIDS pandemic. Participating departments and agencies include the Canadian International Development Agency, Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and Industry Canada.

Resource Centres

Federal Initiative

Related Information

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Préoccupations liées à la santé

VIH et sida

Le virus d'immunodéficience humaine (VIH) est le virus qui cause le syndrome d'immunodéficience acquise (sida). Le VIH attaque le système immunitaire, causant ainsi une maladie chronique progressive, rendant les gens atteints vulnérables aux infections opportunistes et aux cancers. La période moyenne dépasse maintenant 10 ans entre le moment où l'infection est transmise et le moment où le sida est diagnostiqué. Le sida est une maladie mortelle si aucun traitement n'est entrepris. Il n'existe aucune façon de le guérir.

Les activités suivantes représentent un risque élevé de contracter l'infection à VIH :

  • relations sexuelles non protégées (anales ou vaginales)
  • partage d'accessoires sexuels
  • partage de seringues ou de dispositifs servant à l'injection de drogues ou de stéroïdes
  • le VIH peut aussi se transmettre de la mère à l'enfant durant la grossesse, l'accouchement et l'allaitement.

D'autres situations représentent un faible risque de contracter le VIH, mais elles présentent quand même un risque. Pour vous renseigner sur ces situations, consultez l'infofiche Votre santé et vous sur le VIH/sida.

Le VIH ne peut pas se transmettre par :

  • les contacts occasionnels courants
  • les poignées de main, les embrassements ou les baisers
  • la toux ou les éternuements
  • le don de sang
  • la nage en piscine, ou l'utilisation d'un siège de toilettes
  • le partage d'ustensiles de cuisine ou l'utilisation d'une fontaine d'eau
  • les moustiques, d'autres insectes ou se faire mordre par un animal

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le traitement du VIH/sida et comment réduire vos risques, consultez l'infofiche Votre santé et vous sur le VIH/sida.

Rôle du gouvernement du Canada

L'Initiative fédérale est un partenariat entre l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Santé Canada, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et le Service correctionnel du Canada. Elle vise à prévenir la propagation de la maladie, à en ralentir l'évolution et à améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes qui vivent avec le VIH et le sida. Pour mener à bien cette initiative, le gouvernement du Canada collabore avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, des organismes non gouvernementaux, des chercheurs, des professionnels de la santé et des personnes qui vivent avec le VIH et le sida ou qui sont à risque. 

L'Initiative fédérale est centrée sur les populations les plus touchées par le VIH et le sida, à savoir les personnes qui vivent avec la maladie, les homosexuels, les Autochtones, les consommateurs de drogues injectables, les détenus, les femmes, les jeunes à risque et les personnes venant des pays où le VIH est endémique.

Le Canada a également réagi à la crise mondiale du VIH/sida. L'Initiative canadienne de vaccin contre le VIH (ICVV), un des grands volets de son plan d'action, vise à coordonner l'apport canadien aux efforts mondiaux visant le développement de vaccins anti-VIH sûrs, efficaces, abordables et accessibles partout dans le monde. 

Établie en 2007, l'ICVV met à contribution plusieurs ministères et organismes canadiens, dont  l'Agence canadienne de développement international, l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, Santé Canada, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et Industrie Canada. Ensemble, ces organismes contribuent aux efforts de l'Entreprise mondiale pour un vaccin contre le VIH, qui s'emploie à accélérer le développement de vaccins anti-VIH sûrs, efficaces, abordables et accessibles partout dans le monde afin qu'on puisse, un jour, endiguer la pandémie de VIH/sida.  

Centres d'information

L'Initiative fédérale

Renseignements additionnels

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la  Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.