Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Health Concerns

Autism

About Autism Spectrum Disorders

Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) is a complex, lifelong condition that affects individuals from all walks of life, as well as their families, friends and caregivers. Autism is a spectrum disorder, defined by certain behaviours which come in combinations and in degrees of intensity that vary in each child and adult affected.

Autism Facts

  • Studies show that signs of autism are usually present by three years of age and it is four times more prevalent in boys than in girls.
  • ASD can be characterized along a spectrum, with symptoms ranging from mild to severe and often including repetitive behaviour and difficulties with social interaction, communication and learning (in the usual settings).
  • International studies indicate that about one in every 150-160 children has autism.
  • Diagnosis involves a number of different measures and screening tools, many based on observation by a team of professionals.

Many individuals with ASD have trouble communicating with others or difficulty with regular social interactions. Other signs include a tendency toward repetitive behaviours, and unusual or severely limited activities and interests. ASD develops differently from person to person, and the effects can range from relatively mild to debilitating. Unlike some conditions, there is no "typical" person with ASD.

No one knows the cause of autism, although there is strong evidence that genetics plays a role. Ongoing research is investigating many possibilities including genetic influences, pre- and post-natal development, environmental factors and immune deficiencies. ASD is not infectious, cannot be caught and, is not caused by parents' behaviour or style of parenting.

Despite the frequency of ASD, there is much that is unknown about these disorders. More research is needed to better understand the incidence, causes, and most effective interventions.

Related Resources

Some of the hyperlinks provided are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Next link will take you to another Web site Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

Government of Canada

Canadian Organizations

International Organizations

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.
Préoccupations liées à la santé

Autisme

À propos des troubles du spectre autistique

Troubles du spectre autistique (TSA) est un trouble complexe qui dure toute la vie et qui touche les personnes de tous les milieux, de même que leur famille, leurs amis et leurs soignants. L'autisme est un trouble du spectre autistique, défini par certains comportements multiformes et qui varient en intensité d'un enfant et d'un adulte à l'autre.

Faits concernant l'autisme

  • Des études démontrent que les symptômes de l'autisme apparaissent en général avant l'âge de trois ans et qu'ils se manifestent quatre fois plus souvent chez les garçons que chez les filles.

  • Les TSA se caractérisent par un spectre, associé à des symptômes d'intensité faible à élevée, s'accompagnant d'un comportement répétitif et de difficultés liées à l'interaction sociale, à la communication et à l'apprentissage (dans les situations habituelles).

  • Des études internationales indiquent qu'un enfant sur 150 ou 160 souffre de troubles du spectre autistique.

  • Le diagnostic nécessite un certain nombre de mesures et d'outils de dépistage, souvent en fonction des observations d'une équipe de professionnels.

De nombreuses personnes souffrant de TSA éprouvent des problèmes de communication avec les autres ou des difficultés avec les interactions sociales ordinaires. Parmi les autres signes, soulignons une tendance vers des comportements répétitifs ainsi que des activités et des intérêts inhabituels et extrêmement limités. Les TSA se développent différemment d'une personne à l'autre, et les effets peuvent aller de relativement bénins à débilitants. Contrairement à certaines maladies, les TSA n'affectent pas un type de personne en particulier.

La cause de l'autisme est inconnue; par contre, tout porte à croire que l'hérédité entre en ligne de compte. Des recherches en cours visent à examiner de nombreuses possibilités, dont les influences génétiques, le développement prénatal et postnatal, les facteurs environnementaux et les immunodéficiences. Les TSA ne sont ni infectieux ni transmissibles. En outre, les TSA ne sont pas causés par le comportement des parents ou par leur façon d'élever les enfants.

Malgré la fréquence des TSA, on sait très peu de choses à leur sujet. Il faut faire davantage de recherche pour mieux comprendre l'incidence, les causes et les traitements optimaux.

Ressources connexes

Certains hyperliens donnent accès à des sites d'organismes qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Loi sur les langues officielles. L'information qui s'y trouve est donc dans la langue du site.

Gouvernement du Canada

Organismes canadiens

Organismes internationaux