Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Health Concerns


Diabetes is a lifelong condition where either your body does not produce enough insulin, or your body cannot use the insulin it produces. Your body needs insulin to change the sugar from food into energy. There are three main types of diabetes:

  • Type 1, where the body makes little or no insulin;
  • Type 2, where the body makes insulin but cannot use it properly; and
  • Gestational Diabetes, where the body is not able to properly use insulin during pregnancy. This type of diabetes goes away after the baby is born.

Nine out of ten people with diabetes have Type 2.

General Information

Related Resources

Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Diabetes Strategy
Diabetes is a complex health problem and a national challenge. The purpose of the Canadian Diabetes Strategy, managed by the Public Health Agency of Canada, is to articulate and establish effective diabetes prevention and control strategies for Canada.

Aboriginal Diabetes Initiative
In Canada, Aboriginal people are at greater risk for developing type 2 diabetes than other Canadians. Even Aboriginal children are now being diagnosed with type 2 diabetes -- a condition that once occurred mainly in older adults. Although Inuit rates of diabetes are not as high as other Aboriginal populations, there is concern that the rates of type 2 diabetes are increasing among Inuit as well.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Préoccupations liées à la santé

Diabète

Le diabète est une maladie qui dure toute la vie. Votre corps ne peut produire assez d'insuline, ou ne peut utiliser l'insuline qu'il produit. Votre corps a besoin d'insuline pour transformer le sucre des aliments en énergie. On compte trois principaux types de diabète :

  • le type 1, où le corps produit peu ou pas d'insuline;
  • le type 2, où le corps produit de l'insuline mais ne peut l'utiliser adéquatement; et
  • le diabète de gestation, où le corps est incapable d'utiliser correctement l'insuline durant la grossesse. Ce type de diabète disparaît après la naissance du bébé.

Neuf personnes diabétiques sur dix souffrent du diabète de type 2.

Renseignements généraux

Ressources

Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Stratégie canadienne sur le diabète
Le diabète est un problème de santé complexe et un défi national. La Stratégie canadienne sur le diabète, gérée par l'Agence de santé publique du Canada, vise à articuler et à mettre en oeuvre des stratégies efficaces de prévention et de contrôle du diabète pour le Canada.

Initiative sur le diabète chez les Autochtones
Au Canada, les peuples autochtones risquent davantage que tous les autres Canadiens de développer le diabète de type 2. Même des enfants autochtones sont maintenant diagnostiqués comme souffrant du diabète de type 2 - un trouble qui se produisait surtout chez les adultes plus âgés. Bien que les taux de diabète chez les Inuits ne soient pas aussi élevés que chez d'autres populations autochtones, on craint que les taux de diabète de type 2 ne s'accroissent aussi chez les Inuits.