Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Health Concerns

Hepatitis

Viral hepatitis is a group of diseases of the liver that can be caused by consuming contaminated water or food, using dirty needles or syringes, or practicing unsafe sex.

Scientists have identified six hepatitis viruses, but three - known as A, B and C - cause about 90 per cent of acute hepatitis cases in Canada. People infected with hepatitis can experience effects ranging from mild illness to serious liver damage. Many recover completely from an infection, while others become carriers of the disease and can spread it to others unknowingly. It is especially important for women who are pregnant or are trying to become pregnant to get tested for hepatitis.

Typical symptoms of acute hepatitis are:

  • Fever;
  • Appetite loss;
  • Nausea;
  • Abdominal pain; and
  • Jaundice (yellowish colour on the skin and eyeballs).

Major Types of Hepatitis

Hepatitis A

  • Is transmitted by eating or drinking something that is contaminated
  • Can be prevented by hand washing and avoiding untreated water and suspect foods
  • Has a vaccine

The hepatitis A virus (also known as HAV) is transmitted by eating or drinking something that is contaminated. Raw or undercooked food, food handled by people who have not washed their hands, or water contaminated by animal or human waste are often sources of the virus.

Hepatitis A can be prevented by a variety of vaccines adapted to individual needs. Contact your family physician, a Next link will take you to another Web site local travel clinic or the Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Immunization Guide to find out more about these vaccines. Antibiotics are ineffective against HAV. Careful Next link will take you to another Web site hand washing is one of the best preventive measures against hepatitis A.

Resources

Hepatitis B

  • Is the most prevalent strain of hepatitis
  • Is transmitted through sexual contact, blood or bodily fluids
  • Can be prevented by adopting safer sex practices
  • Has a vaccine

Hepatitis B virus (HBV) is the most prevalent hepatitis strain in the world. People with acute HBV or who are carriers can spread the virus by sexual contact or through blood and other body fluids.

Many people infected with the hepatitis B virus recover completely and develop lifelong immunity to the virus. Unfortunately, about 90 per cent of babies born to mothers who are hepatitis B carriers have a high chance of developing chronic HBV in later life, which can lead to diseases such as cirrhosis and cancer of the liver.

Hepatitis B can be prevented by adopting safe sex practices, giving hepatitis B immune globulin to people who have had recent contact with infected body fluids (seven days or less) or immunization with a hepatitis B vaccine. See Next link will take you to another Web site Getting Your Hepatitis B Shot for more information.

Resources

Hepatitis C

  • Can be prevented: don't share needles and adopt safer sex practices
  • It is estimated that around 35% of those infected don't know they have the virus
  • Has no vaccine
  • If you think you are at risk (past or present), it is important to get tested
  • Treatment may be an option

The hepatitis C virus (HCV) was first characterized in 1989. Injection drug use is associated with at least half of HCV infections but you can also get HCV through tattooing and body piercing. In Canada, it is estimated that between 210,000 and 275,000 people are currently infected with hepatitis C, of whom only 30 per cent know they have the virus. At present there is no vaccine against HCV.

Up to 90 per cent of infected persons carry HCV indefinitely. Over the long term, they are at risk of such illnesses as profound fatigue, cirrhosis, and liver cancer.

To prevent HCV, don't share needles or syringes, and use condoms during sexual intercourse.

Resources

More Information

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Préoccupations liées à la santé

Hépatite

L'hépatite virale est un groupe de maladies du foie pouvant être causées par la consommation d'eau ou d'aliments contaminés, par l'utilisation d'aiguilles ou de seringues usagées ou par des relations sexuelles non protégées.

Les scientifiques ont identifié six virus d'hépatite, mais trois - connus comme A, B et C - causent environ 90 % des cas aigus d'hépatite au Canada. Les gens infectés par l'hépatite peuvent éprouver des effets allant de la maladie bénigne à des dommages sérieux au foie. Plusieurs récupèrent complètement d'une infection alors que d'autres deviennent porteurs de la maladie et peuvent la transmettre à d'autres sans le savoir. Il est spécialement important que les femmes enceintes ou qui désirent devenir enceintes soient testées pour l'hépatite.

Les symptômes typiques de l'hépatite aiguë sont :

  • la fièvre,
  • la perte d'appétit,
  • la nausée,
  • la douleur abdominale,
  • la jaunisse (couleur jaune de la peau et des globes oculaires).

Principaux types d'hépatite

Hépatite A

  • Est transmise quand nous ingurgitons des aliments ou de l'eau contaminés
  • Peut être prévenue en se lavant bien les mains et en évitant de consommer de l'eau ou des aliments contaminés
  • Il existe un vaccin

Le virus de l'hépatite A (aussi appelé HAV) est transmis quand nous ingurgitons des produits contaminés. Les aliments crus ou pas assez cuits, les aliments manipulés par des gens qui n'ont pas lavé leurs mains, ou l'eau contaminée par les déchets humains ou ceux d'animaux sont souvent à l'origine du virus.

L'hépatite A peut être prévenue par une variété de vaccins selon les besoins individuels. Consultez votre médecin de famille, une Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web clinique locale de voyages ou le Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Guide canadien d'immunisation pour en savoir davantage sur ces vaccins. Les antibiotiques sont inefficaces contre le HAV.
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Le lavage des mains minutieux est une des meilleures mesures de prévention contre l'hépatite A.

Ressources

Hépatite B

  • Est l'hépatite la plus répandue
  • Est transmise par contact sexuel, avec du sang ou des fluides organiques
  • Peut être prévenue en ayant des relations sexuelles sécuritaires
  • Il existe un vaccin

L'hépatite B (HBV) est l'hépatite la plus fréquente dans le monde. Les gens ayant le HBV aigu ou qui sont porteurs, peuvent répandre le virus par contact sexuel ou par le sang et autres fluides organiques.

Beaucoup de gens infectés par le virus de l'hépatite B récupèrent complètement et développent l'immunité à vie contre le virus. Malheureusement, quelque 90 % des bébés nés de mères porteuses de l'hépatite B ont une forte chance de développer le HBV chronique plus tard, ce qui peut mener à des maladies comme la cirrhose et le cancer du foie.

L'hépatite B peut être prévenue en pratiquant des relations sexuelles protégées, en administrant l'immunoglobuline de l'hépatite B aux gens qui ont eu des contacts récents avec des fluides organiques infectés (sept jours ou moins) ou l'immunisation avec un vaccin contre l'hépatite B. Pour plus d'information, consultez Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Obtenez votre vaccin contre l'hépatite B.

Ressources

Hépatite C

  • Peut être prévenue : ne partagez pas d'aiguilles et adoptez des pratiques sexuelles à risques réduits
  • On estime qu'approximativement 35 % des personnes qui sont infectées ignorent qu'elles sont atteintes du virus
  • Il n'existe aucun vaccin
  • Si vous pensez être ou avoir été à risque, il est important d'être testé
  • Le traitement peut être une option

Le virus de l'hépatite C (HCV) a d'abord été identifié en 1989. L'utilisation de drogues injectables est associée à au moins la moitié des infections par le HCV mais vous pouvez aussi contracter le HCV par le tatouage ou le perçage corporel. Au Canada, on estime entre 210 000 et 275 000 le nombre de personnes actuellement infectées par l'hépatite C, et seulement 30 % de ces personnes savent qu'elles ont le virus. Il n'y a présentement aucun vaccin contre le HCV, et jusqu'à 90 % des personnes infectées porteront le HCV indéfiniment. À long terme, elles sont à risque de maladies comme la fatigue extrême, la cirrhose et le cancer du foie.

Pour prévenir le HCV, ne partagez pas les aiguilles ou les seringues et servez-vous de condoms lors de relations sexuelles.

Ressources

Plus d'information