Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Health Concerns

Federal Nuclear Emergency Plan

The Federal Nuclear Emergency Plan (FNEP) describes the Government of Canadaĺs arrangements for managing a major nuclear emergency. It is a multi-departmental event-specific plan that outlines the roles and responsibilities of federal organizations in preparing for and responding to a nuclear emergency. The FNEP focuses on the coordination and execution of federal scientific/technical activities required for nuclear emergency response while the Next link will take you to another Web site Federal Emergency Response Plan (FERP) provides the broader response structure.

The FNEP was first developed in 1984 as a response to two events:

  • The crash of the nuclear satellite COSMOS 954 in the Northwest Territories in 1978; and
  • The accident at Three Mile Island nuclear generating station in Pennsylvania in 1979.

Three other events, Chernobyl, Ukraine, in 1986, Tokaimura, Japan, in 1999, and one more recently in Fukushima, Japan, in 2011, have underscored the necessity of having effective nuclear emergency preparedness and response arrangements in place. Lessons learned from nuclear emergencies are used to update and revise the FNEP.

Health Canada's Role

Health Canada is the lead department responsible for coordinating the nuclear emergency response of more than eighteen federal organizations in support of impacted provinces and territories. A structured framework is required to facilitate coordination as these organizations have distinct roles and responsibilities. The FNEP provides this structure for coordinating planning and response to a peacetime nuclear emergency involving Canadians at home and abroad.

FNEP Fifth Edition

The FNEP was recently revised following extensive consultations and discussions with federal and provincial partners.  This revision updated the procedures and structures outlined in the FNEP.  On October 9, 2012 the Deputy Ministers Emergency Management Committee endorsed the FNEP 5th edition. Along with this endorsement, the Committee agreed to test the revised FNEP in a national-level full-scale exercise.

FNEP and Emergency Preparedness Exercises

The revised FNEP is being tested through a series of emergency preparedness exercises known as ValidEx. An exercise is an artificial situation designed to enable emergency response organizations to evaluate the effectiveness of their emergency plans, procedures, and capabilities. Exercises are intended to identify any problems, inadequacies, or gaps in preparedness and response plans so that these issues may be resolved prior to a real emergency, and provide opportunities for personnel to be thoroughly trained and ready to respond quickly and effectively. The ValidEx series consists of exercises increasing in scope and complexity: a table top exercise (TTX), two Emergency Management Workshops, a command post exercise (CPX) and a full scale exercise (FSX).

Table Top Exercise

The first in the ValidEx series was a half-day Table Top Exercise that took place on February 26, 2013. It involved FNEP federal partners and introduced participants to technical assessment arrangements described in the FNEP.

Emergency Management Workshops

Two Emergency Management Workshops were held in early 2013, one in Toronto, Ontario on March 21 and 22, 2013 and the other in Saint John, New Brunswick on March 26 and 27, 2013.  These workshops involved representatives from federal, provincial, and municipal governments and operators who would have a significant role to play in the response to a nuclear emergency.

Exercise Cool Breeze (Command Post Exercise)

The Command Post Exercise (CPX) took place on October 2 and 3, 2013. Invited participants included the Federal FNEP partners and key Emergency Operation Centres (Health Portfolio Operations Centre (HP OC), Government Operations Centre (GOC), and the Ontario Provincial Emergency Operations Centre (ON PEOC)). As well, Ontario Power Generation (OPG) participated as observers. The CPX focused on technical information exchange, sharing situational awareness, and transmission of requests for information and recommendations.

Exercise Unified Response (Full-Scale Exercise)

The FNEP ValidEx series culminates with a Full Scale Exercise called Exercise Unified Response that will take place the week of May 26, 2014. OPG’s Darlington Nuclear Generating Station is the host of this exercise. Participants will include OPG, municipalities, the Province of Ontario, Federal regional participants, and Federal partners from the National Capital Region. This exercise will focus on the integration of plans and arrangements across all responding organizations and jurisdictions.

For more information on Exercise Unified Response:

  • Ontario Power Generation Next link will take you to another Web site News Release from February 12, 2014

Related Resource

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Préoccupations liées à la santé

Plan fédéral en cas d'urgence nucléaire

Le Plan fédéral en cas d'urgence nucléaire (PFUN) décrit les arrangements du gouvernement du Canada pour gérer les importantes urgences nucléaires. Il s'agit d'un plan pluriministériel précis qui établit les rôles et les responsabilités des organismes fédéraux en matière de préparation et d'intervention en cas d'urgence nucléaire. Le PFUN met l'accent sur la coordination et l'exécution d'activités fédérales scientifiques et techniques devant être menées dans le cadre d'une réponse à une urgence nucléaire. Le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Plan fédéral d'intervention d'urgence (PFIU) établit quant à lui une structure d'intervention plus large.  

Le PFUN a été élaboré en 1984 à la suite de deux événements :

  • l'écrasement du satellite nucléaire COSMOS 954 dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest en 1978;
  • l'accident de la centrale nucléaire Three Mile Island en Pennsylvanie en 1979.

Trois autres événements, celui de Tchernobyl, en Ukraine, en 1986, celui de Tokaimura, au Japon, en 1999, et le plus récent, celui de Fukushima, au Japon, en 2011, ont souligné la nécessité de posséder un plan efficace de préparation et d'intervention en cas d'urgence nucléaire..  Les leçons tirées des urgences nucléaires sont utilisées pour mettre à jour et réviser le PFUN.

Rôle de Santé Canada

Santé Canada coordonne les interventions en cas d'urgence nucléaire de plus de 18 organismes fédéraux qui appuient les provinces et les territoires touchés. Un cadre structuré est nécessaire pour faciliter la coordination étant donné que ces organismes ont des rôles et des responsabilités distincts. Le PFUN fournit cette structure de coordination pour la planification et les interventions en cas d'urgence nucléaire survenant en temps de paix et touchant les Canadiens à leur domicile et ailleurs.

PFUN (5e édition)

Le PFUN a récemment été révisé à la suite de vastes consultations et discussions avec les partenaires fédéraux et provinciaux. Les procédures et les structures du PFUN ont été mises à jour dans le cadre de la révision. Le 9 octobre 2012, le Comité des sous-ministres sur la gestion des urgences a approuvé la 5e édition du PFUN. En plus d'approuver le plan, le Comité a accepté de mettre à l'essai la version révisée dans le cadre d'un exercice national complet à grand déploiement.

Exercices relatifs au PFUN et à la préparation en cas d'urgence

Le PFUN est mis à l'essai dans le cadre d'une série d'exercices de préparation en cas d'urgence connue sous le nom de ValidEx. Un exercice consiste en une situation artificielle conçue pour permettre aux organismes d'intervention d'urgence pour évaluer l'efficacité de leurs plans, procédures et capacités d'urgence. Les exercices ont pour objectif de cerner tout problème, manque et lacune dans les plans de préparation et d'intervention afin que ces problèmes puissent être résolus avant qu'une vraie urgence ne survienne. Ils visent également à permettre au personnel d'être entièrement formé et prêt à intervenir rapidement et efficacement. La série Validex se compose de trois exercices dont la portée et la complexité vont en grandissant : un exercice sur table (XT), deux ateliers de gestion des urgences, un exercice de poste de commandement (XPC) et un exercice à grand déploiement (XGD).

Exercice sur table

Le premier exercice de la série ValidEx consistait en un exercice sur table d'une demi-journée, qui s'est déroulé le 26 février 2013. Il a permis aux partenaires fédéraux du PFUN d'en apprendre davantage sur les arrangements en matière d'évaluation technique décrits dans le Plan.

Ateliers de gestion des urgences

Deux ateliers de gestion des urgences ont eu lieu au début de 2013, soit un à Toronto, en Ontario les 21 et 22 mars 2013 et un autre à Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick, les 26 et 27 mars 2013. Ces ateliers ont réuni des représentants des gouvernements fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux ainsi que des opérateurs, qui auraient un important rôle à jouer en cas d'urgence nucléaire.

Exercice Cool Breeze (exercice de poste de commandement)

L'exercice de poste de commandement s'est déroulé les 2 et 3 octobre 2013. Des partenaires fédéraux du PFUN et les principaux centres d'opération d'urgence (Centre des opérations du portefeuille de la Santé [COPS], le Centre des opérations du gouvernement [COG] et le Centre des opérations d'urgence de l'Ontario [COUO] y ont participé, tout comme l'Ontario Power Generation (OPG), qui était présent à titre d'observateur. L'XPC a mis l'accent sur l'échange de renseignements techniques, l'échange d'information sur la situation et la transmission des demandes d'information et des recommandations.

Exercice d'intervention unifiée (exercice à grand déploiement)

La série ValidEx du PFUN connaîtra son apogée avec l'exercice à grand déploiement (exercice d'intervention unifiée) qui se déroulera pendant la semaine du 26 mai 2014. Le COU de la centrale nucléaire de Darlington organise l'exercice, qui réunira notamment des représentants des COU, des municipalités et de la province de l'Ontario, des participants fédéraux régionaux et des partenaires fédéraux de la région de la capitale nationale. L'exercice mettra l'accent sur l'intégration des plans et des arrangements entre tous les organismes et administrations appelés à intervenir.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'exercice d'intervention unifiée :

  • Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web communiqué de presse (en anglais seulement) de l'Ontario Power Generation publié le 12 février 2014.

Ressource connexe