Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.
Health Concerns

Emergencies and Disasters

During an emergency or disaster, the Canadian public looks to their governments for protection and assistance. We expect our governments to be ready to deal with the possible risks from:

  • Natural events and disasters such as outbreaks of disease, floods, earthquakes, fires and tornadoes.
  • Emergencies such as transportation accidents, large chemical spills, nuclear incidents, power outages and terrorist threats.

At the federal level, where assistance is requested or should the emergency involve more than one province or territory, the Government of Canada will mobilize its resources. For most emergencies, Next link will take you to another Web site Public Safety Canada will coordinate the federal response in the health sector and can provide emergency funding to provinces and territories.

In the event of an emergency that poses a risk to public health, Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada play a key role in protecting the health and safety of Canadians.

Health Canada's Role

Health Canada is the lead federal department responsible for coordinating the response to a nuclear or radiological emergency under the Federal Nuclear Emergency Plan (FNEP). Health Canada partners with the United States through the Canada-US Joint Radiological Response Plan to deal with a potential or actual radiological event that could affect both countries or be of a magnitude that assistance from the neighbouring country could be required.

Health Canada is also responsible for:

  • Providing emergency health care for First Nations and Inuit communities and occupational health for federal government employees.
  • Providing grants to Next link will take you to another Web site Héma Québec and Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Blood Services for increasing inventories of fresh blood and frozen plasma, while also decreasing collection and testing time.
  • Implementing the Foodborne Illness Outbreak Response Protocol, in partnership with the Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Food inspection Agency.
  • Decreasing the adverse health outcomes and economic losses associated with extreme events and reducing the impact of disasters and extreme weather at the local level through the Applied Research & Analysis Directorate.
  • Providing support and scientific expertise for chemical emergencies through the Chemical Emergency Response Unit (CERU).
  • Helping managers develop and maintain a supportive environment for employees who experience a traumatic workplace event through the Psycho-social Emergency Preparedness and Response programme.

Public Health Agency of Canada's Role

The Public Health Agency of Canada is the lead organization for coordinating the health response for all other health-related emergencies. The Agency's response is managed through the mobilization of the health portfolio's Emergency Operations Centre and liaison with the Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness. Next link will take you to another Web site Learn more about the roles and responsibilities of the Public Health Agency of Canada.

What Information is Available?

In this section you will find more information about Health Canada's activities related to emergencies and disasters that can affect the health of Canadians.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.
Préoccupations liées à la santé

Urgences et désastres

En cas d'urgence ou de désastre, le public canadien se tourne vers ses gouvernements pour obtenir une protection et de l'aide. Le public s'attend à ce que ses gouvernements soient prêts à gérer les risques possibles provenant :

  • d'événements et de désastres naturels, comme les éclosions de maladie, les inondations, les séismes, les incendies et les tornades;
  • d'urgences, comme les accidents de transport, les déversements importants de produits chimiques, les incidents nucléaires, les pannes d'électricité et les menaces terroristes.

Les gouvernements sont prêts

Au Canada, toutes les administrations participent à la planification et à l'intervention en cas d'urgence ou de désastre. Les administrations municipales interviennent lors des urgences locales; les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux interviennent lors des urgences survenant sur leur territoire, mais peuvent demander l'aide du gouvernement fédéral si l'urgence excède leurs ressources.

À l'échelle fédérale, le gouvernement du Canada mobilise ses ressources là où l'assistance est requise ou si l'urgence touche plus d'une province ou d'un territoire. Pour la plupart des urgences, Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Sécurité publique Canada coordonne l'intervention fédérale dans le secteur de la santé et peut fournir du financement d'urgence aux provinces et aux territoires.

Lors d'urgences qui impliquent des dangers pour la santé publique, Santé Canada et Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web l'Agence de santé publique du Canada jouent un rôle clé dans la protection de la santé et de la sécurité des Canadiens.

Rôle de Santé Canada

Santé Canada est également chargé :

  • de fournir des soins de santé d'urgence aux communautés des Premières nations et des Inuits, et des soins de santé en milieu de travail aux employés du gouvernement fédéral;
  • de fournir des subventions à Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Héma Québec et à la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Société canadienne du sang pour accroître les stocks de sang frais et de plasma gelé, et réduire le temps de collecte et de mise à l'essai;
  • de mettre en oeuvre le Guide d'intervention lors d'éclosions d'intoxication alimentaire, en partenariat avec Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments;
  • d'atténuer les effets nocifs sur la santé et les pertes économiques indésirables associés aux événements extrêmes et de réduire les conséquences des maladies et des conditions météorologiques extrêmes à l'échelle locale par l'entremise de la Direction de la recherche appliquée et de l'analyse;
  • de fournir du soutien et de l'expertise lors d'urgences chimiques par l'entremise de l'Unité d'intervention d'urgence chimique;
  • d'aider les gestionnaires à créer et à maintenir un environnement de soutien pour les employés qui vivent un événement traumatisant au travail, par le biais du programme Mesures et interventions d'urgence psychosociale.

Dans le cas d'une urgence posant un risque pour la santé publique, Santé Canada, en étroite collaboration avec Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web l'Agence de santé publique du Canada, joue un rôle important dans la protection de la santé et de la sécurité des Canadiens.

Rôle de l'Agence de santé publique du Canada

L'Agence de santé publique du Canada est l'organisation qui dirige la coordination des interventions en matière de santé pour toutes les urgences reliées à la santé. L'intervention de l'Agence est gérée par l'entremise du portefeuille du Centre des opérations d'urgence en liaison avec le ministère Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Sécurité publique Canada . Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Renseignez-vous sur les rôles et responsabilités de l'Agence de santé publique du Canada.

Ressources disponibles

Dans la présente section, vous trouverez plus de renseignements sur les activités de Santé Canada liées aux urgences et aux désastres qui peuvent toucher la santé des Canadiens.