Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Health Concerns

ARCHIVED - Smokeless Tobacco Products: A Chemical and Toxicity Analysis

Warning This content was archived on June 24 2013.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

2010
ISBN: 978-1-100-17399-3
Cat. No.: H128-1/10-627E-PDF

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Key Messages

Type of smokeless tobacco product that is individually portioned in sachet.
  • All smokeless tobacco products contain toxic chemicals that can cause cancer.
  • The use of smokeless tobacco products can cause harmful health effects.

Background

Smokeless tobacco products are made of tobacco, water and additives. These products can be placed in the mouth and either chewed or sucked (oral), or inhaled through the nose (nasal). They come in different forms, such as plug, twist or coarsely chopped tobacco, long cut, fine cut or fine powder. Smokeless tobacco products are sold loose or pre-packaged in a pouch. The loose products and pouches are generally placed in the mouth between the cheek and gum to be sucked on. These products can be either "spit" or "spitless" tobacco products. In 2007, the Swedish style of snuff, called snus, was introduced to the Canadian market. Unlike its competitors, which undergo a fermentation process, snus is manufactured using a heat process similar to pasteurization.

As of November 2010, 28 known cancer-causing chemicals have been identified in smokeless tobacco products. Some of the toxic chemicals occur naturally in the tobacco, with factors such as the manufacturing and the aging processes influencing the levels of toxic chemicals present in smokeless tobacco products. Smokeless tobacco use is associated with many harmful health effects, including cardiovascular diseases, oral diseases and certain forms of cancer such as pancreatic cancer.

Results

The image shows an example of a type of smokeless tobacco product that is packaged in metal can.  The product has the appearance of fine brown powder.
Example of smokeless tobacco product

In a recent study, Health Canada analyzed the physical and chemical properties of smokeless tobacco products and assessed their toxicity. The study found that products vary in their physical and chemical characteristics such as form, moisture content and chemical composition. All products contain nicotine, the drug naturally found in tobacco products that has been identified as playing an important role in addiction to these products. Some of the toxic chemicals found in the analyzed products include polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, tobacco-specific nitrosamines and metals (chromium, nickel, lead and arsenic).

The study indicated that the manufacturing method influences the level of certain toxic chemicals, such as polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons and tobacco-specific nitrosamines. The pasteurized snus showed a decreased level of some toxic chemicals. Nevertheless, toxic chemicals were found in all smokeless tobacco products studied. The results of the toxicity tests confirmed that like other tobacco products, snus and other smokeless tobacco products are mutagenic (cause mutation in DNA), cytotoxic (affect cell structure and its components) and genotoxic (cause structural changes in chromosomes) products.

Conclusions

All smokeless tobacco products studied were found to contain cancer-causing chemicals and to be toxic products. Health Canada considers that their use can cause harmful health effects.

References

  • Health Canada. June 2000. Tobacco Reporting Regulations, SOR/2000-273, P.C. 2000-1040. Ottawa.
  • International Agency for Research on Cancer. 2007. Smokeless tobacco and some tobacco-specific N-nitrosamines. In: Monographs on the Evaluation of Carcinogenic Risk to Humans. Volume 89. Lyon, France.
  • Rickert, W.S., Joza, P.J., Trivedi, A.H., Momin, R.A., Wagstaff, W.G. and Lauterbach, J.H. 2009. Chemical and toxicological characterization of commercial smokeless tobacco available on the Canadian market. Regulatory Toxicol. Pharmacol. 53:121-133.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Préoccupations liées à la santé

ARCHIVÉE - Produits du tabac sans fumée : analyse chimique et de toxicité

Avertissement Ce contenu a été archivé le 24 juin 2013.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez demander de recevoir cette information dans tout autre format de rechange à la page « Contactez-nous ».

2010
ISBN : 978-1-100-96174-3
No de catalogue : H128-1/10-627F-PDF

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Messages clés

Un type de produit du tabac sans fumée retrouvé sous forme de sachet individuel.
  • Tous les produits du tabac sans fumée contiennent des substances chimiques toxiques qui peuvent causer le cancer.
  • L'utilisation des produits du tabac sans fumée peut causer des effets nocifs sur la santé.

Contexte

Les produits du tabac sans fumée sont faits de tabac, d'eau et d'additifs. Ces produits peuvent être placés dans la bouche et être mâchés ou sucés (voie orale) ou être inhalés (voie nasale). Ils sont offerts sous différentes formes telles que le tabac à chiquer, le tabac en corde ou le tabac grossièrement haché, le tabac en coupe fine ou longue et le tabac en fine poudre. Les produits du tabac sans fumée sont vendus en vrac ou préemballés dans un sachet. Les produits vendus en vrac ou en sachet sont généralement placés dans la bouche entre la joue et la gencive pour être sucés. Ces produits de tabac peuvent être crachés ou non. En 2007, le tabac sans fumée de style suédois, appelé snus, a été introduis sur le marché canadien. Contrairement aux produits concurrents, qui passent par un procédé de fermentation, le snus est fabriqué au moyen d'un traitement thermique semblable à celui de la pasteurisation.

Au mois de novembre 2010, 28 substances chimiques pouvant causer le cancer étaient identifiées dans les produits du tabac sans fumée. Bien que certaines des substances chimiques toxiques soient présentes naturellement dans le tabac, des facteurs tels que les procédés de fabrication et de vieillissement influencent les concentrations des substances chimiques toxiques contenues dans les produits du tabac sans fumée. L'utilisation des produits du tabac sans fumée est associée à de nombreux effets nocifs sur la santé, notamment les maladies cardiovasculaires, les maladies de la bouche et certaines formes de cancer tel le cancer du pancréas.

Résultats

Cette image montre un exemple de produit du tabac sans fumée dans un contenant métallique.  Ce produit a l'apparence d'une fine poudre brune.
Exemple de produit du tabac sans fumée

Dans le cadre d'une récente étude, Santé Canada a analysé les propriétés physiques et chimiques des produits du tabac sans fumée et en a évalué la toxicité. L'étude a révélé que les produits varient quant à leurs caractéristiques physiques et chimiques telles que la forme, la teneur en humidité et la composition chimique. Tous les produits contiennent de la nicotine, la substance chimique présente naturellement dans les produits du tabac, qui, selon des études, joue un rôle important dans la dépendance à ces produits. Parmi les substances chimiques toxiques se retrouvant dans les produits analysés, mentionnons les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques, les nitrosamines spécifiques au tabac et des métaux (chrome, nickel, plomb et arsenic).

L'étude a aussi révélé que la méthode de fabrication influence la concentration de certaines substances chimiques toxiques telles que les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques et les nitrosamines spécifiques au tabac. Le snus pasteurisé présentait une concentration moins élevée de certaines substances chimiques toxiques. Cependant, des substances chimiques toxiques sont retrouvées dans tous les produits du tabac sans fumée étudiés. Les résultats des essais de toxicité ont confirmé que, comme c'est le cas pour les autres produits du tabac, le snus et les autres produits du tabac sans fumée sont mutagènes (provoquent des mutations de l'ADN), cytotoxiques (ont des effets sur la structure de la cellule et ses composantes) et génotoxiques (provoquent des changements structuraux dans les chromosomes).

Conclusions

Il a été établi que tous les produits du tabac sans fumée étudiés contenaient des substances chimiques cancérogènes et étaient des produits toxiques. Santé Canada considère que leur utilisation peut causer des effets nocifs sur la santé.

Références

  • Centre international de Recherche sur le Cancer. 2007. Smokeless tobacco and some tobacco-specific N-nitrosamines. IARC Monographs on the Evaluation of Carcinogenic Risk to Humans. Volume 89. Lyon, France.
  • Rickert, W.S., Joza, P.J., Trivedi, A.H., Momin, R.A., Wagstaff, W.G. et Lauterbach, J.H. 2009. Chemical and toxicological characterization of commercial smokeless tobacco available on the Canadian market. Regulatory Toxicol. Pharmacol. 53:121-133.
  • Santé Canada. Juin 2000. Règlement sur les rapports relatifs au tabac, DORS-2000/273, C.P. 2000-1040. Ottawa.