Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Health Concerns

National Non-Smoking Week

National Non-Smoking Week (NNSW) has been observed during the third week in January for more than 37 years. With a wide variety of activities and participants across the country, National Non-Smoking Week is one of the most important events in Canada's ongoing public education efforts on controlling tobacco-use.

National Non-Smoking Week is truly a national endeavour, involving agencies and individuals working at the federal, provincial/territorial, regional and local levels. Every year, thousands of people across Canada take part in various NNSW activities sponsored by local health units, local and provincial/territorial councils on smoking and health, health charities such as the Canadian Cancer Society, the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada, the Canadian Lung Association, and provincial, territorial and federal Ministries of Health.


The goals of NNSW are:

  • to educate Canadians about the dangers of smoking;
  • to prevent non-smokers from starting to smoke and becoming addicted to tobacco;
  • to help smokers quit;
  • to promote the right of individuals to breathe air unpolluted by tobacco smoke;
  • to denormalize tobacco products and tobacco-use; and
  • to assist in the attainment of a smoke-free society in Canada.

Weedless Wednesday

Weedless Wednesday focusses on the benefits of cessation and promotes the community resources available to help smokers quit. It takes a "one day at a time" approach to quitting smoking, a concept appealing to many smokers who may be discouraged at the thought of an entire week -- or lifetime -- without cigarettes, but who may be able to cope with one smoke-free day.

Relevant Links:

For more information on quitting smoking, visit

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Préoccupations liées à la santé

Semaine nationale sans fumée

Depuis plus de 37 ans, la troisième semaine de janvier est synonyme de Semaine nationale sans fumée (SNSF). Misant sur une diversité d'activités et de participants partout au pays, la Semaine nationale sans fumée constitue un élément essentiel des efforts soutenus pour sensibiliser le public à la lutte antitabac au Canada.

Véritable entreprise nationale, la Semaine nationale sans fumée fait appel à divers organismes et individus aux échelons fédéral, provincial, territorial, régional et local. Chaque année, durant la SNSF, des milliers de Canadiens prennent part à diverses activités que parrainent les services locaux de santé, les conseils locaux, provinciaux et territoriaux sur le tabac et la santé, des organismes comme la Société canadienne du cancer, la Fondation des maladies du coeur du Canada et l'Association pulmonaire du Canada, ainsi que les ministères provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéral de la Santé.

Objectif

La SNSF vise :

  • à sensibiliser les Canadiens aux dangers du tabagisme;
  • à empêcher les non-fumeurs de commencer et de développer une dépendance au tabac;
  • à aider les fumeurs à renoncer au tabagisme;
  • à faire valoir le droit des personnes de respirer un air non pollué par la fumée du tabac;
  • à dénormaliser les produits du tabac et le tabagisme;
  • à favoriser l'avènement d'une société sans fumée au Canada.

Mercredi sans tabac

Le Mercredi sans tabac met l'accent sur les bienfaits qu'entraîne le fait de cesser de fumer et les ressources communautaires mises à la disposition des fumeurs qui souhaitent arrêter. Le concept Un jour à la fois séduit de nombreux fumeurs qui risquent de se décourager à l'idée d'une semaine entière (ou d'une vie entière) sans cigarette, mais qui peuvent venir à bout d'une journée.

Liens pertinents

Pour de plus amples renseignements pour arrêter de fumer, consultez http://www.vivezsansfumee.gc.ca/abandon.