Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Children and Adolescents

Helping to ensure that children and adolescents stay healthy is very important to people in Canada -- and important for their individual development! We know this is a combination of many things -- including a supportive family home, a thriving social network and the possibilities of going to school. Their health is also affected by their feelings of safety when it comes to who they socialize with and feeling safe in the world around them -- the streets, in schools and on the playground.

Tips for Healthy Kids

Here are some simple ways to keep your children and adolescents healthy:

  • Remember that your children's health involves more than their physical safekeeping. Talking with your children daily to find out what they are thinking and doing is one of the most important ways to keep them healthy.
  • Keep your Next link will take you to another Web site children active. Research studies show than more than half of Canadian children and youth are not active enough for optimal growth and development.
  • Keep the environments in which your children live, play and learn safe. For example, keep dangerous products, such as matches and products that contain poisons, in a locked cabinet.
  • Take your children for regular medical checkups. Always talk to your physician if you have any concerns about your children's health.
  • Instil a lifetime of healthy eating habits by following Canada's Food Guide.
  • Encourage your children not smoke or to help them quit: Next link will take you to another Web site Quit 4 Life and You and Me, Smokefree.

What Information is Available?

In this section, you will find information about how to keep your children healthy. In addition to the Next link will take you to another Web site Tips to Get Active, you will find topics on safety, parenting, teen pregnancies, drugs and so on.

You can also find more information in our on the Healthy Canadians website section on the following topics:

Related Resources

Health Canada

Other Resources

You can visit the section for our Office of Paediatric Initiatives, created as the focal point within the Health Products and Food Branch for an integrated approach to a range of health and safety issues related to the use of health products in children and safe and nutritious food for them to consume.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Enfants et adolescents

Aider les enfants et les adolescents à demeurer en santé est très important pour les Canadiens - mais aussi une étape cruciale de leur développement! La santé pour les enfants et les adolescents est une combinaison de plusieurs facteurs, incluant le soutien de la famille et des pairs et l'accès à l'éducation. Leur santé est aussi influencée par leur sentiment de sécurité selon les personnes avec lesquelles ils interagissent ainsi que leur environnement immédiat - les rues, l'école et la cour de récréation.

Trucs pour des enfants en santé

Voici quelques façons simples de garder vos enfants et adolescents en santé :

  • Souvenez-vous que la santé de vos enfants demande plus que leur bonne garde physique. Une bonne communication avec vos enfants et votre intérêt dans leurs activités contribuent grandement à les maintenir en santé.
  • Gardez vos Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web enfants actifs. Les recherches démontrent que plus de la moitié des enfants et jeunes canadiens ne font pas assez d'activités physiques pour assurer une croissance optimale.
  • Maintenez les environnements où vos enfants vivent, jouent et apprennent sécuritaires. Par exemple, gardez sous clef les produits dangereux comme les allumettes, ainsi que ceux contenant des poisons.
  • Amenez vos enfants à des examens médicaux sur une base régulière. Faites part au médecin de toute inquiétude concernant la santé de vos enfants.
  • Enseignez à vos enfants des habitudes d'alimentation saines en suivant le Guide alimentaire canadien.
  • Encouragez votre enfant à ne pas fumer ou à arrêter de fumer : Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Vie 100 fumer et Vivons sans fumée.

Ressources disponibles

Dans cette section, vous trouverez de l'information sur les moyens de garder vos enfants en santé. En plus des Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Conseils pour être actif, d'autres sujets vous intéresseront , comme la sécurité, l'art d'être parent, la grossesse chez les adolescentes, les drogues, etc.

Vous pouvez aussi obtenir de l'information dans notre section sur le site Web Canadiens en santé sur les thèmes suivants :

Ressources connexes

Santé Canada

Autres Ressources

La Direction générale des produits de santé et des aliments (DGPSA) a créé le Bureau des initiatives pédiatriques, centre de coordination visant une approchant intégrée sur les questions de santé et sécurité de l'usage des produits de santé par les enfants, ainsi que sur les conseils à leur donner en matière d'aliments sains et nutritifs.