Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Healthy Living

Healthy living means making positive choices that enhance your personal physical, mental and spiritual health. You make these choices when you:

  • Eat nutritiously, choosing a variety of foods from all of the food groups as suggested by Canada's Food Guide;
  • Build a circle of social contacts to create a supportive environment of people who care for you and respect you;
  • Stay physically active to keep your body strong, reduce stress, and improve your energy.
  • Choose not to smoke; and
  • Put an end to other negative lifestyle practices.

Healthy living choices are affected by where you live, work, learn and play. Keeping yourself informed about positive health practices within your environment is an important way to improve your overall health and sense of well-being.

What Information is Available?

Health Canada encourages Canadians to take a more active role in their health. In this section, you'll find information to help you make informed choices about your health in areas such as healthy eating, physical activity, pregnancy, mental health and sexual and reproductive health.

You'll also find information intended for specific demographic groups, such as children, women and seniors, and for specific areas of interest, including travel, injury prevention and substance use and abuse.

You can also learn about the Next link will take you to another Web site Canadian Healthy Living Strategy, an initiative led by federal, provincial and territorial governments.

Related Resources

Looking for health information that speaks directly to you? Try our Just for You section. These specialized pages offer information on the crucial health issues that affect you while pointing out Health Canada educational kits that can help you improve your own health habits.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Vie saine

Vie saine signifie faire des choix positifs qui améliorent votre santé physique, mentale et spirituelle. Vous faites ces choix quand vous :

  • mangez une variété d'aliments de qualité nutritionnelle tel que suggéré par le Guide alimentaire canadien;
  • développez un cercle de contacts sociaux favorisant l'entraide et le respect;
  • demeurez physiquement actif afin de garder la forme, réduire le stress et augmenter votre énergie;
  • vous abstenez de fumer et mettez un terme aux modes de vie malsains.

Les choix de vie saine sont influencés par le milieu dans lequel vous vivez, travaillez ou étudiez. Vous maintenir au courant des pratiques positives de santé dans votre environnement est un moyen efficace d'améliorer votre santé générale et votre sentiment de bien-être.

Ressources disponibles

Santé Canada encourage les Canadiens à jouer un rôle plus actif dans leur santé. Dans cette section, vous trouverez de l'information pour vous aider à faire des choix informés sur votre santé dans des domaines comme la saine alimentation, l'activité physique, la grossesse, la santé mentale et la santé sexuelle et reproductrice.

Des renseignements sont disponibles à l'intention de groupes démographiques précis tels que les enfants, les femmes et les aînés, et dans des domaines d'intérêt spécifiques, incluant les voyages, la prévention de blessures et la consommation et abus de substances.

Vous pouvez aussi en apprendre sur la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Stratégie canadienne en matière de modes de vie sains, une initiative menée par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux.

Ressources connexes

Cherchez-vous de l'information additionnelle au sujet de votre santé ? Consultez notre section Spécialement pour vous. Ces pages spécialisées contiennent de l'information sur des questions pertinentes en matière de santé. On vous indique où se trouvent les trousses éducatives de Santé Canada, susceptibles de contribuer à améliorer vos propres habitudes de vie.