Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Healthy Living

Seniors and Aging - Osteoporosis

It's Your Health

On this page:

The Issue

Osteoporosis is a loss of bone density among aging adults that can cause painful fractures, disability and deformity. While heredity and bone size affect the development of osteoporosis, it is often possible to prevent, delay or reduce bone loss through healthy living.

Background

Osteoporosis affects both sexes but is more frequent among women. It is estimated that about one out of four women and one out of eight men over the age of 50 in Canada have osteoporosis.

Bones are constantly being renewed naturally. But with age, this process becomes less efficient, and bone mineral density is lost. When bone mineral density is lower than normal, but not low enough to be classified as osteoporosis, it is called osteopenia. Osteoporosis causes bones to become very thin and weak over time and increases the risk of fracture. It is often called "the silent thief" because bone loss occurs without symptoms.

When bones are seriously weakened by osteoporosis, even simple movements such as bending over to pick up a bag of groceries or sneezing heavily can lead to fractures.

Health Effects of Osteoporosis

Wrist, spine and hip fractures are most commonly associated with osteoporosis. Bone fractures occurring in these areas resulting from a fall from standing height or less are called fragility fractures, and are evidence of osteoporosis.

Hip fractures due to osteoporosis are a serious problem for seniors. Mortality is significantly increased after hip fracture, and fewer than 50 % suffering from this injury experience functional recovery, and many are permanently disabled. About 25 % of patients reside in long-term care facilities for a year or more after a hip fracture.

There usually are no warning signs for osteoporosis until a fracture occurs. However, there are ways to help prevent, delay and treat osteoporosis.

Risk Factors for Osteoporosis

Women are especially at risk of osteoporosis. At menopause, estrogen levels, which help keep women's bones healthy, drop dramatically. Many women experience more bone loss during menopause.

Hormone replacement therapy can help reduce the drop in estrogen levels during menopause, preventing and even correcting bone loss. However, there may be adverse health effects, including an increased risk of breast cancer. Talk to your doctor about what might be suitable for you.

Although men usually have a greater bone mass than women, they can also suffer from osteoporosis.

In addition to age, there are several factors that will increase your risk of developing osteoporosis. They include:

  • a family history of osteoporosis
  • osteopenia
  • low body weight
  • a diet low in calcium
  • low levels of physical activity
  • ovaries removed or early menopause (before the age of 45), without hormone replacement
  • being past menopause
  • vitamin D deficiency
  • smoking
  • excessive caffeine intake (more than four cups a day of coffee, tea or cola) or excessive alcohol intake (more than two drinks a day)
  • long-term oral use of some medications such as cortisone, prednisone or anticonvulsants

Minimizing Your Risk

If you have some of the risk factors listed above, talk to your doctor about getting a bone density test and take preventive action to reduce the risk. Here are some of the things you can do to protect your bones.

  • Eat well. All Canadians are encouraged to eat well and to be active every day by following the advice contained in Eating Well with Canada's Food Guide to reduce their risk of chronic diseases such as osteoporosis.
  • Include calcium in your diet. People over the age of 50 need 1200 mg of calcium each day. As you age, your body doesn't absorb calcium as well, so calcium rich foods are important and you may require a calcium supplement. Calcium rich foods include milk and milk products; salmon and sardines with bones; beans; sunflower and sesame seeds; broccoli and other greens; figs; and rhubarb.
  • Get enough vitamin D. Calcium is not easily absorbed by the body without vitamin D. In addition to following Canada's Food Guide, which recommends that all Canadians over the age of two consume 500 mL (two cups) of milk every day, everyone over the age of 50 should take a daily supplement of 400 IU of vitamin D. People who do not drink milk or fortified soy beverage will most likely require a supplemental source of vitamin D. For a large part of the year in Canada (October to March, and longer in far northern latitudes) the sun is not strong enough to produce vitamin D in the skin. The skin also has reduced capacity to produce vitamin D as it ages.
  • Be active every day. Bones become stronger with increased activity. Include regular weight-bearing exercise such as dancing, walking, hiking or tennis in your daily routine. Exercise that improves balance and coordination such as yoga, tai chi swimming and flexibility exercises will help reduce falls and prevent fractures. Try several activities until you find the one that's right for you.
  • Avoid smoking. Smokers have faster rates of bone loss and a higher risk of fractures than non-smokers. Women who smoke also tend to enter menopause at an earlier age than non-smokers. This means more rapid bone loss takes place at an earlier age.
  • Prevent falls. If you have been diagnosed with osteoporosis or have some of the risk factors, preventing falls is particularly important. An exercise program geared to your abilities will help. Wear comfortable shoes that give good support. Watch for uneven ground, sidewalks and floors. Don't rush to catch a bus, answer the phone or a doorbell. Make your house safe to reduce the risk of accidents. See the Need More Info? section below and get your copy of The Safe Living Guide.

If you have already been diagnosed with osteoporosis or osteopenia, talk to your doctor about medication that may help with your condition.

Some people with osteoporosis suffer pain from a fracture or chronic pain due to compression or muscle spasms. Your doctor can help you find the right pain relief for your symptoms and possibly recommend other therapies which may help including ice and heat, relaxation therapy, acupuncture and other alternative ways of dealing with pain.

Government of Canada's Role

Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada are committed to helping Canadians improve their the health and well-being by promoting and supporting regular physical activity and healthy eating.

In particular, the Public Health Agency disseminates information on healthy aging and encourages seniors' health promotion, risk reduction and stabilization of chronic conditions, such as osteoporosis.

The Agency also works with stakeholders at all levels to provide leadership in chronic disease prevention and control. It does this through its policy and program development, surveillance and educational development.

Need More Info?

For more information on osteoporosis, contact the following:

Public Health Agency of Canada Next link will take you to another Web site Osteoporosis Info Sheet for Seniors.

For more on Eating Well with Canada's Food Guide

To order a copy of Next link will take you to another Web site The Safe Living Guide or call (613) 952-7606

Next link will take you to another Web site Osteoporosis Canada at 1-800-463-6842 or (416) 696-2663 in Toronto

The Next link will take you to another Web site Arthritis Society at 1-800-321-1433

Public Health Agency of Canada's Next link will take you to another Web site Centre for Chronic Disease Prevention and Control.

For additional articles on health and safety issues go to the It's Your Health Web site
You can also call toll free at 1-866-225-0709 or TTY at 1-800-465-7735.

Original: March 2007
Updated: October 2007
©Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Health, 2007

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vie saine

Les aînés et le vieillissement - Ostéoporose

Votre santé et vous

Sur cette page :

Enjeu

L'ostéoporose est une perte de densité osseuse chez les personnes vieillissantes qui peut causer des fractures douloureuses, des incapacités et des difformités. Bien que l'hérédité et la taille des os aient un effet sur le développement de l'ostéoporose, il est souvent possible de prévenir, de retarder ou de réduire la perte osseuse grâce à de saines habitudes de vie.

Contexte

L'ostéoporose touche davantage les femmes que les hommes. Au Canada, environ une femme sur quatre et un homme sur huit de plus de 50 ans souffrent d'ostéoporose.

Les os se régénèrent constamment, mais, avec l'âge, le processus devient moins efficace et la densité minérale des os diminue. Une perte minérale osseuse inférieure à la normale, mais insuffisamment pour être considérée comme de l'ostéoporose, s'appelle ostéopénie. Dans le cas de l'ostéoporose, les os s'amincissent et se fragilisent au fil des ans, ce qui augmente leur susceptibilité aux fractures. On qualifie souvent l'ostéoporose de « voleur silencieux », car la perte osseuse se produit sans symptômes.

Lorsque les os sont gravement affaiblis par l'ostéoporose, des gestes aussi banals que se pencher pour ramasser un sac d'épicerie ou éternuer fortement, peuvent causer des fractures.

Effets de l'ostéoporose sur la santé

Les fractures du poignet, de la colonne vertébrale et de la hanche sont les plus souvent associées à l'ostéoporose. Les fractures de ce type qui résultent d'une chute d'une hauteur normale sont appelées fractures de fragilité et elles indiquent la présence d'ostéoporose.
Les fractures de la hanche liées à l'ostéoporose constituent un problème majeur chez les aînés. Le taux de mortalité augmente considérablement après une fracture de la hanche, moins de 50 % des personnes récupèrent la fonction et bon nombre souffrent d'une invalidité permanente. Près de 25 % des patients vivent dans des établissements de soins de longue durée pendant au moins un an à la suite d'une fracture de la hanche.

Il n'y a habituellement pas de signes avant-coureurs de l'ostéoporose jusqu'à ce qu'une fracture se produise. Il y a toutefois des moyens de prévenir, de retarder et de traiter l'ostéoporose.

Facteurs de risque de l'ostéoporose

Les femmes sont particulièrement à risque d'ostéoporose. Le taux d'oestrogènes, qui contribuent à la santé des os, chute dramatiquement à la ménopause, et la perte osseuse s'accélère chez de nombreuses femmes.

L'hormonothérapie peut aider à réduire le déficit en oestrogène à la ménopause, à prévenir la perte osseuse et même à la corriger. Toutefois, elle peut avoir des effets indésirables, dont un risque accru de cancer du sein. Parlez à votre médecin de ce qui pourrait vous convenir.

Bien que les hommes aient généralement une masse osseuse plus élevée que les femmes, ils peuvent aussi souffrir d'ostéoporose.

En plus de l'âge, certains facteurs augmentent le risque d'ostéoporose :

  • antécédents familiaux d'ostéoporose
  • ostéopénie
  • faible poids corporel
  • alimentation pauvre en calcium
  • manque d'exercice
  • ablation des ovaires ou ménopause précoce (avant l'âge de 45 ans), sans traitement hormonal
  • post-ménopause
  • carence en vitamine D
  • tabagisme
  • consommation excessive de caféine (plus de quatre tasses de café, de thé ou de cola) ou d'alcool (plus de deux consommations par jour)
  • utilisation prolongée de certains médicaments par voie orale, comme la cortisone, la prednisone ou des anticonvulsivants

Réduire les risques

Si vous présentez certains des facteurs de risque susmentionnés, consultez votre médecin au sujet d'une densitométrie osseuse et prenez des mesures préventives. Voici ce que vous pouvez faire pour protéger vos os.

  • Mangez bien. On encourage tous les Canadiens à bien s'alimenter, à être actifs tous les jours et à suivre les indications du Guide alimentaire canadien, afin de réduire le risque de maladies chroniques comme l'ostéoporose.
  • Prenez du calcium. Les personnes de plus de 50 ans ont besoin de
    1200 mg de calcium par jour. En vieillissant, le corps absorbe moins bien le calcium, donc il est important de consommer des aliments riches en calcium ou encore de prendre des suppléments. Le lait et les produits laitiers, le saumon et les sardines avec arêtes, les fèves, les graines de tournesol et de sésame, le brocoli et autres légumes verts, les figues et la rhubarbe sont tous riches en calcium.
  • N'oubliez pas la vitamine D. Pour absorber le calcium, le corps a besoin de vitamine D. En plus de suivre le Guide alimentaire canadien, qui recommande de consommer 500 mL (deux tasses) de lait par jour dès l'âge de deux ans, toutes les personnes de plus de 50 ans devraient prendre un supplément quotidien de 10 µg (400 UI) de vitamine D. Celles qui ne boivent pas de lait ou de boisson au soya enrichie auront fort probablement besoin d'un supplément de vitamine D. Pendant une grande partie de l'année (d'octobre à mars, et plus longtemps dans les latitudes nordiques), les rayons solaires ne sont pas assez puissants pour que la vitamine D soit produite par la peau. La capacité de production de la vitamine D par la peau diminue aussi à mesure qu'on vieillit.
  • Soyez actif tous les jours. Plus on fait de l'activité physique, plus les os se solidifient. Faites régulièrement des activités qui agissent sur la structure portante, tels la danse, la marche, la randonnée pédestre ou le tennis. Les exercices qui améliorent l'équilibre et la coordination, comme le yoga, le tai-chi, la natation et des exercices de flexibilité aideront à réduire les chutes et à prévenir les fractures. Essayez diverses activités jusqu'à ce que vous en trouviez une qui vous convienne.
  • Évitez de fumer. La perte osseuse est plus rapide et les risques de fractures sont plus élevés chez les fumeurs que chez les non-fumeurs. Les femmes qui fument ont aussi tendance à être ménopausées avant les non-fumeuses, ce qui signifie que la perte osseuse se produit plus tôt.
  • Prévenez les chutes. Si vous souffrez d'ostéoporose ou si vous présentez certains des facteurs de risque, il est particulièrement important de prévenir les chutes. Un programme d'exercice adapté à vos capacités vous sera bénéfique. Portez des chaussures confortables qui offrent un bon support. Faites attention aux irrégularités du sol, des trottoirs et des planchers. Ne vous dépêchez pas pour prendre l'autobus, répondre au téléphone ou à la sonnette de la porte. Rendez votre domicile sécuritaire pour réduire le risque d'accidents. Consultez la section Pour en savoir plus pour obtenir le guide Chez soi en toute sécurité.

Si vous souffrez d'ostéoporose ou d'ostéopénie, discutez avec votre médecin des médicaments qui pourraient vous aider.

Certaines personnes atteintes d'ostéoporose éprouvent des douleurs résultant d'une fracture ou des douleurs chroniques dues à une compression ou à des spasmes musculaires. Votre médecin peut vous aider à trouver le traitement antidouleur approprié ou vous recommander d'autres thérapies, comme le froid ou la chaleur, la relaxation, l'acupuncture ou d'autres moyens de réduire la douleur.

Rôle du gouvernement du Canada

Santé Canada et l'Agence de santé publique du Canada sont déterminés à aider les Canadiens à améliorer leur état de santé et leur bien-être en favorisant et en appuyant la pratique régulière d'activité physique et la saine alimentation.

L'Agence diffuse de l'information sur le vieillissement en santé et favorise la promotion de la santé des aînés, la réduction des risques et la stabilisation des conditions chroniques, dont l'ostéoporose.

L'Agence travaille aussi avec des intervenants à tous les niveaux afin d'offrir du leadership dans la prévention et le contrôle des maladies chroniques. Elle y parvient grâce à l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes, à la surveillance et à la sensibilisation.

Pour en savoir plus...

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Info-aînés sur l'ostéoporose de l'Agence de santé publique du Canada.

Bien manger ave le Guide alimentaire canadien

Pour commander un exemplaire du guide Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Chez soi en toute sécurité ou composez le 613-952-7606

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Ostéoporose Canada, au 1-800-463-6842, ou au 416-696-2663, à Toronto

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web La Société d'arthrite, au 1-800-321-1433

Le lien suivant vous amène à une autre site Web Centre de prévention et de contrôle des maladies chroniques de l'Agence de santé publique du Canada.

Des articles complémentaires sur les questions de santé et de sécurité se retrouvent sur le site de Votre santé et vous
Vous pouvez aussi téléphoner sans frais au 1-866-225-0709 ou au 1-800-465-7735* pour les malentendants.

Original: mars 2007
Mise à jour: octobre 2007
©Sa Majesté la reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de la Santé, 2007.